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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
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TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 351. COORDINATED PLANNING
AND DELIVERY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER B. ADVISORY COMMITTEES
DIVISION 1. COMMITTEES

1 TAC §351.821

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts an amendment to §351.821, concerning the Value-Based
Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory Committee. The
amendment to §351.821 is adopted without changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the July 14, 2023, issue of the Texas
Register (48 TexReg 3787). This rule will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory
Committee (VBPQIAC) was established in 2016 by the HHSC
Executive Commissioner, under the authority of Texas Govern-
ment Code §531.012. This statute requires the HHSC Executive
Commissioner to establish and maintain advisory committees;
establish rules for the operation of advisory committees; and for
advisory committees to provide recommendations to the HHSC
Executive Commissioner and the Texas Legislature.

The VBPQIAC advises the HHSC Executive Commissioner and
Texas Health and Human Services agencies (HHS agencies)
on quality improvement and value-based payment initiatives for
Medicaid, other publicly funded health services, and the wider
health care system. The VBPQIAC consolidated the functions
of the previous Medicaid and CHIP Quality Based Payment Ad-
visory Committee and the Texas Institute of Health Care Quality
and Efficiency. Members meet approximately four times a year
in Austin.

In §351.821, the VBPQIAC is set to abolish on December 31,
2023. Abolition of the VBPQIAC would result in the loss of a pri-
mary source of public input for key Medicaid value-based and
quality improvement programs, such as the state's Alternative
Payment Models initiative. The VBPQIAC maintains strong par-
ticipation from stakeholders.

The amendment extends the VBPQIAC by four years to Decem-
ber 31, 2027, updates membership categories by removing "Re-
gional Healthcare Partnerships," and aligns the rule with current
HHSC advisory committee rule formatting and standards.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended August 14, 2023.

During this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regard-
ing the proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.012(c)(1), which requires the Executive
Commissioner to adopt rules consistent with Texas Government
Code Chapter 2110 to govern an advisory committee's report
requirements.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 6, 2023.

TRD-202303732

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: October 26, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 14, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 380-4372

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 4. AGRICULTURE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROCEDURES
SUBCHAPTER E. ADVISORY COMMITTEES
4 TAC §1.221

The Texas Department of Agriculture (Department) adopts new
Texas Administrative Code, Title 4, Part 1, §1.221, regarding
the Texas Food System Security and Resiliency Planning
Council without changes to the proposed text as published in
the September 1, 2023 issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg
4719). These rules will not be republished.

New §1.221 addresses the Texas Food System Security and Re-
siliency Planning Council and describes the Council's purposes,
composition, and terms of office for members. In addition, it pre-
scribes meeting requirements and procedures. The proposed
rule also creates requirements for member conduct and training,
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addresses conflicts of interests, and provides for the duration of
the Council.

The Department received no comments in response to the pro-
posed new rule.

The new rule is adopted under Code, Section 23.006, which pro-
vides the Department shall adopt rules to administer Texas Agri-
culture Code, Chapter 23, including the Texas Food System Se-
curity and Resiliency Planning Council. Texas Agriculture Code,
Chapter 23 is affected by the adopted rule.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 5, 2023.

TRD-202303711

Susan Maldonado

General Counsel

Texas Department of Agriculture

Effective date: October 25, 2023

Proposal publication date: September 1, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 463-6591

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 4. OFFICE OF THE CHIEF
APIARY INSPECTOR
CHAPTER 71. BEES

The Texas Apiary Inspection Service (TAIS) adopts amend-
ments to 4 TAC §71.1 and §71.9. TAIS adopts the repeal of
4 TAC §71.23 due to the intrastate permit requirement being
repealed by Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 131 updates. The
TAIS adopts new 4 TAC §71.24 as it adds the new requirements
for beekeeper registration. Sections 71.9, 71.23, and 71.24
are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published
in the September 1, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48
TexReg 4728). The rules and repeal will not be republished.
Section 71.1 is adopted with changes to the proposed text to
update alphabetization as published in the September 1, 2023,
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 4728). The rule will be
republished.

TAIS adopts amendments to 4 TAC §71.1 and §71.9 as a new
interstate permit will replace exportation and intrastate permits.
The intrastate permit will be repealed by Texas Agriculture
Code Chapter 131 updates. These changes are necessary to
meet changes in Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 131 Bees and
Honey. The repeal of §71.23 is adopted to reflect changes in
Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 131.01-131.122. New §71.24
is adopted to reflect changes in Texas Agriculture Code Chapter
131.01-131.122.

No comments were received regarding these proposals.
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
4 TAC §71.1, §71.9

Statutory Authority: These rules are adopted under authority of
the Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 131.021, which authorizes
the Chief Apiary Inspector to adopt rules with the goal of treating,
eradicating, and suppressing infectious diseases of honeybees.

§71.1.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this title, shall have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Act--Texas Bee Law, Texas Agricultural Code, Chapter
131, (1981), as amended.

(2) Apiary--A place where colonies of bees or nuclei of
bees are kept.

(3) Bee--Any stage of the common honeybee, Apis mellif-
era species.

(4) Beckeeper-- a person who owns, leases, possesses, con-
trols, or manages one or more colonies of bees for any personal or com-
mercial purpose.

(5) Chief Apiary Inspector--The Chief Apiary Inspector,
formerly known as State Entomologist, appointed by the director or
his designee.

(6) Colony--A distinguishable localized population of bees
in which one or more life stages may be present.

(7) Director--The director of Texas A&M AgriLife Re-
search, formerly known as the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station.

(8) Disease--American foulbrood, European foulbrood, or
any other contagious or infectious disease of bees, or parasite or pest
that affects bees or brood.

(9) Equipment--Hives, supers, frames, veils, gloves, tools,
machines, including bee removal vacuums, or other devices for the
handling and manipulation of bees, honey, pollen, wax, or hives, in-
cluding storage or transporting containers for pollen, honey, or wax, or
other apiary supplies used in the operation of an apiary or honey house.

(10) Governing board--The Board of Regents of the Texas
A&M University System.

(11) Hive--A box or other shelter containing a colony of
bees.

(12) Honey--The nectar of plants that has been transferred
by, and is the natural product of, bees and that is in the comb or has
been taken from the comb and is packaged in a liquid, crystallized, or
granular form.

(13) Nucleus--A small mass of bees and combs used in
forming a new colony.

(14) Package bees--Live bees in cages without comb.

(15) Person--Any individual, partnership, corporation, as-
sociation, governmental subdivision, or public or private organization
of any character.

(16) Pollen--Dust-like grains formed in the anthers of flow-
ering plants in which the male elements or sperm are produced.

(17) Queen apiary--An apiary in which queen bees are
reared or kept for sale, barter, or exchange.

(18) Reportable Diseases--A disease that presents a signifi-
cant threat to the population of honeybees and that has been designated
by the Chief Apiary Inspector as a disease or pest that must be reported
under §131.025. The Chief Apiary Inspector shall publish a list of re-
portable diseases.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 4, 2023.
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TRD-202303687

Angela Thomas

Chief Apiary Inspector

Office of the Chief Apiary Inspector

Effective date: October 24, 2023

Proposal publication date: September 1, 2023

For further information, please call: (979) 845-9714

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER C. PERMITS AND
REGISTRATION

4 TAC §71.23

The repeal of 71.23 is adopted under the Texas Agriculture Code
Chapter 131.021, which authorizes the Chief Apiary Inspector to
adopt rules with the goal of treating, eradicating, and suppress-
ing infectious diseases of honeybees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 4, 2023.
TRD-202303688

Angela Thomas

Chief Apiary Inspector

Office of the Chief Apiary Inspector

Effective date: October 24, 2023

Proposal publication date: September 1, 2023

For further information, please call: (979) 845-9714

¢ ¢ ¢
4 TAC §71.24

The new §71.24 is adopted under the Texas Agriculture Code
Chapter 131.021, which authorizes the Chief Apiary Inspector to
adopt rules with the goal of treating, eradicating, and suppress-
ing infectious diseases of honeybees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 4, 2023.

TRD-202303689

Angela Thomas

Chief Apiary Inspector

Office of the Chief Apiary Inspector

Effective date: October 24, 2023

Proposal publication date: September 1, 2023

For further information, please call: (979) 845-9714

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 37. MATERNAL AND INFANT
HEALTH SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER U. EPINEPHRINE
AUTO-INJECTOR POLICIES IN SCHOOLS
25 TAC §§37.601 - 37.611

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Department of
State Health Services (DSHS), adopts the repeal of §§37.601
- 37.611, concerning Epinephrine Auto-Injector Policies in
Schools. These rules are adopted without changes to the
proposed text as published in the August 4, 2023, issue of the
Texas Register (48 TexReg 4233) and the sections will not be
republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The repeal of 25 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 37,
Subchapter U, places all stock medication rules under 25 TAC
Chapter 40. The new rules for 25 TAC Chapter 40, Subchapter
E, Epinephrine Auto-Injector Policies in Schools, is published in
the same issue of the Texas Register.

