
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 1. TEXAS BOARD OF 
ARCHITECTURAL EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 1. ARCHITECTS 
SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY FOR 
REGISTRATION 
22 TAC §1.29 

The Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (Board) proposes 
the amendment of 22 Texas Administrative Code §1.29, relating 
to the Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse (architects). 
Subject Material Statement 
This proposed rulemaking action would implement Senate Bill 
422 (88th Regular Session, 2023), which amends provisions 
in Texas Occupations Code Chapter 55, relating to the licen-
sure of military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
In 2019, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1200 (86th 
Regular Session), which created a process under Texas Occu-
pations Code §55.0041 to allow certain military spouses licensed 
in other states to engage in a business or occupation without 
becoming licensed in Texas. Through Senate Bill 422, the leg-
islature has extended this provision to apply to military service 
members as well. Under amended §55.0041(a), a military ser-
vice member may engage in a business or occupation for which a 
license is required without obtaining the applicable license if the 
military service member is currently licensed in good standing by 
another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are sub-
stantially equivalent to Texas requirements. A military service 
member seeking to practice under this provision is required to 
notify the licensing entity, submit proof of residency and military 
identification, and receive confirmation of qualification to prac-
tice from the state agency. See Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041(b). 
The law also authorizes state agencies to adopt rules to issue a 
temporary license to an individual who qualifies to practice their 
profession under §55.0041(a). In such a case, the agency can-
not charge a fee for the issuance of the license. 
Senate Bill 422 also amends the law to impose deadlines upon 
agencies in considering applications under Texas Occupations 
Code Chapter 55. Under these amendments, a licensing agency 
has no more than 30 days from the submission of required docu-
mentation to approve a qualifying military service member or mili-
tary spouse seeking to practice under Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041. 
Additionally, an amendment to Tex. Occ. Code §55.005 requires 
a licensing agency to process and approve an application for li-

censure from a qualifying military service member, military vet-
eran, or military spouse within 30 days. 
Explanation of Action 

The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amending 
22 Texas Administrative Code §1.29(b)(3) to implement a 30-day 
processing deadline for the consideration of an application sub-
mitted by a military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse. 
The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amend-
ing §1.29(c). Previously, the Board adopted this rule to imple-
ment a temporary architectural registration procedure for qual-
ifying military spouses pursuant to Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041. 
Because Senate Bill 422 expands §55.0041 to apply to qualify-
ing military service members, the Board proposes to do the same 
for §1.29(c). The proposed rule would implement two additional 
Senate Bill 422 amendments to §55.0041 by requiring the Board 
to issue a temporary registration to a qualifying military service 
member or military spouse within 30 days, and by clarifying that 
a military spouse's temporary registration is not impacted by a 
divorce or similar event. 
Finally, the Board proposes non-substantive amendments to 
§1.29(c)(7) and §1.29(c)(8)(B) to improve the clarity of the rule. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Lance Brenton, General Counsel, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule is in effect, the amend-
ments will have no significant fiscal impact upon state or lo-
cal government or the Board. Any potential adverse fiscal im-
pact would be based on a loss of revenue otherwise payable to 
the Board by qualifying military service members in the form of 
registration and renewal fees that would be waived under pro-
posed §1.29(c). However, under 22 Texas Administrative Code 
§7.10(h), military service members are exempt from the payment 
of any fee to the Board during any period of active duty service. 
Because a "military service member" is by definition on active 
duty under Tex. Occ. Code §55.001(4) and 22 Texas Admin-
istrative Code §1.29(a)(3), the proposed rule will have no fiscal 
impact on state or local government or the Board. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

During the first five years the proposed rule would be in effect, 
no government program would be created or eliminated. Imple-
mentation of the proposed rule would not result in the creation 
or elimination of employee positions. Implementation of the pro-
posed rule is not expected to require an increase or decrease in 
legislative appropriations to the agency. The proposed rule does 
not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency. 
The proposed rule does not create a new regulation. Rather, 
the proposed rule amends an existing regulation. The proposed 
rule increases the number of individuals who can benefit from 
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waivers under the rule, as Senate Bill 422 creates the option 
for temporary architectural registration for qualifying military ser-
vice members and ensures the continued validity of a military 
spouse's temporary architectural registration in the event of a 
divorce or similar event. The proposed rule is not expected to 
positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST OF COMPLIANCE 

Mr. Brenton has determined that for the first five-year period the 
proposed rule is in effect, public benefits will be realized with no 
probable economic cost to persons required to comply with the 
rule. 
Adoption of the proposed rule would benefit the public by ensur-
ing consistency between the Board's rules and the legislature's 
mandate enacted in Senate Bill 422. Additionally, the state may 
realize a public benefit resulting from marginal increased eco-
nomic activity by military service members who obtain a tem-
porary architectural registration when they might otherwise not 
participate in the practice of architecture due to licensure barri-
ers. 
There is no anticipated economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the proposed rule, including military spouses and 
military service members, as qualifying individuals will benefit 
from the ability to obtain a temporary architectural registration 
without charge. 
FISCAL IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

There will be no adverse effect on small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses, or rural communities resulting from adoption of the pro-
posed rules. Since the agency has determined that the proposed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small businesses, 
microbusinesses, or rural communities, preparation of an eco-
nomic impact statement and a regulatory flexibility analysis, as 
detailed under Texas Government Code §2006.002, is not re-
quired. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The agency has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by the proposed rules and the proposed rules 
do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to 
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the 
absence of government action. As a result, the proposed rules 
do not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment 
under Government Code §2007.043. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT 

The agency has determined that the proposed rules will not af-
fect any local economy, so the agency is not required to prepare 
a local employment impact statement under Government Code 
§2001.022. 
ONE-FOR-ONE REQUIREMENT FOR RULES WITH A FISCAL 
IMPACT 

As a self-directed semi-independent agency, Government Code 
§2001.0045 does not apply to rules adopted by the Board. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to Lance 
Brenton, General Counsel, Texas Board of Architectural Exam-
iners, P.O. Box 12337, Austin, Texas 78711-2337. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment of §1.29 is proposed under Occupations Code 
§1051.202, which authorizes the Board to adopt reasonable 
rules as necessary to regulate the practice of architecture. The 
amendment implements Occupations Code §55.0041, which 
requires the Board to adopt the proposed rule. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendment does not affect any other statute. 
§1.29. Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Architectural registration eligibility requirements for mili-
tary service members, military veterans, and military spouses. 

(1) Verified military service, training, or education will be 
credited toward the registration requirements, other than an examina-
tion requirement, of an Applicant who is a military service member or 
a military veteran. 

(2) An Applicant who is a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse may be eligible for registration if the 
Applicant: 

(A) Holds an active architectural registration issued by 
another jurisdiction that has licensing or registration requirements that 
are substantially equivalent to the requirements for registration in this 
state; or 

(B) Held an active architectural registration in this state 
within the five years preceding the application. 

(3) Not later than 30 days [As soon as practicable] after a 
military service member, military veteran, or military spouse files an 
application for registration, the Board shall process the application, and 
if the applicant qualifies for registration under this subsection, issue the 
registration. 

(4) This subsection does not apply if the Applicant holds 
a restricted registration issued by another jurisdiction or has an unac-
ceptable criminal history. 

(c) Alternative temporary registration procedure for an indi-
vidual who is a military service member or military spouse [spouses]. 

(1) An individual who is a military service member or[A] 
military spouse may qualify for a temporary architectural registration 
if the individual[spouse]: 

(A) holds a current architectural license or registration 
in good standing in another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements 
substantially equivalent to the requirements for architectural registra-
tion in this state; 

(B) notifies the Board in writing of the individual's 
[spouse's] intent to practice Architecture in this state; 

(C) submits to the Board required information to 
demonstrate eligibility for temporary architectural registration; and 

(D) receives a verification letter from the Board that: 

(i) the Board has verified the individual's [spouse's] 
license or registration in the other jurisdiction; and 

(ii) the individual [spouse] is issued a temporary ar-
chitectural registration. 

(2) The Board will review and evaluate the following crite-
ria when determining whether another jurisdiction's licensing require-
ments are substantially equivalent to the requirements for an architec-
tural registration in Texas: 
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(A) whether the other jurisdiction requires an applicant 
to pass the Architect Registration Examination (ARE); 

(B) any experience qualifications required by the juris-
diction to obtain the license or registration; and 

(C) any education credentials required by the jurisdic-
tion to obtain the license or registration. 

(3) The individual [military spouse] must submit the fol-
lowing information to the Board to demonstrate eligibility for tempo-
rary architectural registration: 

(A) a written request for the Board to review the 
individual's [military spouse's] eligibility for temporary architectural 
registration; 

(B) sufficient documentation to verify that the 
individual [military spouse] is currently licensed or registered in 
good standing in another jurisdiction and has no restrictions, pending 
enforcement actions, or unpaid fees or penalties relating to the license 
or registration; 

(C) proof of residency in this state; 

(D) a copy of the individual's military [spouse's ] iden-
tification card; and 

(E) proof the military service member or, with respect 
to a military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse 
is married is stationed at a military installation in Texas. 

(4) Not later than the 30th day after the date an individual 
submits the information described by paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
the Board shall provide the verification described by paragraph (1)(D) 
of this subsection if the individual is eligible for a temporary registra-
tion under this subsection. 

(5) [(4)] A temporary architectural registration issued un-
der this subsection expires three years from the date of issuance or when 
the military service member or, with respect to a military spouse, the 
military service member to whom the spouse is married is no longer sta-
tioned at a military installation in Texas, whichever occurs first. The 
registration may not be renewed. 

(6) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
an individual's status as a military spouse, the spouse's registration will 
continue in effect until the registration expires three years from the date 
of issuance. 

(7)(5) Except as provided under this [the] subsection, an 
individual [a military spouse] who receives a temporary architectural 
registration under this subsection is subject to and shall comply with 
all applicable laws, rules, and standards governing the Practice of Ar-
chitecture in this state. 

(8)(6) A temporary architectural registration issued under 
this subsection may be revoked if the individual [military spouse]: 

(A) fails to comply with paragraph (7) [(5)] of this sub-
section; or 

(B) the individual's [military spouse's] license or reg-
istration required under paragraph (1)(A) [(1)(a)]) of this subsection 
expires or is suspended or revoked. 

