Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers

Penalties and Sanctions

Texas Occupations Code Chapter 402
16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 112

Class A
Penalty Range: Up to $1,000

Administrative Violations

the date of last visit

Violation Statute/Rule

Failed to file a surety bond with the Department 402.404;
112.60(c)(1)

Failed to notify the Department in writing within thirty (30) 112.91

days of a change in name, address, telephone number or

employment

Failed to comply with federal regulations adopted by the 112.96

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Failed to maintain records on every client for five years from | 112.140(d)

Posting and Public Information Violations

Violation Statute/Rule
Failed to include Department information on the written 402.152(b);
contract(s) for services 112.92(a)(1)
Failed to prominently display a sign containing Department 402.152(a);
information in the primary place of business 112.92(a)(2)
Failed to prominently display hearing instrument fitter and 402.351;
dispenser license in the primary place of business 112.93(@)(1)

Expired License Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Engaged in the fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments
with an expired license

402.201; 112.32(i)

Acted as an apprentice in hearing instrument fitting and
dispensing with an expired permit

402.201; 112.42(d)

Acted as temporary training permit holder in hearing
instrument fitting and dispensing with an expired permit

402.201; 112.52(d)

Temporary Permit Holder Violations




Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to notify the Department within 10 days of an
applicant’s transfer of supervision

112.53(f)

Supervisor Violations

Violation Statute/Rule
Failed to supervise a temporary training permit holder in an | 402.255(b)
established place of business

Supervised more than two temporary training permit holders | 402.255(e);

at one time 112.53(j)
Failed to notify the Department within 10 days of an 402.252(b)(2);
applicant’s termination of supervision 112.53(e)

Standard of Care Violations

Violation Statute/Rule

Failed to ensure adequate sound-level measurement as 402.353;

required 112.97
Class B

Penalty Range: $1,000 to $3,000 and/or up to 1 year full suspension

Continuing Education Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Falsified copies of certificates, transcripts or other documentation
satisfactory to the department, verifying the license holder’s
attendance, participation, and completion of continuing education
courses

112.71(b)(2), (0)(3)

Temporary Permit Holders Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Acted as temporary training permit holder in hearing
instrument fitting and dispensing without being supervised
by a license holder

402.256(a);
112.53(a)

Apprentices Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Acted as an apprentice in hearing instrument fitting and
dispensing without being supervised by a license holder

402.207(c);
112.43(a)




Supervisor Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Supervised an individual who did not hold a temporary
training permit

112.53(b), (c)

Supervised a temporary training permit holder without a 402.255(a)(1);
valid hearing instrument fitter and dispenser license 112.53(a);

Failed to supervise all work done by a temporary training 402.255(a)(3), (b)
permit holder and (c)(1);

112.53(b), (k);

Failed to comply with all statutory guidelines and rules while
supervising and/or training a temporary permit holder

402.254; 402.255;
112.53

Failed to provide to the permit holder materials and
equipment necessary for appropriate audiometric and
hearing instrument evaluation and fitting

402.255(c)(2)

Failed to supplement the permit holder's background
information with reading lists and other references

402.255(c)(3)

Failed to conduct in-service training for the permit holder

402.255(c)(4)

Failed to act as a consultant to the permit holder by
providing time for conferences for the permit holder and
providing a variety of resource materials, approaches, and
techniques that are based on sound theory, successful
practice, or documented research

402.255(c)(5)

Failed to establish goals with the permit holder that are
realistic, easily understandable, and directed toward the
successful completion of the training requirements

402.255(c)(6)

Failed to observe the permit holder during the practicum,
confer with the permit holder after the permit holder's
contact with clients, and provide an opportunity for comment
on the practicum experience in writing or through
conferences, during and after the practicum experience

402.255(c)(7)

Failed to establish that the supervisor is solely responsible
for the practicum and daily supervision of the permit holder

402.255(c)(8)

Failed to know and adhere to state and federal laws relating
to hearing instrument fitting and dispensing

402.255(c)(10)

Failed to assist the permit holder in fulfilling licensing
requirements

402.255(c)(11)

Failed to maintain a log of the contact hours by practicum
category on a form prescribed by the department

402.255(d);
112.53(]

Failed to submit verification to the department upon
completion of 150 contact hours

)
402.255(d);
112.53(i)

Unlicensed Activity Violations




Violation

Statute/Rule

Acted as an apprentice or trained under the supervision of a
licensed hearing fitter and dispenser without holding an
apprentice or temporary training permit

