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EMERGENCY.

‘RULE

Emergency Rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and the repeals of existing
rules. A state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the agency
finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare, or a requirement of state or

federal law, requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. An emergency rule may be effective for not longer than
120 days and may be renewed once for not longer than 60 days (Government Code, §2001.034).

TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION
COORDINATING BOARD

CHAPTER 1. AGENCY ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER K. FORMULA ADVISORY
COMMITTEE - COMMUNITY AND
TECHNICAL COLLEGES

19 TAC §§1.156 - 1.163

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts on an emergency basis the repeal of Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter K,
§81.156 - 1.163, concerning the Community and Technical Col-
leges Formula Advisory Committee (CTCFAC).

The Coordinating Board adopts the repeal on an emergency ba-
sis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules re-
quired for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, the Coordinating Board plans to repeal this sub-
chapter and replace it with new language establishing the Stand-
ing Advisory Committee for Public Junior Colleges, in accor-
dance with changes made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023).
The Coordinating Board also intends to adopt new rules contin-
uing the representation of technical colleges and state colleges
in a different advisory committee and transferring the Report of
Fundable Operating Expenses provision to a different chapter of
Texas Administrative Code (TAC).

Rules 1.156 - 1.163 concern the establishment of the CTCFAC,
including the authority and purpose for the committee and its
membership, duration, meetings, assigned tasks, and other mat-
ters related to formula funding for the community and technical
colleges sector.

Statute charges the Coordinating Board with establishing com-
mittees composed of representatives from each institutional
grouping to study and recommend changes in the funding
formulas for each institutional group (Texas Education Code
(TEC), §61.059(b)-(b-1)). Currently, the Coordinating Board
organizes this obligation in three advisory committees: one for
community and technical colleges (encompassing public junior
colleges, public technical colleges, and public state colleges),
one for general academic institutions, and one for health-related
institutions.

As part of the changes enacted by H.B. 8, statute no longer in-
cludes public junior colleges funded under TEC, Chapter 130A,

on these formula advisory committees (Section 22, H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023)). Instead, these functions will move to a dif-
ferent committee: the public junior college sector will now give
advice and counsel on funding through a standing advisory com-
mittee established under TEC, §130.001(b) (Section 33, H.B. 8,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023)).

The Coordinating Board intends to repeal Chapter 1, Subchap-
ter K, relating to the CTCFAC, in order to adopt a new chapter
establishing the Standing Advisory Committee for Public Junior
Colleges. Certain functions currently contained in Chapter 1,
Subchapter K, will move to other sections of TAC: the Coordinat-
ing Board will ensure that technical colleges and state colleges
have continued representation in this process by amending 19
TAC, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter L, to include them within
the current formula advisory committee framework. The Coor-
dinating Board also intends to continue the Report of Fundable
Operating Expenses in another subchapter of TAC specifically
relating to reporting and data requirements for the community
college formula funding process.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section
is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as the result of adopt-
ing this rule is updating TAC to reflect statutory changes to the
constitution of the formula advisory committees. There are no
anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to com-
ply with the sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;

(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;
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(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The repeal is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas Edu-
cation Code, Section 61.059(b)-(b-1), which provides the Coordi-
nating Board with the authority to establish advisory committees
consisting of cross-institutional representatives to study and rec-
ommend changes in formula funding.

The repeal affects Texas Education Code, Sections 61.059(b)-
(b-1) and 130.001(b).

§1.156.  Authority and Specific Purposes of the Community and Tech-
nical Colleges Formula Advisory Committee.

§1.157.  Definitions.

§1.158. Committee Membership and Officers.

$1.159.  Duration.

$1.160. Meetings.

§1.161. Tasks Assigned to the Committee.

§1.162. Report of Fundable Operating Expenses.

§1.163. Report to the Board; Evaluation of Committee Costs and Ef-
fectiveness.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303129

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. STANDING [FORMULA]
ADVISORY COMMITTEE: PUBLIC JUNIOR [-
COMMUNITY AND TECHNICAL] COLLEGES
19 TAC §§1.156 - 1.162

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts new rules on an emergency basis in Texas Admin-
istrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter K, §§1.156
- 1.162, concerning the Standing Advisory Committee for Public
Junior Colleges.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, these new sections will establish the Standing Ad-
visory Committee for Public Junior Colleges, in accordance with
statutory changes made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023).

Rule 1.156 establishes the statutory authority for the new stand-
ing advisory committee, which comes from legislative changes
in Section 33, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (to be codified
in Texas Education Code (TEC), §130.001(b)(5)). It also states
the purposes of the new standing advisory committee are to pro-
vide advice and counsel regarding the funding of public junior
colleges, as required by H.B. 8, as well as regarding financial
incentives to achieve the goals of the state's higher education
plan, as described in TEC, §61.051. The committee may also
perform other duties as assigned by the Board or Commissioner,
in keeping with TEC, §61.026.

Rule 1.157 contains definitions for common terms used in this
subchapter. These definitions parallel definitions used in the
TEC and in other parts of the Texas Administrative Code and
provide clarity to the reader by distinguishing between the gov-
erning board and the agency as a whole.

Rule 1.158 states the membership requirements of the new
standing committee and appointment process. The membership
requirements are designed to ensure the committee consists
of members who have appropriate subject-matter knowledge
and who can represent the interests of a broad cross-section
of the public junior college sector. The rule caps the number of
members on the advisory committee at 12, below the maximum
number required by Texas Government Code, §2110.002.

Rule 1.159 states that the committee may continue until Septem-
ber 1, 2027, a four-year period consistent with requirements for
the duration of advisory committees contained in Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2110.008.

Rule 1.160 states that the committee shall meet at least once per
quarter and that the presiding officer may call special meetings.

