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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 4. AGRICULTURE

PART 2. TEXAS ANIMAL HEALTH
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 32. HEARING AND APPEAL
PROCEDURES
4 TAC §32.3

The Texas Animal Health Commission (Commission) in a duly
noticed meeting on August 26, 2025, adopted amendments to
Title 4, Part 2, Chapter 32 §32.3, concerning Appeal of Other
Orders and Decisions in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 4,
Part 2, Chapter 32, titled "Hearing and Appeal Procedures." The
Commission adopted amendments to §32.3 without changes to
the proposed text published in the June 6, 2025 issue of the
Texas Register (50 TexReg 3301) and will not be republished.

JUSTIFICATION FOR RULE ACTION

Section 32.3 sets forth procedures for appeals of various or-
ders and decisions of the Commission. The Commission adopts
amendments to this section to remove language referencing ap-
peals of orders and decisions concerning the CWD Herd Certi-
fication Program. A repeal of the CWD Herd Certification Pro-
gram found in Chapter 40, concerning Chronic Wasting Disease,
is filed concurrently with the adopted amendments to §32.3.

HOW THE RULES WILL FUNCTION

The amendment to §32.3 will eliminate references to the CWD
Herd Certification Program and adjust numbering, and add "re-
lating to" statements for clarification.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED AND COMMISSION
RESPONSE

The 30-day comment period ended July 7, 2025.

In addition to publishing the proposed rule changes in the June
6, 2025 issue of the Texas Register, the Commission also sent a
copy of the proposed rule changes to all current participants of
HCP via email to help ensure the participants were aware of the
proposed rule changes.

During this period, the Commission received no comments re-
garding the changes to this rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized by Texas Government Code,
§2001.004(1), which requires all administrative agencies to
adopt rules of practice stating the nature and requirements of all
available formal and informal procedures.

Pursuant to §161.038 of the Texas Agriculture Code, titled "Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act Applicable," the Commission is sub-

ject to the administrative procedure law set forth in Chapter 2001
of the Texas Government Code.

Pursuant to §161.046 of the Texas Agriculture Code, titled
"Rules," the Commission may adopt rules as necessary for the
administration of enforcement of this chapter.

Pursuant to §161.148 of the Texas Agriculture Code, titled "Ad-
ministrative Penalty," the Commission may impose an adminis-
trative penalty on a person who violates a statute, rule, or order
of the Commission. Section 161.148 outlines the procedure for
appeal from such notice of violation.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 27, 2025.

TRD-202503110

Jeanine Coggeshall

General Counsel

Texas Animal Health Commission

Effective date: September 16, 2025

Proposal publication date: June 6, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 839-0511
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CHAPTER 40. CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE

The Texas Animal Health Commission (Commission) in a duly
noticed meeting on August 26, 2025, adopted changes to Title 4,
Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 40 titled "Chronic Wasting
Disease." Specifically, the Commission adopted amendments to
§840.1, 40.2, 40.5, and 40.7; and the repeal of §40.3 and §40.6
without changes to the proposed text published in the June 6,
2025 issue of the Texas Register (50 TexReg 3303) and will not
be republished.

JUSTIFICATION FOR RULE ACTION

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a degenerative and fatal
neurological communicable disease recognized by the veteri-
nary profession that affects susceptible cervid species. CWD
can spread through natural movements of infected animals and
transportation of live infected animals or carcass parts. Specif-
ically, prions are shed from infected animals in saliva, urine,
blood, soft-antler material, feces, or from animal decomposition,
which ultimately contaminates the environment in which CWD
susceptible species live. CWD has a long incubation period, so
animals infected with CWD may not exhibit clinical signs of the
disease for months or years after infection. The disease can
be passed through contaminated environmental conditions and
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may persist for a long period of time. Currently, no vaccine or
treatment for CWD exists.

The CWD Herd Certification Program (HCP) is a voluntary, coop-
erative surveillance and certification program between the Com-
mission, United States Department of Agriculture, herd owners,
and other affected parties. Participating herds that meet pro-
gram requirements and have no evidence of CWD advance in
status each year for five years receive a certified status. Cer-
tified herd status permits interstate animal movement to some
states. Participating in HCP is not required to keep CWD sus-
ceptible species captive in Texas or to buy, sell, or transfer ani-
mals within Texas.

The United States Department of Agriculture publishes Chronic
Wasting Disease Program Standards ("federal standards") to
clarify and update acceptable methods for complying with the
legal requirements in Title 9 of the Code of Federal Regulations
Parts 55 and 81.

Federal standards not only specify the minimum requirements
for participants to achieve certified status but require participat-
ing states to maintain state-wide standards for CWD diagnostic
testing, epidemiological traces, and herd plans that must be en-
forced against all CWD susceptible animals. To be an approved
state, Texas is required to follow the requirements of the federal
standards.

Because of Texas's participation in HCP, Commission regula-
tions were adopted to meet the requirements of federal stan-
dards. Current rules require Commission staff to perform five-
year epidemiological traces for every confirmed case of CWD in
a captive herd. Under current rules, movement is restricted by
a hold order or quarantine order during the epidemiological in-
vestigations of the trace until TAHC can determine the extent of
the herd's exposure to CWD and how to limit additional spread.
To remove the quarantine from a positive facility or clear an epi-
demiological trace, a herd must enter a herd plan that meets the
requirements of federal standards and commonly involves de-
population followed by a five-year quarantine.

Participation in this program has decreased significantly. In
2021, approximately 375 herds were enrolled in the program.
Presently, there are 69 enrolled herds in good standing.

The Commission received feedback from herd managers and
owners that the requirements for CWD quarantines and herd
plans are overly restrictive, negatively impact land values, and
cause unrecoverable losses to business operations.

The Commission finds that the repeal of the program would allow
the Commission to amend current rules to eliminate the burdens
caused by HCP.

Along with the repeal of the HCP program, the Commission pro-
poses amendments that will eliminate the requirement that Com-
mission herd plans and epidemiological traces be set at a mini-
mum of five years. The proposed rule amendments are designed
to allow epidemiological staff to assess a herd on a case-by-case
basis.

HOW THE RULES WILL FUNCTION

The amendments to §40.1 eliminate the definitions for APHIS,
Certified Herd, Farmed or Captive Cervids, High-risk Area or
County, and TAHC Authorized Veterinarian; modify the defini-
tions for Commingled, Commingling, CWD-Exposed Animal,
CWD-Suspect Herd, CWD-Trace Herd, Herd Plan, and Official

CWD Test; adjusts numbering; and make minor grammatical
changes.

The amendments to §40.2, concerning General Requirements,
change the procedures for issuing hold orders and quarantines,
making hold orders and quarantines optional rather than manda-
tory. The amendments also remove references to USDA and
eliminate the federal standards for disposition of CWD positive
and trace herds.

The repeal of §40.3 will eliminate the rules regulating HCP.