402.201; 402.208;
402.251
112.41; 112.51

Standard of Care Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to comply with client confidentiality rights within the
limits established by the law

112.98(b), (c)(2)

Failed to refer a client for those services that the license
holder or permit holder is unable to provide

112.98(b), (c)(3)

Failed to comply with the requirements of the Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA)

112.98(b), (c)(4)

Failed to ensure that all equipment used is in proper working
order and is properly calibrated

112.98(b), (c)(5)

Misrepresented his or her professional credentials and/or
qualifications

112.98(b), (d)(3)

Failed to follow guidelines for the 30-day trial period

112.140(b)

Sold a hearing instrument to a person under 18 years of age
without a parent or guardian presenting a required written
approval signed by a licensed physician specializing in
diseases of the ear

402.402

Prohibited Practice Violations

Violation Statute/Rule
Failed to clearly disclose name, business address and the 402.451(b)(1);
purpose of the communication when making a telephone 112.98(b)
solicitation

Used or purchased for use a list of names of potential 402.451(b)(2);
customers compiled by telephone by a person other than the | 112.98(b)
license or permit holder, the license or permit holder's

authorized agent, or another license or permit holder

Advertised a manufacturer's product or uses a 402.501(20)

manufacturer's name or trademark in a way that implies a
relationship between a license or permit holder and a
manufacturer that does not exist

Standard of Care — Tele practice Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Rendered telehealth services without first being authorized
to do so by the Department

112.132(b)

Used inappropriate telecommunication technology to provide
telehealth services

112.132(e)(3)(A)




Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to monitor the client and oversee and direct the
facilitator at all times during the telehealth session

112.132(d)(5)

Failed to verify and document the facilitator's qualifications,
training, and competence prior to allowing the facilitator to
assist with rendering telehealth services

112.132(d)(3)

Allowed facilitator to perform tasks at the client site not
approved by the Department

112.132(d)(4)

Rendered telehealth services to a client without a qualified
facilitator when a facilitator was required to ensure safe and
effective service to the client

112.132(d)(6)

Provided telehealth service when telecommunications
technology and equipment at client site were inadequate to
allow quality fitting and dispensing services

112.132(e)(3)

Failed to provide professional services during a telehealth
session as in person at a physical location

112.132(e)(3)(C)

Failed to comply with all laws, rules, and regulations
governing the maintenance of client records, including client
confidentiality requirements regarding telehealth services

112.132(g)(1)

Class C
Penalty Range: $1,000 to $5,000 and/or up to revocation

Contract Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to provide client with a written contract that contains
the required information upon the sale or change of a
hearing instrument

402.403;
112.140(c)

Standard of Care Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to try to obtain required information on each
prospective candidate for amplification

402.352; 112.95

Offered services that are outside the scope of his or her
professional competency

112.98(b), (c)(1)

license issued by the Texas Medical Board

Performed an act that requires a license from the Texas 402.451(b)(3)
Optometry Board or the Texas Medical Board

Treated the ear in any manner for any defect or administer 402.453(a);
any drug or physical treatment without holding a physician’'s | 112.98(b)

Professional Conduct Violations




Violation Statute/Rule
Made a material misstatement in furnishing information to 402.501(1)
the Department or to another state or federal agency

Convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that includes 402.501(3)
dishonesty as an essential element or of a crime directly

related to the practice of fitting and dispensing hearing

instruments

Aided or assisted another person in violating a Law or Rule | 402.501(6)
Failed to provide information in response to a written request | 402.501(7)
made by the department within 60 days

Knowingly employed, hired, procured, or induced an 402.501(8)
unlicensed person to fit and dispense hearing instruments

Aided an unlicensed person in the fitting or dispensing of 402.501(9)
hearing instruments

Received from a person a fee, commission, rebate, or other | 402.501(11)
form of compensation for a service not actually provided

Violated a term of probation 402.501(12)
Has a physical illness that results in the inability to practice | 402.501(14)
the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety,

including the deterioration or loss of motor skills through

aging

Participated in subterfuge or misrepresentation in the fitting | 402.501(16)
or dispensing of a hearing instrument

Falsely represented that the service of a licensed physician | 402.501(18)
or other health professional will be used or made available in

the fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair of a hearing

instrument

Falsely used the term "doctor," "audiologist," "clinic," "clinical | 402.501(19);
audiologist," "state licensed," "state certified," "licensed 112.98(d)(3)
hearing instrument dispenser," "board certified hearing

instrument specialist,” "hearing instrument specialist," or

"certified hearing aid audiologist”