(9)(7) The Board shall not charge a fee for the issuance of 
a temporary architectural registration under this subsection. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 21, 
2023. 
TRD-202304951 
Lance Brenton 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Architectural Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8519 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 3. LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 
SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY FOR 
REGISTRATION 
22 TAC §3.29 

The Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (Board) proposes 
the amendment of 22 Texas Administrative Code §3.29, relating 
to the Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse (landscape architects). 
Subject Material Statement 
This proposed rulemaking action would implement Senate Bill 
422 (88th Regular Session, 2023), which amends provisions 
in Texas Occupations Code Chapter 55, relating to the licen-
sure of military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
In 2019, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1200 (86th 
Regular Session), which created a process under Texas Occu-
pations Code §55.0041 to allow certain military spouses licensed 
in other states to engage in a business or occupation without 
becoming licensed in Texas. Through Senate Bill 422, the leg-
islature has extended this provision to apply to military service 
members as well. Under amended §55.0041(a), a military ser-
vice member may engage in a business or occupation for which a 
license is required without obtaining the applicable license if the 
military service member is currently licensed in good standing by 
another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are sub-
stantially equivalent to Texas requirements. A military service 
member seeking to practice under this provision is required to 
notify the licensing entity, submit proof of residency and military 
identification, and receive confirmation of qualification to prac-
tice from the state agency. See Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041(b). 
The law also authorizes state agencies to adopt rules to issue a 
temporary license to an individual who qualifies to practice their 
profession under §55.0041(a). In such a case, the agency can-
not charge a fee for the issuance of the license. 
Senate Bill 422 also amends the law to impose deadlines upon 
agencies in considering applications under Texas Occupations 
Code Chapter 55. Under these amendments, a licensing agency 
has no more than 30 days from the submission of required docu-
mentation to approve a qualifying military service member or mili-
tary spouse seeking to practice under Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041. 
Additionally, an amendment to Tex. Occ. Code §55.005 requires 
a licensing agency to process and approve an application for li-
censure from a qualifying military service member, military vet-
eran, or military spouse within 30 days. 
Explanation of Action 

The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amending 
22 Texas Administrative Code §3.29(b)(3) to implement a 30-day 
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processing deadline for the consideration of an application sub-
mitted by a military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse. 
The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amending 
§3.29(c). Previously, the Board adopted this rule to implement 
a temporary landscape architectural registration procedure 
for qualifying military spouses pursuant to Tex. Occ. Code 
§55.0041. Because Senate Bill 422 expands §55.0041 to apply 
to qualifying military service members, the Board proposes to 
do the same for §3.29(c). The proposed rule would implement 
two additional Senate Bill 422 amendments to §55.0041 by 
requiring the Board to issue a temporary registration to a quali-
fying military service member or military spouse within 30 days, 
and by clarifying that a military spouse's temporary registration 
is not impacted by a divorce or similar event. 
Finally, the Board proposes non-substantive amendments to 
§§3.29(b)(2)(A), 3.29(c)(7) and 3.29(c)(8)(B) to improve the 
clarity of the rule. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Lance Brenton, General Counsel, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule is in effect, the amend-
ments will have no significant fiscal impact upon state or lo-
cal government or the Board. Any potential adverse fiscal im-
pact would be based on a loss of revenue otherwise payable to 
the Board by qualifying military service members in the form of 
registration and renewal fees that would be waived under pro-
posed §3.29(c). However, under 22 Texas Administrative Code 
§7.10(h), military service members are exempt from the payment 
of any fee to the Board during any period of active duty service. 
Because a "military service member" is by definition on active 
duty under Tex. Occ. Code §55.001(4) and 22 Texas Admin-
istrative Code §3.29(a)(3), the proposed rule will have no fiscal 
impact on state or local government or the Board. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

During the first five years the proposed rule would be in effect, 
no government program would be created or eliminated. Imple-
mentation of the proposed rule would not result in the creation 
or elimination of employee positions. Implementation of the pro-
posed rule is not expected to require an increase or decrease in 
legislative appropriations to the agency. The proposed rule does 
not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency. 
The proposed rule does not create a new regulation. Rather, 
the proposed rule amends an existing regulation. The proposed 
rule increases the number of individuals who can benefit from 
waivers under the rule, as Senate Bill 422 creates the option for 
temporary landscape architectural registration for qualifying mil-
itary service members and ensures the continued validity of a 
military spouse's temporary landscape architectural registration 
in the event of a divorce or similar event. The proposed rule is 
not expected to positively or adversely affect the state's econ-
omy. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST OF COMPLIANCE 

Mr. Brenton has determined that for the first five-year period the 
proposed rule is in effect, public benefits will be realized with no 
probable economic cost to persons required to comply with the 
rule. 
Adoption of the proposed rule would benefit the public by ensur-
ing consistency between the Board's rules and the legislature's 
mandate enacted in Senate Bill 422. Additionally, the state may 

realize a public benefit resulting from marginal increased eco-
nomic activity by military service members who obtain a tempo-
rary landscape architectural registration when they might other-
wise not participate in the profession due to licensure barriers. 
There is no anticipated economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the proposed rule, including military spouses and 
military service members, as qualifying individuals will benefit 
from the ability to obtain a temporary landscape architectural reg-
istration without charge. 
FISCAL IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

There will be no adverse effect on small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses, or rural communities resulting from adoption of the pro-
posed rules. Since the agency has determined that the proposed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small businesses, 
microbusinesses, or rural communities, preparation of an eco-
nomic impact statement and a regulatory flexibility analysis, as 
detailed under Texas Government Code §2006.002, is not re-
quired. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The agency has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by the proposed rules and the proposed rules 
do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to 
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the 
absence of government action. As a result, the proposed rules 
do not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment 
under Government Code §2007.043. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT 

The agency has determined that the proposed rules will not af-
fect any local economy, so the agency is not required to prepare 
a local employment impact statement under Government Code 
§2001.022. 
ONE-FOR-ONE REQUIREMENT FOR RULES WITH A FISCAL 
IMPACT 

As a self-directed semi-independent agency, Government Code 
§2001.0045 does not apply to rules adopted by the Board. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to Lance 
Brenton, General Counsel, Texas Board of Architectural Exam-
iners, P.O. Box 12337, Austin, Texas 78711-2337. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment of §3.29 is proposed under Occupations Code 
§1051.202, which authorizes the Board to adopt reasonable 
rules as necessary to regulate the practice of landscape ar-
chitecture. The amendment implements Occupations Code 
§55.0041, which requires the Board to adopt the proposed rule. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendment does not affect any other statute. 
§3.29. Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Landscape architectural registration eligibility require-
ments for military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
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(1) Verified military service, training, or education will be 
credited toward the registration requirements, other than an examina-
tion requirement, of an Applicant who is a military service member or 
a military veteran. 

(2) An Applicant who is a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse may be eligible for registration if the 
Applicant: 

(A) Holds an active landscape architectural registra-
tion issued by another jurisdiction that has licensing or registration 
requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
registration [the license] in this state; or 

(B) Held an active landscape architectural registration 
in this state within the five years preceding the application. 

(3) Not later than 30 days [As soon as practicable] after a 
military service member, military veteran, or military spouse files an 
application for registration, the Board shall process the application, and 
if the applicant qualifies for registration under this subsection, issue the 
registration. 

(4) This subsection does not apply if the Applicant holds 
a restricted registration issued by another jurisdiction or has an unac-
ceptable criminal history. 

(c) Alternative temporary registration procedure for an indi-
vidual who is a military service member or military spouse [spouses]. 

(1) An individual who is a military service member or [A] 
military spouse may qualify for a temporary landscape architectural 
registration if the individual [spouse]: 

(A) holds a current landscape architectural license or 
registration in good standing in another jurisdiction that has licensing 
requirements substantially equivalent to the requirements for landscape 
architectural registration in this state; 

(B) notifies the Board in writing of the individual's 
[spouse's] intent to practice Landscape Architecture in this state; 

(C) submits to the Board required information to 
demonstrate eligibility for temporary landscape architectural registra-
tion; and 

(D) receives a verification letter from the Board that: 

(i) the Board has verified the individual's [spouse's] 
license or registration in the other jurisdiction; and 

(ii) the individual [spouse] is issued a temporary 
landscape architectural registration. 

(2) The Board will review and evaluate the following crite-
ria when determining whether another jurisdiction's licensing require-
ments are substantially equivalent to the requirements for a landscape 
architectural registration in Texas: 

(A) whether the other jurisdiction requires an applicant 
to pass the Landscape Architect Registration Examination (LARE); 

(B) any experience qualifications required by the juris-
diction to obtain the license or registration; and 

(C) any education credentials required by the jurisdic-
tion to obtain the license or registration. 

(3) The individual [military spouse] must submit the fol-
lowing information to the Board to demonstrate eligibility for tempo-
rary landscape architectural registration: 

(A) a written request for the Board to review the 
individual's [military spouse's] eligibility for temporary landscape 
architectural registration; 

(B) sufficient documentation to verify that the 
individual [military spouse] is currently licensed or registered in 
good standing in another jurisdiction and has no restrictions, pending 
enforcement actions, or unpaid fees or penalties relating to the license 
or registration; 

(C) proof of residency in this state; 

(D) a copy of the individual's military [spouse's ] iden-
tification card; and 

(E) proof the military service member or, with respect 
to a military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse 
is married is stationed at a military installation in Texas. 

(4) Not later than the 30th day after the date an individual 
submits the information described by paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
the Board shall provide the verification described by paragraph (1)(D) 
of this subsection if the individual is eligible for a temporary registra-
tion under this subsection. 

(5) [(4)] A temporary landscape architectural registration 
issued under this subsection expires three years from the date of is-
suance or when the military service member or, with respect to a mili-
tary spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse is married 
is no longer stationed at a military installation in Texas, whichever oc-
curs first. The registration may not be renewed. 

(6) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
an individual's status as a military spouse, the spouse's registration will 
continue in effect until the registration expires three years from the date 
of issuance. 

(7) [(5)] Except as provided under this [the] subsection, 
an individual [a military spouse] who receives a temporary landscape 
architectural registration under this subsection is subject to and shall 
comply with all applicable laws, rules, and standards governing the 
practice of Landscape Architecture in this state. 