The amendments to §40.5, concerning Surveillance and Move-
ment Requirements for Exotic CWD Susceptible Species, re-
duces the surveillance testing requirement from 100% of mor-
talities to three valid tests each year.

The repeal of §40.6 will eliminate the established containment
and surveillance zones and remove the regulations regarding
movement restriction zones.

The amendments to §40.7, concerning Executive Director Dec-
laration of CWD Movement Restriction Zone, update language
for consistency within the rule.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED AND COMMISSION
RESPONSE

The 30-day comment period ended July 7, 2025.

In addition to publishing the proposed rule changes in the June
6, 2025 issue of the Texas Register, the Commission also sent
a copy of the proposed rule changes to all current participants of
HCP via email to help ensure the participants were aware of the
proposed rule changes.

During this period, the Commission received ten comments:
seven from individuals, one from a group of ranchers and
landowners, one from the Texas Wildlife Association, and
one from the National Deer Association. A summary of the
comments relating to the rules and the Commission's response
follows.

Comments:

Three individual commenters, the group of ranchers and
landowners, and Texas Deer Association were supportive of
elimination of HCP because it was ineffective but opposed the
changes proposed to the rules regarding hold order and quar-
antines. These commenters were concerned that the proposed
changes add ambiguity to the rules and will negatively impact
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department's (TPWD) ability to place
movement restrictions on native species.

One individual commenter opposed the proposed changes to
the rules regarding hold orders, quarantines, and testing require-
ments. The commenter is in favor of requiring post-mortem test-
ing of all susceptible cervids and continuing with severely limiting
movement as the best practice of to stop the spread of CWD.

One individual commenter opposed the proposed changes com-
pletely and is in favor of maintaining containment zones, post-
mortem testing of all susceptible cervids, continuing HCP, and
maintaining the rule to require mandatory hold orders and quar-
antines. The individual also commented that weakening regula-
tions will damage the state's hunting economy caused by deer
farming.

One individual, who was a participant in HCP, opposed the
rule because the commenter was concerned that the proposed
changes would allow the Commission to enter their property
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without permission, require more testing than what is required
to move deer through TWIMS, and believed that the proposal
is overreaching.

One individual commenter expressed concerns that CWD is a
zoonotic disease, fears the amendments may cause unneces-
sary conflicts, and hopes that the decision to repeal is by unani-
mous vote.

The National Deer Association opposed the elimination of HCP
program, was concerned over making hold order and quaran-
tines optional, and supports 100% mortality testing for Exotics.

Response: The Commission thanks the commenters for the
feedback.

The Commission disagrees with the commenters' concerns that
the changes to rules regarding hold orders and quarantines will
weaken Texas's response to CWD. The proposed changes give
Commission veterinary epidemiologists needed discretion to use
and adapt hold orders and quarantines to the characteristics of
the herd and better algin the rules regarding the Commission's
CWD response with epidemiology principals for a disease con-
trol program.

The Commission also disagrees that these rule changes will im-
pact TPWD's ability to place movement controls on native sus-
ceptible species under its jurisdiction. While TPWD restricts
movement on facilities that have a Commission hold order or
quarantine, TPWD has adopted rules that automatically restricts
the movement of native deer from facilities that receive a suspect
CWD test result and all deer on facilities with an epidemiologi-
cally link to the index deer. See 31 Texas Administrative Code
§65.91(f). TPWD movement restrictions are not dependent on
action from the Commission and TPWD has independent statu-
tory and regulatory authority to control the movement of native
cervid species.

The Commission disagrees that 100% mortality testing of ex-
otic susceptible species should continue to be required. The
changes to the mortality testing requirements are intended to re-
duce the burden of post-mortem testing on producers while still
maintaining robust active surveillance in exotic species across
the state. Commission staff compared the surveillance value
from 100% mortality testing, the number of test results received,
and the burden of testing, and determined that three valid tests
a year would provide necessary surveillance data regarding the
existence of CWD in exotic species in Texas.

The Commission disagrees with comments that opposed elimi-
nation of HCP. As previously discussed, the participation of the
program has dropped significantly and a state's participation in
the program requires the Commission to enforce federal stan-
dards against both participants in the program and non-partici-
pants. By withdrawing from the program, the Commission will
be able to allow its veterinary and epidemiology staff to adapt its
CWD response as needed.

No changes were made as a result of the comments.
4 TAC §§40.1, 40.2, 40.5, 40.7
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments within Chapter 40 of the Texas Administra-
tive Code are adopted under the following statutory authority as
found in Chapter 161 of the Texas Agriculture Code:

The Commission is vested by statute, §161.041(a), titled "Dis-
ease Control," to protect all livestock, exotic livestock, domes-

tic fowl, and exotic fowl from disease. The Commission is au-
thorized, through §161.041(b), to act to eradicate or control any
disease or agent of transmission for any disease that affects live-
stock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, even if the
agent of transmission is an animal species that is not subject to
the jurisdiction of the Commission.

Pursuant to §161.0415, titled "Disposal of Diseased or Exposed
Livestock or Fowl," the Commission may require by order the
slaughter of livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl exposed to
or infected with certain diseases.

Pursuant to §161.0417, titled "Authorized Personnel for Disease
Control," the Commission must authorize a person, including a
veterinarian, to engage in an activity that is part of a state or
federal disease control or eradication program for animals.

Pursuant to §161.046, titled "Rules," the Commission may adopt
rules as necessary for the administration and enforcement of this
chapter.

Pursuant to §161.047, titled "Entry Power," Commission person-
nel are permitted to enter public or private property for the per-
formance of an authorized duty.

Pursuant to §161.048, titled "Inspection of Shipment of Animals
or Animal Products," the Commission may require testing, vacci-
nation, or another epidemiologically sound procedure before or
after animals are moved. An agent of the Commission is enti-
tled to stop and inspect a shipment of animals or animal prod-
ucts being transported in this state to determine if the shipment
originated from a quarantined area or herd; or determine if the
shipment presents a danger to the public health or livestock in-
dustry through insect infestation or through a communicable or
non-communicable disease.

Pursuant to §161.049, titled "Dealer Records," the Commission
may require a livestock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic
fowl dealer to maintain records of all livestock, exotic livestock,
domestic fowl, or exotic fowl bought and sold by the dealer. The
Commission may also inspect and copy the records of a live-
stock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl dealer that
relate to the buying and selling of those animals. The Commis-
sion, by rule, shall adopt the form and content of the records
maintained by a dealer.

Pursuant to §161.054, titled "Regulation of Movement of Ani-
mals; Exception," the Commission, by rule, may regulate the
movement of animals. The Commission may restrict the in-
trastate movement of animals even though the movement of the
animals is unrestricted in interstate or international commerce.
The Commission may require testing, vaccination, or another
epidemiologically sound procedure before or after animals are
moved. The Commission is authorized, through §161.054(b), to
prohibit or regulate the movement of animals into a quarantined
herd, premises, or area. The Executive Director of the Commis-
sion is authorized, through §161.054(d), to modify a restriction
on animal movement, and may consider economic hardship.

