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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 7. BANKING AND SECURITIES

PART 6. CREDIT UNION
DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 91. CHARTERING, OPERATIONS,
MERGERS, LIQUIDATIONS

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES

7 TAC §91.101

The Credit Union Commission (the Commission) adopts the
amendments to Texas Administrative Code, Title 7, Chapter 91,
Subchapter A, §91.101, concerning definitions and interpreta-
tions, with no changes to the adopted text as published in the
April 4, 2025, issue of the Texas Register (50 TexReg 2293).
The rule will not be republished.

The amended rule amends definition of the term "Unifying Char-
acteristics" and adds a definition for "Political Subdivision". The
amendment renumbers subsequent definitions to accommodate
the newly added definition.

The Commission received one written comment in support of the
proposed amendments to the rule from Gevon Calix with First
Service Credit Union.

The rule changes are adopted under Texas Finance Code, Sec-
tion 15.402, which authorizes the Commission to adopt reason-
able rules for administering Texas Finance Code, Title 2, Chapter
15 and Title 3, Subtitle D.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 21, 2025.

TRD-202502548

Michael S. Riepen

Commissioner

Credit Union Department

Effective date: August 10, 2025

Proposal publication date: April 4, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 837-9236
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CHAPTER 97. COMMISSION POLICIES AND
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

SUBCHAPTER B. FEES
7 TAC §97.113

The Credit Union Commission (Commission) adopts amend-
ments to §97.113, concerning fees and charges, with changes
to the text published in the April 4, 2025, issue of the Texas
Register (50 TexReg 2296), and will be republished.

The amendments are adopted as a result of the Department's
general rule review.

The Commission received four written comments from Tim
Miller with Cooperative Teachers Credit Union, Melodie Durst
with Credit Union Coalition of Texas, Gevon Calix with First
Service and Suzanne Yashewski with Cornerstone League both
in support of or in opposition with respect to selected portions
of proposed amendments as detailed below. In response to the
comments the proposed amendment is withdrawn, in part.

Organizing the rule to keep subparts addressing a specific type
of fee grouped together.

Two comments were received supporting reorganizing the rule.
There were no comments received in opposition to these amend-
ments.

Increases supplemental examination fees from $50.00 hourly to
$100.00 hourly.

One comment opposed the increase in the fees specifically not-
ing they felt the increase to be arbitrary. Three other comments
submitted did not address the fee increase.

In support of the amount, the Department reviewed similar au-
thority provided to the Texas Department of Banking, allowing
for specialty examination fees as outlined in 7 Texas Administra-
tive Code §3.36(h)(2). Their rule allows for a rate not to exceed
$110.00 per examiner hour and any actual travel expense in-
curred. The current proposal is less than this amount and will
include any travel expenses. This proposed fee continues to be
less than comparative fees.

For additional support, the Department calculates the average
hourly costs of field staff and travel to be approximately $80, not
accounting for the overhead of administration. More expensive
and specialized staff would be utilized in specialized examina-
tions, making the proposed rate reasonable. The last increase
in the maximum hourly fee to be charged by the department in
special examinations was in March of 2009, or over 16 years
ago.

The proposed and current rule provides that the Commissioner
"may waive the supplemental fee or reduce the fee, individually
or collectively, as he deems appropriate." This would be avail-
able should the fee be an undue financial burden on a credit
union, addressing the commentator's additional concern.

The Commission therefore adopts this portion of the amend-
ment.
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Increases the foreign branch fee from $500.00 to $1,000.00; the
field of membership expansion fee for a foreign credit union from
$200 to $1,000.00 for each application; and from $50 to $100 per
hour expended by an examiner for an examination, if scheduled
by the commissioner.

One comment opposed the increase in the fees specifically not-
ing they felt the increase to be arbitrary. Three other comments
submitted did not address the fee increase.

Our rules allow for credit unions chartered by other state regu-
lators to operate in Texas. These credit unions do not pay op-
erating fees. We maintain contact information on these institu-
tions, assure there is appropriate insurance coverage and main-
tain branch listings. We receive, monitor and forward complaints
to their state regulator. We also may be requested to process re-
quests for expansions of fields of membership. As a comparison,
the operating fee for a state chartered credit union with assets of
$1 million dollars ($1,500) is the more than the proposed branch
fee for a foreign credit union, regardless of asset size.

Eleven foreign credit unions operating in Texas have an average
asset size of $3.5 billion. The department believes this fee is
rather nominal for a foreign credit union and is reasonable in
light of the work to maintain the records and statutorily required
annual information in our systems.

The change to the hourly rate for a review is consistent with the
change recommended for Texas state chartered credit unions.
The Commission, therefore, adopts this portion of amendment.