(8) [(6)] A temporary landscape architectural registration 
issued under this subsection may be revoked if the individual [military 
spouse]: 

(A) fails to comply with paragraph (7) [(5)] of this sub-
section; or 

(B) the individual's [military spouse's] license or regis-
tration required under paragraph (1)(A) [(1)(a)] of this subsection ex-
pires or is suspended or revoked. 

(9) [(7)] The Board shall not charge a fee for the issuance of 
a temporary landscape architectural registration under this subsection. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 21, 
2023. 
TRD-202304952 
Lance Brenton 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Architectural Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8519 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 5. REGISTERED INTERIOR 
DESIGNERS 
SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY FOR 
REGISTRATION 
22 TAC §5.39 

The Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (Board) proposes 
the amendment of 22 Texas Administrative Code §5.39, relating 
to the Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse (registered interior designers). 
Subject Material Statement 
This proposed rulemaking action would implement Senate Bill 
422 (88th Regular Session, 2023), which amends provisions 
in Texas Occupations Code Chapter 55, relating to the licen-
sure of military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
In 2019, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1200 (86th 
Regular Session), which created a process under Texas Occu-
pations Code §55.0041 to allow certain military spouses licensed 
in other states to engage in a business or occupation without 
becoming licensed in Texas. Through Senate Bill 422, the leg-
islature has extended this provision to apply to military service 
members as well. Under amended §55.0041(a), a military ser-
vice member may engage in a business or occupation for which a 
license is required without obtaining the applicable license if the 
military service member is currently licensed in good standing by 
another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are sub-
stantially equivalent to Texas requirements. A military service 
member seeking to practice under this provision is required to 
notify the licensing entity, submit proof of residency and military 
identification, and receive confirmation of qualification to prac-
tice from the state agency. See Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041(b). 
The law also authorizes state agencies to adopt rules to issue a 
temporary license to an individual who qualifies to practice their 
profession under §55.0041(a). In such a case, the agency can-
not charge a fee for the issuance of the license. 
Senate Bill 422 also amends the law to impose deadlines upon 
agencies in considering applications under Texas Occupations 
Code Chapter 55. Under these amendments, a licensing agency 
has no more than 30 days from the submission of required 
documentation to approve a qualifying military service member 
or military spouse seeking to practice under Tex. Occ. Code 
§ 55.0041. Additionally, an amendment to Tex. Occ. Code 
§55.005 requires a licensing agency to process and approve 
an application for licensure from a qualifying military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse within 30 days. 
Explanation of Action 

The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amending 
22 Texas Administrative Code §5.39(b)(3) to implement a 30-day 
processing deadline for the consideration of an application sub-
mitted by a military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse. 
The Board proposes to implement Senate Bill 422 by amending 
§5.39(c). Previously, the Board adopted this rule to implement a 
temporary interior designer registration procedure for qualifying 
military spouses pursuant to Tex. Occ. Code §55.0041. Be-
cause Senate Bill 422 expands §55.0041 to apply to qualifying 

military service members, the Board proposes to do the same 
for §5.39(c). The proposed rule would implement two additional 
Senate Bill 422 amendments to §55.0041 by requiring the Board 
to issue a temporary registration to a qualifying military service 
member or military spouse within 30 days, and by clarifying that 
a military spouse's temporary registration is not impacted by a 
divorce or similar event. 
Finally, the Board proposes non-substantive amendments to 
§§5.39(b)(2)(A), 5.39(c)(7) and 5.39(c)(8)(B) to improve the 
clarity of the rule. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Lance Brenton, General Counsel, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule is in effect, the amend-
ments will have no significant fiscal impact upon state or local 
government or the Board. Any potential adverse fiscal impact 
would be based on a loss of revenue otherwise payable to the 
Board by qualifying military service members in the form of reg-
istration and renewal fees that would be waived under proposed 
§5.39(c). However, under 22 Tex. Administrative Code §7.10(h), 
military service members are exempt from the payment of any 
fee to the Board during any period of active duty service. Be-
cause a "military service member" is by definition on active duty 
under Tex. Occ. Code §55.001(4) and 22 Texas Administrative 
Code §5.39(a)(3), the proposed rule will have no fiscal impact 
on state or local government or the Board. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

During the first five years the proposed rule would be in effect, 
no government program would be created or eliminated. Imple-
mentation of the proposed rule would not result in the creation 
or elimination of employee positions. Implementation of the pro-
posed rule is not expected to require an increase or decrease in 
legislative appropriations to the agency. The proposed rule does 
not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency. 
The proposed rule does not create a new regulation. Rather, 
the proposed rule amends an existing regulation. The proposed 
rule increases the number of individuals who can benefit from 
waivers under the rule, as Senate Bill 422 creates the option for 
temporary interior design registration for qualifying military ser-
vice members and ensures the continued validity of a military 
spouse's temporary interior design registration in the event of a 
divorce or similar event. The proposed rule is not expected to 
positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST OF COMPLIANCE 

Mr. Brenton has determined that for the first five-year period the 
proposed rule is in effect, public benefits will be realized with no 
probable economic cost to persons required to comply with the 
rule. 
This proposal would benefit the public by ensuring consistency 
between the Board's rules and the legislature's mandate enacted 
in Senate Bill 422. Additionally, the state may realize a public 
benefit resulting from marginal increased economic activity by 
military service members who obtain a temporary interior design 
registration when they might otherwise not participate in the pro-
fession due to licensure barriers. 
There is no anticipated economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the proposed rule, including military spouses and 
military service members, as qualifying individuals will benefit 
from the ability to obtain a temporary interior design registration 
without charge. 
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FISCAL IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

There will be no adverse effect on small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses, or rural communities resulting from the proposed rules. 
Since the agency has determined that the proposed rules 
will have no adverse economic effect on small businesses, 
microbusinesses, or rural communities, preparation of an eco-
nomic impact statement and a regulatory flexibility analysis, 
as detailed under Texas Government Code §2006.002, is not 
required. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The agency has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by the proposed rules and the proposed rules 
do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to 
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the 
absence of government action. As a result, the proposed rules 
do not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment 
under Government Code §2007.043. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT 

The agency has determined that the proposed rules will not af-
fect any local economy, so the agency is not required to prepare 
a local employment impact statement under Government Code 
§2001.022. 
ONE-FOR-ONE REQUIREMENT FOR RULES WITH A FISCAL 
IMPACT 

As a self-directed semi-independent agency, Government Code 
§2001.0045 does not apply to rules adopted by the Board. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to Lance 
Brenton, General Counsel, Texas Board of Architectural Exam-
iners, P.O. Box 12337, Austin, Texas 78711-2337. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment of §5.39 is proposed under Occupations Code 
§1051.202, which authorizes the Board to adopt reasonable 
rules as necessary to regulate the practice of interior design. 
The amendment implements Occupations Code §55.0041, 
which requires the Board to adopt the proposed rule. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendment does not affect any other statute. 
§5.39. Registration of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran, 
or Military Spouse. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Interior design registration eligibility requirements for mil-
itary service members, military veterans, and military spouses. 

(1) Verified military service, training, or education will be 
credited toward the registration requirements, other than an examina-
tion requirement, of an Applicant who is a military service member or 
a military veteran. 

(2) An Applicant who is a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse may be eligible for registration if the 
Applicant: 

(A) Holds an active interior design registration issued 
by another jurisdiction that has licensing or registration requirements 
that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for registration [the 
license] in this state; or 

(B) Held an active interior design registration in this 
state within the five years preceding the application. 

(3) Not later than 30 days [As soon as practicable] after a 
military service member, military veteran, or military spouse files an 
application for registration, the Board shall process the application, and 
if the applicant qualifies for registration under this subsection, issue the 
registration. 

(4) This subsection does not apply if the Applicant holds 
a restricted registration issued by another jurisdiction or has an unac-
ceptable criminal history. 

(c) Alternative temporary registration procedure for an indi-
vidual who is a military service member or military spouse [spouses]. 

(1) An individual who is a military service member or [A] 
military spouse may qualify for a temporary Interior Design registra-
tion if the individual [spouse]: 

(A) holds a current interior design license or registra-
tion in good standing in another jurisdiction that has licensing require-
ments substantially equivalent to the requirements for Interior Design 
registration in this state; 

(B) notifies the Board in writing of the individual's 
[spouse's] intent to practice Interior Design in this state; 

(C) submits to the Board required information to 
demonstrate eligibility for temporary Interior Design registration; and 

(D) receives a verification letter from the Board that: 

(i) the Board has verified the individual's [spouse's] 
license or registration in the other jurisdiction; and 

(ii) the individual [spouse] is issued a temporary In-
terior Design registration. 

(2) The Board will review and evaluate the following crite-
ria when determining whether another jurisdiction's licensing require-
ments are substantially equivalent to the requirements for an Interior 
Design registration in Texas: 

(A) whether the other jurisdiction requires an applicant 
to pass the Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) examina-
tion; 

(B) any experience qualifications required by the juris-
diction to obtain the license or registration; and 

(C) any education credentials required by the jurisdic-
tion to obtain the license or registration. 

(3) The individual [military spouse] must submit the fol-
lowing information to the Board to demonstrate eligibility for tempo-
rary Interior Design registration: 

(A) a written request for the Board to review the 
individual's [military spouse's] eligibility for temporary Interior De-
sign registration; 

(B) sufficient documentation to verify that the 
individual [military spouse] is currently licensed or registered in 
good standing in another jurisdiction and has no restrictions, pending 
enforcement actions, or unpaid fees or penalties relating to the license 
or registration; 

(C) proof of residency in this state; 

(D) a copy of the individual's military [spouse's] iden-
tification card; and 
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(E) proof the military service member or, with respect 
to a military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse 
is married is stationed at a military installation in Texas. 

(4) Not later than the 30th day after the date an individual 
submits the information described by paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
the Board shall provide the verification described by paragraph (1)(D) 
of this subsection if the individual is eligible for a temporary registra-
tion under this subsection. 

(5) [(4)] A temporary Interior Design registration issued 
under this subsection expires three years from the date of issuance or 
when the military service member or, with respect to a military spouse, 
the military service member to whom the spouse is married is no longer 
stationed at a military installation in Texas, whichever occurs first. The 
registration may not be renewed. 