Pursuant to §161.0541, titled "Elk Disease Surveillance Pro-
gram," the Commission, by rule, may establish a disease
surveillance program for elk. Such rules include the requirement
for persons moving elk in interstate commerce to test the elk for
chronic wasting disease. Additionally, provisions must include
testing, identification, transportation, and inspection under the
disease surveillance program.

Pursuant to §161.0545, titled "Movement of Animal Products,"
the Commission may adopt rules that require the certification of
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persons who transport or dispose of inedible animal products,
including carcasses, body parts, and waste material. The Com-
mission, by rule, may provide terms and conditions for the is-
suance, renewal, and revocation of a certification under this sec-
tion.

Pursuant to §161.056(a), titled "Animal Identification Program,"”
the Commission may develop and implement an animal identi-
fication program that is no more stringent than a federal animal
disease traceability or other federal animal identification program
to provide for disease control and enhance the ability to trace dis-
ease-infected animals or animals that have been exposed to dis-
ease. Section 161.056(d) authorizes the Commission to adopt
rules to provide for an animal identification program more strin-
gent than a federal program only for control of a specific animal
disease or for animal emergency management.

Pursuant to §161.057, titled "Classification of Areas," the Com-
mission may prescribe criteria for classifying areas in the state
for disease control based on sound epidemiological principals
and may prescribe control measures for classification areas.

Pursuant to §161.058, titled "Compensation of Livestock or Fowl
Owner," the Commission may pay indemnity to the owner of live-
stock or fowl, if necessary, to eradicate the disease.

Pursuant to §161.060, titled "Authority to Set and Collect Fees,"
the Commission may charge a fee for an inspection made by the
Commission as provided by Commission rule.

Pursuant to §161.061, titled "Establishment," if the Commission
determines that a disease listed in §161.041 of this code or an
agent of transmission of one of those diseases exists in a place in
this state or among livestock, exotic livestock, domestic animals,
domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, or a place in this state or livestock,
exotic livestock, domestic animals, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl
are exposed to one of those diseases or any agent of transmis-
sion of one of those diseases, the Commission shall establish a
quarantine on the affected animals or on the affected place. The
quarantine of an affected place may extend to any affected area,
including a county, district, pasture, lot, ranch, farm, field, range,
thoroughfare, building, stable, or stockyard pen. The Commis-
sion may, through §161.061(c), establish a quarantine to pro-
hibit or regulate the movement of any article or animal the Com-
mission designates to be a carrier of a disease listed in Section
161.041 or a potential carrier of one of those diseases, if move-
ment is not otherwise regulated or prohibited for an animal into
an affected area, including a county district, pasture, lot, ranch,
field, range, thoroughfare, building, stable, or stockyard pen.

Pursuant to §161.0615, titled "Statewide or Widespread Quar-
antine," the Commission may quarantine livestock, exotic live-
stock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl in all or any part of this state
as a means of immediately restricting the movement of animals
potentially infected with disease and shall clearly describe the
territory included in a quarantine area.

Pursuant to §161.065, titled "Movement from Quarantined Area;
Movement of Quarantined Animals," the Commission may pro-
vide a written certificate or written permit authorizing the move-
ment of animals from quarantined places. If the Commission
finds animals have been moved in violation of an established
quarantine or in violation of any other livestock sanitary law, the
Commission shall quarantine the animals until they have been
properly treated, vaccinated, tested, dipped, or disposed of in
accordance with the rules of the Commission.

Pursuant to §161.081, titled "Importation of Animals," the Com-
mission may regulate the movement of livestock, exotic live-
stock, domestic animals, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl into this
state from another state, territory, or country. The Commission,
by rule, may provide the method for inspecting and testing ani-
mals before and after entry into this state, and for the issuance
and form of health certificates and entry permits.

Pursuant to §161.101, titled "Duty to Report," a veterinarian, a
veterinary diagnostic laboratory, or a person having care, cus-
tody, or control of an animal shall report the existence of the dis-
ease, if required by the Commission, among livestock, exotic
livestock, bison, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl to the Commission
within 24 hours after diagnosis of the disease.

Pursuant to §161.148, titled "Administrative Penalty," the Com-
mission may impose an administrative penalty on a person who
violates Chapter 161 or a rule or order adopted under Chapter
161. The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to ex-
ceed $5,000.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 27, 2025.

TRD-202503111

Jeanine Coggeshall

General Counsel

Texas Animal Health Commission

Effective date: September 16, 2025

Proposal publication date: June 6, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 839-0511

. . .
4 TAC §40.3, §40.6
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals within Chapter 40 of the Texas Administrative Code
are adopted under the following statutory authority as found in
Chapter 161 of the Texas Agriculture Code:

The Commission is vested by statute, §161.041(a), titled "Dis-
ease Control," to protect all livestock, exotic livestock, domes-
tic fowl, and exotic fowl from disease. The Commission is au-
thorized, through §161.041(b), to act to eradicate or control any
disease or agent of transmission for any disease that affects live-
stock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, even if the
agent of transmission is an animal species that is not subject to
the jurisdiction of the Commission.

Pursuant to §161.0415, titled "Disposal of Diseased or Exposed
Livestock or Fowl," the Commission may require by order the
slaughter of livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl exposed to
or infected with certain diseases.

Pursuant to §161.0417, titled "Authorized Personnel for Disease
Control," the Commission must authorize a person, including a
veterinarian, to engage in an activity that is part of a state or
federal disease control or eradication program for animals.

Pursuant to §161.046, titled "Rules," the Commission may adopt
rules as necessary for the administration and enforcement of this
chapter.
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Pursuant to §161.047, titled "Entry Power," Commission person-
nel are permitted to enter public or private property for the per-
formance of an authorized duty.

Pursuant to §161.048, titled "Inspection of Shipment of Animals
or Animal Products," the Commission may require testing, vacci-
nation, or another epidemiologically sound procedure before or
after animals are moved. An agent of the Commission is enti-
tled to stop and inspect a shipment of animals or animal prod-
ucts being transported in this state to determine if the shipment
originated from a quarantined area or herd; or determine if the
shipment presents a danger to the public health or livestock in-
dustry through insect infestation or through a communicable or
non-communicable disease.

Pursuant to §161.049, titled "Dealer Records," the Commission
may require a livestock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic
fowl dealer to maintain records of all livestock, exotic livestock,
domestic fowl, or exotic fowl bought and sold by the dealer. The
Commission may also inspect and copy the records of a live-
stock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl dealer that
relate to the buying and selling of those animals. The Commis-
sion, by rule, shall adopt the form and content of the records
maintained by a dealer.