The repeal of §§37.601 - 37.611 removes rules no longer neces-
sary under 25 TAC Chapter 37. The new rules in 25 TAC §§40.81
- 40.89 aligns the rules with similar TAC rules relating to stock
medications in schools, youth facilities, and other entities such
as amusement parks, restaurants, and sport venues.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended September 5, 2023.

During this period, DSHS did not receive any comments regard-
ing the proposed rules.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted and authorized by Texas Education
Code Chapter 38; and Texas Government Code §531.0055, and
Texas Health and Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the
Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules and policies
necessary for the operation and provision of health and human
services by DSHS and for the administration of Texas Health and
Safety Code Chapter 1001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 3, 2023.

TRD-202303681

Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: November 1, 2023

Proposal publication date: August 4, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 413-9089

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 40. STOCK MEDICATION IN
SCHOOLS AND OTHER ENTITIES

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Department
of State Health Services (DSHS), adopts new Subchapter E,
§8§40.61 - 40.71, concerning Epinephrine Auto-Injector Policies
in Schools; and new Subchapter F, §§40.81 - 40.89, concerning
Opioid Antagonist Medication Requirements in Schools.
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Sections 40.61, 40.63 - 40.68, 40.70, 40.71, and §8§40.81 -
40.89 are adopted with changes to the proposed text as pub-
lished in the August 4, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48
TexReg 4234) and these sections will be republished. Some
of these changes provide clarity and consistency throughout
the subchapters but do not impact the requirements under
Subchapter E or Subchapter F. Sections 40.62 and 40.69 are
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in
the August 4, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg
4234) and these sections will not be republished.

This adoption renames 25 Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
Chapter 40, as "Stock Medication in Schools and Other Entities"
to reflect the broader scope of stock medication rules that will
be included under this chapter.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The adoption implements Senate Bill (S.B.) 629, 88th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session, 2023, which amends Texas Education
Code Chapter 38 by adding Subchapter E-1. As required by
S.B. 629, the Texas Education Agency was consulted and pro-
vided comments to the proposed rules relating to maintenance,
administration, and disposal of opioid antagonists. S.B. 629 also
requires the rules to establish a process for checking inventory
and the amount of training for school personnel and volunteers.
Finally, S.B. 629 requires schools to report information on the ad-
ministration of opioid antagonists to the Commissioner of DSHS.

To place all stock medication rules under the same chapter in
TAC, this rule adoption adds new Subchapter E, Epinephrine
Auto-Injector Policies in Schools, to 25 TAC Chapter 40. The
repeal of 25 TAC Chapter 37, Subchapter U is published in this
same issue of the Texas Register.

This adoption adds new Subchapter F, Opioid Antagonist Medi-
cation Requirements in Schools, as required by S.B. 629.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended September 5, 2023.

During this period, DSHS received comments from five com-
menters regarding the proposed rules, including the Texas
Education Agency, the Texas Association of School Boards,
RISE Services, Family Hospital Systems, and Drews27Chains.
A summary of comments relating to the rules and DSHS's
responses follows.

Comment: One commenter suggested that the definition of "All
hours the campus is open" in 25 TAC §40.63(1) be clarified to
state "at a minimum, the regular instructional day for the campus"
instead of "regular on-campus school hours."

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend the rule.
The Stock Epinephrine Advisory Committee recommended
that unassigned epinephrine auto-injector policies include all
hours when school-sponsored activities occur on a campus
where school personnel are present, including outside of normal
instructional times.

Comment: One commenter suggested adding open-enroliment
charter school to §40.63, concerning Definitions.

Response: DSHS agrees and adds the definition from Texas
Education Code §38.151.

Comment: Several commenters suggested that DSHS dissem-
inate transparent and broad statewide opioid antagonist stand-
ing orders that state that all Food and Drug Administration ap-
proved opioid antagonists are approved for treating suspected

poisoning victims that include intramuscular (IM) Naloxone, as
the IM route is more effective than the intranasal (IN) route. Com-
menters stated that one dose of IM opioid antagonist will revive
a victim, while it may take 4-5 doses of IN opioid antagonist to
revive a victim of an opioid-related drug overdose.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchapter
F. Standing orders are outside the scope of this rule proposal.

Comment: Several commenters suggested that DSHS promote
a 4:1 ratio of IN to IM routes of administration of an opioid an-
tagonist. The commenters suggested that the IM route of ad-
ministration, when using an opioid antagonist auto-injector, is as
user friendly as the epinephrine auto-injector and more effective
at reviving a victim than intranasal.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchap-
ter F to specifically mandate what route of administration must
be given to a person experiencing an opioid-related overdose.
DSHS leaves the option to the school district to decide the route
of administration.

Comment: Several commenters suggested placing IN opioid an-
tagonists in the automated external defibrillator case throughout
the schools and IM opioid antagonists in the nurse's office to en-
hance access points.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchapter
F. Texas Education Code §38.222(c)(4) requires that the supply
of opioid antagonists at each school campus subject to a policy
adopted under Texas Education Code §38.222 must be stored in
a secure location and be easily accessible to school personnel
and school volunteers authorized and trained to administer an
opioid antagonist. DSHS recognizes that each campus is unique
and will leave the access points to the discretion of individual
campuses.

Comment: Several commenters suggested adding rules that re-
quire age-appropriate opioid-related overdose curriculum to be
givenin health classes if notin all homerooms. Commenters also
suggested training all homeroom teachers on how to administer
IN and IM opioid antagonists as well as establishing a minimum
number of opioid antagonists stocked at each campus.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchapter
F regarding opioid-related overdose curriculum or to mandate
the minimum number of opioid antagonists that a campus must
stock. These determinations are outside the authority of the de-
partment.

Comment: Several commenters suggested the development of
a rating system that designates schools that adopt best opioid
awareness practices with a rated distinction to help raise com-
munity awareness of opioids to ensure student safety.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchap-
ter F to include an opioid awareness rating system for schools.
DSHS will continue to work with stakeholders to ensure student
safety by disseminating best practices and raising awareness of
opioid-related overdoses and use of unassigned opioid antago-
nists.

Comment: One commenter suggested that Naloxone training
should be standard to all staff, including bus drivers, in the same
manner as cardiopulmonary resuscitation is standard training for
staff and this training should include awareness of storage loca-
tions of the opioid antagonists on campus, as well as locations
stored during off campus events.
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Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchap-
ter F to require that all staff and bus drivers should be trained
on opioid-related overdoses and the location and administration
of opioid antagonists. Texas Education Code §38.224(a) states
that each school district, open-enroliment charter school, and
private school that adopts a policy under §38.222(a) or (b) is re-
sponsible for training school personnel and school volunteers in
the administration of an opioid antagonist and states the training
that is required.

Comment: One commenter suggested that all schools should
have a specific response plan in place for trained school per-
sonnel and school volunteers and that the response plan should
be practiced ensuring that staff is adequately trained in case of
an opioid-related overdose emergency.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend Subchapter
F and refers to Texas Education Code §38.224(a), which states
that each school district, open-enroliment charter school, and
private school that adopts a policy under §38.222(a) or (b) is re-
sponsible for training school personnel and school volunteers in
the administration of an opioid antagonist and states the training
that is required. DSHS will continue to work with stakeholders
to ensure that resources are available to school districts to tailor
training to their campuses that are evidence based and relevant.

Comment: Five comments requested additional or amended
rules related to implementation of S.B. 294, 88th Legislature,
Regular Session, 2023.

Response: DSHS declines to add or amend rules relating to S.B
294 as part of this rule proposal and will take the comments un-
der advisement when addressing rules to implement S.B. 294.

Comment: One commenter suggested adding open-enroliment
charter school and all hours the campus is open to §40.82, con-
cerning Definitions.

Response: DSHS agrees and adds definition for All hours the
campus is open--At a minimum, during regular on-campus
school hours, and when school personnel are physically on-site
for school-sponsored activities, and definition for open-enroll-
ment charter school.

Comment: One commenter requested amending §40.86, con-
cerning Training, by adding Assignment of School Personnel and
School Volunteers to be trained.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend §40.86 from
this comment. Each school district, open-enroliment charter
school, and private school that adopts a written unassigned opi-
oid antagonist policy under Texas Education Code §38.222, is
responsible for training school personnel and school volunteers
in the administration of an opioid antagonist. The decision to
assign training among school personnel and school volunteers
will be at the discretion of the school districts.

Comment: One commenter requested amending §40.87, con-
cerning Report on Administering Unassigned Opioid Antagonist
Medication, to include a notice to parents if an unassigned opioid
antagonist policy is implemented.

Response: DSHS disagrees and declines to amend §40.87 from
this comment. The school district can opt to include a notice of
opioid antagonist policy implementation to parents.