(6) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
an individual's status as a military spouse, the spouse's registration will 
continue in effect until the registration expires three years from the date 
of issuance. 

(7) [(5)] Except as provided under this [the] subsection, an 
individual [a military spouse] who receives a temporary Interior Design 
registration under this subsection is subject to and shall comply with all 
applicable laws, rules, and standards governing the practice of Interior 
Design in this state. 

(8) [(6)] A temporary Interior Design registration issued 
under this subsection may be revoked if the individual [military 
spouse]: 

(A) fails to comply with paragraph (7) [(5)] of this sub-
section; or 

(B) the individual's [military spouse's] license or regis-
tration required under paragraph (1)(A) [(a)] of this subsection expires 
or is suspended or revoked. 

(9) [(7)] The Board shall not charge a fee for the issuance 
of a temporary Interior Design registration under this subsection. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 21, 
2023. 
TRD-202304953 
Lance Brenton 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Architectural Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8519 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 28. INSURANCE 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE 

CHAPTER 5. PROPERTY AND CASUALTY 
INSURANCE 
SUBCHAPTER A. AUTOMOBILE 
INSURANCE 

DIVISION 3. MISCELLANEOUS 
INTERPRETATIONS 
28 TAC §5.208 

The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) proposes new 28 
TAC §5.208, concerning terminology describing transporta-
tion-related incidents. Section 5.208 implements House Bill 
2190, 88th Legislature, 2023. 
EXPLANATION. New §5.208 is proposed to clarify terminology 
in the Insurance Code. 
New §5.208(a) clarifies that the changes made by House Bill 
2190, 88th Legislature, 2023, are nonsubstantive and are in-
tended to clarify rather than change existing law. 
Subsection (b) clarifies that the term "collision" has the same 
meaning that "accident" had before HB 2190 for the purposes of 
Insurance Code §1952.155 and §1954.056. 
Subsection (c) clarifies that for the purposes of Title 28, Chapter 
5, Subchapter A, HB 2190 did not change the meaning of the 
term "accident." 
This section is proposed because the transition provision in Sec-
tion 142 of HB 2190 is not included in the statutory text. This 
section highlights that the changes in law made by HB 2190 are 
nonsubstantive and are intended to clarify rather than change ex-
isting law. Because there is no substantive change to the mean-
ing of the term "accident" as currently used in many policy forms, 
insurers do not need to file updated policy forms. 
FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Marianne Baker, director, Property and Casualty Lines, 
has determined that during each year of the first five years the 
proposed new §5.208 is in effect, there will be no measurable 
fiscal impact on state and local governments as a result of en-
forcing or administering the new section, other than that imposed 
by the statute. Ms. Baker made this determination because the 
proposed new section does not add to or decrease state rev-
enues or expenditures, and because local governments are not 
involved in enforcing or complying with the proposed new sec-
tion. 
Ms. Baker does not anticipate any measurable effect on local 
employment or the local economy as a result of this proposal. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. For each year of the first 
five years the proposed new section is in effect, Ms. Baker ex-
pects that administering the proposed section will have the pub-
lic benefit of providing clarity in TDI's rules on the impact of HB 
2190 in light of the transition provision in HB 2190. 
Ms. Baker expects that the proposed new section will not in-
crease the cost of compliance with the Insurance Code because 
it does not impose requirements beyond those in the statute. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS. TDI has determined that the proposed new 
section will not have an adverse economic effect on small or mi-
cro businesses, or on rural communities. As a result, and in 
accordance with Government Code §2006.002(c), TDI is not re-
quired to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis. 
EXAMINATION OF COSTS UNDER GOVERNMENT CODE 
§2001.0045. TDI has determined that this proposal will not 
impose a cost on regulated persons. Therefore, no addi-
tional rule amendments are required under Government Code 
§2001.0045. 
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GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. TDI has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years that the pro-
posed new section is in effect, the proposed rule: 
- will not create or eliminate a government program; 
- will not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the 
agency; 
- will create a new regulation; 
- will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 
- will increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to 
the rule's applicability; and 

- will not positively or adversely affect the Texas economy. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no 
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and 
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to 
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government 
action. As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or 
require a takings impact assessment under Government Code 
§2007.043. 
REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDI will consider any writ-
ten comments on the proposal that are received by TDI no later 
than 5:00 p.m., central time, on February 12, 2024. Send your 
comments to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov or to the Office of the 
Chief Clerk, MC: GC-CCO, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. 
Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 
To request a public hearing on the proposal, submit a request be-
fore the end of the comment period to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov 
or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, MC: GC-CCO, Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 
The request for public hearing must be separate from any com-
ments and received by TDI no later than 5:00 p.m., central time, 
on February 12, 2024. If TDI holds a public hearing, TDI will con-
sider written and oral comments presented at the hearing. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. TDI proposes new §5.208 under In-
surance Code §1951.002 and §36.001. 
Insurance Code §1951.002 provides that the commissioner may 
adopt reasonable rules necessary to carry out the provision of 
Insurance Code Title 10, Subtitle C, which includes Insurance 
Code §1952.155 and §1954.056. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other 
laws of this state. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Section 5.208 implements 
Insurance Code §1952.155 and §1954.056. 
§5.208. Terminology Describing Transportation-Related Accidents 
(Collisions). 

(a) House Bill 2190, 88th Legislature, 2023 (HB 2190) 
replaced the term "accident" with "collision" in Insurance Code 
§1952.155, concerning Benefits Payable Without Regard to Fault or 
Collateral Source; Effect on Subrogation, and §1954.056(b), con-
cerning Financial Responsibility. However, the transition provision 
in Section 142 of HB 2190 states that these changes to the law are 

nonsubstantive and are intended to clarify rather than change existing 
law. 

(b) Consistent with the transition provision in Section 142 of 
HB 2190, the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) interprets the term 
"collision" when used in Insurance Code §1952.155 and §1954.056(b) 
as having the same meaning that "accident" had before passage of HB 
2190 and as having no impact on rules adopted pursuant to Insurance 
Code §1952.155 and §1954.056(b) or forms filed for approval with TDI 
under those Insurance Code sections and rules before HB 2190. 

(c) Because the transition provision in Section 142 of HB 2190 
says the changes are nonsubstantive, they do not impact the rules in this 
subchapter. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 27, 
2023. 
TRD-202304969 
Jessica Barta 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6555 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
CONSERVATION 

PART 21. TEXAS LOW-LEVEL 
RADIOACTIVE WASTE DISPOSAL 
COMPACT COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 675. OPERATIONAL RULES 
SUBCHAPTER B. EXPORTATION AND 
IMPORTATION OF WASTE 
31 TAC §675.24 

The Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact 
Commission (TLLRWDCC or Commission) proposes to amend 
31 Texas Administrative Code §675.24, concerning Importation 
of Certain Low-Level Radioactive Waste for Management or 
Disposal that is not Required to be Disposed of in the Compact 
Facility. The proposed changes to 31 Texas Administrative 
Code §675.24 improves the quality, frequency, and accuracy of 
information facilities in Texas report to the Commission about 
the low-level radioactive waste they receive from outside the 
Texas Compact region for treatment, processing, storage or 
disposal. The proposed rule implements and complies with 
Texas Health and Safety Code §403.006 ("the Texas Low-Level 
Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact" or "the Compact"). 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE. Pursuant to the Commission's 
authority set out in Tex. Health & Safety Code §403.006, the 
Commission proposes to amend §675.24 to require monthly re-
porting of material that may become low-level waste when it en-
ters the state rather than at the time the facility seeks approval 
to import the material into Texas. The rule protects the health, 
safety, and welfare of the residents of Texas by allowing the 
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Commission to be fully informed of the nature, volume, and curie 
count of radioactive material entering the Texas. The Commis-
sion has determined that it is in the public interest that the Com-
mission require monthly reporting instead of every six months. 
More accurate reporting of low-level radioactive waste (LLRW) 
entering the state is necessary because radioactive material en-
tering Texas may become waste that either will need to be dis-
posed of in the Compact Facility, disposed of at another alternate 
approved facility or will need to be exported. The Commission 
has determined that it is in the public interest to receive timely 
reports regarding LLRW that enters the host state irrespective 
of whether it requires an agreement for importation for disposal 
at the Compact Facility and the disposition of imported LLRW in 
the host state. For this reason, the Commission proposed the 
following changes to the rule text, summarized below. 
SECTION BY SECTION ANAYSIS. The proposed amendments 
to section 675.24(b) describes which facilities are subject to the 
reporting requirements in this rule. Re-numbered subsection 
(c) describes the type of radioactive material subject to this rule 
and expands the definition to material that may become LLRW. 
Renumber subsection (d) defines what information must be re-
ported to the Commission and revises the requirement to report 
non-compact facility low-level radioactive waste to the Commis-
sion from every six months to monthly. (d) also requires report-
ing on the generator, source state, curies, date of receipt, date 
of processing, disposition, physical location of the waste and for 
export authorizations from other compacts or foreign countries to 
be made available on request. Renumbered subsections (e)-(k) 
clarifies that a report is required regardless of whether it requires 
an agreement for importation, adjusts the timelines for reporting 
to the Commission, and makes other technical changes to in-
crease accuracy, transparency, and clarity in the rule text. 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS. 
Stephen Raines, the Commission's Executive Director, has de-
termined that, for the first five-year period the proposed rules are 
in effect, no fiscal impact to state government or local govern-
ment as a result enforcing or administering these amendments 
as proposed under Tex. Gov't Code §2001.024(a) because the 
rule does not change the responsibilities of government entities. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE. Mr. Raines has also deter-
mined under Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.024(a)(5), for each year 
of the first five years the proposed rules would be in effect, the 
public benefit will be improved reporting, processing, and trans-
parency with respect to the presence of low-level radioactive 
waste in Texas, the Compact's host state. Mr. Raines further has 
determined there will be no probable economic cost to persons 
required to comply with the rule because the rule enhances pre-
existing reporting and record-keeping requirements but are not 
more costly to comply with than the current rule. 
IMPACT ON LOCAL EMPLOYMENT OR ECONOMY. There is 
no anticipated effect on the local economy for the first five years 
that the proposed amendments are in effect because the rules 
only concern reporting certain activities of facilities that import, 
export, and dispose of low-level radioactive waste. Therefore, 
no economic impact statement, local employment impact state-
ment, nor regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas 
Government Code §§2001.022 or 2001.024(a)(6). 
COST TO REGULATED PERSONS (COST-IN/COST-OUT). 
Pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2001.024, this rule may impose 
a cost on regulated persons to develop a database query that 
would produce a report that contains the information meeting 

