EMERGENCY.

‘RULE

Emergency Rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and the repeals of existing
rules. A state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the agency
finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare, or a requirement of state or

federal law, requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. An emergency rule may be effective for not longer than
120 days and may be renewed once for not longer than 60 days (Government Code, §2001.034).

TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 3. TEXAS ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE COMMISSION

CHAPTER 51. EMERGENCY RULES
16 TAC §51.1, §51.2

Consistent with Executive Order GA-56 (Sept. 10, 2025), the
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) adopts, on an
emergency basis, new Chapter 51, relating to Emergency Rules;
new rule 16 TAC §51.1, relating to Prohibited Sales of Consum-
able Hemp Products to Minors; and new rule 16 TAC §51.2, relat-
ing to Mandatory Age Verification for Consumable Hemp Product
Sales. The emergency rules are effective September 23, 2025.
This emergency adoption is necessary to help prevent minors
from accessing and using consumable hemp products (CHP)
that will negatively impact the minors' health, which in turn neg-
atively impacts the general welfare and public safety.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. TABC is generally tasked with
regulating every phase of the business of manufacturing, import-
ing, exporting, transporting, storing, selling, advertising, label-
ing, and distributing alcoholic beverages. Tex. Alco. Bev. Code
§5.31. But the agency is also directed to "supervise and regulate
licensees and permittees and their places of business in matters
affecting the public." Id. §5.33. And that "authority is not lim-
ited to matters specifically mentioned in" the Alcoholic Beverage
Code. I/d. TABC must also ensure that the place and manner
in which a permittee or licensee conducts its business is consis-
tent with the general welfare, health, peace, morals, and safety
of the people and the public sense of decency. /d. §§11.61(b)(7),
61.71(a)(16). It is under these provisions that TABC acts now.
See Executive Order GA-56 ("Whereas, unrestricted sales of
such substances to minors by state licensed retailers imperils
"the general welfare, health, peace, morals, and safety of the
people' and "the public sense of decencyl[.]").

CHP is defined by the Department of State Health Services
(DSHS) as "Any product processed or manufactured for con-
sumption that contains hemp, including food, a drug, a device,
and a cosmetic, as those terms are defined by Texas Health and
Safety Code §431.002, but does not include any consumable
hemp product containing a hemp seed, or hemp seed-derived
ingredient being used in a manner that has been generally
recognized as safe (GRAS) by the FDA." 25 TAC §300.101(8).
CHP retailers must generally be registered with DSHS. Tex.
Health & Safety Code §443.2025. TABC has learned that many
of its licensed alcoholic beverage businesses engage in the
retail sale of CHPs of varying types and potency, and many
of those businesses allow minors to purchase those products.
Additionally, consumer delivery and carrier permit holders also
deliver CHPs to ultimate consumers who are minors. As ex-
plained below, TABC believes that businesses providing CHPs

to minors are operating in a manner that is inconsistent with the
general welfare, health, peace, morals, and safety of the people
and the public sense of decency. To combat this conduct, TABC
adopts these emergency rules to: (1) prohibit a TABC licensee
or permittee from selling, offering for sale, serving, or delivering
CHPs to a person younger than 21 years of age; and (2) require
a TABC licensee or permittee to check the identification of any
person wanting to purchase CHPs to confirm their age.

Under the emergency rules, a license or permit holder will gener-
ally be held accountable if an employee or agent sells, offers to
sell, serves, or delivers CHPs to a minor or fails to check the iden-
tification of anyone purchasing CHPs. However, under emer-
gency rule §51.1(d), TABC will not hold a license or permit holder
accountable for selling, offering to sell, serving, or delivering
CHPs to a minor if the minor presents an apparently valid iden-
tification that complies with §51.2(a), the permittee or licensee
inspects the identification as provided by §51.2(b), and the per-
mittee or licensee reasonably concludes that the purchaser or
recipient is at least 21 years of age.