Comment: One commenter suggested amending §40.87(b),
concerning Report on Administering Unassigned Opioid An-
tagonist Medication, to include a list of which individuals and
entities to submit the report.

Response: DSHS agrees and amends §40.87(b) by adding
paragraphs as follows:

(1) the school district, the charter holder if the school is an open-
enrollment charter school, or the governing body of the school if
the school is a private school;

(2) the physician or other person who prescribed the opioid an-
tagonist; and

(3) the commissioner of the Department of State Health Services
(DSHS).

DSHS made edits to the rule language in §§40.61, 40.63 - 40.68,
40.70, 40.71, and §§40.81- 40.89 to provide clarity and consis-
tency throughout the subchapters.

SUBCHAPTER E. EPINEPHRINE
AUTO-INJECTOR POLICIES IN SCHOOLS

25 TAC §§40.61 - 40.71
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are required to comply with Texas Education Code
Chapter 38, Subchapter E. The new rules are also authorized
by Texas Government Code §531.0055 and Texas Health and
Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules and policies necessary for
the operation and provision of health and human services by
DSHS and for the administration of Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapter 1001.

$§40.61. Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to establish minimum standards for
administering, maintaining, and disposing of epinephrine auto-injec-
tors in school districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and private
schools adopting unassigned epinephrine auto-injector policies. These
standards are implemented under Texas Education Code Chapter 38,
Subchapter E.

§40.63.  Definitions.

The following terms and phrases, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise:

(1) All hours the campus is open--At a minimum, during
regular on-campus school hours, and when school personnel are phys-
ically on site for school-sponsored activities.

(2) Anaphylaxis--As defined in Texas Education Code
§38.201.

(3) Authorized healthcare provider--A physician or person
who has been delegated prescriptive authority under Texas Occupa-
tions Code Chapter 157.

(4) Campus--A unit of a school district, open-enrollment
charter school, or private school with an assigned administrator, has
enrolled students who are counted for average daily attendance, has
assigned instructional staff, provides instructional services to students,
has one or more grades in the range from early childhood education
through grade 12 or is ungraded, and complies with relevant Texas
laws.

(5) Open-enrollment charter school--As defined in Texas
Education Code §38.151.

(6) Physician--As defined in Texas Education Code
§38.201.
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(7) Private school--As defined in Texas Education Code
§38.201.

(8) School nurse--As defined in 19 Texas Administrative
Code §153.1022.

(9) School personnel--As defined in Texas Education Code
§38.201.

(10) School volunteer--As defined in Texas Education
Code §22.053.

(11) Unassigned epinephrine auto-injector--An epineph-
rine auto-injector prescribed by an authorized healthcare provider in
the name of the school issued with a non-patient-specific standing
delegation order for the administration of an epinephrine auto-injector,
issued by a physician or person who has been delegated prescriptive
authority under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 157.

$§40.64.  Applicability.

This subchapter applies to any school district, open-enrollment charter
school, or private school voluntarily choosing to adopt and implement a
written policy regarding the maintenance, administration, and disposal
of unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors on each school campus.

§40.65. Maintenance, Administration, and Disposal of Unassigned
Epinephrine Auto-Injectors.

(a) A school district, open-enrollment charter school, or pri-
vate school shall obtain a prescription from an authorized healthcare
provider each year, to stock, possess, and maintain at least one unas-
signed adult epinephrine auto-injector pack (two doses) on each school
campus as described in Texas Education Code §38.211.

(1) A school may choose to stock unassigned pediatric epi-
nephrine auto-injector packs, based on the need of the school's popu-
lation.

(2) A school district or the governing body of an open-en-
rollment charter school or private school may develop, as part of the
policy, provisions for additional doses to be stocked and utilized at off
campus school events, or in transit to or from school events.

(b) Each school district superintendent, open-enrollment char-
ter school administrator, or private school administrator will designate
appropriate school personnel to coordinate and manage policy imple-
mentation, including training of school personnel, and the acquisition
or purchase, usage, expiration, and disposal of unassigned epinephrine
auto-injectors. Throughout the school calendar year, the designated
school personnel must coordinate with each campus to ensure the unas-
signed epinephrine auto-injectors are checked monthly for expiration
and usage and the findings are documented.

(c) Atleast one school personnel or one school volunteer who
is authorized and trained to administer an unassigned epinephrine auto-
injector must be present on campus during all hours the campus is open
for school-sponsored activities.

(d) School personnel or school volunteers who are trained and
authorized may administer an unassigned epinephrine auto-injector to
a person who is reasonably believed to be experiencing anaphylaxis on
a school campus, or as indicated in the school's unassigned epinephrine
auto-injector policy.

(e) Local emergency medical services must be promptly no-
tified by the school when an individual is suspected of experiencing
anaphylaxis and when an epinephrine auto-injector is administered. If
the trained school personnel or school volunteer is the only individual
available to notify emergency medical services, the trained individual
should administer the unassigned epinephrine auto-injector before no-
tifying emergency medical services.

(f) The parent, legal guardian, or emergency contact must be
promptly notified by the school when an unassigned epinephrine auto-
injector is utilized on their child as soon as feasible during the emer-
gency response to suspected anaphylaxis. School records of the ad-
ministration of the unassigned epinephrine auto-injector and suspected
anaphylaxis must be provided to the parent or guardian of the recipient
upon request.

(g) Records relating to implementation and administration of
the school's unassigned epinephrine auto-injector policy shall be re-
tained per the record retention schedule for records of public school
districts found in 13 Texas Administrative Code §7.125.

(h) Unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors shall be stored in a
secure, easily accessible area for an emergency, in accordance with the
manufacturer's guidelines. It is recommended the school administrator
develop a map to be placed in high traffic areas indicating the location
of the unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors on each school campus. It
is recommended the map also indicate the locations of the automated
external defibrillator.

(i) The school district, open-enrollment charter school, or pri-
vate school shall develop a plan to replace, as soon as reasonably pos-
sible, any unassigned epinephrine auto-injector used or close to expi-
ration.

() Used unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors shall be con-
sidered infectious waste and shall be disposed of according to the
school's bloodborne pathogen control policy.

(k) Expired unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors shall be dis-
posed of according to the school's medication disposal policy.

§40.66.  Assignment and Recruitment of School Personnel and School
Volunteers to be Trained to Administer Epinephrine Auto-Injectors.

(a) At each school campus adopting an unassigned epineph-
rine auto-injector policy, the school principal may:

(1) assign school personnel or school volunteers to be
trained to administer unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors; or

(2) seek school personnel or school volunteers who volun-
teer to be trained to administer unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors.

(b) In order to increase the number of trained individuals in
the administration of unassigned epinephrine auto-injectors, schools
may distribute to school personnel and school volunteers in the school
district, open-enrollment charter school, or private school, at least once
per school year, a notice including:

(1) a description of the request seeking volunteers to be
trained to administer an epinephrine auto-injector to a person believed
to be experiencing anaphylaxis; and

(2) a description of the training the school personnel or
school volunteers will receive in the administration of epinephrine with
an auto-injector.

(c) Trained school personnel or school volunteers who admin-
ister the unassigned epinephrine auto-injector must submit a signed
statement indicating they agree to perform the service of administer-
ing an unassigned epinephrine auto-injector to a student or individual
who may be experiencing anaphylaxis.

$40.67.  Training.

Each school district, open-enrollment charter school, or private school
that adopts an unassigned epinephrine auto-injector written policy un-
der this subchapter is responsible for training school personnel and
school volunteers in the recognition of anaphylaxis signs and symp-
toms and administration of an unassigned epinephrine auto-injector.
Each assigned school personnel or school volunteer shall receive initial
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training and an annual refresher training. Training shall be consistent
with the most recent Voluntary Guidelines for Managing Food Aller-
gies in Schools and Early Care and Education Programs published by
the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

(1) Training may be provided in a formal face-to-face train-
ing session or through an online education course.

(2) Training required under this subchapter must meet the
requirements found in Texas Education Code §38.210 and include in-
formation on properly inspecting unassigned epinephrine auto-injec-
tors for usage and expiration.

(3) The initial training must include hands-on training with
an epinephrine auto-injector trainer.

(4) The annual refresher training must include a hands-on
demonstration of administration skills.

(5) The training must also include information about
promptly notifying local emergency medical services.

(6) Each school campus must maintain training records and
make available upon request a list of those school personnel or school
volunteers trained and authorized to administer the unassigned epi-
nephrine auto-injector on the campus.

$§40.68. Report on Administering Epinephrine Auto-Injectors.

(a) A report must be submitted by the school no later than the
10th business day after the date school personnel or a school volunteer
administers an epinephrine auto-injector in accordance with the unas-
signed epinephrine auto-injector policy adopted under this subchapter.
The report shall be submitted to the individuals and entities identified
in Texas Education Code §38.209, including the commissioner of the
Department of State Health Services (DSHS).

