

As required by Government Code, §2002.011(4), the *Texas Register* publishes executive orders issued by the Governor of Texas. Appointments and proclamations are also published. Appointments are published in chronological order. Additional

information on documents submitted for publication by the Governor's Office can be obtained by calling (512) 463-1828.

# Appointments

## Appointments for December 8, 2023

Appointed as Chief Justice of the Eighth Court of Appeals, Place 1, for a term until December 31, 2024, or until his successor shall be duly elected and qualified, Jeffrey S. "Jeff" Alley (replacing Chief Justice Yvonne T. Rodriguez of El Paso, who resigned).

Appointed as Judge of the 414th Judicial District Court, McLennan County, for a term until December 31, 2024, or until his successor shall be duly elected and qualified, Ryan A. Luna of Waco, Texas (replacing Judge Vicki L. Menard of Waco, who resigned).

Appointed as Waller County Criminal District Attorney for a term until December 31, 2024, or until his successor shall be duly elected and qualified, Sean G. Whittmore of Katy, Texas (replacing Elton R. Mathis of Hempstead, who resigned).

#### Appointments for December 11, 2023

Appointed to the Gulf Coast Protection District Board of Directors for a term to expire June 16, 2025, Sharon D. Hulgan of Friendswood, Texas (replacing Michael D. VanDerSnick of Houston, who resigned).

Appointed to the University of North Texas System Board of Regents for a term to expire May 22, 2029, Cathy E. Bryce, Ed.D. of Argyle, Texas (replacing Mary C. Denny of Aubrey, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Commission on State Emergency Communications for a term to expire September 1, 2029, Bobbie J. Mitchell of Lewisville, Texas (replacing Edwina L. Lane of Ector, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Commission on State Emergency Communications for a term to expire September 1, 2029, Catherine A. "Cathy" Skurow of Portland, Texas (Mayor Skurow is being reappointed).

### Appointments for December 12, 2023

Appointed to the State Board of Dental Examiners for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Bryan N. Henderson, II, D.D.S of Dallas, Texas (Dr. Henderson is being reappointed).

Appointed to the State Board of Dental Examiners for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Lorie L. Jones of Magnolia, Texas (Ms. Jones is being reappointed).

Appointed to the State Board of Dental Examiners for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Sarah C. Lamb of Dallas, Texas (replacing Kathryn A. "Kaci" Sisk of Spring Branch, whose term expired).

Appointed to the State Board of Dental Examiners for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Michael B. "Brady" Morehead, D.D.S. of San Antonio, Texas (replacing Jorge E. Quirch, D.D.S. of Missouri City, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas Commission on Fire Protection for a term to expire February 1, 2027, Michael Johnson of Texas City, Texas (replacing Clyde D. Loll of Huntsville, who resigned).

Designating Ronald L. "Ron" Hopping, O.D. of Friendswood as presiding officer of the Texas Optometry Board for a term to expire at the pleasure of the Governor. Dr. Hopping is replacing Mario Gutierrez, O.D. of San Antonio as presiding officer.

Appointed to the Texas Optometry Board for a term to expire January 31, 2029, Steven N. Nguyen, O.D. of Irving, Texas (replacing Mario Gutierrez, O.D. of San Antonio, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas Optometry Board for a term to expire January 31, 2029, Mala L. Sharma of Houston, Texas (replacing Ty H. Sheehan of San Antonio, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas Optometry Board for a term to expire January 31, 2029, Billy C. "Bill" Thompson, Jr., O.D. of Richardson, Texas (Dr. Thompson is being reappointed).

## Appointments for December 13, 2023

Appointed to the Texas Animal Health Commission for a term to expire September 6, 2029, Anthony E. "T.J." Klein, Jr. of College Station, Texas (replacing Keith M. Staggs of Gonzales, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas Animal Health Commission for a term to expire September 6, 2029, Joseph G. "Joe" Osterkamp of Farwell, Texas (Mr. Osterkamp is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas Animal Health Commission for a term to expire September 6, 2029, Wendee L. Payne, Ph.D. of Floydada, Texas (Dr. Payne is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas Animal Health Commission for a term to expire September 6, 2029, Johnny E. Trotter of Hereford, Texas (replacing Leo D. Vermedahl, Ph.D. of Dalhart, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists for a term to expire February 1, 2027, Elvira Reyna of Little Elm, Texas (replacing Evelyn Husband Thompson of Houston, who resigned).

Appointed to the TexNet Technical Advisory Committee for a term to expire at the pleasure of the Governor, Lawrence N. "Larry" French of Austin, Texas (replacing J. Calvin "Cal" Cooper, Ph.D. of Houston, who is deceased).

Greg Abbott, Governor

TRD-202304710

**\* \* \***