Rule 1.161 stipulates the tasks assigned to the committee, which
include providing counsel to the Board and Commissioner on the
administration of the public junior college finance program as en-
acted in TEC, Chapter 130A; studying and making recommen-
dations for the modifications of formula funding or other compo-
nents of the finance program; identifying funding incentives to
accomplish the objectives in the state's strategic plan for higher
education; and other charges as devised by the Board or Com-
missioner.

Rule 1.162 requires the committee to provide an annual report
to the Commissioner on May 15 of each year, and states that the
Commissioner shall review and provide recommendations dur-
ing the Board's regular July board meeting. The timing of this
report ensures that the Board may adopt finance recommenda-
tions at an appropriate point during the state fiscal cycle, to help
inform deliberations prior to legislative session and the develop-
ment of the appropriations bill.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.
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Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that the public benefit anticipated as the result of adopt-
ing this rule is establishing a forum for public junior colleges to
provide the Coordinating Board with advice and counsel with re-
spect to the funding of that sector, aligning Coordinating Board
rules with recent statutory changes. There are no anticipated
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The new sections are adopted on an emergency basis under
Texas Education Code, Section 130.001(b), which provides the
Coordinating Board with the authority to establish a standing ad-
visory committee composed of representatives of public junior
colleges to provide advice and counsel with respect to the fund-
ing of public junior colleges.

The new sections affect Texas Education Code, §§61.026 and
130.001(b), and Texas Government Code, Chapter 2110.

§1.156. Authority and Specific Purposes of the Standing Advisory
Committee for Public Junior Colleges.

(a) Authority. Statutory authority for this subchapter is pro-
vided in the Texas Education Code, §130.001(b).

(b) Purposes. The Standing Advisory Committee for Public
Junior Colleges is created to provide the Commissioner and Board with
advice and counsel with respect to the funding of public junior colleges
and financial incentives to achieve the goals of the state's higher educa-
tion plan and carry out the purposes of Texas Education Code, Chapter
130A, implementing the Public Junior College Finance Program. The
committee also performs other duties related to funding that the Board
or Commissioner assign to the committee.

§1.157. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings:

(1) Board--The governing body of the agency known as the
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion, the Chief Executive Officer of the Board.

(3) Coordinating Board--Unless context indicates other-

(a) Membership shall consist of senior administrators and rep-
resentatives of Texas public junior colleges with knowledge of the cur-
rent funding formulas and the educational goals of the state.

(b) Membership on the committee should include:

(1) Representatives of each accountability group;

(2) Presidents or Chancellors;

(3) Chief Financial or Academic Officers; and

(4) Institutional Research or other expert campus represen-

tatives.

(¢) The number of committee members shall not exceed

twelve (12).

(d) The Commissioner shall recommend members to the
Board for appointment.

(¢) The Commissioner shall select the presiding officer, who
will be responsible for conducting meetings and conveying committee
recommendations to the Board and the Commissioner.

(f) Each member shall serve a three-year staggered term, un-
less otherwise provided by the Commissioner. A member may serve
more than one term.

(g) The committee may appoint subcommittees or workgroups
as necessary to complete the work.

§1.159. Duration.

The committee shall continue until September 1, 2027, and may be
re-established by the Board.

§1.160. Meetings.

The committee shall meet on a regular basis not less than once a quarter.
Special meetings may be called as deemed appropriate by the presiding
officer.

§1.161.

Tasks assigned to the committee include:

Tasks Assigned to the Committee.

(1) Provide counsel to the Board and Commissioner on the
administration of the Public Junior College Finance Program;

(2) Study and make recommendations for modification to
the formulas and other components of the Public Junior College Fi-
nance Program that will increase effectiveness and efficiencies of the
programs delivered,

(3) Identify funding incentives that would support the
achievement of the state's goals outlined in the long-term master
plan for higher education authorized in the Texas Education Code,

§61.051(a-1); and

(4) Any other charges issued by the Board or Commis-
sioner of Higher Education.

§1.162. Report.

The committee shall provide an annual report on its activities and rec-
ommendations to the Commissioner not later than May 15 of each year.
The Commissioner shall review and provide funding recommendations
to the Board annually at the July Board meeting. The Commissioner
may modify these timelines as needed to implement the Public Junior

wise, the agency known as the Texas Higher Education Coordinating

College Finance Program.

Board and staff employed by the agency to carry out assigned duties
of the agency.

§1.158.  Committee Membership and Officers.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303128

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER L. FORMULA ADVISORY
COMMITTEE - GENERAL ACADEMIC
INSTITUTIONS

19 TAC §§1.164 - 1.167

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts amended rules on an emergency basis in Texas
Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter L,
§§1.164 - 1.167, concerning the General Academic Institutions
Formula Advisory Committee (GAIFAC).

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency ba-
sis in accordance with Section 56, H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023),
which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules required for
the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on an emergency
basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the agency to make the
finding required by Texas Government Code, §2001.034(a).

This amendment adds public technical colleges and public state
colleges to the existing GAIFAC, ensuring that those institu-
tions will continue to have representation on formula advisory
committees established under Texas Education Code (TEC),
§61.059(b)-(b-1), following their removal from the committee for
community colleges.

Rules 1.164 - 1.167 make conforming changes to the Texas Ad-
ministrative Code reflecting the decision to include the technical
colleges and state colleges in the existing GAIFAC.

Statute charges the Coordinating Board with establishing com-
mittees composed of representatives from each institutional
grouping to study and recommend changes in the funding
formulas for each institutional group (TEC, §61.059(b)-(b-1)).
Currently, the Coordinating Board organizes this obligation in
three advisory committees: one for community and technical
colleges (encompassing public junior colleges, public technical
colleges, and public state colleges), one for general academic
institutions, and one for health-related institutions.

As part of the changes enacted by H.B. 8, statute no longer in-
cludes public junior colleges funded under TEC, Chapter 130A,
on these formula advisory committees (Section 22, H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023)). Instead, these functions will move to a dif-
ferent committee: the public junior college sector will now give
advice and counsel on funding through a standing advisory com-
mittee established under TEC, §130.001(b) (Section 33, H.B. 8,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023)).