Pursuant to §161.054, titled "Regulation of Movement of Ani-
mals; Exception," the Commission, by rule, may regulate the
movement of animals. The Commission may restrict the in-
trastate movement of animals even though the movement of the
animals is unrestricted in interstate or international commerce.
The Commission may require testing, vaccination, or another
epidemiologically sound procedure before or after animals are
moved. The Commission is authorized, through §161.054(b), to
prohibit or regulate the movement of animals into a quarantined
herd, premises, or area. The Executive Director of the Commis-
sion is authorized, through §161.054(d), to modify a restriction
on animal movement, and may consider economic hardship.

Pursuant to §161.0541, titled "Elk Disease Surveillance Pro-
gram," the Commission, by rule, may establish a disease
surveillance program for elk. Such rules include the requirement
for persons moving elk in interstate commerce to test the elk for
chronic wasting disease. Additionally, provisions must include
testing, identification, transportation, and inspection under the
disease surveillance program.

Pursuant to §161.0545, titled "Movement of Animal Products,"
the Commission may adopt rules that require the certification of
persons who transport or dispose of inedible animal products,
including carcasses, body parts, and waste material. The Com-
mission, by rule, may provide terms and conditions for the is-
suance, renewal, and revocation of a certification under this sec-
tion.

Pursuant to §161.056(a), titled "Animal Identification Program,"
the Commission may develop and implement an animal identi-
fication program that is no more stringent than a federal animal
disease traceability or other federal animal identification program
to provide for disease control and enhance the ability to trace dis-
ease-infected animals or animals that have been exposed to dis-
ease. Section 161.056(d) authorizes the Commission to adopt
rules to provide for an animal identification program more strin-
gent than a federal program only for control of a specific animal
disease or for animal emergency management.

Pursuant to §161.057, titled "Classification of Areas," the Com-
mission may prescribe criteria for classifying areas in the state

for disease control based on sound epidemiological principals
and may prescribe control measures for classification areas.

Pursuant to §161.058, titled "Compensation of Livestock or Fowl
Owner," the Commission may pay indemnity to the owner of live-
stock or fowl, if necessary, to eradicate the disease.

Pursuant to §161.060, titled "Authority to Set and Collect Fees,"
the Commission may charge a fee for an inspection made by the
Commission as provided by Commission rule.

Pursuant to §161.061, titled "Establishment," if the Commission
determines that a disease listed in §161.041 of this code or an
agent of transmission of one of those diseases exists in a place in
this state or among livestock, exotic livestock, domestic animals,
domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, or a place in this state or livestock,
exotic livestock, domestic animals, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl
are exposed to one of those diseases or any agent of transmis-
sion of one of those diseases, the Commission shall establish a
quarantine on the affected animals or on the affected place. The
quarantine of an affected place may extend to any affected area,
including a county, district, pasture, lot, ranch, farm, field, range,
thoroughfare, building, stable, or stockyard pen. The Commis-
sion may, through §161.061(c), establish a quarantine to pro-
hibit or regulate the movement of any article or animal the Com-
mission designates to be a carrier of a disease listed in Section
161.041 or a potential carrier of one of those diseases, if move-
ment is not otherwise regulated or prohibited for an animal into
an affected area, including a county district, pasture, lot, ranch,
field, range, thoroughfare, building, stable, or stockyard pen.

Pursuant to §161.0615, titled "Statewide or Widespread Quar-
antine," the Commission may quarantine livestock, exotic live-
stock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl in all or any part of this state
as a means of immediately restricting the movement of animals
potentially infected with disease and shall clearly describe the
territory included in a quarantine area.

Pursuant to §161.065, titled "Movement from Quarantined Area;
Movement of Quarantined Animals," the Commission may pro-
vide a written certificate or written permit authorizing the move-
ment of animals from quarantined places. If the Commission
finds animals have been moved in violation of an established
quarantine or in violation of any other livestock sanitary law, the
Commission shall quarantine the animals until they have been
properly treated, vaccinated, tested, dipped, or disposed of in
accordance with the rules of the Commission.

Pursuant to §161.081, titled "Importation of Animals," the Com-
mission may regulate the movement of livestock, exotic live-
stock, domestic animals, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl into this
state from another state, territory, or country. The Commission,
by rule, may provide the method for inspecting and testing ani-
mals before and after entry into this state, and for the issuance
and form of health certificates and entry permits.

Pursuant to §161.101, titled "Duty to Report," a veterinarian, a
veterinary diagnostic laboratory, or a person having care, cus-
tody, or control of an animal shall report the existence of the dis-
ease, if required by the Commission, among livestock, exotic
livestock, bison, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl to the Commission
within 24 hours after diagnosis of the disease.

Pursuant to §161.148, titled "Administrative Penalty," the Com-
mission may impose an administrative penalty on a person who
violates Chapter 161 or a rule or order adopted under Chapter
161. The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to ex-
ceed $5,000.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 27, 2025.

TRD-202503112

Jeanine Coggeshall

General Counsel

Texas Animal Health Commission

Effective date: September 16, 2025

Proposal publication date: June 6, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 839-0511
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CHAPTER 51. ENTRY REQUIREMENTS
4 TAC §51.9, §51.10

The Texas Animal Health Commission (Commission) in a duly
noticed meeting on August 26, 2025, adopted amendments
to Title 4, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 51 titled "Entry
Requirements." Specifically, the Commission adopted amend-
ments to §51.9 regarding Exotic Livestock and Fowl, and
§51.10 regarding Cervidae without changes to the proposed
text published in the June 6, 2025 issue of the Texas Register
(50 TexReg 3311) and will not be republished.

JUSTIFICATION FOR RULE ACTION

The Commission is tasked with creating and enforcing entry re-
quirements for livestock, fowl, exotic livestock, and exotic fowl.
The Commission proposed amendments to the entry require-
ments governing ratites and exotic fowl moving from Association
of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) facilities.

The amendments to §51.9 clarify that one of three forms of
accepted identification is needed for ratites entering Texas.
The amendments also provide simplified requirements for
exotic fowl, excluding ratites, moving between AZA accredited
facilities. The amendments allow for movement to and from
accredited facilities without testing for pullorum-typhoid and
avian influenza and without entry permitting, provided there is
no commingling. This amendment is made because the risk
posed by these movements is low. The AZA has rigorous ac-
creditation requirements, transfers between accredited facilities
are closely tracked, accredited facilities operate in relatively
closed environments, and animals in accredited facilities receive
comprehensive care.

The amendments also update the language found in §51.10 con-
cerning movement of cervids from AZA accredited facilities. The
language previously referenced the "American Zoo and Aquar-
ium Association (AZAA)." However, the organization has since
changed their name. The amendments reflect the name change.

HOW THE RULES WILL FUNCTION

Section 51.9 includes entry requirements for exotic livestock and
fowl. The amendments clarify the identification requirements for
ratites entering Texas and create simplified requirements for ex-
otic fowl (other than ratites) moving between AZA accredited fa-
cilities.