Allows the department to recover legal and SOAH costs from
credit unions who cause the cost to be incurred.

One comment supported the proposed amendment; one com-
ment was in opposition and one comment suggested more clar-
ity.

This part of the rule change was proposed to allow for, not re-
quire, recovery of legal and hearings costs related to actions
taken by regulated credit unions. Specifically, this was to ad-
dress arecentinstance where the Department was charged over
$36,000 by the state office of administrative hearings (SOAH)
related to an appeal of a modified approval of a field of member-
ship expansion application. Multiple informal resolution attempts
were unsuccessful.

All of these expenses were solely paid by the Credit Union De-
partment, and none paid by the appealing credit union. With an
annual budget of $5 to $6 million, the impact of these costs can
become material. The rule was proposed to ensure that threat-
ened legal actions would not be used as a tool for a credit union
to mitigate or avoid regulation. It also would put the burden on
the Credit Union directly causing the cost, particularly that of an
independent third party, such as SOAH, and would continue to
allow the commissioner the ability not to assess the fee.

In response to the concerns from the comments, this part of the
amendment is withdrawn to undergo further review.

Allows for the commissioner to propose future administrative
fees to recover costs with notice to credit unions and approval
by the commission at least every two years.

Four comments were received in opposition to this part of the
rule. In response to the opposition, this part of amendment is
withdrawn.

Withdrawal of a part of the proposed amendments in response
to objection will not materially impact the substance of the rule
with the other proposed amendments.

The amendments are adopted under Texas Finance Code,
§15.402, which directs the Commission to establish by rule
reasonable and necessary fees for the administration of Title 2,
Chapter 15 and Subtitle D, Title 3 of the Finance Code.

The specific section affected by the amended rule is Texas Fi-
nance Code, §15.402.

$97.113.  Fees and Charges.
(a) Operating Fee.

(1) Each credit union authorized to do business under the
Act shall remit to the department an annual operating fee. The fee shall
be paid in semi-annual installments, billed effective September 1 and
March 1 of each year. Either installment may be adjusted as provided
by paragraph (6) of this subsection.

(2) Creditunions that exit the Texas credit union system on
or before August 31 or February 28 of a given year, will not be subject
to the semi-annual assessment for the period beginning September 1 or
March 1, respectively. Only those credit unions leaving the state credit
union system prior to the close of business on those dates avoid paying
the semi-annual assessment for the period beginning September 1 or
March 1, as applicable.

(3) Calculation of operating fees. The schedule provided
in this section shall serve as the basis for calculating operating fees.
The base date shall be June 30 of the year in which operating fees are
calculated. The asset base may be reduced by the amount of reverse-
repurchase balances extant on the June 30 base date.

Figure: 7 TAC §97.113(a)(3)

(4) The commissioner is authorized to increase the fee
schedule once each year as needed to match revenue with appropria-
tions. An increase greater than 5% shall require prior approval of the
commission. The commissioner shall notify the commission of any
such adjustment at the first meeting of the commission following the
determination of the fee schedule.

(5) Waiver of operating fees. The commissioner is autho-
rized to waive the operating fee for an individual credit union when
good cause exists. The commissioner shall document the reason(s) for
each waiver of operating fees and report such waiver to the commis-
sion at its next meeting.

(6) Adjustment of an installment. The commissioner in the
exercise of discretion may, after review and consideration of antici-
pated and actual revenues and projected revenues adjust the amount of
either installment due from credit unions.

(7) Late Fee. Installments received after September 30 or
March 30 of each year will be subject to a monthly 10% late fee (calcu-
lated on the balance due) unless waived by the commissioner for good
cause.

(8) Credit union conversion. A credit union organized un-
der the laws of the United States or of another State that converts to
a credit union organized under the laws of this State shall remit to the
department an annual operating fee within 30 days after the issuance of
a charter by the commissioner. The schedule provided in paragraph (3)
of this subsection shall serve as the basis for calculating the operating
fee. All provisions set forth in paragraph (3) of this subsection shall
apply to converting credit unions with the following exceptions:
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(A) Should the effective date of the conversion fall on
or after October 31, the base date shall be the calendar quarter end im-
mediately preceding the issuance date of a charter by the commissioner.

(B) The amount of the operating fee calculated under
this section will be prorated based upon the number of full months re-
maining until September 1. For example, should the effective date of
the conversion be January 31, the converting credit union will remit
seven-twelfths of the amount of the operating fee calculated using De-
cember 31 base date.

(C) Any fee received more than 30 days after the is-
suance of a charter will be subject to a monthly 10% late fee unless
waived by the commissioner for good cause.