The Coordinating Board intends to establish a new advisory
committee solely for public junior colleges. To ensure that
public technical colleges and public state colleges continue to
have representation on the formula advisory committees, the
Coordinating Board proposes including their representatives on
the GAIFAC.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section
is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of admin-
istering the section will be ensuring the continued representa-
tion of public technical colleges and public state colleges in the
formula funding policymaking process, in accordance with TEC,
§61.059(b)-(b-1). There are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The amendment is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas
Education Code, Section 61.059(b)-(b-1), which provides the
Coordinating Board with the authority to establish advisory com-
mittees consisting of cross-institutional representatives to study
and recommend changes in formula funding.

Statutory authority for this subchapter is provided in the Texas
Education Code, §61.059(b) and (b-1).

The amendment affects Texas Education Code, Sections
61.059(b)-(b-1) and 130.001(b).

§1.164.  Authority and Specific Purposes of the General Academic In-
stitutions, Technical Colleges, and State Colleges Formula Advisory
Commiittee.

(a) Authority. Statutory authority for this subchapter is pro-
vided in the Texas Education Code, §61.059(b) and (b-1).

(b) Purposes. The General Academic Institutions, Technical
Colleges, and State Colleges Formula Advisory Committee is created
to provide the Board with advice and recommendation(s) regarding a
set of formulas that provide appropriate funding levels and financial in-
centives necessary to best achieve the goals of the state's higher educa-
tion plan. The committee also performs other duties related to formula
funding that the Board finds to be appropriate.
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(b) Purposes. The General Academic Institutions, Technical
Colleges, and State Colleges Formula Advisory Committee is created
to provide the Board with advice and recommendation(s) regarding a
set of formulas that provide appropriate funding levels and financial in-
centives necessary to best achieve the goals of the state's higher educa-
tion plan. The committee also performs other duties related to formula
funding that the Board finds to be appropriate.

$1.165. Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings:

(1) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating
Board.

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion, the Chief Executive Officer of the Board.

(3) Interested persons--Persons who attend committee
meetings as representatives of stakeholder entities and any other
persons who have made their interest in the work of the committee
known to its presiding officer. Such interested persons may participate
in committee discussions, as invited by the presiding officer to do so,
but do not have the authority to cast votes.

(4) Public state colleges--Lamar State College - Port
Arthur, Lamar State College - Orange, and Lamar Institute of Tech-

nology.

$§1.166. Committee Membership and Olfficers.

(a) Membership shall consist of representatives of Texas pub-
lic general academic institutions, public state colleges, and Texas State
Technical College with knowledge of the current funding formulas and
the educational goals of the state.

(b) Membership on the committee should include representa-
tives of each accountability group and at least one individual each to
represent the public state colleges and Texas State Technical Colleges.

(c) Interested persons, such as legislative and governmental
relations staff shall be regularly advised of committee meetings.

(d) The number of committee members shall not exceed
twenty-four (24).

() The committee may appoint subcommittees or workgroups
as necessary to complete its work. The subcommittees or workgroups
may include members from the formula advisory committees and other
institutional representatives as appropriate.

(f) Members of the committee shall select the presiding offi-
cer, who will be responsible for conducting meetings and conveying
committee recommendations to the Board.

(g) Members shall serve six-year staggered terms with one-
third of the membership expiring every other year. A member can be
re-appointed to serve another term.

$1.167. Duration.

Not later than September 1 of each odd-numbered year, the Board shall
appoint an advisory committee to review the funding formulas for the
use of the Governor and the Legislative Budget Board in making ap-
propriations recommendations to the legislature for general academic
institutions, technical colleges, and state colleges.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.
TRD-202303130

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 9. PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT IN
PUBLIC TWO-YEAR COLLEGES
SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL PROVISIONS
19 TAC §9.28, §9.29

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts on an emergency basis the repeal of Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 9, Subchapter B,
§9.28 and §9.29, concerning the certification of public commu-
nity colleges as eligible to receive state appropriations.

The Coordinating Board adopts the repeal on an emergency ba-
sis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules re-
quired for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, the Coordinating Board plans to repeal these rules
and replace them with a new certification process as a result
of changes in statute to certification made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023).

Rule 9.28 reiterates the requirements that were in the statute
that community colleges had to meet to be eligible to receive
state appropriations. This list was modified in Texas Education
Code, §130.003, by Section 34 of Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023).

Rule 9.29 governs how the Coordinating Board receives and
transmits those certifications to the Comptroller and State Au-
ditor to affirm their eligibility to receive state appropriations. The
required date and process to transmit these certifications was
amended in Texas Education Code, §61.063, by Section 24 of
Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). Concurrent with other
changes made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), the cer-
tification process is being updated in alignment with statutory
changes and moved to a new subchapter.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

The public benefit anticipated as the result of adopting this rule is
updating Texas Administrative Code to be consistent with statu-
tory changes made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). There
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are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required
to comply with the sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The repeal is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas Ed-
ucation Code, Section 61.063, which provides the Coordinating
Board with the authority to certify what public junior colleges are
eligible to receive state appropriations.

The repeal affects Texas Education Code, Sections 61.063 and
130.003.

$9.28.  Appropriations.
$9.29.  Certification.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303131

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER N. BACCALAUREATE
DEGREE PROGRAMS

19 TAC §9.677

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts amended rules on an emergency basis in Texas
Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 9, Subchapter
N, §9.677, concerning the funding of baccalaureate degree pro-
grams at community colleges.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, this amendment will remove text on funding for bac-
calaureate degrees that is rendered obsolete by H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023) or moved to a different rule.

The deletion of §9.677(a) and (b) removes language on funding
of baccalaureate degree programs at community colleges due to
changes made by H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). This language
is repetitive of language in Texas Education Code (TEC), Section
130.310(a), that was amended in Section 42 of H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023) and is no longer needed to be expressed via rule.