Section 51.10 includes entry requirements for Cervidae. The
amendments update language to reflect the name change of the
American Zoo and Aquarium Association to Association of Zoos
and Aquariums.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED AND COMMISSION
RESPONSE

The 30-day comment period ended July 6, 2025.

During this period, the Commission received one comment in
support of the rule. A summary of the comment and the Com-
mission's response follows:

Comment: A veterinarian from Zoo Miami commented in sup-
port of the proposal stating previous AZA to AZA movement in
Texas has been extremely challenging. The commenter noted
that the amendments will simplify transfers of low-risk but high
conservation value birds.

Response: The Commission thanks the commenter for the feed-
back. No changes were made as a result of these comments.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized under the Texas Agriculture
Code, Chapter 161, §161.046 which authorizes the Commis-
sion to promulgate rules in accordance with the Texas Agriculture
Code.

Pursuant to §161.041, titled "Disease Control," the Commission
shall protect all livestock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, and
exotic fowl from diseases the commission determines require
control or eradication. Pursuant to §161.041(b) the Commission
may act to eradicate or control any disease or agent of transmis-
sion for any disease that affects livestock, exotic livestock, do-
mestic fowl, or exotic fowl. The Commission may adopt any rules
necessary to carry out the purposes of this subsection, including
rules concerning testing, movement, inspection, and treatment.

Pursuant to §161.043, titled "Regulation of Exhibitions," the
Commission may regulate the entry of livestock and may require
certification of those animals as reasonably necessary to protect
against communicable diseases.

Pursuant to §161.048, titled "Inspection of Shipment of Animals
or Animal Product," the Commission may require testing, vacci-
nation, or another epidemiologically sound procedure before or
after animals are moved. An agent of the Commission is enti-
tled to stop and inspect a shipment of animals or animal prod-
ucts being transported in this state to determine if the shipment
originated from a quarantined area or herd; or determine if the
shipment presents a danger to the public health or livestock in-
dustry through insect infestation or through a communicable or
non-communicable disease.

Pursuant to §161.054, titled "Regulation of Movement of An-
imals; Exception," the Commission may by rule regulate the
movement of animals, and may restrict the intrastate move-
ment of animals even though the movement of the animals
is unrestricted in interstate or international commerce. The
Commission may require testing, vaccination, or another epi-
demiologically sound procedure before or after animals are
moved.

Pursuant to §161.056(a), titled "Animal Identification Program,"
the Commission, to provide for disease control and enhance the
ability to trace disease-infected animals or animals that have
been exposed to disease, may develop and implement an an-
imal identification program that is no more stringent than a fed-
eral animal disease traceability or other federal animal identifica-
tion program. Section 161.056(d) authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules to provide for an animal identification program more
stringent than a federal program only for control of a specific an-
imal disease or for animal emergency management.
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Pursuant to §161.081, titled "Importation of Animals," the Com-
mission by rule may provide the method for inspecting and test-
ing animals before and after entry into Texas. The Commission
may create rules for the issuance and form of health certificates
and entry permits.

Pursuant to §161.101, titled "Duty to Report," a veterinarian, a
veterinary diagnostic laboratory, or a person having care, cus-
tody, or control of an animal shall report the existence of the dis-
ease, if required by the Commission, among livestock, exotic
livestock, bison, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl to the Commission
within 24 hours after diagnosis of the disease.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 27, 2025.

TRD-202503113

Jeanine Coggeshall

General Counsel

Texas Animal Health Commission

Effective date: September 16, 2025

Proposal publication date: June 6, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 839-0511
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TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 259. COMMUNITY LIVING
ASSISTANCE AND SUPPORT SERVICES
(CLASS) PROGRAM AND COMMUNITY FIRST
CHOICE (CFC) SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY,
ENROLLMENT, AND REVIEW

DIVISION 1. ELIGIBILITY AND
MAINTENANCE OF THE CLASS INTEREST
LIST

26 TAC §259.51

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment to
§259.51, concerning Eligibility Criteria for CLASS Program
Services and CFC Services.

Section 259.51 is adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the July 11, 2025, issue of the Texas Register (50
TexReg 3987). This rule will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

This amendment is necessary to increase the waiver cost limit
for an individual's individual plan of care (IPC) in the Community
Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS) waiver pro-
gram. The 2026-2027 General Appropriations Act, Senate Bill 1,
89th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2025 (Article I, HHSC

Rider 23) includes appropriations to increase the attendant wage
for personal attendant services. This attendant wage increase
impacts Medicaid personal attendant reimbursement rates.

As a result of this direction and prior reimbursement rate in-
creases, the amendment increases the waiver cost limit for an
individual's IPC in the CLASS waiver program to off-set the cost
of higher personal attendant reimbursement rates. The increase
allows the individual to continue to qualify for services in the
CLASS waiver program without exceeding the cost limit for the
IPC.

HHSC's amendments to the cost limit rules for an individual's
IPC in the Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities and Texas Home
Living Programs, and the cost limits in the Home and Commu-
nity-based Services Program, are published in this same issue
of the Texas Register.

COMMENTS
The 21-day comment period ended August 1, 2025.

During this period, HHSC received one comment regarding the
proposed rule from one individual. A summary of the comment
relating to the rule and HHSC's response follows.

Comment: The commentor supported the rule amendment
and recommended that HHSC conduct a biennial review of the
CLASS IPC cost limit.

Response: HHSC thanks the commentor for the commentor's
support and recommendation to conduct a biennial review of the
CLASS IPC cost limit. However, HHSC clarifies that biennial
waiver cost limit reviews fall outside the scope of this rule project
and are dependent on available levels of appropriated state and
federal funds. HHSC did not revise the rule in response to this
comment.

HHSC revised §259.51(a)(4) to add the new dollar amount of
the IPC cost limit in the CLASS Program is $149,774.00. This
dollar amount, added to the rule for clarity, is based on the fi-
nal September 1, 2025 reimbursement rates for the Intermedi-
ate Care Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or
Related Conditions Program.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services system, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC with
the authority to administer the federal medical assistance pro-
gram in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.