the requirements of the rule. However, the rule is exempt 
from the requirements of Texas Government Code §2001.0045 
because the Commission is an independent entity established 
by federal law and governed by the compact and is not a "state 
agency" under Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.024(a). Tex. Gov't Code 
§ 403.0051(a). Further, the Commission is exempt because the 
rule is necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 
the residents of the state under subsection (c)(6). Knowing the 
nature, volume, and curie count of radioactive material entering 
Texas will allow the Commission to determine when LLRW will 
need to be disposed of in the Compact Facility in Texas or will 
need to be exported. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES, MICROBUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES. The Commission hired 
an outside contractor with expertise in radioactive waste regula-
tory requirements to conduct the analysis as specified in Texas 
Government Code §2006.002. In consulting with the contractor, 
the Commission has determined (1) there is no impact on a rural 
community or unit of local government; (2) there is an estimated 
one-time cost of $416.32 for a computer programmer to develop 
a database query to generate the new report fields and execute it 
monthly on one small business, NSSI, but it will not adversely im-
pact NSSI; (3) in conducting a regulatory flexibility analysis, the 
Commission: (a) revised the rule to reduce this cost by allow-
ing NSSI to use reports already produced to TCEQ and DSHS 
for compliance purposes instead of generating a new report, (b) 
revised the rule require reporting only to make available some 
documentation for export authorization from other compacts and 
foreign countries. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. In compli-
ance with Texas Government Code §2001.0221, the agency has 
determined that during the first five years the proposed rule is in 
effect, the proposed amendment: (1) will not create or eliminate 
a government program; (2) will not result in an increase or de-
crease in the number of agency employees; (3) will not require 
an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to 
the agency because there are no costs associated with the rule; 
(4) will not lead to an increase or decrease in fees paid to a state 
agency; (5) will not create a new regulation; (6) will not repeal 
an existing regulation; and (7) will not result in an increase or 
decrease in the number of individuals subject to the rule; and (8) 
the proposed amendment will not positively or adversely affect 
the state's economy because it involves no fiscal requirements. 
ENVIRONMENTAL REGULATORY ANALYSIS. The Com-
mission has determined the proposed rules are not "major 
environmental rules" as defined by Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225 and are not subject to its requirements. 
TAKINGS STATEMENT. The Commission has concluded the 
proposed rules do not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or 
her real property that would otherwise exist in the absence of 
this action. 
SUBMITTAL OF COMMENTS. Written comments may be 
submitted to Stephen Raines, Executive Director, 1502 West 
Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701, or, by electronic mail to com-
ments@tllrwdcc.org. All comments should reference "Rules" 
in the subject field. The comment period closes on 30 days 
after the date this notice is published. Copies of the proposed 
rulemaking can be obtained from the Commission's website at 
http://www.tllrwdcc.org/rules/. For further information, please 
contact Stephen Raines, Executive Director, (512) 350-6241. 
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The rules are proposed under the 
authority granted in §3.05(4) of the Compact, which authorizes 
the Commission to adopt, by a majority vote, bylaws and rules 
necessary to carry out the terms of the Compact. The proposed 
rules implement and facilitate the Commission's obligations and 
due diligence regarding §3.05(6) and §§4.02, 4.04(2), (5); 4.05 
(1) - (4); 6.01, and 6.02 of the Compact as set out at Tex. Health 
& Safety Code §403.006. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTES. The Commission pro-
poses the rule amendment to fulfill its responsibilities with re-
spect to 42 United States Code, §§2021(b)-2021(j) 
§675.24. Requirement to Report on the Importation of Certain Low-
Level Radioactive Waste for Management or Disposal that is not Re-
quired to be Disposed of in the Compact Facility. 

(a) This section is applicable only in the host state. 

(b) This section is applicable only to State of Texas licensed 
waste processors or brokers, or source consolidators, of certain radioac-
tive waste (LLRW) that is included within the definition of low-level 
radioactive waste found in 30 TAC §336.2(89) (relating to Definitions) 
as the definition is in effect on the date this section becomes effective, 
or as 30 TAC §336.2(89) may be amended or renumbered in the future. 
For the purposes of this section, the material described in this subsec-
tion will be referred to as Non-Compact-Facility Low-Level Radioac-
tive Waste ("NCFW"). 

(c) [(b)] This section is designed to gather information on the 
importation into the host state for disposal or management of certain 
low-level radioactive waste that: 

[(1) is required when shipped to be listed on Nuclear Reg-
ulatory Commission (NRC) Forms 540 or 541 (Uniform Low-Level 
Waste Manifest Shipping Forms);] 

[(2) is included within the definition of low-level radioac-
tive waste found in 30 TAC §336.2(89) (relating to Definitions) as the 
definition is in effect on the date this section becomes effective or as 
30 TAC §336.2(89) may be amended or renumbered in the future, but 
is not intended for disposal in the Compact Waste Facility;] 

(1) [(3)] is not low-level radioactive waste described by 42 
United States Code, §2021c(b)(1) (relating to waste disposal for which 
the Federal government is responsible) or waste that is regulated under 
§675.23 of this title (relating to Importation of Waste from a Non-Party 
Generator for Disposal); and 

(2) is required, when shipped, to be listed on Nuclear Reg-
ulatory Commission (NRC) Uniform Low-Level Waste Manifest Ship-
ping Forms or other shipping paperwork (including but not limited to 
Bill of Lading, Hazardous Waste Manifest, or other manifest); or 

(3) is radioactive material being received for processing, 
recycling or consolidation and is subsequently declared to bebecomes 
low level radioactive waste as a result of the processing, recycling or 
consolidation, and becomes low level radioactive waste as a result of 
the processing, recycling, consolidation, including radioactive wastem-
aterial imported into the Compact under NRC 10 CFR Part 110 (under 
a general or specific license) for processing, recycling or consolidation 
and is subsequently declared low level radioactive waste; 

(4) The information gathering associated with radioactive 
waste described in (c)(3) does not begin until after the radioactive ma-
terial is declared waste by the processor, recycler or consolidator. 

[(4) for the purposes of this section, the material described 
in this subsection will be referred to as Non-Compact-Facility Low-
Level Radioactive Waste ("NCFW").] 

(d) [(c)] Any entity in the host state that imports NCFW or ra-
dioactive material which is subsequently declared NCFW must enter 
into an agreement with the Commission that contains a requirement 
that it will report or make available for review as detailed below to the 
Commission on a monthly [semi-annual] basis the following informa-
tion with respect to each shipment of NCFW that it has received in the 
previous month [six-month period]: 

(1) report the name of the generator; 

(2) report the name of the unaffiliated state, territory, 
or low-level waste compact (if any), or foreign country of origin, 
[(including State and City),] where the waste originated (including 
State and City); 

(3) report the activity of the waste in curies; 

(4) report the gross volume or weight of the waste; the date 
of receipt; the date of processing (if and when this occurs, whether 
the waste is being stored, processed, disposed, or otherwise managed; 
[provided, however, that waste that has been disposed of in the same 
reporting period in which it was received shall only report gross volume 
or weight;] and 

(5) report the physical location of management or the date 
of and physical location of disposal of that waste. 

(6) make available for review documentation or supporting 
information to address the requirement for an export agreement from 
another compact. 

(7) make available for review federal documentation sup-
porting import/export of waste from a foreign country, including im-
port/export under 10 CFR Part 110. 

(e) Waste must be reported each reporting period until the 
waste has been returned to the generator, sent out of the compact for 
disposal or additional processing, or disposed of within the Compact; 

(f) If a change in material classification occurs for any mate-
rial in possession of the agreement holder (such as radioactive material 
being reclassified as LLRW due to processing, recycling, or consolida-
tion or other factors), then that LLRW must be reported during the next 
reporting period, and subsequent reporting periods; 

(g) [(d)] Monthly [Semi-annual] reports must be submitted 
electronically on forms provided or approved by the Commission and 
must be received [submitted] on orbefore the 15th [31st] day of the 
month [after the end of each six-month period of the Commission's 
fiscal year, which begins on September 1 and ends on August 31]. 
An entity may file its monthly [semi-annual] report on its own form 
if the Commission has provided its prior written authorization for the 
form submitted. The report shall only contain information concerning 
NCFW as defined in this section. 

(h) [(e)] An entity that imports [low-level radioactive waste 
into the host state as described in subsection (c) of this section shall] 
NCFW into the host state must shall have entered into an agreement 
with the Commission within 90 days after the effective date of this 
section or within such time extensions thereafter as the Commission 
may allow. [New entrants that import waste into the host state as de-
scribed in subsection (c) of this section.] Entities formed after the ef-
fective date of this rule or that apply to import waste into the host state 
must enter into an NCFW agreement with the Commission within 30 
days of commencement of management operations and prior to import-
ing NCFW. To the maximum extent possible, each agreement entered 
into under this section will contain provisions identical to those in each 
other agreement entered into under this section. 
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(i) [(f)] An entity that imports NCFW [waste] into the host 
state [as described in subsection (c) of this section] shall submit an 
application for entry into an agreement with the Commission electron-
ically or on a paper [on a] form authorized [provided] by the Commis-
sion. 

(j) [(g)] Failure on the part of an entity that imports NCFW 
[waste] into the host state as described in subsection (d) [(e)] of this 
section to comply with any provision of this section or the agreement 
entered into pursuant to subsection (i) [(d)] of this section may result 
in the Commission reporting such failures to the [host] state or federal 
agency that has licensed, permitted, or otherwise authorized the oper-
ation of such entities. 