A violation of either emergency rule will result in the cancellation
of the holder's TABC permit or license. The license or permit
holder will not be allowed to serve a suspension or pay a civil
fine in lieu of the license or permit cancellation. TABC recognizes
that cancellation of a license or permit is a severe sanction, but
the agency believes a significant sanction is warranted in order
to effectively prevent CHP sales to minors.

An emergency rule is necessary

Pursuant to Government Code §2001.034 and §2001.036(a)(2),
the new rules are adopted on an emergency basis and with an
expedited effective date because an imminent peril to the pub-
lic health, safety, or welfare requires adoption on fewer than 30
days' notice.

Consumable products derived from the cannabis plant, whether
classified as marijuana or hemp, contain substances called
cannabinoids, "which are known to exhibit a range of psy-
chological and physiological effects." Congressional Research
Service, R44742, Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet, p.6 (March 22,
2019) (citing Clarke and Merlin, Cannabis: Evolution and Eth-
nobotany, p.255). Studies indicate these effects can be harmful
for underdeveloped brains possessed by adolescents, with
possible protracted effects on a young user's neural systems.
See Yasmin L. Hurd et al., Cannabis and the Developing Brain:
Insights Into lts Long-Lasting Effects, 39 J. NEUROSCIENCE
8250 (2019).

Delta-8 tetrahydrocannabinol, also known as delta-8 THC, is
a psychoactive cannabinoid found in many of the CHPs sold
in Texas. CHPs with delta-8 THC have not been evaluated
or approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
for safe use by minors. See FDA Consumer Update (May
4, 2022), available at https://www.fda.gov/consumers/con-
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https://www.fda.gov/consumers/con

sumer-updates/5-things-know-about-delta-8-tetrahydro-
cannabinol-delta-8-thc.

The harms associated with cannabis/THC use by minors are well
documented:

-"THC use, particularly among youth, is associated with an
increased risk of psychosis, suicide attempts, and self-harm,
with risks heightened in individuals with co-occurring mental
health conditions such as depression." Testimony by Lindy
McGee, MD, on behalf of the Texas Medical Association
and Texas Pediatric Society, before the Senate State Affairs
Committee (July 22, 2025), (citing Cannabis Use Disorder,
Suicide Attempts, and Self-Harm Among Adolescents: A na-
tional inpatient study across the United States, available at
https://pmc.ncbi.nim.nih.gov/articles/PMC10581466/ and When
Cannabis Use Goes Wrong: Mental Health Side Effects of
Cannabis Use That Present to Emergency Services, available
at https://pmc.ncbi.nim.nih.gov/articles/PMC7917124/).

-"The association between cannabis and schizophrenia is
stronger in people who start using cannabis at an earlier age
and use cannabis more frequently." Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention, Cannabis and Teens Webpage (February 15,
2024).

-"The teen brain is actively developing and continues to develop
until around age 25. Cannabis use during adolescence and
young adulthood may harm the developing brain." /d. (citing
National Academies of Sciences Engineering and Medicine.
The health effects of cannabis and cannabinoids: Current state
of evidence and recommendations for research. Washington,
DC: The National Academies Press (2017) and Batalla A,
Bhattacharyya S, Ylcel M, et al. Structural and functional
imaging studies in chronic cannabis users: a systematic review
of adolescent and adult findings. Plos One (2013)).

-"Compared with teens who do not use cannabis, teens who use
cannabis are more likely to quit high school or not get a college
degree." /d.

The credible sources cited above clearly demonstrate the po-
tential dangers CHPs pose to minors. Certain TABC-licensed
establishments currently provide minors easy access to CHPs,
which ultimately imperils those minors' health and the public's
safety and welfare. Immediate action is needed to block (or at
least reduce) minors' access to CHPs, as Governor Abbott noted
in his executive order. Any further delays in enacting these rules
would increase the likelihood of harm to Texas minors and the
public. As such, TABC believes adopting these rules on an emer-
gency basis is warranted under Government Code §2001.034.