The deletion of §9.677(c) removes language on funding of bac-
calaureate degree programs at community colleges that will in-
stead be incorporated in a new rule the Coordinating Board plans
to adopt simultaneously related to the new community college fi-
nance system.

The deletion of §9.677(d) and (e) removes obsolete language on
funding of certain pilot project baccalaureate degree programs at
community colleges that is no longer applicable under changes
made by H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). The deletion reflects
Section 52, H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), which repeals TEC,
Section 130.310(b), requiring the Coordinating Board to submit
funding recommendations to the Legislature related to the ju-
nior- and senior-level baccalaureate degree courses offered by
public junior colleges. Previously, pilot project baccalaureate de-
gree programs operated under a separate funding structure from
other degrees offered by community colleges. These degrees
will now be funded under the performance tier authorized under
H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023); therefore, the text deleted is no
longer necessary.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section is
in effect, the public benefit anticipated as the result of adopting
this rule is that the Texas Administrative Code will accurately re-
flect statute related to the funding of Bachelor of Applied Technol-
ogy programs at community colleges. There are no anticipated
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

48 TexReg 4918 September 8, 2023 Texas Register



(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The amendment is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas
Education Code, Section 130A.005(b), which provides the Coor-
dinating Board with the general rulemaking authority to take ac-
tions consistent with Texas Education Code, Chapters 61, 130,
and 130A.

The amendment affects Texas Education Code,
130.310.
$§9.677.  Limitations on Tuition [Funding].

&) Execept as provided by subsection (b) of this seetion; a de-
gree program created under this subchapter may be funded solely by a
publie junior college's proportionate share of state appropriations un-

by This subchapter does not require the legislature to ap-
propriate state funds to support & degree program ecreated under this
reetly appropriating state funds to suppert junier-level and senior-level
eourses to whieh this subseetion applies
able to students enrolled in a junior-level or senior-level course offered
under this subehapter used to determine a public junior college's pro-
portionate share of state appropriations under Section 130.003 in the
same manner as a lower division course in a corresponding field unless
the college participated in a pilot project to offer baccalaureate degree
programs as defined in §9-672(10) of this subehapter]

f(d) Notwithstanding subsection (¢) of this section, in its rec-
nior colleges, the coordinating board shall recommend that a public
junior college that participated in a pilot project to offer baccalaureate
degree programs as defined in §9.672(10) of this subchapter receive
substantially the same state suppert for junter-level and sentor-level
courses in the fields of applied science; applied technology; dental hy-
giene; and nursing offered under this subehapter as that provided to &

[(e) In determining the contact hours attributable to students
enrolled in a junior-level or senior-level course in the field of applied
science, applied technology, dental hygiene, or nursing offered under
this section used to determine a public junior college's propeortionate
share of state appropriations under §130.003, the coordinating board
shall weigh these contaet hours as necessary to provide the junior col-
lege the appropriate level of state suppert to the extent state funds for
these courses are included in the appropriations}

[€D] A public junior college may not charge a student enrolled in a
baccalaureate degree program offered under this subchapter tuition and
fees in an amount that exceeds the amount of tuition and fees charged
by the junior college to a similarly situated student who is enrolled in
an associate degree program in a corresponding field. This subsection
does not apply to tuition and fees charged for a baccalaureate degree
program in the field of applied science or applied technology previously
offered as part of a pilot project to offer baccalaureate degree programs
as defined in §9.672(10) of this subchapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Section

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.
TRD-202303132

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢
CHAPTER 13. FINANCIAL PLANNING
SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS
19 TAC §13.1

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts on an emergency basis amended rules in Texas
Administrative Code (TAC), Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Sub-
chapter A, §13.1, concerning finance-related definitions.

The Coordinating Board adopts these amended rules on an
emergency basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to
enact rules required for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1,
2023, on an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for
the agency to make the finding required by Texas Government
Code, §2001.034(a).

This amendment will add greater specificity and clarity to the
definitions applying to finance-related rules. To implement H.B.
8, which makes significant changes to the funding system for
community colleges, the Coordinating Board has determined the
need for greater precision in the terminology used for financial
rules broadly.

Rule 13.1(4), (7), and (8) specifies three distinct entities:
"Board," meaning the nine-member appointed governing body
of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; "Coor-
dinating Board," meaning the state agency as a whole; and
"Coordinating Board Staff or Board Staff," meaning the staff of
the agency. Separating these terms improves the readability
and precision of the rules contained in Chapter 13 and allows
the Coordinating Board to make a distinction between actions
taken by the governing body, agency staff, and the agency as
a whole.

Rule 13.1(5) defines the census date, which is the deadline for
institutions to submit data relating to students in attendance for
the purposes of formula funding. This definition implements Sec-
tion 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (codified under Texas
Education Code, §§130A.006 and 130A.008), which requires the
Coordinating Board to stipulate data reporting requirements in
rule.

Rule 13.1(25)-(28) separates a single definition for public two-
year colleges into three different component sectors: public ju-
nior colleges, public technical institutes, and public state col-
leges. Section 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) codifies
a formula funding system for public community colleges distinct
from the formula funding systems for public technical institutions
and public state colleges implemented in the General Appropri-
ations Act. The revised definitions allow for greater drafting clar-
ity and align finance terms in Chapter 13 with Texas Education
Code, §61.003, and with institutional categories used by state
appropriators.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
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there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section is
in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of administer-
ing the section will be establishing greater clarity and precision
in the definitions used in Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, relating
to Financial Planning. There are no anticipated economic costs
to persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The amendment is adopted on an emergency basis under Sec-
tion 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), to be codified under
Texas Education Code, Section 130A.005, allowing the Coordi-
nating Board to adopt rules necessary to implement and admin-
ister the Public Junior College State Finance Program.