(k) [(h)] The Commission may unilaterally revoke or amend 
an NCFW agreement [on its own motion or in response to an appli-
cation by the agreement holder]. When the Commission amends an 
NCFW agreement [on its own motion], it may provide a reasonable 
time to allow the other party to the agreement [holder] to make the 
changes necessary to comply with any additional requirements im-
posed by the Commission. No importation of NCFW shall be allowed 
under an NCFW [any amended] agreement for the importation of 
NCFW until: 

(1) the NCFW agreement or any amendment to the NCFW 
agreement has been executed by both the Commission and the agree-
ment holder; and 

(2) the agreement holder has made any changes necessary 
to comply with additional requirements. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 27, 
2023. 
TRD-202304980 
Stephen Raines 
Executive Director 
Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 350-6241 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE 

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC 
ACCOUNTS 

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION 
SUBCHAPTER JJ. CIGARETTE, 
E-CIGARETTE, AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS 
REGULATION 
34 TAC §3.1203 

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to 
§3.1203, concerning approved seller training programs. The 
amendments implement the portion of Senate Bill 248, 87th Leg-
islature, 2021, that requires vendors providing comptroller ap-
proved training programs to include training on e-cigarette sales. 
The comptroller also proposes amendments to require the recer-

tification of approved training programs and to make other minor 
updates and improve readability. 
The comptroller amends the definitions in subsection (a). In 
paragraph (1), the comptroller removes the definition of "appli-
cation," which has a plain meaning, and replaces it with the def-
inition of "cigar" from Tax Code, Chapter 155 (Cigar and To-
bacco Products Tax). In paragraph (2), the comptroller replaces 
a reference to the definition of "cigarette" with the actual defi-
nition from Tax Code, Chapter 154 (Cigarette Tax). The comp-
troller adds the definition of "e-cigarette" in paragraph (3) and 
the definition of "minor" in paragraph (4), both from Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 161 (Public Health Provisions), Subchap-
ter H (Distribution of Cigarettes, E-cigarettes, or Tobacco Prod-
ucts) and renumbers the subsequent definitions. The comptrol-
ler amends the definition of "second party sales" in renumbered 
paragraph (5) to prohibit the sale of cigarettes and e-cigarettes 
that result in the provision of such products to a minor. The 
comptroller updates renumbered paragraph (6) by replacing the 
term "this state" with the term "Texas" and to add e-cigarettes 
to the list of products sold by a "seller." In new paragraph (7), 
the comptroller replaces a reference to the definition of "tobacco 
product" with the actual definition from Tax Code, Chapter 155. 
The comptroller amends subsection (b) to include e-cigarette 
sellers in the list of sellers to whom the training curriculum must 
be focused. 
The comptroller amends subsection (d) to clarify that the sale of 
cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and tobacco products must be included 
in the required course curriculum. 
The comptroller amends subsection (g) to add that a certification 
expires if not recertified under new subsection (h). 
The comptroller adds subsection (h) to establish recertification 
requirements for a comptroller approved seller course curricu-
lum. The recertification must be renewed every two years to en-
sure the training includes any changes made during a legislative 
session. Subsequent subsections are relettered. 
The comptroller amends relettered subsection (o) to remove the 
telephone contact numbers for class cancellations. The comp-
troller's webpage on Seller Training Programs is the best re-
source for current information of this sort. 
Tetyana Melnyk, Director of Revenue Estimating Division, has 
determined that during the first five years that the proposed 
amended rule is in effect, the rule: will not create or eliminate a 
government program; will not require the creation or elimination 
of employee positions; will not require an increase or decrease 
in future legislative appropriations to the agency; will not require 
an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; will not 
increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; and will not positively or adversely affect this 
state's economy. 
Ms. Melnyk also has determined that the proposed amended 
rule would benefit the public by conforming the rules to current 
statute. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2, and does 
not require a statement of fiscal implications for small businesses 
or rural communities. The proposed amended rule would have 
no significant fiscal impact on the state government, units of lo-
cal government, or individuals. There would be no anticipated 
significant economic cost to the public. 
You may submit comments on the proposal to Jenny Burleson, 
Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3528 or to the email address: tp.rule.com-
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ments@cpa.texas.gov. The comptroller must receive your 
comments no later than 30 days from the date of publication of 
the proposal in the Texas Register. 

The comptroller proposes the amendments under Tax Code, 
§111.002 (Comptroller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture) and 
§111.0022 (Application to Other Laws Administered by Comp-
troller) which provide the comptroller with authority to prescribe, 
adopt, and enforce rules relating to the administration and 
enforcement provisions of Tax Code, Title 2, and taxes, fees, 
or other charges which the comptroller administers under other 
law. 
The amendments to this section implement Health & Safety 
Code, §§161.081 (Definitions), 161.0901 (Disciplinary Action 
against Cigarette, E-cigarette, and Tobacco Product Retailers), 
and Tax Code, §155.001 (Definitions). 
§3.1203. Approved Seller Training Programs. 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section [shall] have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Cigar--A roll of fermented tobacco that is wrapped in 
tobacco and the main stream of smoke from which produces an alkaline 
reaction to litmus paper. 

[(1) Application--The form provided by the comptroller's 
office for use by persons interested in performing training under this 
section.] 

(2) Cigarette--A roll for smoking: 

(A) that is made of tobacco or tobacco mixed with an-
other ingredient and wrapped or covered with a material other than to-
bacco; and 

(B) that is not a cigar. 

[(2) Cigarettes--Has the meaning assigned by Tax Code, 
Chapter 154.] 

(3) E-cigarette--An electronic cigarette or any other device 
that simulates smoking by using a mechanical heating element, bat-
tery, or electronic circuit to deliver nicotine or other substances to the 
individual inhaling from the device; or a consumable liquid solution or 
other material aerosolized or vaporized during the use of an electronic 
cigarette or other device described by this paragraph. 

(A) The term "e-cigarette" includes: 

(i) a device described by this paragraph regard-
less of whether the device is manufactured, distributed, or sold as 
an e-cigarette, e-cigar, or e-pipe or under another product name or 
description; and 

(ii) a component, part, or accessory for the device, 
regardless of whether the component, part, or accessory is sold sepa-
rately from the device. 

(B) The term "e-cigarette" does not include a prescrip-
tion medical device unrelated to the cessation of smoking. 

(4) Minor--A person under 21 years of age. 

(5) [(3)] Second party sales--Sales that result [A sale which 
results] in the provision of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products 
to a minor, even though the purchaser of those products [the tobacco 
product] is not necessarily a minor. 

(6) [(4)] Seller--Any person who sells cigarettes, e-ciga-
rettes, or tobacco products in Texas [this state]. 

[(5) Tobacco products--Has the meaning assigned by Tax 
Code, Chapter 155.] 

(7) Tobacco product--A tobacco product is: 

(A) a cigar; 

(B) smoking tobacco, including granulated, plug-cut, 
crimp-cut, ready-rubbed, and any form of tobacco suitable for smoking 
in a pipe or as a cigarette; 

(C) chewing tobacco, including Cavendish, Twist, 
plug, scrap, and any kind of tobacco suitable for chewing; 

(D) snuff or other preparations of pulverized tobacco; 
or 

(E) an article or product that is made of tobacco or a 
tobacco substitute and that is not a cigarette or an e-cigarette. 

(b) Application process. In order for a vendor to be certified 
to provide employers and employees engaged in the retail sales of cig-
arettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products with training regarding pro-
visions in [the] Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161 and in [the] Tax 
Code, Chapters 154 and 155, regarding regulation of sales, distribution, 
and use of tobacco products, the vendor's training program must meet 
the minimum curriculum requirements established by the comptroller 
and be certified by the comptroller. Vendors must make application to 
the comptroller's office on a prescribed application form. The comp-
troller's office will review qualified applications and certify vendors 
interested in providing a seller training program. 

(c) Curriculum information. Vendors interested in obtaining 
certification must apply in writing and provide a written description 
detailing curriculum information, including: 

(1) the presentation; 

(2) specific course objectives; 

(3) academic content; 

(4) learning activities; 

(5) audio-visual materials, if any; 

(6) written materials (including instructor manual and par-
ticipant workbook); and 

(7) course evaluation or feedback forms. 

(d) Curriculum requirements. The curriculum of the training 
program presented should include, but is not limited to, the following 
components. 

(1) Component One--tobacco-related health hazards. Sta-
tistical information regarding tobacco-related health hazards as pub-
lished by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration must be included in 
this component. 

(2) Component Two--federal and state laws. Discussion 
and comparison of the provisions of current federal law with the pro-
visions of current state law pertaining to minors and cigarettes, e-cig-
arettes, and tobacco products must be included in this component. In 
particular, this component must include a review and explanation of all 
provisions relating to: 

(A) prohibiting the distribution of cigarettes, e-ciga-
rettes, or tobacco products to minors; 

(B) prohibiting the purchase, possession, or consump-
tion of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products by minors (citing 
examples of tobacco products included); 

(C) the warning notice signs for retail locations; 
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(D) statistics on cigarette, e-cigarette, and tobacco us-
age by adults and minors; and 

(E) the placement of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and to-
bacco products in retail locations. 

(3) Component Three--detection of minors. This compo-
nent must identify and discuss: 

(A) observation techniques for determining when a cus-
tomer is a minor; 

(B) common physical and behavioral signs of underage 
status; and 

(C) behaviors indicative of adolescence, including cur-
rent clothing trends and fads, and physical appearance preferences, ac-
cording to generally recognized experts in the field. 

(4) Component Four--personal identification. This compo-
nent must: 

(A) identify, discuss, and provide actual samples of ac-
ceptable forms of identification, including, but not limited to: 

(i) a valid state driver's license issued by the Texas 
Department of Public Safety; and 

(ii) other state or U.S. government issued forms of 
identification (with photograph); 

(B) identify, discuss, and provide actual samples of un-
acceptable forms of identification including, but not limited to: 

(i) a temporary state driver's license; 

(ii) a birth certificate; 

(iii) a school or work ID; 

(iv) a social security card; and 

(v) a professionally printed identification card. 

(C) explain how to detect invalid identification docu-
ments used in attempts to establish proof of age and provide examples 
of the following: 

(i) unofficial documents that look similar to official 
documents; 

(ii) types of document counterfeiting and alteration; 
and 

(iii) warning signs of document counterfeiting and 
alterations. 