(b) Notifications to the commissioner of DSHS shall be sub-
mitted on the designated electronic form available on the DSHS School
Health Program website found at dshs.texas.gov.

$40.70.  Gifts, Grants, and Donations.

A school district, open-enrollment charter school, or private school
may accept gifts, grants, donations, federal funds, and local funds to
implement the unassigned epinephrine auto-injector policy in accor-
dance with Texas Education Code §38.213.

$40.71.  Immunity from Liability.

A person who in good faith takes, or fails to take, any action under
this subchapter or Texas Education Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E is
immune from civil or criminal liability or disciplinary action resulting
from action or a failure to act in accordance with the Texas Education
Code §38.215.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 3, 2023.

TRD-202303682

Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: November 1, 2023

Proposal publication date: August 4, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 413-9089

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. OPIOID ANTAGONIST
MEDICATION REQUIREMENTS IN SCHOOLS
25 TAC §§40.81 - 40.89

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are required to comply with Texas Education Code
Chapter 38, Subchapter E. The new rules are also authorized
by Texas Government Code §531.0055 and Texas Health and
Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules and policies necessary for
the operation and provision of health and human services by
DSHS and for the administration of Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapter 1001.

§40.81.

The purpose of this subchapter is to establish minimum standards for
administering, maintaining, and disposing of opioid antagonist medi-
cation in school districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and private
schools adopting opioid antagonist medicine policies. These standards
are implemented under Texas Education Code Chapter 38, Subchapter
E-1.

$§40.82.  Definitions.

The following terms and phrases, when used in this subchapter, have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

Purpose.

(1) All hours the campus is open--At a minimum, during
regular on-campus school hours, and when school personnel are phys-
ically on site for school-sponsored activities.

(2) Authorized healthcare provider--A physician, as de-
fined in Texas Education Code §38.201, or person who has been
delegated prescriptive authority by a physician under Texas Occupa-
tions Code Chapter 157.

(3) Campus--A unit of a school district, open-enrollment
charter school, or private school with an assigned administrator, has
enrolled students who are counted for average daily attendance, has
assigned instructional staff, provides instructional services to students,
has one or more grades in the range from early childhood education
through grade 12 or is ungraded, and complies with relevant Texas
laws.

(4) Open-enrollment charter school--As defined in Texas
Education Code §38.151.

(5) Opioid antagonist--As defined in Texas Health and
Safety Code §483.101, any drug that binds to opioid receptors and
blocks or otherwise inhibits the effects of opioids acting on those
receptors.

(6) Opioid-related drug overdose--As defined in Texas
Health and Safety Code §483.101, a condition, evidenced by symp-
toms of extreme physical illness, decreased level of consciousness,
constriction of the pupils, respiratory depression, or coma, that a
layperson would reasonably believe to be the result of the consumption
or use of an opioid.

(7) Private school--As defined in Texas Education Code

§38.201.

(8) School personnel--As defined in Texas Education Code
§38.201.

(9) School volunteer--As defined in Texas Education Code
§22.053.

§40.83.  Applicability.
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This subchapter applies to any school district, open-enrollment charter
school, or private school adopting and implementing a written policy
regarding the maintenance, administration, and disposal of opioid an-
tagonist medication on a campus or campuses.

$§40.84.  Required and Voluntary Opioid Antagonist Policies.

(a) Each school district must adopt and implement a policy re-
garding the maintenance, administration, and disposal of opioid antag-
onists at each campus in the district serving students in grades 6 through
12 and may voluntarily adopt and implement such a policy at each cam-
pus in the district, including campuses serving students in a grade level
below grade 6.

(b) An open-enrollment charter school or private school may
adopt and implement a policy regarding the maintenance, administra-
tion, and disposal of opioid antagonists. If an open-enrollment charter
or private school adopts a policy under this subchapter, the opioid an-
tagonist policy must comply with the Texas Education Code §38.222.
The policy may apply:

(1) only at campuses of the school serving students in
grades 6 through 12; or

(2) ateach campus of the school, including campuses serv-
ing students in a grade level below grade 6.

(c) A policy adopted under this subchapter must:

(1) provide that school personnel and school volunteers
who are authorized and trained may administer an opioid antagonist to
a person who they reasonably believe is experiencing an opioid-related
drug overdose;

(2) require each school campus, subject to a policy adopted
under this subchapter, have one or more school personnel members or
school volunteers authorized and trained to administer an opioid antag-
onist present during regular school hours;

(3) establish the number of opioid antagonists that must be
available at each campus at any given time; and

(4) require the supply of opioid antagonists at each school
campus, subject to a policy adopted under this subchapter, be stored in a
secure location and be easily accessible to school personnel and school
volunteers authorized and trained to administer an opioid antagonist.

$§40.85. Maintenance, Administration, and Disposal of Opioid An-
tagonist Medication.

(a) Once a school district, open-enrollment charter school, or
private school adopts an opioid antagonist medication policy, a campus
implementing an opioid policy must stock opioid antagonist medica-
tion as defined by §40.84 of this subchapter (relating to Required and
Voluntary Opioid Antagonist Policies).

(b) A campus must obtain a prescription from a physician or a
person who has been delegated prescriptive authority to stock, possess,
and maintain the established number of doses of opioid antagonists as
determined by a school district, on each campus as described in Texas
Education Code §38.225.

(1) The campus must renew this prescription or obtain a
new prescription annually.

(2) The number of additional doses may be determined by
an individual campus review led by a physician or a person who has
been delegated prescriptive authority.

(c) A physician or other person who has been delegated pre-
scriptive authority under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 157 and pre-
scribes opioid antagonist medication under subsection (a) of this sec-
tion, must provide the school district, open-enrollment charter school,

or private school a standing order for administration of an opioid an-
tagonist medication to a person who is reasonably believed to be ex-
periencing an opioid-related drug overdose. The standing order must
comply with the Texas Education Code §38.225.

(d) The unassigned opioid antagonist medication must be
stored in a secure location and be easily accessible, in accordance with
the manufacturer's guidelines and local policy of the school district,
open-enrollment charter school, or private school.

(e) Used, unassigned opioid antagonists are considered infec-
tious waste and must be disposed of according to the school's blood-
borne pathogen control policy.

(f) Expired, unassigned opioid antagonists must be disposed
of in accordance with the Federal Drug Administration's disposal of
unused medications guidelines and local policy of the school district,
open-enrollment charter school, or private school.

$§40.86. Training.

(a) Each school district, open-enrollment charter school, and
private school adopting a written unassigned opioid antagonist policy
under Texas Education Code §38.222, is responsible for training school
personnel and school volunteers in the administration of an opioid an-
tagonist.

(b) Training under this subchapter must:
(1) include information on:

(A) recognizing the signs and symptoms of an opioid-
related drug overdose;

(B) responding to an opioid-related drug overdose and
administering an opioid antagonist;

(C) implementing emergency procedures, after admin-
istering an opioid antagonist;

(D) understanding the medical purpose and misuse of
opioids; and

(E) properly disposing of used or expired opioid antag-
onists;

(2) be provided annually in a formal training session or
through online education, including practicing the administration of an
opioid antagonist with an opioid antagonist trainer device; and

(3) be provided in accordance with the policy adopted un-
der Texas Education Code §21.4515.

(¢) Each campus must maintain training records and must
make available upon request a list of school personnel and school
volunteers who are trained and authorized to administer the unassigned
opioid antagonist medication on the campus.

$§40.87. Report on Administering Unassigned Opioid Antagonist
Medication.

(a) Records relating to implementing and administering the
school district, open-enrollment charter school, or private school's
unassigned opioid antagonist medication policy must be retained per
the campus record retention schedule.

(b) The campus must submit the report no later than the 10th
business day after the date a school personnel member or school vol-
unteer administers an opioid antagonist in accordance with the unas-
signed opioid antagonist medication policy adopted under this sub-
chapter. The report shall be submitted to the individuals and entities
identified in Texas Education Code §38.223:
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(1) the school district, the charter holder if the school is an
open-enrollment charter school, or the governing body of the school if
the school is a private school;

(2) the physician or other person who prescribed the opioid
antagonist; and

(3) the commissioner of the Department of State Health
Services (DSHS).

(c) Notifications to the commissioner of DSHS must be sub-
mitted on the designated electronic form available on DSHS School
Health Program website found at dshs.texas.gov.

$40.88.  Gifts, Grants, and Donations.

A school district, open-enrollment charter school, or private school
may accept gifts, grants, donations, federal funds, and local funds to
implement this subchapter.

$40.89.  Immunity from Liability.

A person who in good faith takes, or fails to take, any action under this
subchapter, or Texas Education Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E-1, is
immune from civil or criminal liability or disciplinary action resulting
from action or a failure to act in accordance with Texas Education Code
§38.227.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 3, 2023.