The amendment affects Texas Education Code Section 61.003.
$§13.1.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise
or the relevant subchapter specifies a different definition.

(1) Auxiliary Enterprise--Activities providing a service to
students, faculty, or staff for a fee directly related to, although not nec-
essarily equal to, the cost of the service.

(2) Available University Fund (AUF)--A fund established
in Article 7, §18, of the Texas Constitution to receive all interest and
earnings of the Permanent University Fund and used to pay the debt
service on PUF-backed bonds.

(3) Base Year--The semesters comprising the year of con-
tact hours used for applying the formula funding distribution to the col-
leges and universities (usually the summer and fall of even years and
the spring of odd years).

(4) Board [er Ceerdinating Beard]--The governing body of
the agency known as the [The] Texas Higher Education Coordinating
Board.

(5) Census Date--The date upon which an institution may
report a student in attendance for the purposes of formula funding as
specified in the Coordinating Board Management (CBM) manual for
the year in which the funding is reported.

(6) [€5)] Contact Hour--A time unit of instruction used by
community, technical, and state colleges consisting of 60 minutes, of
which 50 minutes must be direct instruction.

(7) Coordinating Board--The agency known as the Texas
Higher Education Coordinating Board, including agency staff.

(8) Coordinating Board Staff or Board Staff--Agency staff
acting under the direction of the Board and the Commissioner.

(9) [€6)] Current Operating Funds--Unrestricted (appropri-
ated) funds, designated funds, restricted funds, and auxiliary enterprise
funds.

(10) [€D]Developmental Coursework--Non-degree-credit
courses designed to address a student's deficiencies.

(11) [€8)] Developmental Education--Courses, tutorials,
laboratories, or other efforts to bring student skills in reading, writing,
and mathematics to entering college level. English as a Second
Language (ESL) courses may be considered developmental education,
but only when they are used to bring student skill levels in reading or
writing to entering college level. The term as used in this chapter does
not include courses in study skills or thinking skills.

(12) [9)] Formula Funding--The mathematical method
used to allocate appropriated sources of funds among institutions of
higher education.

(13) [(1®)] Functional categories (as defined by National
Association of College [eoHege] and University Business Officers)--
Instruction, research, public service, academic support, student service,
institutional support, operation and maintenance of plant, scholarships
and fellowships, depreciation, auxiliary enterprises, and hospital.

(14) [ED)] General Academic Teaching Institution--Any
college, university, or institution so classified in Texas Education
Code, §61.003(3), or created and so classified by law.

(15) [(#2)] General Revenue (GR)--State tax revenue.

(16) [(43)] Governmental Accounting Standards Board
(GASB)--An entity created by the Financial Accounting Foundation
to set accounting standards for governmental entities including public
institutions of higher education.

(A7) [€¥4] Higher Education Fund (HEF)--A fund estab-
lished in Article 7, §17, of the Texas Constitution to fund capital im-
provements and capital equipment for institutions not included in the
Permanent University Fund.

(18) [(5)] Independent institution of higher education--A
private or independent college or university as defined in Texas Edu-
cation Code, §61.003(15), that is:

(A) organized under the Texas Non-Profit Corporation
Act;

(B) exempt from taxation under Article VIII, §2, of the
Texas Constitution and §501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; and

(C) accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

(19) [46)] Institution of Higher Education or Institution-
-Any public technical institute, public junior college, public senior
college or university, medical or dental unit, public state college, or
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other agency of higher education as defined in Texas Education Code,
§61.003.

(20) [ED] Institutional Expenditures--All costs of activi-
ties separately organized and operated in connection with instructional
departments primarily for the purpose of giving professional training
to students as a necessary part of the educational work of the related
departments.

(21) [(48)] Institutional Funds--Fees, gifts, grants, con-
tracts, and patient revenue, not appropriated by the legislature.

(22) [E9] Local Funds--Tuition, certain fees, and other
educational and general revenue appropriated by the legislature.

(23) [ 28] National Association of College and Univer-
sity Business Officers (NACUBO)--Provides guidance in business op-
erations of higher education institutions.

(24) [21B)] Permanent University Fund (PUF)--A fund es-
tablished in Article 7, §11, of the Texas Constitution to fund capital
improvements and capital equipment at certain institutions of higher
education.

Publie State College; or Public Two-Year College—-Any public junior
college; public community ecollege; public technical eollege; or publie
state eollege as defined in Texas Education Code; §61-003-1

(25) Public Junior College--A public institution of higher

education as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(2).

(26) Public State College--Any public state college as de-
fined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(16).

(27) _ Public Technical Institute--Any public technical insti-
tute as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(7), excluding Lamar
Institute of Technology.

(28) Public Two-year College--Any public junior college,
public community college, public technical institute, or public state
college.

(29) [€3)] Semester Credit Hour (SCH)--A unit of mea-
sure of instruction consisting of 60 minutes, of which 50 minutes must
be direct instruction, over a 15-week period in a semester system or a
10-week period in a quarter system.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303133

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. FINANCIAL REPORTING
19 TAC §13.62

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts on an emergency basis the repeal of Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter D,

§13.62, concerning updates to a manual for community college
annual financial reports.

The Coordinating Board adopts the repeal on an emergency ba-
sis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules re-
quired for the state fiscal year beginning September 1, 2023,
on an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, the Coordinating Board plans to repeal this rule and
replace it with a new consolidated community college data re-
porting rule in coordination with changes made by Tex. H.B. 8,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023). The Coordinating Board also intends to
adopt new rules pertaining to community college financial report-
ing.

Rule 13.62 concerns annual updates to the community college
annual financial report manual and its content. Concurrent with
other changes made to the Texas Administrative Code related to
H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), the provisions of this rule are be-
ing merged with others pertaining to financial reporting by com-
munity colleges in a different subchapter.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

The public benefit anticipated as the result of adopting this rule is
updating the Texas Administrative Code to have topically consis-
tent organization in relation to the adoption of Tex. H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023). There are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state’s economy.