(5) Component Five--second party sales. This component 
must: 

(A) explain and define second party sales; and 

(B) provide examples of second party sales including, 
but not limited to, the following: 

(i) a minor loitering outside a store in the store park-
ing lot; 

(ii) a minor loitering around a store, either inside or 
outside, after having been refused a cigarette, e-cigarette, or tobacco 
product purchase; and 

(iii) a minor randomly approaching an adult cus-
tomer to solicit the adult customer to purchase cigarettes, e-cigarettes, 
or tobacco products and giving the adult customer money. 

(6) Component Six--refusing a sale. This component must: 

(A) identify and discuss techniques to prevent an illegal 
sale of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products to a minor or second 
party; 

(B) identify and discuss techniques to terminate an il-
legal sale of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products to a minor or 
second party; and 

(C) provide examples of words and actions that may be 
used by a seller to amicably avoid or terminate illegal attempts to pur-
chase cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products by a minor. 

(e) Class length. The time length of the seller training class 
should be a minimum of two actual clock hours, including class breaks. 

(f) Notice of certification or denial. The comptroller shall no-
tify each applicant with a letter of certification or denial, including rea-
sons for the denial, within 15 business days from the date the appli-
cation is received by the comptroller. The certification or denial letter 
will be mailed to the address on the vendor's application. 

(g) Certification. A qualified vendor is certified to provide 
seller training until the certification expires under subsection (h) of 
this section or [unless the certification] is revoked or suspended by the 
comptroller. 

(h) Recertification of curriculum. 

(1) Every two years, a previously certified vendor must 
submit a new application to ensure the vendor's course curriculum 
aligns with federal law, state law, and policy changes relating to 
cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and tobacco products. 

(2) The seller training certification is valid until the last day 
of each odd numbered year. 

(i) [(h)] Denial. Applications for certification will be denied 
based on the following factors: 

(1) the curriculum information submitted does not meet the 
minimum requirements set out in subsection (d) of this section; 

(2) the application is incomplete; or 

(3) the applicant is currently delinquent in the payment of 
any tax or fee collected by the comptroller. 

(j) [(i)] Administrative hearing. If the comptroller determines 
that an applicant is not eligible for certification, the applicant will be 
notified, in writing, that the application has been denied. The notice 
will state the reasons for the denial. The applicant may, within 15 days 
of the date of the notice of denial, make a written request for an oral 
hearing to contest the denial. If the applicant does not request a hearing 
within 15 days of the date of the notice of denial, the hearing is waived 
and the denial is final. The hearing will be governed by the provisions 
of §§1.1-1.42 of this title (relating to Practice and Procedure). 

(k) [(j)] Certification revocation or suspension. The comptrol-
ler may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke or suspend 
a vendor's certification upon finding that the seller training classes pro-
vided by a vendor fail to comply with the comptroller's standards and 
requirements for seller training programs described in subsections (c), 
(d), and (e) of this section, or the vendor becomes delinquent in the 
payment of any tax or fee collected by the comptroller. If the comp-
troller determines that certification should be suspended or revoked, 
the comptroller will notify the vendor, in writing, that the certification 
will be suspended or revoked and will state the reasons for the action. 
The vendor may, within 15 days of the date of the notice of suspension 
or revocation, make a written request for an oral hearing to contest the 
action. If the vendor does not request a hearing within 15 days of the 
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date of the notice of suspension or revocation, the hearing is waived 
and the suspension or revocation becomes effective. 

(l) [(k)] Certification reinstatement. The comptroller may re-
instate the vendor's certification after receiving proof that the vendor 
has satisfied all the comptroller's standards and requirements for seller 
training as provided under subsections (c), (d), and (e) of this section, 
and the vendor is current in the payment of any tax or fee obligation 
due the comptroller. 

(m) [(l)] Notice of classes scheduled. Vendors must provide 
the comptroller's office written notification of the date, time, and loca-
tion of scheduled training classes at least five business days prior to the 
date training classes will be conducted. 

(n) [(m)] Vendor reporting requirements. 

(1) By the 15th day of the month, each certified vendor 
must report data for each training class completed during the previ-
ous month. The data must include: 

(A) a class roster with the name, driver's license num-
ber, and date of birth of each participant; 

(B) the total number of classes conducted for the month; 

(C) the total number of participants that attended each 
class; and 

(D) the total number of participants that successfully 
completed the class. 

(2) The reports must be mailed to the Texas Comptroller of 
Public Accounts, 111 East 17th Street, Austin, Texas 78774-0100. 

(o) [(n)] Class cancellations. Vendors must notify the comp-
troller's office [by telephone] of any training class cancellations prior to 
the actual training session date [by calling 1-800-531-5441, extension 
65946 or the local number in Austin (512) 936-5946]. 

(p) [(o)] Class monitoring. Training classes may be monitored 
unannounced by the comptroller or a comptroller's representative to 
evaluate the curriculum presentation and the classroom environment. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 27, 
2023. 
TRD-202304981 
Jenny Burleson 
Director, Tax Policy 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-2220 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
34 TAC §3.1204 

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to 
§3.1204, concerning administrative remedies for violations of 
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161, Subchapter H or K. The 
comptroller proposes amendments to implement the portions of 
Senate Bill 248, 87th Legislature, 2021, that relate to violations 
and to provide guidance on the process for a permit suspen-
sion or revocation that conforms with applicable laws and cur-
rent agency practice. 

The comptroller proposes amending the name of this section to 
remove the reference to Subchapter K as this section addresses 
only Subchapter H violations. 
The comptroller adds titles to statutory references and makes 
minor grammatical revisions throughout the section. 
The comptroller amends subsection (a) to add definitions of 
cigar, cigarette, e-cigarette, e-cigarette retailer, and tobacco 
products from Health and Safety Code, §161.081 and Tax Code, 
§154.001 and §155.001. The comptroller amends the existing 
definitions of place of business and permit holder by replacing 
the statutory references with definitions, based on similar terms 
from Tax Code, §154.001, Tax Code, §155.001 and Health 
and Safety Code §161.001 with the actual statutory definitions. 
The comptroller amends the definition of retailer to include 
the concepts in Health and Safety Code, §147.001(3) and 
§161.081(4) and Tax Code, §154.001(17) and §155.001(14). 
The comptroller alphabetizes and renumbers the definitions 
accordingly. 
The comptroller adds, as subsection (b), a non-exclusive list of 
violations that result in disciplinary action. The comptroller relet-
ters subsequent subsections. 
The comptroller amends the title and content of relettered sub-
section (c) to clarify that a violation is reported to the comptroller 
and that the list of people that may report a violation is non-ex-
clusive. 
The comptroller amends relettered subsection (d) to implement 
Senate Bill 248 which repealed the violation provisions in Tax 
Code, Chapters 154 (Cigarette Tax) and 155 (Cigars and To-
bacco Product Tax) and added the updated violation provisions 
to Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161. The updated provi-
sions extend the look-back violation period from 12 months to 
24 months and increase the amount of the fine for each violation 
that occurs within a specific timeframe. 
The comptroller amends relettered subsection (e) to memorial-
ize agency practice regarding the comptroller's notification to a 
permit holder of a violation of Health and Safety Code, Subchap-
ter H. The comptroller amends the subsection to reflect that the 
comptroller no longer sends a written notice of a violation by cer-
tified mail. The comptroller also amends the subsection to re-
quire a permit holder to respond to the written notice of violation 
within 20 calendar days, rather than 15 calendar days, consis-
tent with current agency practice. 
The comptroller amends relettered subsection (f) to provide in-
formation on a permit holder's procedures for requesting a hear-
ing. The comptroller also amends the subsection to remove in-
formation related to a permit holder's failure to respond to the 
violation notice which is now in new subsection (g). 
The comptroller deletes original subsection (f) as the information 
is obsolete. 
The comptroller removes original subsection (g) regarding the 
burden of proof in an administrative hearing in its entirety. The 
burden of proof is addressed in §1.21 of this title (Practice and 
Procedures). 
Tetyana Melnyk, Director of Revenue Estimating Division, has 
determined that during the first five years that the proposed 
amended rule is in effect, the rule: will not create or eliminate a 
government program; will not require the creation or elimination 
of employee positions; will not require an increase or decrease 
in future legislative appropriations to the agency; will not require 
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an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; will not 
increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; and will not positively or adversely affect this 
state's economy. 
Ms. Melnyk also has determined that the proposed amended 
rule would benefit the public by conforming the rules to current 
statute. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2, and does 
not require a statement of fiscal implications for small businesses 
or rural communities. The proposed amended rule would have 
no significant fiscal impact on the state government, units of lo-
cal government, or individuals. There would be no anticipated 
significant economic cost to the public. 
You may submit comments on the proposal to Jenny Burleson, 
Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3528 or to the email address: tp.rule.com-
ments@cpa.texas.gov. The comptroller must receive your 
comments no later than 30 days from the date of publication of 
the proposal in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Health and Safety Code, 
§161.0901 (Disciplinary Action Against Cigarette, E-Cigarette, 
and Tobacco Product Retailers), and Tax Code, §111.002, 
(Rulemaking Authority), which provides the comptroller with the 
authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce procedural and due 
process rules relating to the administration and enforcement of 
the provisions of regulation of the tobacco statutes. 
The amendments implement Government Code, Chapter 2001 
(Administrative Procedures Act); Health and Safety Code, Chap-
ter 161, Subchapter H (Distribution of Cigarettes, E-Cigarettes, 
Or Tobacco Products); and conforms this section to the relevant 
portions of 34 TAC §§1.1-1.35 (relating to Rules of Practice and 
Procedure). 
§3.1204. Administrative Remedies for Violations of Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 161, Subchapter H [or K]. 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Cigar--A roll of fermented tobacco that is wrapped in 
tobacco and the main stream of smoke from which produces an alkaline 
reaction to litmus paper. 

(2) Cigarette--A roll for smoking: 

(A) that is made of tobacco or tobacco mixed with an-
other ingredient and wrapped or covered with a material other than to-
bacco; and 

(B) that is not a cigar. 

(3) E-cigarette--An electronic cigarette or any other device 
that simulates smoking by using a mechanical heating element, bat-
tery, or electronic circuit to deliver nicotine or other substances to the 
individual inhaling from the device; or a consumable liquid solution or 
other material aerosolized or vaporized during the use of an electronic 
cigarette or other device described by this paragraph. 