§259.51.  Eligibility Criteria for CLASS Program Services and CFC
Services.
(a) An individual is eligible for CLASS Program services if:
(1) the individual meets the financial eligibility criteria de-

scribed in Appendix B of the CLASS Program waiver application ap-
proved by CMS and available on the HHSC website;

(2) theindividual is determined by HHSC to meet the LOC
VIII criteria described in §261.239 of this title (relating to ICE/MR
Level of Care VIII Criteria);

(3) theindividual demonstrates a need for CFC PAS/HAB;

(4) the individual's IPC has an IPC cost for CLASS Pro-
gram services at or below 210 percent of the annualized cost of care
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in an ICF/IID using the unweighted average of the current non-state
operated small facility daily rates for level of need, as defined by the
ICF/IID program rules in §261.203 of this title (relating to Definitions),
1, 5, and 8 rounded to the nearest dollar, which as of September 1, 2025
is $149,774;

(5) theindividual is not enrolled in another waiver program
or receiving a service that may not be received if the individual is en-
rolled in the CLASS Program, as identified in the Mutually Exclusive
Services table in Appendix III of the Community Living Assistance and
Support Services Provider Manual available on the HHSC website;

(6) the individual resides in the individual's own home or
family home; and

(7) the individual requires the provision of:

(A) at least one CLASS Program service per month or
a monthly monitoring by a case manager; and

(B) atleast one CLASS Program service during an IPC
period.

(b) Exceptas provided in subsection (c) of this section, an indi-
vidual is eligible for a CFC service under this chapter if the individual:

(1) meets the criteria described in subsection (a) of this sec-
tion;

(2) requires the provision of the CFC service; and
(3) is not receiving SFS or CFS.

(c) To be eligible for a CFC service under this chapter, an in-
dividual receiving MAO Medicaid must, in addition to meeting the
eligibility criteria described in subsection (b) of this section, receive
a CLASS Program service at least monthly, as required by 42 CFR
§441.510(d).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2025.

TRD-202503116

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: September 17, 2025

Proposal publication date: July 11, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 260. DEAF BLIND WITH
MULTIPLE DISABILITIES (DBMD) PROGRAM
AND COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE (CFC)
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY,
ENROLLMENT, AND REVIEW

DIVISION 1. ELIGIBILITY AND
MAINTENANCE OF THE DBMD INTEREST
LIST

26 TAC §260.51

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment
to §260.51, concerning Eligibility Criteria for DBMD Program
Services and CFC Services.

Section 260.51 is adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the July 11, 2025, issue of the Texas Register (50
TexReg 3988). This rule will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

This amendment is necessary to increase the waiver cost limit for
an individual's individual plan of care (IPC) in the Deaf Blind with
Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) waiver program. The 2026-2027
General Appropriations Act, Senate Bill 1, 89th Texas Legisla-
ture, Regular Session, 2025 (Article I, HHSC Rider 23) includes
appropriations to increase the attendant wage for personal atten-
dant services. This attendant wage increase impacts Medicaid
personal attendant reimbursement rates.

As a result of this direction and prior reimbursement rate in-
creases, the amendment increases the waiver cost limit for an
individual's IPC in the DBMD waiver program to off-set the cost
of higher personal attendant reimbursement rates. This increase
allows the individual to continue to qualify for services in the
DBMD waiver program without exceeding the cost limit for the
IPC.

HHSC's amendments to the cost limit rules for an individual's IPC
in the Community Living Assistance and Support Services and
Texas Home Living Programs, and the cost limits in the Home
and Community-based Services Program, are published in this
same issue of the Texas Register.

COMMENTS
The 21-day comment period ended August 1, 2025.

During this period, HHSC received one comment regarding the
proposed rule from one individual. A summary of the comment
relating to the rule and HHSC's response follows.

Comment: The commentor supported the rule amendment
and recommended that HHSC conduct a biennial review of the
DBMD IPC cost limit.

Response: HHSC thanks the commentor for the commentor's
support and recommendation to conduct a biennial review of
the DBMD IPC cost limit. However, HHSC clarifies that biennial
waiver cost limit reviews fall outside the scope of this rule project
and are dependent on available levels of appropriated state and
federal funds. HHSC did not revise the rule in response to this
comment.

HHSC revised §260.51(a)(4) to add the new dollar amount of
the IPC cost limit in the DBMD program which is $149,774.00.
The dollar amount, added to the rule for clarity, is based on the
final September 1, 2025 reimbursement rates for the Intermedi-
ate Care Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or
Related Conditions Program.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services system, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC with
the authority to administer the federal medical assistance pro-
gram in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.
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$260.51.
Services.

Eligibility Criteria for DBMD Program Services and CFC

(a) An individual is eligible for DBMD Program services if:

(1) the individual meets the financial eligibility criteria as
described in Appendix B of the DBMD Program waiver application
approved by CMS and available on the HHSC website;

(2) theindividual is determined by HHSC to meet the LOC
VIII criteria described in §261.239 of this title (relating to ICF/MR
Level of Care VIII Criteria);

(3) the individual, as documented on the ID/RC Assess-
ment:

(A) has one or more diagnosed related conditions and,
as a result:

(i) has deafblindness;

(i) has been determined to have a progressive med-
ical condition that will result in deafblindness; or

(iii)  functions as a person with deafblindness; and

(B) has one or more additional disabilities that result in
impairment to independent functioning;

(4) the individual has an IPC with a cost for DBMD Pro-
gram services at or below 210 percent of the annualized cost of care
in an ICF/IID using the unweighted average of the current non-state
operated small facility daily rates for level of need, as defined by the
ICF/IID program rules in §261.203 of this title (relating to Definitions),
1, 5, and 8 rounded to the nearest dollar, which as of September 1, 2025
is $149,774;

(5) theindividual is not enrolled in another waiver program
or receiving a service that may not be received if the individual is en-
rolled in the DBMD Program, as identified in the Mutually Exclusive
Services table in Appendix V of the Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabil-
ities Program Manual;

(6) the individual does not reside in:
(A) an ICF/ID;
(B) a nursing facility;

(C) an ALF, unless it provides licensed assisted living
in the DBMD Program;

(D) aresidential child-care facility unless it is an agency
foster home;

(E) ahospital;

(F) a mental health facility;

(G) an inpatient chemical dependency treatment facil-
ity;

(H) a residential facility operated by the Texas Work-
force Commission;

(I) aresidential facility operated by the Texas Juvenile
Justice Department;

) ajail; or
(K) aprison;

(7) at least one program provider is willing to provide
DBMD Program services to the individual;

(8) the individual resides or moves to reside in a county
served by a program provider; and

(9) the individual requires the provision of:

(A) atleast one DBMD Program Service per month or
a monthly monitoring by a case manager; and

(B) atleast one DBMD Program Service during an IPC
period.

(b) Exceptas provided in subsection (c) of this section, an indi-
vidual is eligible for a CFC service under this chapter if the individual:

(1) meets the criteria described in subsection (a) of this sec-
tion;

(2) requires the provision of the CFC service; and

(3) is not receiving licensed assisted living or licensed
home health assisted living.

(c) To be eligible for a CFC service under this chapter, an in-
dividual receiving MAO Medicaid must, in addition to meeting the
eligibility criteria described in subsection (b) of this section, receive
a DBMD Program service at least monthly, as required by 42 CFR
§441.510(d).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2025.