TRD-202303683

Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: November 1, 2023

Proposal publication date: August 4, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 413-9089

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 374. MENTAL HEALTH EARLY
INTERVENTION AND TREATMENT GRANT
26 TAC §§374.1 - 374.4

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts new §374.1, concerning Purpose and Objectives;
§374.2, concerning Definitions; §374.3, concerning Eligibility
Criteria for Applicants; and §374.4, concerning Application and
Selection Process, in new Chapter 374, Mental Health Early
Intervention and Treatment Grant.

New §374.2 is adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the August 4, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48
TexReg 4240). This rule will be republished. Sections 374.1,
374.3, and 374.4 are adopted without changes to the proposed
text as published in the August 4, 2023, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (48 TexReg 4240). These rules will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The new sections are necessary to comply with Senate Bill (S.B.)
26, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023, which adds new
§531.09915 to the Texas Government Code effective September
1, 2023. Section 531.09915 requires the Health and Human Ser-
vices Commission (HHSC) to implement a competitive grant pro-
gram to support community-based initiatives that promote iden-
tification of mental health issues and improve access to early in-
tervention and treatment for children and families. The adopted
rules establish the application and eligibility requirements for an
entity to be awarded a grant.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended September 5, 2023.

During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rules from six commenters, including TexProtects, Mead-
ows Mental Health Policy Institute, Texas Network of Youth Ser-
vices, Texas Coalition for Healthy Minds, Texas Council of Com-
munity Centers, and Texas Alliance of Child and Family Ser-
vices. A summary of comments relating to the rules and HHSC's
responses follows.

Comment: All commenters recommended changing or removing
the definition of "children" in §374.2 to define children as "indi-
viduals who are younger than 18 years of age".

Response: HHSC agrees with the recommended rule change
and revised the definition of "children" in §374.2(2) from "individ-
uals who are younger than 13 years of age" to "individuals who
are younger than 18 years of age". In addition, HHSC also re-
vised §374.2(4) to remove the phrase "and young people" after
"children" to avoid confusion and duplication with the new defi-
nition of "children".

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.09915(d), which requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to establish by rule eligibility and appli-
cation requirements for an entity to be awarded a Mental Health
Early Intervention and Treatment Grant.

§374.2.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Applicant--An entity eligible to apply for a grant.

(2) Children--Individuals who are younger than 18 years of
age.

(3) Commission--The Health and Human Services Com-
mission.

(4) Early intervention--Services to identify and provide ef-
fective early support to children who are at risk of poor outcomes.

(5) Grantee--A recipient of a grant awarded under this
chapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 9, 2023.
TRD-202303764
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Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: November 1, 2023

Proposal publication date: August 4, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 705-5138

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND
CONSERVATION

PART 2. TEXAS PARKS AND
WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 51. EXECUTIVE
SUBCHAPTER D. EDUCATION
31 TAC §51.81

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission in a duly noticed
meeting on August 24, 2023, adopted an amendment to 31
TAC §51.81, concerning Mandatory Boater Education, without
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 21, 2023,
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3970). The rule will not
be republished.

House Bill 2755, enacted by the most recent session of the Texas
Legislature, amended Parks and Wildlife Code, §31.108 to re-
quire the commission to adopt rules to "approve boater educa-
tion courses that meet or exceed the minimum instruction re-
quirement established by the National Association of State Boat-
ing Law Administrators on or after January 1, 2016." Accord-
ingly, the amendment to §51.81 alters current rules to require all
boater education courses to satisfy the minimum national stan-
dards adopted by the National Association of State Boating Law
Administrators in effect on June 1, 2022 to be approved by the
department.

The department received one comment opposing adoption of the
rule as proposed. The commenter stated that boater education
is unnecessary because the commenter had been boating for
60 years without an accident. The department disagrees that
the experience of one person should be used to guide the de-
partment's water safety programs. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

The department received five comments supporting adoption of
the rule as proposed.

The amendment is adopted under the provisions of Parks and
Wildlife Code, §31.108, as amended by House Bill 2755 enacted
by 88th Texas Legislature (RS), which requires the commission
to approve boater education courses that meet or exceed the
minimum instruction requirement established by the National As-
sociation of State Boating Law Administrators on or after January
1, 2016.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 5, 2023.
TRD-202303716

James Murphy

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: October 25, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 21, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER O. ADVISORY COMMITTEES
31 TAC §51.615

In a duly noticed meeting on August 24, 2023, the Texas
Parks and Wildlife Commission adopted new 31 TAC §51.615,
concerning the Boating and Waterways Advisory Committee
(BWAC), without changes to the proposed text as published
in the July 21, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg
3970). The rule will not be republished.

Parks and Wildlife Code, §11.0162, authorizes the Chairman
of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission (the Commission)
to "appoint committees to advise the commission on issues
under its jurisdiction." Under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chap-
ter 31, the legislature has designated TPWD as the primary
regulatory agency for boating and boating safety. Government
Code, Chapter 2110, requires each state agency to adopt rules
regarding advisory committees. Unless otherwise specifically
provided by statute, the rules must (1) state the purpose of the
committee; (2) describe the manner in which the committee will
report to the agency; and (3) establish the date on which the
committee will automatically be abolished, unless the advisory
committee has a specific duration established by statute. Under
this authority, the Commission has established a number of
advisory committees to provide the department with informed
opinion regarding various aspects and dimensions of the depart-
ment's mission. These advisory committees perform a valuable
service for the department and the people of Texas.

The department is the primary state agency responsible for water
safety and boating regulation. Staff have determined that the
creation of an advisory board for matters concerning boating and
waterways would be helpful in assisting the department and the
commission in determining and executing appropriate strategies
to maximize public safety and public enjoyment with respect to
boating in this state.

The department received five comments opposing adoption of
the rule as proposed. Two of the comments were not germane
to the subject of the rulemaking. Of the three comments ger-
mane to the rule, only one provided a reason or rationale for op-
posing adoption. That commenter opposed adoption and stated
that there are too many advisory committees. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that advisory com-
mittees perform a valuable function for the department and the
public by providing a sounding board for agency decision-mak-
ing. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received four comments supporting adoption of
the rule as proposed.

The rule is adopted under the provisions of Government Code,
Chapter 2110, which requires the adoption of rules regarding
state agency advisory committee.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 5, 2023.

TRD-202303715

James Murphy

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: October 25, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 21, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢
CHAPTER 57. FISHERIES
SUBCHAPTERJ. FISHPASS PROCLAMATION

31 TAC §57.901

The Texas Parks and Commission in a duly noticed meeting on
August 24, 2023, adopted an amendment to 31 TAC §57.901,
concerning Prohibited Acts, without changes to the proposed
text as published in the July 21, 2023, issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (48 TexReg 3971). The rule will not be republished.

The amendment retitles the section to more accurately reflect
its content and clarifies the delineation of restricted areas within
the Cedar Bayou Fish Pass. Cedar Bayou is a natural channel
that connects Mesquite Bay to the Gulf of Mexico and functions
as a migratory path for various aquatic species to and from the
estuary. In 1939, the Texas Legislature prohibited the opera-
tion, possession, or mooring of vessels and the placement of
pilings, wires, ropes, cables, nets, traps, or other obstructions
within 2,800 feet of the point where a fish pass connects with
the Gulf of Mexico or connects with an inland bay, and further
required this restricted area to be permanently marked. Cedar
Bayou has been periodically dredged and maintained since that
time and the department has erected signs indicating that Cedar
Bayou is a fish pass.

The 75th Texas Legislature in 1997 amended Parks and Wildlife
Code, §66.204, to specifically authorize the commission to "reg-
ulate the placement of obstructions, traps, and mooring in fish
passes and the marking of restricted areas in any natural or ar-
tificial pass that is opened, reopened, dredged, excavated, con-
structed, or maintained by the department as a fish pass be-
tween the Gulf of Mexico and an inland bay." Consequently, the
commission promulgated the current rule in 1998. The depart-
ment has determined that the current rule should be amended to
make it clear that "fish pass" and "restricted area" are not syn-
onymous terms; therefore, the amendment adds new subsection
(b) to make it clear that the restricted area within the fish pass
where no vessels are allowed is distinct from the remainder of
the fish pass where vessels may not be anchored or moored for
a period exceeding two consecutive days.

The department received one comment opposing adoption. The
commenter stated that boat access to the Gulf via Cedar Bayou
should be allowed in order to create greater fishing opportunity.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
the rule is intended to clarify the status quo that's been in place
for decades at Cedar Bayou. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

The department received seven comments supporting adoption
of the rule as proposed.

The Coastal Conservation Association commented in favor of
adoption of the rule as proposed.

The amendment is adopted under Parks and Wildlife Code,
§66.204, which authorizes the commission to make rules gov-
erning the placement of obstructions, traps, and mooring in fish
passes and the marking of restricted areas in any natural or
artificial pass that is opened, reopened, dredged, excavated,
constructed, or maintained by the department as a fish pass
between the Gulf of Mexico and an inland bay.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 4, 2023.