While the emergency rules will go into effect immediately, TABC
will not begin to enforce the rules until October 1, 2025. TABC
will take this extra time to notify affected businesses of the new
restrictions and requirements in these rules.

Future rulemaking

Under Government Code §2001.034, this emergency rule may
not be in effect for longer than 180 days total. TABC intends
to propose these or similar rules under the normal rulemaking
process and will consider any additional action necessary in the
event unforeseen issues arise with the adopted sections. Future
rulemaking may also provide additional guidance.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new rules are adopted on an
emergency basis, effective on September 23, 2025, under
Alcoholic Beverage Code §§5.31 and 5.33; and Government

Code §§2001.034 and 2001.036(a)(2). Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31 provides that "the commission may exercise all
powers, duties, and functions conferred by this code, and all
powers incidental, necessary, or convenient to the administra-
tion of this code," and further states that "it may prescribe and
publish rules necessary to carry out the provisions of this code."
Alcoholic Beverage Code §5.33 provides that "the commission
shall supervise and regulate licensees and permittees and their
places of business in matters affecting the public." And that
"this authority is not limited to matters specifically mentioned
in [the] code." Government Code §2001.034 provides that a
state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice
or hearing if the agency finds that an imminent peril to the
public health, safety, or welfare requires adoption of a rule on
fewer than 30 days' notice and the agency states in writing
the reasons for its finding. Government Code §2001.036(a)(2)
provides that if a state agency finds that an expedited effective
date is necessary because of imminent peril to the public health,
safety, or welfare, and subject to applicable constitutional or
statutory provisions, a rule is effective immediately on filing with
the secretary of state, or on a stated date less than 20 days
after the filing date.

§51.1.  Prohibited Sales of Consumable Hemp Products to Minors.

(a) Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) "Consumable hemp product” has the meaning assigned
by 25 TAC §300.101 or a successor rule adopted by the Department of
State Health Services;

(2) "Licensee" and "permittee" have the meaning assigned
by Alcoholic Beverage Code §1.04; and

(3) "Minor" means a person under 21 years of age.

(b) A licensee or permittee violates Alcoholic Beverage Code
§§11.61(b)(7) or 61.71(a)(16), as applicable, if the licensee or permit-
tee sells, offers to sell, serves, or delivers a consumable hemp product
to a minor.

(¢) Notwithstanding Chapter 34 of this title, the commission
shall cancel the license or permit of a licensee or permittee that violates
subsection (b). The licensee or permittee does not have the option to
serve a suspension or pay a civil fine in lieu of cancellation.

(d) A licensee or permittee that sells, offers to sell, serves, or
delivers a consumable hemp product to a minor does not violate sub-
section (b) if the minor falsely claims to be 21 years of age or older, the
permittee or licensee otherwise complies with §51.2, and the permittee
or licensee reasonably believes the minor is actually 21 years of age or
older.

§51.2.  Mandatory Age Verification for Consumable Hemp Product
Sales.

(a) A licensee or permittee may not sell, serve, or deliver a
consumable hemp product to a person unless the person presents an
apparently valid, unexpired proof of identification issued by a govern-
mental agency that contains a physical description and photograph con-
sistent with the person’s appearance and that purports to establish that
the person is 21 years of age or older.

(b) Before completing the sale, service, or delivery of a con-
sumable hemp product to an ultimate consumer, a licensee or permittee
shall verify that the purchaser or recipient is 21 years of age or older
by carefully inspecting the provided proof of identification.

(c¢) Notwithstanding Chapter 34 of this title, if a licensee
or permittee fails to abide by the requirements of this section, the
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licensee or permittee violates Alcoholic Beverage Code §§11.61(b)(7)
or 61.71(a)(16), as applicable, and the commission shall cancel the
license or permit. The licensee or permittee does not have the option
to serve a suspension or pay a civil fine in lieu of cancellation.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 23,

2025.

TRD-202503408

Matthew Cherry

Senior Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: September 23, 2025

Expiration date: January 20, 2026

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3491
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