TRD-202503117

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: September 17, 2025

Proposal publication date: July 11, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 262. TEXAS HOME LIVING
(TxHmL) PROGRAM AND COMMUNITY FIRST
CHOICE (CFC)

SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY,
ENROLLMENT, AND REVIEW

26 TAC §262.101

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment to
§262.101, concerning Eligibility Criteria for TxHmL Program
Services and CFC Services.

Section 262.101 is adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the July 11, 2025, issue of the Texas Register
(50 TexReg 3990). This rule will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

This amendment is necessary to increase the waiver cost limit for
an individual's individual plan of care (IPC) in the Texas Home
Living (TxHmL) waiver program. The 2026-2027 General Ap-
propriations Act, Senate Bill 1, 89th Texas Legislature, Regular
Session, 2025 (Article Il, HHSC Rider 23) includes appropria-
tions to increase the attendant wage for personal attendant ser-
vices. This attendant wage increase impacts Medicaid personal
attendant reimbursement rates.
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As a result of this direction and prior reimbursement rate in-
creases, the amendment increases the waiver cost limit for an
individual's IPC in the TxHmML waiver program to off-set the cost
of higher personal attendant reimbursement rates. The increase
allows the individual to continue to qualify for services in the
TxHmL waiver program without exceeding the cost limit for the
IPC.

HHSC's amendments to the cost limit rules for an individual's IPC
in the Community Living Assistance and Support Services, Deaf
Blind with Multiple Disabilities, and the cost limits in the Home
and Community-based Services Program, are published in the
same issue of the Texas Register.

COMMENTS
The 21-day comment period ended August 1, 2025.

During this period, HHSC received one comment regarding the
proposed rule from one individual. A summary of the comment
relating to the rule and HHSC's response follows.

Comment: The commentor supported the rule amendment
and recommended that HHSC conduct a biennial review of the
TxHmL IPC cost limit.

Response: HHSC thanks the commentor for the commentor's
support and recommendation to conduct a biennial review of the
TxHmL IPC cost limit. However, HHSC clarifies that biennial
waiver cost limit reviews fall outside the scope of this rule project
and are dependent on available levels of appropriated state and
federal funds. HHSC did not revise the rule in response to this
comment.

HHSC revised §262.101(a)(4) to add the new dollar amount of
the IPC cost limit in the TxHmL Program, which is $31,684. This
dollar amount, added to the rule for clarity, is based on the final
September 1, 2025 reimbursement rates for Intermediate Care
Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related
Conditions. HHSC also revised this rule to correctly spell "non-
state operated.”

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services system, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC with
the authority to administer the federal medical assistance pro-
gram in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.

$262.101.  Eligibility Criteria for TxHmL Program Services and CFC
Services.

(a) An applicant or individual is eligible for TXHmL Program
services if:

(1) the applicant or individual meets the financial eligibility
criteria as described in Appendix B of the TxHmL waiver application
approved by CMS and available on the HHSC website;

(2) the applicant or individual meets one of the following
criteria:

(A) Dbased on a DID and as determined by HHSC in ac-
cordance with §262.104 of this subchapter (relating to LOC Determi-
nation), the applicant or individual qualifies for an ICF/IID LOC I as
defined in §261.238 of this title (relating to ICF/MR Level of Care I
Criteria); or

(B) meets the following criteria:

(i) based on a DID and as determined by HHSC in
accordance with §262.105 of this subchapter (relating to LON Assign-
ment), qualifies for one of the following levels of care:

(I) an ICF/IID LOC I as defined in §261.238 of
this title; or

(II) an ICF/IID LOC VIII as defined in §261.239
of this title (relating to ICF/MR Level of Care VIII Criteria);

(i) meets one of the following:

(I) resides in a nursing facility immediately be-
fore enrolling in the TxHmL Program; or

(II) is at imminent risk of entering a nursing fa-
cility as determined by HHSC; and

(iii)  is offered TxHmL Program services designated
for a member of the reserved capacity group "Individuals with a level
of care I or VIII residing in a nursing facility" included in Appendix
B of the TxHmL Program waiver application approved by CMS and
available on the HHSC website;

(3) the applicant or individual has been assigned an LON
in accordance with §262.105 of this subchapter;

(4) the applicant or individual has an IPC cost that does not
exceed 50 percent of the annualized cost of care in an ICF/IID using the
current non-state operated small facility daily rate for LON 1, rounded
to the nearest dollar, which as of September 1, 2025 is $31,684;

(5) the applicant or individual is not enrolled in another
waiver program and is not receiving a service that may not be received
if the individual is enrolled in the TxHmL Program, as identified in the
Mutually Exclusive Services table in Appendix I of the TxHmL Hand-
book available on the HHSC website;

(6) the applicant or individual has chosen, or the applicant's
or individual's LAR has chosen, participation in the TxHmL Program
over participation in the ICF/IID Program;

(7) the applicant's or individual's service planning team
concurs that the TxHmL Program services and, if applicable,
non-TxHmL Program services for which the applicant or individual
may be eligible are sufficient to ensure the applicant's or individual's
health and welfare in the community;

(8) the applicant or individual does not reside in:
(A) ahospital;
(B) an ICF/ID;
(C) anursing facility;

(D) an assisted living facility licensed or subject to be-
ing licensed in accordance with THSC Chapter 247;

(E) aresidential child care facility licensed by HHSC
unless it is an agency foster home;

(F) an inpatient chemical dependency treatment facil-
ity;
(G) amental health facility;

(H) a residential facility operated by the Texas Work-
force Commission; or

(I) aresidential facility operated by the Texas Juvenile
Justice Department, a jail, or a prison; and

(9) the applicant or individual requires the provision of:
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(A) at least one TxHmL Program service per month or
a monthly monitoring visit by a service coordinator as described in
§262.701(0) of this chapter (relating to LIDDA Requirements for Pro-
viding Service Coordination in the TxHmL Program); and

(B) atleast one TxHmL Program service per IPC year.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, an ap-
plicant or individual is eligible for a CFC service under this subchapter
if the applicant or individual:

(1) meets the criteria described in subsection (a) of this sec-
tion; and

(2) requires the provision of the CFC service.

(c) To be eligible for a CFC service under this chapter, an ap-
plicant or individual receiving MAO Medicaid must, in addition to
meeting the eligibility criteria described in subsection (b) of this sec-
tion, receive a TXHmL Program service at least monthly, as required by
42 CFR §441.510(d), which may not be met by a monthly monitoring
visit by a service coordinator as described in §262.701(0)(1) and (2) of
this chapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2025.

TRD-202503118

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: September 17, 2025

Proposal publication date: July 11, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910
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CHAPTER 263. HOME AND COMMUNITY-
BASED SERVICES (HCS) PROGRAM AND
COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE (CFC)
SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY,
ENROLLMENT, AND REVIEW

26 TAC §236.101

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment
to §236.101, concerning Eligibility Criteria for HCS Program
Services and CFC Services.