TRD-202303707

James Murphy

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: October 24, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 21, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER N. STATEWIDE RECRE-
ATIONAL AND COMMERCIAL FISHING
PROCLAMATION

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
31 TAC §57.979

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission in a duly noticed
meeting on August 24, 2023, adopted new 31 TAC §57.979,
concerning Unlawful Possession of Shark Fins, with changes to
the proposed text as published in the July 21, 2023, issue of the
Texas Register (48 TexReg 3973) The rule will be republished.

The change replaces a comma in the introductory clause of sub-
section (b) with a colon and is nonsubstantive.

The new rule prescribes the process to be followed at a restau-
rant or place of business for treating shark fins to render them
inedible and thus unfit for illicit commercial purposes.

The Texas Legislature during the most recent regular session en-
acted Senate Bill (S.B.) 1839, which addresses the unlawful sale
and purchase of shark fins and products derived from shark fins.
"Shark finning" is the act of removing a shark's fins and discard-
ing the rest of the animal, often while it is still alive, leaving the
animal to slowly die because it can no longer swim. The practice
of shark finning is widely considered to be barbaric and waste-
ful, and it is illegal in Texas under current law (Texas Parks and
Wildlife Code, §66.2161) and in many other states and countries
as well. There is a significant commercial demand for shark fins
and related products as foodstuffs, which, because the practice
is illegal, has resulted in a lucrative opportunity for unscrupulous
persons to engage in criminal activity at the expense of a public
resource. In light of documented evidence that the practice con-
tinues to be common in Texas, the legislature determined that
current statutory provisions regarding shark finning are problem-
atic with respect to prosecution and insufficient in terms of deter-
rence. S.B. 1839 is intended to address the situation by, among
other things, increasing penalties for violation and requiring per-
sons in a place of business or restaurant to immediately destroy
and discard shark fins while processing sharks for eventual sale.
The bill delegates rulemaking authority to the commission to pre-
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scribe the particulars of the process by which shark fins are to
be denatured (i.e., destroyed) and discarded.

The new rule stipulates that a shark fin must be destroyed by im-
mersion in chlorine bleach, acid, or other such chemical or chem-
ical solution for a period of time sufficient to render the shark fin
inedible or otherwise unfit for human consumption. The rule also
requires destroyed shark fins and shark fin parts to be lawfully
disposed of at a landfill or disposal site authorized by the Texas
Commission of Environmental Quality to accept such materials,
which would include waste removal services provided by third
parties.

The department received three comments opposing adoption of
the rule as proposed. Two commenters provided a reason or ra-
tionale for opposing adoption. Both commenters opposed adop-
tion and stated that legally possessed shark fins should be al-
lowed to be processed and sold as food. The department dis-
agrees with the comments and responds that under the provi-
sions of Parks and Wildlife Code, §66.2161, the legislature ex-
pressly prohibits the possession of shark fins in any place of busi-
ness. The commission does not have the authority to modify or
eliminate that stipulation. No changes were made as a result of
the comments.

The department received three comments supporting adoption
of the rule as proposed.

The new rule is adopted under the provisions of Senate Bill 1839
of the 88th Texas Legislature (Regular Session), which amended
Parks and Wildlife Code, §66.2161 to authorize the commission
to promulgate rules stipulating the method and circumstances
for the destruction and disposal of shark fins at a restaurant or
place of business.

$§57.979.  Unlawful Possession of Shark Fins.

(a) It is unlawful for any person to, upon detaching a shark
fin from a shark that is lawfully possessed and being processed in a
restaurant or place of business, fail to immediately destroy the shark
fin as prescribed in this section. Destroyed shark fins shall be lawfully
disposed of, either by a contracted waste removal service or by direct
transport to a landfill or waste facility permitted by the Texas Commis-
sion on Environmental Quality to receive such material.

(b) Inthis section, the following terms shall have the following
meanings:

(1) Destroy--to treat a shark fin by immersion in chlorine
bleach, acid, or other such chemical or chemical solution for a period
of time sufficient to render the shark fin inedible or otherwise unfit for
human consumption.

(2) Immediately--At once, without delay, promptly.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 4, 2023.

TRD-202303706

James Murphy

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: October 24, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 21, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 59. PARKS

SUBCHAPTER A. PARK ENTRANCE AND
PARK USER FEES

31 TAC §59.3

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission in a duly noticed
meeting on August 24, 2023, adopted an amendment to 31
TAC §59.3, concerning Parks Entry Passes, with changes to
the proposed text as published in the July 21, 2023, issue of the
Texas Register (48 TexReg 3974). The rule will be republished.

The change replaces the semicolon at the end of paragraph
(3)(B)(iii) with a period and inserts the word "and" at the end
of paragraph (3)(B)(ii) for purposes of grammatical consistency.
The change is nonsubstantive.

The amendment implements the provisions of House Bill (H.B.)
1740, enacted during the most recent regular session of the
Texas Legislature. H.B. 1740 amended Texas Parks and Wildlife
Code, §13.018, to require the department to issue a state park-
lands passport ("passport") at no charge to additional categories
of persons.

Prior to the enactment of H.B. 1740, the department was re-
quired under Parks and Wildlife Code, §13.018, to issue a pass-
port free of charge to qualified individuals, defined as Texas resi-
dents 65 years old or over; members of the United States armed
forces on active duty who are 65 years old or over; veterans of
the armed services of the United States who, as a result of mil-
itary service, have a service-connected disability consisting of
either the loss of the use of a lower extremity or a 60 percent
disability rating and who are receiving compensation from the
United States because of the disability; and individuals who have
a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or
more major life activities. H.B. 1740 amended Parks and Wildlife
Code, §13.018, to include any person who is an honorably dis-
charged veteran of the United States armed services, a member
of the United States armed services on active duty, or the surviv-
ing spouse, parent, child, or sibling of a person who died while
serving in the United States armed services. The amendment ef-
fects those changes in department rules, while making changes
as necessary to remove conflicts with existing rule language.

The department received two comments opposing adoption of
the rule as proposed. Both commenters provided a reason or
rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments, accompa-
nied by the department's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule con-
tains no method for preventing unscrupulous persons from ob-
taining a benefit they are not entitled to. The department agrees
with the comment and responds that department protocols have
been developed and deployed that will enable the department to
ensure that the benefit created by H.B. 1740 is extended only to
persons entitled to it. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule also
should apply to the families of fallen peace officers. The de-
partment neither agrees nor disagrees with the comment and
responds that the rule as adopted implements provisions specif-
ically directed by a legislative act. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

The department received three comments supporting adoption
of the rule as proposed.
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The amendment is adopted under Parks and Wildlife Code,
§13.018, which requires the commission to establish by rule the
eligibility requirements and privileges available to the holder of
a state parklands passport.

$59.3.  Park Entry Passes.

Parks entry passes authorize entry privileges to parks where entry fees
apply but are not valid for activity or other applicable fees.

(1) Annual Park Entrance Passes.

(A) A valid annual park entrance pass authorizes park
entry without payment of an individual entrance fee for the holder of
the annual pass, and:

(i) all occupants in the same vehicle with the holder
of the annual park entrance pass if the holder of the annual park en-
trance pass is entering by noncommercial motor vehicle;

(i) up to 14 persons accompanying the pass holder
in the same boat if the holder of the annual park entrance pass is enter-
ing by boat; or

(iii) up to 14 persons accompanying the pass holder
if the holder of the annual park entrance pass is entering by motorcycle,
bicycle or on foot.

(B) An annual park entrance pass is valid only for pri-
vate, noncommercial use and is not valid for:

(i) buses or similar vehicles; or
(i) commercial use such as tour groups.

(C) Anannual park entrance pass is not valid unless pre-
sented by the person named on the pass.

(D) The fee for an annual park entrance pass shall be
established by the executive director within the range of $50 - $100.

(E) The fee for an annual park entrance pass that is part
of a promotional drawing under the provisions of §51.750 of this title
(relating to Promotional Drawings), of this title is $0.

(2) Youth Group Annual Entrance Pass.

(A) A youth group annual entrance pass authorizes en-
try to any state park without payment of an individual entrance fee for
up to a total of 50 persons belonging to a nonprofit youth organization.

(B) The department on a case-by-case basis may limit
the number of adult supervisors entering a park under this subsection.
Vehicles entering a park under a single youth group pass may be subject
to additional fees if the number of vehicles exceeds the vehicle capacity
for the campsite.

(C) The fee for a pass under this subsection shall be es-
tablished by the executive director within the range of $50 - $300.

(D) A youth group annual entrance pass is valid for 12
months from date of purchase.

(3) State Parklands Passport. A state parklands passport
shall be issued at no cost to any person meeting the criteria established
by Parks and Wildlife Code, §13.018. For the purposes of this para-
graph, "accompanying" means entering a park simultaneously with the
passport holder.