(9) Mergers/Consolidations. In the event a credit union
in existence as of June 30 merges or consolidates with another credit
union and the merger/consolidation is completed on or before August
31, the surviving credit union's asset base, for purposes of calculating
the operating fee prescribed in paragraph (3) of this subsection, will be
increased by the amount of the merging credit union's total assets as of
the June 30 base date.

(b) Supplemental examination fees.

(1) Ifthe commissioner or deputy commissioner schedules
a special examination in addition to the regular examination, the credit
union is subject to a supplemental charge to cover the cost of time and
expenses incurred in the examination.

(2) The credit union shall pay a supplemental fee of $100
for each hour of time expended on the examination. The commissioner
may waive the supplemental fee or reduce the fee, individually or col-
lectively, as he deems appropriate. Such waiver or reduction shall be
in writing and signed by the commissioner. The department shall fully
explain the time and charges for each special examination to the presi-
dent or designated official in charge of operations of a credit union.

(c) Special assessment. The commission may approve a spe-
cial assessment to cover material expenditures, such as major facility
repairs and improvements and other extraordinary expenses.

(d) Foreign credit unions.

(1) Branches. Credit unions operating branch offices in
Texas as authorized by §91.210 of this title (relating to Foreign Credit
Unions) shall pay an annual operating fee of $1,000 per branch office.

(2) Field of membership expansion. A foreign credit union
applying to expand its field of membership in Texas shall pay a fee of
$1,000. This fee shall be paid at the time of filing to cover the cost of
processing the application. In addition, the applicant shall pay any cost
incurred by the department in connection with any hearing conducted.

(3) Foreign credit union examination fees.

(A) If the commissioner schedules an examination of a
foreign credit union, the credit union is subject to supplemental charges
to cover the cost of time and expenses incurred in the examination.

(B) The foreign credit union shall pay a fee of $100 for
each hour of time expended by each examiner on the examination. The
commissioner may waive the examination fee or reduce the fee as he
deems appropriate.

(C) The foreign credit union shall also reimburse the de-
partment for actual travel expenses incurred in connection with the ex-
amination, including mileage, public transportation, food, and lodging
in addition to the fee set forth in paragraph (2) of this subsection. The
commissioner may waive this charge at his discretion.

(e) Contract Services. The commissioner may charge, or oth-
erwise cause to be paid by, a credit union, a foreign credit union or re-
lated entities the actual cost incurred by the department for legal fees,
adjudication fees and an examination or a review of all or part of the
operations or applications of a credit union, a foreign credit union or
related entity, that is performed under a contract entered into between
the department and third parties. This includes fees paid to the Texas
Attorney General's Office and State Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 21, 2025.

TRD-202502547

Michael S. Riepen

Commissioner

Credit Union Department

Effective date: August 10, 2025

Proposal publication date: April 4, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 837-9236

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 61. SCHOOL DISTRICTS
SUBCHAPTER BB. COMMISSIONER'S
RULES ON REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
19 TAC §61.1021, §61.1022

The Texas Education Agency adopts the repeal of §61.1021
and §61.1022, concerning the school report card and the Texas
Academic Performance Report. The repeal is adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 16, 2025
issue of the Texas Register (50 TexReg 2884) and will not be
republished. The repeal relocates the existing requirements to
19 TAC Chapter 97 with no changes to the content of the rules.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION: Section 61.1021 establishes re-
quirements for a campus's dissemination of the annual school re-
port card. The repeal of §61.1021 moves the existing language
to new 19 TAC §97.1007 with no changes to the content of the
rule.

Section 61.1022 establishes requirements for a school district's
dissemination of the annual Texas Academic Performance Re-
port, including holding a public hearing on the report. The re-
peal of §61.1022 moves the existing language to new 19 TAC
§97.1008 with no changes to the content of the rule.

The relocations are necessary due to a comprehensive reorga-
nization of Chapter 61.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES: The
public comment period on the proposal began May 16, 2025, and
ended June 16, 2025. No public comments were received.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under
Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.305, which requires the
commissioner of education to adopt rules requiring dissemina-
tion of campus report cards annually to the parent or person
standing in parental relation to each student at the campus;
and TEC, §39.306, which authorizes the commissioner to adopt
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rules concerning dissemination of the annual school district and
campus performance report.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement
Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.305, for §61.1021; and TEC,
§39.306, for §61.1022.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 21, 2025.