Section 263.101 is adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the July 11, 2025, issue of the Texas Register
(50 TexReg 3992). This rule will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

This amendment is necessary to increase the waiver cost limit
for an individual's individual plan of care (IPC) in the Home and
Community-based Services (HCS) waiver program. The 2026-
2027 General Appropriations Act, Senate Bill 1, 89th Texas Leg-
islature, Regular Session, 2025 (Article I, HHSC Rider 23) in-
cludes appropriations to increase the attendant wage for per-
sonal attendant services. This attendant wage increase impacts
Medicaid personal attendant reimbursement rates.

As a result of this direction and prior reimbursement rate in-
creases, the amendment increases the waiver cost limit for an
individual's IPC in the HCS waiver program to off-set the cost of
higher personal attendant reimbursement rates. The increase al-
lows the individual to continue to qualify for services in the HCS
waiver program without exceeding the cost limit for the IPC.

HHSC's amendments to the cost limit rules for an individual's
IPC in the Community Living Assistance and Support Services,
Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities, and Texas Home Living Pro-
grams, are published in this same issue of the Texas Register.

COMMENTS
The 21-day comment period ended August 1, 2025.

During this period, HHSC received one comment regarding the
proposed rule from one individual. A summary of the comment
relating to the rule and HHSC's response follows.

Comment: The commentor supported the rule amendment and
recommended that HHSC conduct a biennial review of the HCS
IPC cost limits.

Response: HHSC thanks the commentor for the commentor's
support and recommendation to conduct a biennial review of the
CLASS IPC cost limit. However, HHSC clarifies that biennial
waiver cost limit reviews fall outside the scope of this rule project
and are dependent on available levels of appropriated state and
federal funds. HHSC did not revise the rule in response to this
comment.

HHSC revised §263.101(a)(3)(A) - (C) to add the new dollar
amounts of the IPC cost limits in the HCS Program, which are
$169,182, $211,822, and $392,318 respectively. These dollar
amounts, added to the rules for clarity, are based on the final
September 1, 2025 reimbursement rates for Intermediate Care
Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related
Conditions. HHSC also revised these rules to correctly spell
"non-state operated."

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services system, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC with
the authority to administer the federal medical assistance pro-
gram in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.

$263.101.  Eligibility Criteria for HCS Program Services and CFC
Services.

(a) Anapplicant or individual is eligible for HCS Program ser-
vices if the applicant or individual:

(1) meets the financial eligibility criteria as described in
Appendix B of the HCS Program waiver application approved by CMS
and available on the HHSC website;

(2) meets one of the following criteria:

(A) Dbased on a DID and as determined by HHSC in ac-
cordance with §263.105 of this subchapter (relating to LOC Determi-
nation), qualifies for an ICF/IID LOC I, as defined in §261.238 of this
title (relating to ICF/MR Level of Care I Criteria);

(B) as determined by HHSC in accordance with
§263.105 of this subchapter, qualifies for an ICF/IID LOC I as defined
in §261.238 of this title or ICF/IID LOC VIII, as defined in §261.239

ADOPTED RULES September 12, 2025 50 TexReg 6019



of this title (relating to ICF/MR Level of Care VIII Criteria), and has
been determined by HHSC:

(i) to have an intellectual disability or a related con-
dition;
(ii) to need specialized services; and

(iii)  to be inappropriately placed in a Medicaid cer-
tified nursing facility based on an annual resident review conducted in
accordance with the requirements of Chapter 303 of this title (relating
to Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR); or

(C) meets the following criteria:

(i) based on a DID and as determined by HHSC in
accordance with §261.237 of this title (relating to Level of Care) qual-
ifies for one of the following levels of care:

(I) an ICF/IID LOC I as defined in §261.238 of
this title; or

(1I) an ICF/IID LOC VIII as defined in §261.239
of this title;

(i) meets one of the following:

(1) resides in a nursing facility immediately be-
fore enrolling in the HCS Program; or

(1I) is at imminent risk of entering a nursing fa-
cility as determined by HHSC; and

(iii)  is offered HCS Program services designated for
a member of the reserved capacity group "Individuals with a level of
care | or VIII residing in a nursing facility" included in Appendix B of
the HCS Program waiver application approved by CMS and available
on the HHSC website;

(3) has an IPC cost that does not exceed:

(A) 210 percent of the annualized cost of care in an
ICF/IID using the current non-state operated small facility daily rate
for LON 8, rounded to the nearest dollar for an applicant or individual
with an LON 1, LON 5, or LON 8, which as of September 1, 2025, is
$169,182;

(B) 210 percent of the annualized cost of care in an
ICF/IID using the current non-state operated small facility daily rate
for LON 6, rounded to the nearest dollar for an applicant or individual
with an LON 6, which as of September 1, 2025, is $211,822; or

(C) 210 percent of the annualized cost of care in an
ICF/IID using the current non-state operated small facility daily rate
for LON 9, rounded to the nearest dollar for an applicant or individual
with an LON 9, which as of September 1, 2025, is $392,318;

(4) 1is not enrolled in another waiver program and is not
receiving a service that may not be received if the individual is enrolled
in the HCS Program as identified in the Mutually Exclusive Services
table in Appendix II of the HCS Handbook available on the HHSC
website;

(5) does not reside in:
(A) ahospital;
(B) an ICF/IID;

(C) anursing facility;
(D) an ALF;

(E) aresidential child care facility licensed by HHSC
unless it is an agency foster home;

(F) an inpatient chemical dependency treatment facil-
ity;
(G) a mental health facility;

(H) a residential facility operated by the Texas Work-
force Commission; or

(I) aresidential facility operated by the Texas Juvenile
Justice Department, a jail, or a prison; and

(6) requires the provision of:

(A) at least one HCS Program service per month or
a monthly monitoring visit by a service coordinator as described in
§263.901(e)(40) of this chapter (relating to LIDDA Requirements for
Providing Service Coordination in the HCS Program); and

(B) atleast one HCS Program service per IPC year.

(b) For applicants or individuals with spouses who live in the
community, the income and resource eligibility requirements are deter-
mined according to the spousal impoverishment provisions in §1924 of
the Social Security Act and as specified in the Medicaid State Plan.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, an ap-
plicant or individual is eligible for a CFC service under this chapter if
the applicant or individual:

(1) meets the criteria described in subsection (a) of this sec-
tion;

(2) requires the provision of the CFC service; and

(3) isnotreceiving host home/companion care, supervised
living, or residential support.

(d) To be eligible for a CFC service under this chapter, an ap-
plicant or individual receiving MAO Medicaid must, in addition to
meeting the eligibility criteria described in subsection (c) of this sec-
tion, receive an HCS Program service at least monthly, as required by
42 CFR §441.510(d), which may not be met by a monthly monitoring
visit by a service coordinator as described in §263.901(e)(40) of this
chapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2025.

TRD-202503119

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: September 17, 2025

Proposal publication date: July 11, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910
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