The repeal is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas Ed-
ucation Code, Section 61.065, that provides the Coordinating
Board with the authority to prescribe uniform financial reporting
guidelines.
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The repeal affects Texas Education Code, Section 61.065.
§13.62.  Community Colleges.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303135

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

19 TAC §13.63

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts amended rules on an emergency basis in Texas
Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter D,
§13.63, concerning requirements for community college finan-
cial reporting.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning September 1, 2023,
on an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, the Coordinating Board plans to amend this rule
and move community college-related provisions to a new con-
solidated community college data reporting rule in coordination
with changes made by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). The
Coordinating Board also intends to adopt new rules pertaining to
community college financial reporting.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
there would be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. There
are no estimated reductions in costs to the state and to local
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

The public benefit anticipated as the result of adopting this rule is
updating the Texas Administrative Code to have topically consis-
tent organization in relation to the adoption of Tex. H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023). There are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed.

Government Growth Impact Statement
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or
elimination of employee positions;

(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state’s economy.

The amendment is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas
Education Code, Section 61.065, that provides the Coordinating
Board with the authority to proscribe uniform financial reporting
guidelines.

The amendment affects Texas Education Code, §61.065.
§13.63. Additional Financial Information Reporting.

(a) Each university system, general academic institution, tech-
nical or state college, and health-related institution shall provide to the
Board financial data related to the operation of each system office and
institution. This information should be reported in the Board's annual
report of financial activity by fund group.

by Each community college shall continue to provide to the
Board financial data related to the operation of each community/junior

(b) [€e)] Each system office and institution of higher education,
except public junior colleges, shall provide the report no later than Jan-
uary 1 of each year using the specific content and format prescribed by
the Board.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303134

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER P. COMMUNITY COLLEGE
FINANCE PROGRAM
19 TAC §§13.470 - 13.477

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts new rules on an emergency basis in Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter P,
§§13.470 - 13.477, concerning the new community college fi-
nance system established by H.B. 8.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
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agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, this new sections will implement the new community
college finance system established by Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023).

Rule 13.470, Purpose, establishes the purpose of subchapter P
to govern the implementation of the community college finance
system.

Rule 13.471, Authority, establishes the portions of Texas Educa-
tion Code (TEC) that authorize the Coordinating Board to adopt
rules pertaining to community college finance.

Rule 13.472, Definitions, lists definitions pertinent to the commu-
nity college finance system.

Paragraphs (1), (2), and (13) define student weights as required
by Sections 130A.054 and 130A.101 of H.B. 8 for use in the cal-
culation of the base and performance tier. Economic disadvan-
tage is based on the student's receipt of federal Pell grant funding
due to that program's need-based design, which includes rigor-
ous documentation of student needs and family resources, and
academic disadvantage is based on the student's determination
of college readiness, as measured through the Texas Success
Initiative assessments. Adult learners are defined as students
aged 25 years or older, in accordance with H.B. 8 requirements.

Paragraphs (7) - (9), (15), (21), and (26) provide definitions for
terms (base year, basic allotment, census date, full-time student
equivalent (FTSE), local share, weighted FTSE used in the cal-
culation of the base tier, defined in paragraph (6), which mea-
sures a college's instruction and operations (1&0) needs based
on their weighted FTSEs and the number of contact hours they
delivered in the most recent academic terms (the "base year").

Paragraph (27) defines weighted outcome completions as the
count of designated student outcomes that have been weighted
by student characteristics. This provides the basis for the al-
location of funding under the performance tier, which is further
refined by the below definition paragraphs.

Paragraphs (3) - (5), (11), (18) - (20), and (23) provide definitions
of credential types, or associated requirements, that may be el-
igible for purposes of performance tier funding. The definitions
tie to paragraph (16), fundable credentials, which further refines
what credential types, including associate, baccalaureate de-
grees, certain certificates, Occupational Skills Awards (OSAs),
and Institutional Credential Leading to Licensure or Certification
(ICLC) may receive funding. In alignment with H.B. 8, all fund-
able credentials will meet the definition of credential of value.
The determination of "credential of value" for ICLCs is refined to
provide semester credit hour (SCH) thresholds for the creden-
tial as these are new credential types collected from the com-
munity colleges and providing thresholds ensures the Coordi-
nating Board is prioritizing credentials that are producing gradu-
ates who meet the state's workforce needs. The determination of
"credential of value" for OSAs is aligned to the definition of OSA,
which includes requirements that the credential meet workforce
needs.

Paragraph (10) defines a credential of value as credentials that
will provide a positive return-on-investment within 10 years (on
average), such that cumulative earnings exceed initial invest-
ment, for baccalaureate, associate, and certificate degree pro-
grams. This definition is aligned with and implements the Coor-
dinating Board's long range master plan for higher education by
using data to determine whether a student is better off after earn-

ing the credential, inclusive of their costs of attendance, than a
comparable student who earned only a high school diploma. The
purpose is to incentivize institutions to strongly consider work-
force needs and student's long term economic and social suc-
cess in making decisions regarding program offerings, student
services, and other key areas.

Paragraph (17) defines high demand fields in alignment with the
recommendations of the last Community and Technical College
Formula Advisory Committee. This list derives from an analysis
of state and regional workforce trends based on higher education
regions in the state. This list includes fields associated with an
occupation on 7 of 10 regional lists of the top 25 occupations by
projected 10-year growth and the fields associated with every
region's top 5 occupations by projected 10-year growth. The list
also includes any field previously funded as a "critical field" by
the legislature in the fiscal year 2022-23 success point formula
to help transition community colleges to the new methodology.

