Election Notice:  Early voting for the March 5, 2024 Primary Election runs from Tuesday, February 20, 2024 – Friday, March 1, 2024  |  ID requirements for voting in person  |  ID requirements for voting by mail  |  Visit VoteTexas.gov for more election information

Early voting starts Monday (8/25) in Texas Senate District 28 special election

August 21, 2014
Contact: Alicia Pierce or Jeff Hillery
512/ 463-5770

Austin – Texas Secretary of State Nandita Berry reminds voters in Senate District 28 that early voting starts Monday, August 25, and runs through Friday, September 5, for the September 9 special election to replace former state Senator Robert Duncan.

“Early voting gives voters the flexibility to pick a convenient time to cast their ballots at any polling place in their county of registration,” Secretary Berry said. “Voters in Senate District 28 should remember to bring an approved photo ID to the polls.”

Photo identification is required in early voting and on Election Day to vote in person. To cast a ballot in person, voters should present one of the following approved forms of photo ID:

  1. Texas Driver License – issued by the Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  2. Texas Personal Identification Card – issued by DPS
  3. Texas Concealed Handgun License – issued by DPS
  4. United States Military Identification card containing the person’s photograph
  5. United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
  6. United States Passport – issued by the U.S. government
  7. Election Identification Certificate

Anyone who does not have one of the first six forms of ID can apply for an Election Identification Certificate from a DPS driver license office for free.

Senate District 28 consists of 51 West Texas counties, including the cities of Lubbock and San Angelo. Voters may determine if they live in Senate District 28 by consulting their voter registration card or looking up their address online at Who Represents Me.

Texans can stay up to date on election information by following the Secretary of State on Twitter and Instagram, as well as “liking” Vote Texas on Facebook.