(A) The term "e-cigarette" includes: 

(i) a device described by this paragraph regard-
less of whether the device is manufactured, distributed, or sold as 
an e-cigarette, e-cigar, or e-pipe or under another product name or 
description; and 

(ii) a component, part, or accessory for the device, 
regardless of whether the component, part, or accessory is sold sepa-
rately from the device. 

(B) The term "e-cigarette" does not include a prescrip-
tion medical device unrelated to the cessation of smoking. 

(4) Interstate warehouse--A person in this state who 
receives untaxed cigarettes, e-cigarettes, tobacco products from a 
manufacturer, bonded agent, distributor, or importer and stores the 
tobacco products exclusively for an interstate warehouse transaction. 

(5) Interstate warehouse transaction--The sale or delivery 
of cigarettes, e-cigarettes and tobacco products from an interstate ware-
house to a person located in another state who is licensed or permitted 
by the other state to pay the state's excise tax on tobacco products as 
required. 

[(1) Place of business--Has the meaning assigned by Tax 
Code, §154.001 and §155.001.] 

(6) [(2)] Permit holder--A bonded agent, interstate ware-
house, distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer, importer, export ware-
house, or retailer who obtains a permit under Health & Safety Code, 
Chapter 147, Subchapter B (Permits), or Tax Code, §154.101 (Per-
mits) or §155.041 (Permits). [Has the meaning assigned by Tax Code, 
§154.001 or §155.001.] 

(7) Place of business--

(A) a commercial business location where cigarettes, 
e-cigarettes or tobacco products are sold; 

(B) a commercial business location where cigarettes, 
e-cigarettes or tobacco products are kept for sale or consumption or 
otherwise stored; 

(C) a vehicle from which cigarettes, e-cigarettes or to-
bacco products are sold; or 

(D) a vending machine from which cigarettes or to-
bacco products are sold. 

(8) [(3)] Retailer--A person who engages in the practice of 
selling cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products to consumers and 
includes a person who sells e-cigarettes through a marketplace and the 
owner of a cigarette or tobacco product vending machine. [Has the 
meaning assigned by Tax Code, §154.001 or §155.001.] 

(9) Tobacco product--A tobacco product is: 

(A) a cigar; 

(B) smoking tobacco, including granulated, plug-cut, 
crimp-cut, ready-rubbed, and any form of tobacco substitute for smok-
ing in a pipe or as a cigarette; 

(C) chewing tobacco, including Cavendish, Twist, 
plug, scrap, and any kind of tobacco suitable for chewing; 

(D) snuff or other preparations of pulverized tobacco; 
or 

(E) an article or product that is made of tobacco or a 
tobacco substitute and that is not a cigarette or an e-cigarette. 

(b) Violations. Violations of Health and Safety Code, Chap-
ter 161, Subchapter H (Distribution of Cigarettes, E-Cigarettes, or To-
bacco Products) include, but are not limited to: 

(1) the sale of cigarettes, e-cigarettes or tobacco products 
to persons younger than 21 years of age, as provided in Health and 
Safety Code, §161.082; 

(2) failure to display a warning sign as prescribed by Health 
and Safety Code, §161.084; 
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(3) failure to notify employees of state law as required by 
Health and Safety Code §161.085; 

(4) offering cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products 
for sale in a manner that permits a customer direct access to the 
cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products in violation of Health and 
Safety Code, §161.086; 

(5) installing or maintaining a vending machine containing 
cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products in violation of Health and 
Safety Code, §161.086; 

(6) distributing a free sample of a cigarette, e-cigarette, or 
tobacco product, or a coupon or other item that the recipient may use 
to receive a free cigarette, e-cigarette, or tobacco product, in violation 
of Health and Safety Code, §161.087; 

(7) distributing to a person younger than 21 years of age 
a coupon or other item that the recipient may use to receive a dis-
counted cigarette, e-cigarette, or tobacco product in violation of Health 
and Safety Code, §161.087; and 

(8) markets, advertises, sells, or causes to be sold a pro-
hibited e-cigarette product in violation of Health and Safety Code, 
§161.0876 and §3.1208 of this title (concerning Prohibited E-Cigarette 
Products). 

(c) [(b)] Report of violation [Notice of violations]. The comp-
troller may receive a report [receives notice] of a violation of Health 
and Safety Code, Chapter 161, Subchapter H [or K] from any person, 
including: 

(1) the Enforcement or Criminal Investigations Divisions 
of the comptroller's office; 

(2) local law enforcement; 

(3) a municipal court or a justice of the peace court; or 

(4) a complaint reported by a caller on the tobacco hotline. 

(d) [(c)] Disciplinary actions. [The comptroller after receiving 
notice of violation may take the following actions:] 

(1) A retailer is subject to disciplinary action as provided 
by this section if an agent or employee of the retailer commits an of-
fense under this subchapter. [if during the preceding 12 months at the 
place of business for which a permit is issued, the permit holder has 
not been found to have violated Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161, 
Subchapter H or K, the comptroller may require the permit holder to 
pay a fine in an amount not to exceed $500 per violation;] 

(2) The penalties for a violation of Health and Safety Code, 
Subchapter H are: [if during the preceding 12 months at a place of 
business for which a permit is issued, the permit holder has been found 
to have violated Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161, Subchapter H 
or K, the comptroller may require the permit holder to pay a fine in an 
amount not to exceed $750 per violation;] 

(A) for the first violation at a place of business during 
the 24-month period preceding the violation, a fine in an amount not to 
exceed $1,000; 

(B) for the second violation at a place of business during 
the 24-month period preceding the most recent violation, a fine in an 
amount not to exceed $2,000; 

(C) for the third violation at a place of business during 
the 24-month period preceding the most recent violation: 

(i) a fine in an amount not to exceed $3,000; and 

(ii) suspension, for not more than five days, of the 
permit for that place of business issued under Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 147, or Tax Code, Chapters 154 or 155, as applicable; and 

(D) except as provided by paragraph (4) of this subsec-
tion, for the fourth or subsequent violation at a place of business during 
the 24-month period preceding the most recent violation, revocation of 
the permit issued under Health and Safety Code, Chapter 147, or Tax 
Code, Chapters 154 or 155, as applicable. If the permit holder does not 
hold a permit for that place of business under Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 147, or Tax Code, Chapters 154 or 155, the revocation of the 
sales and use tax permit issued under Tax Code §151.201 (Sales Tax 
Permits). 

(3) A permit holder whose permit has been revoked under 
paragraph (2)(D) of this subsection may not apply for a permit for the 
same place of business before the expiration of six months after the ef-
fective date of the revocation. [if during the preceding 12 months at 
a place of business for which a permit is issued, the permit holder has 
been found to have violated Health and Safety Code, Chapter 161, Sub-
chapter H or K at least twice, the comptroller may require the permit 
holder to pay a fine in an amount not to exceed $1,000 per violation or 
suspend the permit for that place of business for not more than three 
days; or] 

(4) The comptroller may suspend a permit, but may not re-
voke the permit, under paragraph (2)(D) of this subsection if the comp-
troller finds: [if during the preceding 12 months the permit holder has 
been found to have violated Health and Safety Code, §161.082(b), on 
four or more previous and separate occasions at the same place of busi-
ness for which a permit is issued, the comptroller may revoke the per-
mit.] 

(A) the permit holder has not violated this subchapter 
more than seven times at the place of business for which the permit is 
issued in the 48-month period preceding the violation in question; [The 
revocation of the retailer's permit shall be governed by the provisions 
in Tax Code, §154.114 and §155.059.] 

(B) the permit holder requires its employees to attend a 
comptroller-approved seller training program; [A retailer whose per-
mit has been revoked under paragraph (4) of this subsection may not 
apply for a retailer's permit for the same place of business before the 
expiration of six months after the effective date of the revocation.] 

(C) the employees have actually attended a comptrol-
ler-approved seller training program; and 

(D) the permit holder has not directly or indirectly en-
couraged the employees to violate the law. 

(e) [(d)] Written notice of violation. When the comptroller re-
ceives a report of a violation by a permit holder, the [The] comptrol-
ler may [will] send a written notice of violation [by certified mail] to 
the permit holder informing the permit holder that a violation has been 
reported and that the comptroller proposes taking disciplinary action 
against the permit holder. [occurred. If the comptroller so offers, the 
permit holder may have the option to waive the right to a hearing and 
pay a lesser administrative fine or agree to a lesser administrative rem-
edy.] 

(1) The written notice of violation will identify the disci-
plinary action that the comptroller proposes to take. 

(2) The written notice of violation will provide the permit 
holder an opportunity to request a hearing on or before the 20th day 
after the date on the written notice of violation and will inform the 
permit holder that failure to request a hearing on or before that date 
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will result in the waiver of the right to a hearing and the imposition of 
the proposed penalty. 

(f) [(e)] Administrative hearings. If the permit holder responds 
[does not respond] to the written notice of violation and requests a hear-
ing on or before the 20th day after the date on the written notice of 
violation, the comptroller will grant an administrative hearing. A hear-
ing request is considered submitted by the date-stamp affixed by the 
agency mail room. [within 15 calendar days, an order finding that a 
violation has occurred may be entered and the maximum penalty may 
be imposed. If the permit holder requests a hearing, a hearing will be 
set.] The hearing shall be governed by §1.21 [Chapter 1, Subchapter A, 
Division 1] of this title (relating to Cigarette, E-Cigarette, Cigar, and 
Tobacco Tax Hearings [Practice and Procedures]). 

[(f) An oral administrative hearing will be held at the office of 
the Comptroller of Public Accounts in Austin, Texas. The recourse for 
a permit holder who does not agree with the administrative decision 
will be governed by the provisions of Tax Code, Chapter 111; Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2001; and Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Division 1 of 
this title.] 

(g) Waiver of hearing. If the permit holder does not respond to 
the written notice of violation on or before the 20th day after the date 

on the written notice of violation, the permit holder's right to an admin-
istrative hearing is waived. An untimely request for an administrative 
hearing will not be granted. 

[(g) The burden of proof in an administrative hearing pursuant 
to this rule is by a preponderance of the evidence, unless otherwise 
provided by statute.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 27, 
2023. 
TRD-202304982 
Jenny Burleson 
Director, Tax Policy 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Earliest possible date of adoption: February 11, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-2220 
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