Paragraph (12) defines eligibility for a dual credit or dual
enrollment fundable outcome to receive funding through the
performance tier. The definition provides that all statutorily fund-
able SCHs of dual credit or dual enrollment may count towards
the achievement of 15 SCHs applicable to an academic or
workforce requirement at the postsecondary level. Aligning with
statutory funding eligibility requirements increases the likelihood
that these courses will result in meaningful progress towards
postsecondary credentials while encouraging community col-
leges to transition to a system in which dual credit/enroliment
students take a structured sequence of courses that enhances
timely progress towards an academic or workforce credential.
The Coordinating Board anticipates that this definition will be
further refined as additional data become available in future
years.

Paragraphs (24) and (25) define eligibility for a student's
achievement of a structured co-enrollment or transfer fundable
outcome. These outcomes may receive funding through the
performance tier and the definitions align with the requirements
in Section 130A.101, as added by H.B. 8.

Paragraphs (14) and (22) define formula and non-formula sup-
port, respectively, based on the method of determining the fund-
ing provided to the community college.

Rule 13.473, Base Tier Allotment, establishes the calculations
used to determine Base Tier funding that the legislature entitled
community colleges to receive under TEC, Sections 130A.051
- 130A.056. To summarize, Base Tier funding is calculated as
Instruction and Operations (1&0) minus Local Share. If Local
Share is greater than Instruction and Operations, then Base Tier
funding is zero.

Specifically, Rule 13.473(b) establishes the Instruction and
Operations funding amount, corresponding to TEC, Section
130A.052, as Contact Hour Funding plus the product of the
Weighted Full Time Student Equivalents (Weighted FTSE)
multiplied by Basic Allotment. The rule explicitly defines the
calculations used to derive Full Time Student Equivalents based
on contact hour and SCHs reported to the Coordinating Board
by community college districts. Hours reported are weighted by
student characteristics as instructed by TEC, Section 130A.054,
at levels based on the higher cost of educating students with
certain characteristics (e.g., adult learners are weighted the
highest due to the higher cost of educating the student). In ac-
cordance with TEC, Section 130A.055, the rule defines Contact
Hour Funding as the Institution's reported base year contact
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hours, weighted by the average cost to provide each contact
hour in each discipline as defined in the Report of Fundable
Operating Expenses. The Basic Allotment amount and contact
hour funding amount are derived based on the Fiscal Year 2024
appropriations for the Base Tier as provided by the General
Appropriations Act for the 2024-25 Biennium, in accordance
with TEC, Sections 130A.053 and 130A.055.

Rule 13.473 establishes Local Share as the amount of main-
tenance and operations ad valorem tax revenue generated by
$0.05 per $100 of taxable property value in a college's taxing
district plus the amount of tuition and fee revenue that would
be generated by charging the average amount of tuition and
fees charged by community colleges districts in the state of
Texas to each in-district FTSE, in accordance with TEC, Section
130A.056. Specifically, the Coordinating Board will calculate
estimated tax revenue for each district as the actual amount
of current tax revenue collected in Fiscal Year 2022 multiplied
by the ratio of the maintenance and operations tax rate to
the total tax rate, divided by the product of the maintenance
and operations tax rate and 100 and multiplied by five. This
estimation takes into account that not all property taxes owed
are able to be collected by the institutions due to delinquent
or late collections over which the institutions have no control.
The Coordinating Board will estimate tuition and fee revenue
by summing 1) the average of tuition and fees charged by
community colleges to in-district students in fiscal year 2021,
as reported by the federal Integrated Postsecondary Education
Data System, multiplied by non-dual credit or dual enrollment
FTSEs In FY22 and 2) the amount of tuition set per SCH for the
Financial Aid for Swift Transfer (FAST) program, multiplied by
dual credit or dual enrollment SCHs in FY22. Using the average
tuition and fee rate specific to in-district students avoids unduly
penalizing colleges that have above-average percentages of
in-district students and/or that provide substantial discounts to
their in-district students, Using the two different tuition rates,
depending on the type of student, provides further equity in
the method of estimating tuition and fee revenue across the
community college districts by avoiding an undue penalty on
colleges participating in the FAST program and those with
higher percentages of dual credit or dual enroliment students,
regardless of their participation in FAST.

Rule 13.474, Performance Tier Funding, establishes the calcu-
lations used to determine Performance Tier Funding, which the
Legislature entitled community colleges to receive under TEC,
Section 130A.101. The rule lists those outcomes that merit
performance funding and the student characteristics that garner
added funding at levels in alignment with those set for the base
tier funding pursuant to TEC, Section 130A.001.

The rule establishes values for the fundable outcomes, which are
derived based on appropriations made in the 2024-25 General
Appropriations Act for the Performance Tier strategy.

Funding is set $3,500 per outcome for transfer and structured
co-enroliment fundable outcomes, certificates awarded in a high-
demand field, and associate or baccalaureate degrees not in a
high-demand field. The equal funding rate across these out-
comes reflects the great benefit they confer to students and to
the state as well as the importance of institutions' ability to im-
partially guide and assist students in pursuing different forms of
valuable success.

Completion of dual credit or dual enroliment fundable outcomes
are set at a lower amount, $1,700, due to the additional funding
institutions will receive via participation in the FAST program; the

fact that these outcomes do not involve conferral of a credential
or enrollment in a baccalaureate program; and the tendency of
these courses to be lower-division academic courses with below-
average cost of delivery.

Across all credentials, high-demand fields receive higher funding
rates to incentivize institutions to develop and grow programs in
areas more closely aligned with the current and future workforce
needs of the state.

Rule 13.475, Formula Transition Funding, establishes that after
calculating the base tier and performance tier funding for each
community college, the Coordinating Board shall ensure that a
community college district does not receive less in formula fund-
ing in FY 2024 than it received in FY 2023 appropriations for for-
mula funding (contact hours, success points, core operations,
and bachelor's of applied technology funding) and need based
supplements. The Coordinating Board judges this provision to
be necessary to smooth the transition from the prior system of
formula funding predominantly based on contact hour genera-
tion to the new system of performance-based funding. Including
this provision ensures that no institution will experience as sig-
nificant detrimental impact on its operations as the new system
adjusts funding and moves to outcome-driven performance.