(A) A state parklands passport issued to a person in a
category listed in this subparagraph authorizes the entry of the person
to any state park without payment of an individual entrance fee, and
includes the waiver of the entry fee for one person accompanying and
providing assistance to the passport holder:

(i) aperson whose birth date is before September 1,
1930;

(ii) a veteran of the armed services of the United
States who, as a result of military service, has a service-connected dis-
ability, as defined by the Veterans' Administration, consisting of the
loss of the use of a lower extremity or of a 60 percent disability rating
and who is receiving compensation from the United States because of
the disability; or

(iii)  a holder of a state parklands passport issued on
or before August 31, 1995.

(B) A state parklands passport issued to a person in a
category listed in this subparagraph authorizes the entry of the person
to any state park without payment of an individual entrance fee but does
not waive or reduce the entrance fee for any person accompanying the
passport holder:

(i) an honorably discharged veteran of the United
States armed services;

(ii)) amember of the United States armed services on
active duty; and

(iii)  the surviving spouse, parent, child, or sibling of
a person who died while serving in the United States armed services.

(C) Tobe eligible for issuance of a state parklands pass-
port under the provisions of Parks and Wildlife Code, §13.018(a)(3), a
person must submit government-issued personal identification and one
of the following:

(i) an Award of Benefits Letter or a Statement of
Benefits from the Social Security Administration that attests to the ap-
plicant's permanent disability; or

(i) an affidavit or attestation on a form approved by
the department certifying that the applicant meets the requirements of
Parks and Wildlife Code, §13.018(a)(3) and this subsection.

(D) A state parklands passport issued to a person in a
category listed in this subparagraph who does not otherwise qualify
under subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph authorizes the entry
of the person to any state park upon payment of 50% of the posted
entrance fee for the park, rounded to the nearest higher whole dollar,
which shall also apply to one person accompanying and providing as-
sistance to the passport holder.

(i) a Texas resident whose birth date is after August
31, 1930; or

(i) an individual who has a physical or mental im-
pairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities
of the individual.

(E) A parklands passport is nontransferable.

(F) The department may collect a fee for a replacement
state parklands passport.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 5, 2023.
TRD-202303714
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James Murphy

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: October 25, 2023

Proposal publication date: July 21, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 10. TEXAS WATER
DEVELOPMENT BOARD

CHAPTER 362. STATE FLOOD PLANNING
GUIDELINES

SUBCHAPTER A. STATE FLOOD PLAN
DEVELOPMENT

31 TAC §§362.2 - 362.4

The Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) adopts 31 Texas
Administrative Code (TAC) §§362.2 - 362.4. Sections 362.2 -
362.4 are adopted with changes as published in the April 21,
2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2080). The rules
will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF THE FACTUAL BASIS
FOR THE ADOPTED AMENDMENT.

The TWDB adopts amendments to Chapter 362 including minor
revisions to include consideration of flood management strate-
gies and relevant updated guidance in the guidance principles.
Additionally, adopted amendments in Chapter 362 will also be
made in Chapter 361, as applicable, to ensure uniformity of
terms.

SECTION BY SECTION DISCUSSION OF ADOPTED AMEND-
MENTS.

Several changes were made to Chapter 362 in response to com-
ments received. Other changes include revisions to bring Chap-
ter 362 and Chapter 361 into alignment.

Adopted amendments to §362.2 Definitions include updates to
correspond to the changes to the definitions that are being made
in Chapter 361. The alphabetical order of the definitions was
updated..

Adopted amendments to §362.3 guidance principles include
modifications to correct terms, such as changing "1.0 percent"
to "1%." Citations to other rules and punctuation marks were
also corrected.

The adopted amendments in §362.4(c) include a change to the
ranking that will be included in the State Flood Plan. Previously,
any FME, FMS, or FMP would need to have a one-time capital
cost or other non-recurring cost to be included in the ranking.
With this amendment, the ranking will include FMSs that have a
non-recurring, non-capital costs.

PUBLIC  COMMENTS
§2001.033(a)(1))

The San Jacinto River Authority pointed out the need to change
"solution" to "solutions" to match previous definition in §362.2(e).

(Texas Government Code

TWDB acknowledges and agrees with the comment. The defi-
nition has been revised accordingly.

Freese and Nichols suggested revising the definition for
§362.2(e), Flood Management Evaluation. Flood Management
Evaluation (FME) to be a proposed study to define or quantify
flood risk or flood risk reduction solutions. Freese and Nichols
explained that in many cases, flood risk and a potential flood
risk reduction solution have already been identified and FMEs
have been recommended to further define the solution or satisfy
requirements to be considered an FMP.

TWDB acknowledges and agrees with the comment. The defi-
nition for FME has been revised.

Freese and Nichols suggested revising the definition for
§362.2(f), Flood Management Strategy. Flood Management
Strategy (FMS) to better differentiate between FMEs and FMPs
as well as clarify the types of actions that are eligible for fund-
ing within the FMS category. Freese and Nichols suggested
removing the phrase, "ideas that still need to be formulated,"
in exchange for, "that result in flood risk reduction benefits
that cannot be directly quantified through standard practices."
Freese and Nichols stated that incorporating examples of types
of actions that would qualify as an FMS and whose non-recur-
ring, non-capital cost would be eligible for funding under the
FMS category, would help to clarify the purpose of this category.

TWDB appreciates and agrees with the comment. The definition
for Flood Management Strategy (FMS) has been modified.

Halff Associates explained that the drainage area size described
in §362.3(b)(9) was not applied consistently throughout the 16
regions. Halff Associates stated that the inconsistent application
resulted in varying degrees of localized projects being included in
the RFPs. Halff Associates requested that the purpose or intent
of the one square mile drainage area be clarified.

TWDB acknowledges and appreciates the comment. Guidance
documents will be enhanced to provide further clarifications.
TWDB considers it important to provide a starting point for
RFPGs but also retain flexibility. No change has been made in
response to the comment.

The San Jacinto River Authority requested clarification as to
whether strategies should be considered in guidance principles
related to water quality, fish and wildlife, ecosystem function,
and recreation, and how long-term maintenance and operation
of flood strategies will be conducted and funded, in accordance
with §362.4(b)(36) and (38).

TWDB acknowledges and appreciates the comment. Section
362.3(b)(36) and (38) have been revised in accordance with the
comment.

Freese and Nichols requested that §362.4(c)(5) be revised to be
consistent with Guidance.

TWDB appreciates and agrees with the comment. Section
§362.4(c)(5) has been revised in accordance with the comment.

STATUTORY  AUTHORITY Code
§2001.033(a)(2))

The amendment is adopted under the authority of Texas Wa-
ter Code §6.101, which provides the TWDB with the authority to
adopt rules necessary to carry out the powers and duties in the
Water Code and other laws of the State, and also under the au-
thority of Water Code §16.453 (Floodplain Management Account
for funding planning grants), §16.061 State Flood Planning, and
§16.062 Regional Flood Planning.

(Texas  Government
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Texas Water Code §16.061 State Flood Planning, §16.062 Re-
gional Flood Planning, and §16.453 (Floodplain Management
Account for funding planning grants) are affected by this rule-
making.

§362.2.  Definitions and Acronyms.

(a) 1% Annual Chance Flood Event--Flood event having a 1%
chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year, also referred to
as the base flood or 100-year flood.

(b) 0.2% Annual Chance Flood Event--Flood event having a
0.2% chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year, also re-
ferred to as the 500-year flood.

(c) Board--The governing body of the Texas Water Develop-
ment Board.

(d) Executive Administrator (EA)--The Executive Adminis-
trator of the TWDB or a designated representative.

(¢) Flood Management Evaluation (FME)--A proposed study
to identify, assess, and quantify flood risk or identify, evaluate, and
recommend flood risk reduction solutions.

(f) Flood Management Strategy (FMS)--Flood risk reduction
solution ideas and strategies that do not belong in FME or FMP cate-
gories. Examples may include regulatory enhancements, development
of entity-wide buyout programs, and public outreach and education.

(g) Flood Mitigation--The implementation of actions, includ-
ing both structural and non-structural solutions, to reduce flood risk to
protect against the loss of life and property.

(h) Flood Mitigation Project (FMP)--A proposed flood project,
both structural and non- structural, that has a non-zero capital costs or
other non-recurring cost and that when implemented will reduce flood
risk or mitigate flood hazards to life or property.

(i) Neighboring area--Any area, including but not limited to
upstream and downstream areas, potentially affected by the proposed
flood mitigation project.

(j) Political Subdivision--County, city, or other body politic or
corporate of the state, including any district or authority created un-
der Art. 3 §52 or Art. 16 §59 of the Constitution and including any
interstate compact commission to which the state is a party and any
nonprofit WSC created and operating under Ch. 67.

(k) Regional Flood Plan (RFP)--The plan adopted or amended
by a Regional Flood Planning Group pursuant to Texas Water Code
§16.062 (relating to Regional Flood Plans) and this chapter.

