TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 504. ABORTION FACILITY REPORTING AND LICENSING

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

26 TAC §504.2

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment to §504.2, concerning Definitions.

Section 504.2 is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the July 10, 2026, issue of the Texas Register (51 TexReg 4499). This rule will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendment is necessary to implement Senate Bill (SB) 31, 89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025. SB 31 amended Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC) §245.002 to expand the definition of ectopic pregnancy to include the implantation of a fertilized egg or embryo in an abnormal location in the uterus, or in a scarred portion of the uterus, causing the pregnancy to be non-viable.

The amendment is necessary to ensure consistency with amended THSC §245.002.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended August 10, 2026.

HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code §524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation of and provision of services by the health and human services system; THSC §245.011, which requires physicians to report to HHSC information about each abortion performed; and THSC §171.006, which requires physicians and certain health care facilities to report to HHSC information about each abortion complication diagnosed or treated.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 16, 2026.

TRD-202604390

Stephanie Tourk

Deputy Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: November 5, 2026

Proposal publication date: July 10, 2026

For further information, please call: (512) 834-4591


CHAPTER 550. LICENSING STANDARDS FOR PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED CARE CENTERS

SUBCHAPTER F. INSPECTIONS AND VISITS

26 TAC §550.1301

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment to §550.1301, concerning Inspections and Visits.

Section 550.1301 is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the August 7, 2026, issue of the Texas Register (51 TexReg 5144). This rule will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendment is necessary to update the rule to decrease inspection frequency from annually to at least once every three years in alignment with current licensure renewal and inspection timeframe requirements in Texas Health and Safety Code §248A.053 and §248A.102. The amendment reduces administrative and operational burdens for providers associated with annual inspections.

The amendment also deletes or updates obsolete references and clarifies existing language to improve overall readability.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended September 8, 2026.

HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code §524.0151, which provides that the executive commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation of and provision of services by the health and human services system; and Texas Health and Safety Code §248A.101, which authorizes the executive commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules that are necessary to implement Chapter 248A, to protect the health and safety of the public, and to ensure the health, safety and comfort of the minors served.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 13, 2026.

TRD-202604355

Stephanie Tourk

Deputy Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: November 2, 2026

Proposal publication date: August 7, 2026

For further information, please call: (512) 438-3161