
Form 2703—General Information 
(Business Opportunity Exemption Notice) 

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant 
code provisions. This form and the information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an 
attorney. 

Commentary 

The offering or sale of business opportunities in Texas is governed by the Business Opportunity Act, 
Chapter 51, Texas Business & Commerce Code, and the secretary of state’s administrative rules, title 1, 
Chapter 97 of the Texas Administrative Code.  Before an offering or sale of a business opportunity in 
Texas, the principal seller must register the business opportunity with the secretary of state.  Tex. Bus. 
& Comm. Code § 51.051.   

Section 51.003(a) defines “business opportunity” with certain exceptions listed in Section 51.003(b). 
Section 51.003(b)(8) excludes franchise agreements (as defined in 16 C.F.R. Part 436) from the 
definition of “business opportunity” if the franchisor complies with 16 C.F.R. Part 436 and other 
Federal Trade Commission orders or actions.  Before offering or selling such a franchise in Texas, 
however, the franchisor must file this exemption statement with the secretary of state. 

The exemption statement is a one-time filing; however, if the franchisor’s principal address changes, the 
franchisor should notify the secretary of state of the change in writing with Form 2707.  There is no 
filing fee for an address update. 

Instructions for Form 

	 Name of Franchisor: Provide the legal name of the franchisor claiming the exemption.  It is 
also requested that you provide a telephone number. 

	 Other Name(s): List all names under which the franchisor transacts or intends to transact 
business. 

	 Principal Business Address: Provide the principal business address of the franchisor. 

	 Payment and Delivery Instructions:  The filing fee for a business opportunity exemption 
notice is $25.  Fees may be paid by personal checks, money orders, LegalEase debit cards or 
American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa credit cards.  Checks or money orders must 
be payable through a U.S. bank or financial institution and made payable to the secretary of 
state. Fees paid by credit card are subject to a statutorily authorized convenience fee of 2.7 
percent of the total fees. 

The completed form, along with the filing fee, may be mailed to Registrations Unit, P.O. Box 
13193, Austin, Texas 78711-3193 or delivered to the James Earl Rudder Office Building, 1019 
Brazos, Austin, Texas 78701. 
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Business Opportunity 
Exemption Notice 

Form 2703 (Revised 05/16) 
Please submit to: 
Secretary of State 
 Registrations Unit 

P.O. Box 13193 
Austin, TX 78711-3193 

Filing Fee: $25 

The following franchisor claims an exemption from the business opportunity registration requirements 
pursuant to Section 51.003(b)(8), Tex. Bus. & Comm. Code. 

Name of Franchisor 

Name: 
Legal name of franchisor 

Phone: 

Other Name(s) 

Name:  

Name:  

Name:  

LIST ANY ADDITIONAL NAMES ON A SEPARATE SHEET 

Principal Business Address 

Street City State Zip 

Execution 
The undersigned affirms that the franchisor has complied in all material respects in this state with         
16 C.F.R. Part 436 and each order or other action of the Federal Trade Commission. 

Date: 

Printed or typed name of authorized person 
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