() State Flood Plan (SFP)--The most recent State Flood Plan
adopted or amended by the Board under Texas Water Code §16.061
(relating to State Flood Plan).

(m) TWDB--Texas Water Development Board.

$362.3.  Guidance Principles.

(a) Regional flood planning guidance principles shall be the
same as the state flood planning guidance principles and will be revis-
ited every five years.

(b) Development of the regional and state flood plans shall be
guided by the following principles. The regional and state flood plans:

(1) shall be a guide to state, regional, and local flood risk
management policy;

(2) shall be based on the best available science, data, mod-
els, and flood risk mapping;

(3) shall focus on identifying both current and future flood
risks, including hazard, exposure, vulnerability and residual risks; se-
lecting achievable flood mitigation goals, as determined by each RFPG
for their region; and incorporating strategies and projects to reduce the
identified risks accordingly;

(4) shall, at a minimum, evaluate flood hazard exposure to
life and property associated with the 1% and 0.2% annual chance flood
events (the 100 and 500-year floods) and, in these efforts, shall not be
limited to consideration of historic flood events;

(5) shall, at a minimum, evaluate flood risk to life and prop-
erty associated with 1% annual chance flood event (the 100-year flood)
and address, when feasible, through recommended projects and strate-
gies, the flood mitigation goals of the RFPG in paragraph 3 of this sub-
section to address flood events associated with a 1% annual chance
flood event (the 100-year flood); and, in these efforts, shall not be lim-
ited to consideration of historic flood events;

(6) shall consider the extent to which current floodplain
management, land use regulations, and economic development prac-
tices increase future flood risks to life and property and consider rec-
ommending adoption of floodplain management, land use regulations,
and economic development practices to reduce future flood risk;

(7) shall consider future development within the planning
region and its potential to impact the benefits of flood management
strategies (and associated projects) recommended in the plan;

(8) shall consider various types of flooding risks that pose a
threat to life and property, including, but not limited to, riverine flood-
ing, urban flooding, engineered structure failures, slow rise flooding,
ponding, flash flooding, and coastal flooding, including relative sea
level change and storm surge;

(9) shall focus primarily on flood management strategies
and projects with a contributing drainage area greater than or equal to
1.0 (one) square mile except in instances of flooding of critical facilities
or transportation routes or for other reasons, including levels of risk or
project size, as determined by the RFPG;

(10) shall consider the potential upstream and downstream
effects, including environmental, of potential flood mitigation projects
and flood management strategies on neighboring areas. In recommend-
ing projects and strategies, RFPGs shall ensure that no neighboring area
is negatively affected by the regional flood plan;

(11) shall include an assessment of existing, major flood
mitigation infrastructure and will recommend both new strategies and
projects that will further reduce risk, beyond what existing flood strate-
gies and projects were designed to provide, and make recommenda-
tions regarding required expenditures to address deferred maintenance
on or repairs to existing flood infrastructure;

(12) shall include the estimate of costs and benefits at a
level of detail sufficient for RFPGs and sponsors of flood mitigation
projects to understand project benefits and, when applicable, compare
the relative benefits and costs, including environmental and social ben-
efits and costs, between feasible options;

(13) shall provide for the orderly preparation for and re-
sponse to flood conditions to protect against the loss of life and prop-
erty and reduce injuries and other flood-related human suffering;

(14) shall provide for an achievable reduction in flood risk
at a reasonable cost to protect against the loss of life and property from
flooding;

(15) shall be supported by state agencies, including the
TWDB, General Land Office, Texas Commission on Environmental
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Quality, Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Parks
and Wildlife Department, and the Texas Department of Agriculture,
working cooperatively to avoid duplication of effort and to make the
best and most efficient use of state and federal resources;

(16) shall include recommended strategies and projects
that minimize residual flood risk and provide effective and economical
management of flood risk to people, properties, and communities, and
associated environmental benefits;

(17) shall include strategies and projects that provide for
a balance of structural and nonstructural flood mitigation measures,
including projects that use nature-based features, that lead to long- term
mitigation of flood risk;

(18) shall contribute to water supply development where
possible;

(19) shall also follow all regional and state water planning
guidance principles per §358.3 of this title (relating to State Water Plan-
ning Guidelines) in instances where recommended flood projects also
include a water supply component;

(20) shall be based on decision-making that is open to, un-
derstandable for, and accountable to the public with full dissemination
of planning results except for those matters made confidential by law;

(21) shall be based on established terms of participation
that shall be equitable and shall not unduly hinder participation;

(22) shall include flood management strategies and
projects recommended by the RFPGs that are based upon identifica-
tion, analysis, and comparison of all flood management strategies the
RFPGs determine to be potentially feasible to meet flood mitigation
and floodplain management goals;

(23) shall consider land-use and floodplain management
policies and approaches that support short- and long-term flood
mitigation and floodplain management goals;

(24) shall consider natural systems and beneficial functions
of floodplains, including flood peak attenuation and ecosystem ser-
vices;

(25) shall be consistent with the National Flood Insurance
Program (NFIP) and shall not undermine participation in nor the incen-
tives or benefits associated with the NFIP;

(26) shall emphasize the fundamental importance of flood-
plain management policies that reduce flood risk;

(27) shall encourage flood mitigation design approaches
that work with rather than against natural patterns and conditions of
floodplains;

(28) shall not cause long-term impairment to the desig-
nated water quality as shown in the state water quality management
plan as a result of a recommended flood management strategy or
project;

(29) shall be based on identifying common needs, issues,
and challenges; achieving efficiencies; fostering cooperative planning
with local, state, and federal partners; and resolving conflicts in a fair,
equitable, and efficient manner;

(30) shall include recommended strategies and projects
that are described in sufficient detail to allow a state agency making
a financial or regulatory decision to determine if a proposed action
before the state agency is consistent with an approved regional flood
plan;

(31) shall include ongoing flood projects that are in the
planning stage, have been permitted, or are under construction;

(32) shall include legislative recommendations that are
considered necessary and desirable to facilitate flood management
planning and implementation to protect life and property;

(33) shall be based on coordination of flood management
planning, strategies, and mitigation projects with local, regional, state,
and federal agencies projects and goals;

(34) shall be in accordance with all existing water rights
laws including, but not limited to, Texas statutes and rules, federal
statutes and rules, interstate compacts, and international treaties;

(35) shall consider protection of vulnerable populations;

(36) shall consider benefits of flood mitigation projects and
flood management strategies to water quality, fish and wildlife, ecosys-
tem function, and recreation, as appropriate;

(37) shall minimize adverse environmental impacts and be
in accordance with adopted environmental flow standards;

(38) shall consider how long-term maintenance and opera-
tion of flood mitigation projects and flood management strategies will
be conducted and funded; and

(39) shall consider multi-use opportunities such as green
space, parks, water quality, or recreation, portions of which could
be funded, constructed, and or maintained by additional, third-party
project participants.

§362.4.  State Flood Plan Guidelines.

(a) The EA shall prepare, develop, and formulate the state
flood plan and the Board shall adopt a state flood plan pursuant to the
schedule in Texas Water Code §16.061.

(b) The EA shall incorporate into the state flood plan presented
to the Board those RFPs approved by the Board pursuant to Texas Water
Code §16.062 and Chapter 361 of this title (relating to Regional Flood
Planning). The Board shall, not less than 30 days before adoption or
amendment of the state flood plan, publish notice of its intent to adopt
a state flood plan and shall mail notice to each RFPG. The Board shall
hold a public meeting during which it may adopt a state flood plan or
amendments thereto.

(¢) The state flood plan shall incorporate information from
Board-approved RFPs, and shall address, at a minimum, the following:

(1) basis for state flood planning, including sections on
Texas water statutes, rules, regulations, and Texas' flood management
and mitigation institutions;

(2) summary of the condition and adequacy of major flood
control infrastructure on a regional basis;

(3) summary of existing flood risk associated with 1% an-
nual chance and 0.2% annual chance flood events;

(4) description of methods used to develop the regional and
state flood plans;

(5) a statewide, ranked list of recommended FMEs and
FMPs that have associated one-time capital costs or other non-recur-
ring costs, and FMSs with non-recurring non-capital costs derived
from the Board-approved RFPs;

(6) an analysis of completed, ongoing, and proposed
FMEs, FMPs, and FMSs included in previous state flood plans includ-
ing projects funded by the TWDB;
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(7) a discussion of how the recommended FMEs, FMPs, TRD-202303727

and FMSs will reduce flood risk and mitigate flood hazards; and Ashley Harden

(8) legislative recommendations the Board considers nec- General Counsel
essary to facilitate flood mitigation planning and FME, FMP, and FMS ~ Texas Water Development Board
implementation. Effective date: October 26, 2023

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop- Ero’;osil plfb]cl'cat'or,] dateI: April 2|1|_’ 2501223 463.7686
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au- or further information, please call: (512) 463-

thority. L4 14 1 4
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 6, 2023.
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