Used a term, abbreviation, or symbol that falsely gives the 402.501(19)(A);
impression that: a service is being provided by a person who | 112.98(d)(3)

is licensed or has been awarded a degree or title

Used a term, abbreviation, or symbol that falsely gives the
impression that: the person providing a service has been
recommended by a government agency or health provider

402.501(19)(B)

Gave or offered to give, or permitted or caused to be given,
money or another thing of value to a person who advises
others in a professional capacity as an inducement to
influence the person to influence the others to purchase or
contract to purchase products sold or offered for sale by the
license or permit holder

402.501(21)(A)

Gave or offered to give, or permitted or caused to be given,
money or another thing of value to a person who advises

402.501(21)(B)




Violation Statute/Rule

others in a professional capacity as an inducement to
influence the person to influence the others to refrain from
purchasing or contracting to purchase products sold or
offered for sale by another license or permit holder

With fraudulent intent fitted and dispensed a hearing 402.501(22)
instrument under a name, including a false name or alias

Did not adequately provide for the service or repair of a 402.501(23)
hearing instrument fitted and sold by the license holder

Violated a regulation of the federal Food and Drug 402.501(24)

Administration or the Federal Trade Commission relating to
hearing instruments

Engaged in sexual contact or sexual exploitation with a 112.98(b), (d)(4)
client

Failed to observe or comply with the hearing fitters code of | 402.501(13);
ethics by falsifying records; Willfully made or filed a false 112.98(b), (d)(1)

record or report

Refused to provide services solely on the basis of a client's | 112.98(b), (d)(2)
age, gender, race, color, religion, national origin, or disability

Provided services while impaired due to the use of 112.98(b), (d)(5)

medication, drugs, or alcohol, or a physical or mental health

condition

Altered a license with the intent to defraud 402.451(a)(2);
112.98(b)

Falsely impersonated a license holder 402.451(a)(4);
112.98(b)

Advertising Violations

Violation Statute/Rule
Solicited a service by advertising that is false, misleading or | 402.103;
deceptive 402.501(15);
112.94;
Knowingly advertised for sale a model or type of hearing 402.103;
instrument that cannot be purchased 402.501(17);
112.94

Unlicensed Activity Violations

Violation Statute/Rule

Engaged in the fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments | 402.201
without an appropriate license

Represented that he/she is authorized to engage in the 402.201
fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments without an
appropriate license




Violation

Statute/Rule

hearing fitter and dispenser license, while holding only a
temporary training permit

Owned, managed, or independently operated a business 402.256(b)(1);
that engages in the fitting or sale of hearing instruments

holding only a temporary training permit

Advertises or otherwise represented that he/she holds a 402.256(b)(2);

Continuing Education Violations

Violation

Statute/Rule

Failed to maintain continuing education records applied
toward a license renewal for two years after the date the
license renewal is issued

60.701(b)(2)

Failed to submit to the department continuing education
records within 30 calendar days after notification of an audit

60.701(c)(2), (d)(1)

Failed to complete all deficient continuing education within
90 calendar days after notification of deficiency

60.701(c)(4), (d)(4)

Provided false information during the audit or renewal
process

60.701(d)(2)

Was deficient in the continuing education required for the
most recent renewal of the license

60.701(d)(3)

Class D
Penalty Range: $5,000 and/or up to revocation
Violation Statute/Rule
Obtained or attempted to obtain a license by fraud, 402.451(a)(1);
misrepresentation, or concealment of material fact 402.451(a)(3);
402.501(4);
60.23(a)(1);

commission

Falsified any document submitted to the department or | 60.23(a)(2)

authorized by law to use that license

Permitted the use or display of a license by a person not | 60.23(a)(3)

Failed to comply with a previous order of the 51.353(a);112.98(c)(6);
Commission or Executive Director 60.23(a)(5)
Failed to comply with exam security requirements 60.54

or processing fee

Failed to pay the Department for a dishonored payment | 60.82

facts or by use of threats or harassment; Failed to
cooperate with an investigation or inspection

Interfered with an investigation or disciplinary 112.98(b), (d)(6);
proceeding by willful misrepresentation or omission of 60.203(c)




Violation Statute/Rule

Acted professionally incompetent or engaged in 402.501(5)
malpractice or dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct that likely deceived, defrauded,
or harmed the public

Habitually intoxicated or addicted to a controlled 402.501(10)
substance
Engaged in the fitting and dispensing of hearing 402.451(a)(5);

instruments when with a suspended or revoked license | 112.98(b)