TRD-202502551

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 10, 2025

Proposal publication date: May 16, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 463-9526
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CHAPTER 97. PLANNING AND
ACCOUNTABILITY

SUBCHAPTER AA. ACCOUNTABILITY AND
PERFORMANCE MONITORING

19 TAC §97.1007, §97.1008

The Texas Education Agency adopts new §97.1007 and
§97.1008, concerning the school report card and the Texas
Academic Performance Report. The new sections are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the May
16, 2025 issue of the Texas Register (50 TexReg 2885) and
will not be republished. The new sections relocate existing
requirements from 19 TAC Chapter 61 with no changes to the
content of the rules.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION: New §97.1007 moves existing
language from 19 TAC §61.1021, which establishes require-
ments for a campus's dissemination of the annual school report
card. The relocation is necessary due to a comprehensive
reorganization of Chapter 61. No changes from the existing rule
were proposed.

New §97.1008 moves existing language from 19 TAC §61.1022,
which establishes requirements for a school district's dissemi-
nation of the annual Texas Academic Performance Report, in-
cluding holding a public hearing on the report. The relocation
is necessary due to a comprehensive reorganization of Chapter
61. No changes from the existing rule were proposed.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES: The
public comment period on the proposal began May 16, 2025, and
ended June 16, 2025. No public comments were received.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.305, which requires the com-
missioner of education to adopt rules requiring dissemination of
campus report cards annually to the parent or person standing
in parental relation to each student at the campus; and TEC,
§39.306, which authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules con-
cerning dissemination of the annual school district and campus
performance report.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.305, for §97.1007; and
TEC, §39.306, for §97.1008.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 21, 2025.

TRD-202502554

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 10, 2025

Proposal publication date: May 16, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 463-9526
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TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 16. TEXAS BOARD OF
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

CHAPTER 341. LICENSE RENEWAL
22 TAC §341.2

The Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners adopts the
amendment to 22 TAC §341.2(g) relating to Continuing Com-
petence Audits.

The amendment is adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the May 23, 2025 issue of the Texas Register (50
TexReg 3063) and will be republished.

The amendment is adopted to clarify that failure to submit docu-
mentation of the required number of approved CCUs taken within
the audited renewal period may result in disciplinary action. Ad-
ditionally, the amendment includes licensees who are more than
90 days up to one year late renewing in the Continuing Compe-
tence Audit instead of requiring submission of CCU documenta-
tion upon renewal.

There was no public comment.

The amendment is adopted under the Physical Therapy Practice
Act, Title 3, Subtitle H, Chapter 453, Occupations Code, which
provides the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners with
the authority to adopt rules consistent with this Act to carry out
its duties in administering this Act.

§$341.2.  Continuing Competence Requirements.

(a) Continuing competence is the ongoing acquisition and
maintenance of the professional knowledge, skill, and ability of the PT
or PTA through successful completion of educational and professional
activities related to the physical therapy profession.

(b) All continuing competence activities submitted to satisfy
renewal requirements must be board approved by an organization se-
lected by the board.

(c) For each biennial renewal, physical therapists must com-
plete a total of 30 continuing competence units (CCUs); physical ther-
apist assistants must complete a total of 20 CCUs. A CCU is the relative
value assigned to continuing competence activities based on specific
criteria developed by the Board.
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(d) Continuing competence activities utilized to fulfill renewal
requirements must be completed within the 24 months prior to the li-
cense expiration date.

(e) Licensees must maintain original continuing competence
activity completion documents, as specified in §341.3 of this title (re-
lating to Qualifying Continuing Competence Activities), for four years
after the license expiration date.

(f) All licensees must complete a board-approved jurispru-
dence assessment module as part of their total continuing competence
requirement. The jurisprudence assessment module shall be assigned
a CCU value and standard approval number by the board and shall
include at a minimum the following components.

(1) The theoretical basis for ethical decision-making;

(2) APTA's Code of Ethics for the Physical Therapist and
Guide for Professional Conduct, and the Guide for Conduct of the
Physical Therapist Assistant and Standards of Ethical Conduct for the
Physical Therapist Assistant;

(3) Legal standards of behavior (including but not limited
to the Act and Rules of the board); and

(4) Application of content to real and/or hypothetical situ-
ations.

(g) The executive council will conduct an audit of a random
sample of licensees at least quarterly to determine compliance with
continuing competence renewal requirements. Failure to submit docu-

umentation for an audit within 30 days of the date on the request, may
result in disciplinary action by the board.

(1) Licensees eligible for audit include those who renewed
prior to their license expiration date and those who late renewed up to
one year.

(2) The board or its committees may request proof of com-
pletion of continuing competence activities claimed for renewal pur-
poses at any time from any licensee.

(h) If the board chooses to authorize an organization(s) to ap-
prove continuing competence activities, the board shall select an ap-
propriate organization(s) pursuant to §323.4 of this title, Request for
Proposals for Outsourced Services.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 16, 2025.

TRD-202502534

Ralph Harper

Executive Director

Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Effective date: September 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: May 23, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900
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