Rule 13.476, Payment Schedule, sets out both the payment
schedule for non-formula support items and the payment sched-
ule (three times per year) at which the Coordinating Board will
make formula funding payments to each institution as autho-
rized by TEC, Section 130.0031, as amended by Tex. H.B. 8,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023). The Coordinating Board shall pay all
non-formula support item amounts to the institution by Septem-
ber 25th of a fiscal year, in accordance with the requirements
in the 2024-25 General Appropriations Act (Article 1X, Section
18.04 Contingency for House Bill 8(a)(4)). For FY24, the first
payment is 50% of the total formula funding entitlement, 25%
for the second payment and the final payment. Institutional
stakeholders suggested that the Coordinating Board should
make the first payment 50% in recognition that a college dis-
trict's expenses are weighted towards the start of the fiscal year
and to smooth the transition from the prior payment schedule
that historically provided 48% of funding to a community college
district by October 25

Rule 13.477, Close Out, establishes the final process the Coordi-
nating Board shall undertake to finalize the prior fiscal year's for-
mula funding for community colleges. The Coordinating Board
shall review and verify distributions made to the community col-
leges in the prior fiscal year and, if necessary, adjust a com-
munity college's first payment of the next fiscal year to correct
funding, as needed, in accordance with TEC, Section 130A.009.
TEC, Section 130.0031, authorizes the Coordinating Board to
make adjustments to the installment payments within the fiscal
year to ensure the Coordinating Board delivers the correct fund-
ing to each institution. The Close Out process caps the final
adjustment to payments that occur based on the outcomes, cer-
tified reported data, and funding made to each institution to the
fiscal year. Subsequent to Close Out, the Coordinating Board
will use the adjustment and overallocation process under Texas
Administrative Code, subchapter R, of this chapter to make any
further adjustments to funding that was owed for a Closed Out
fiscal year. Specification of this process by rule ensures that
each institution has notice of the Coordinating Board's determi-
nation that funding has been fully delivered for that year.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years the sections are in effect
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there may be fiscal implications for state or local governments
as a result of enforcing or administering the rules, as required to
implement the new public junior college finance system estab-
lished by H.B. 8. Such ancillary fiscal implications may include
the need to collect and report additional data in order to obtain
additional outcome-based funding.

Fiscal implications of increased funding to institutions of higher
education are funded as part of the new public junior college
finance system in statute and the General Appropriations Act.
The rules do not impose additional costs of compliance beyond
those provided for in statute. There are no estimated reductions
in costs to the state and to local governments as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rule. There are no estimated losses
or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as
a result of enforcing or administering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner for Funding, has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section is
in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of administer-
ing the section will be the implementation of H.B. 8, which estab-
lishes a modern and dynamic finance system that ensures each
public junior college has access to adequate state appropriations
and local resources to support the education and training of the
workforce. There are no anticipated economic costs to persons
who are required to comply with the sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement

(1) the rules will create or a government program, as required by
House Bill 8;

(2) implementation of the rules will require the creation or elimi-
nation of employee positions, as required by House Bill 8;

(3) implementation of the rules may require an increase or de-
crease in future legislative appropriations to the agency, as pro-
vided in House BiIll 8;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to
the rule; and

(8) the rules will affect this state's economy.

The new sections are adopted on an emergency bases under
Texas Education Code, Section 130A.005, which provides the
Coordinating Board with the authority to adopt rules and take
other actions consistent with Texas Education Code, Chapter 61,
Chapter 130, and Chapter 130A to implement Tex. H.B. 8, 88th
Leg., R.S. (2023). In addition, Texas Education Code, Section
130.355, permits the Coordinating Board to establish rules for
funding workforce continuing education.

The new sections affect Texas Education Code, Sections
28.0295, 61.003, 61.059, 130.003, 130.0031, 130.0034,
130.008, 130.085, 130.310, 130.352 and Chapter 130A.
$13.470.  Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to implement the Community College

§13.471.  Authority.

The Coordinating Board adopts this subchapter pursuant to Texas Ed-
ucation Code, §130A.005, requiring the Coordinating Board to adopt
rules to implement the Community College Finance Program created
in Texas Education Code, Chapters 61, 130, and 130A.

$13.472.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings:

(1) Academically Disadvantaged--A designation that ap-
plies to postsecondary students who have not met the college-readiness
standard in one or more Texas Success Initiative (TSI) assessments as
provided by chapter 4, subchapter C, §4.57 of this title (relating to Col-
lege Ready Standards), and who were not classified as either waived or
exempt pursuant to chapter 4, subchapter C, §4.54 of this title (relating
to Exemptions, Exceptions, and Waivers).

(2) Adult Learner--A student aged 25 or older on Septem-
ber 1 of the fiscal year for which the applicable data are reported, in
accordance with Coordinating Board data reporting requirements.

(3) Advanced Technical Certificate (ATC)--A certificate
that has a specific associate or baccalaureate degree or junior level
standing in a baccalaureate degree program as a prerequisite for
admission. An ATC consists of at least 16 semester credit hours (SCH)
and no more than 45 SCH and must be focused, clearly related to the
prerequisite degree, and justifiable to meet industry or external agency

requirements.
(4) Associate Degree--An academic associate degree as de-

fined under Texas Education Code, §61.003(11), or an applied associate
degree as defined under Texas Education Code, §61.003(12)(B).

(5) Baccalaureate Degree--A degree program that includes
any grouping of subject matter courses consisting of at least 120 SCH
which, when satisfactorily completed by a student, will entitle that stu-
dent to an undergraduate degree from a public junior college.

(6) Base Tier Funding--The amount of state and local fund-
ing determined by the Board for each public junior college that ensures
the college has access to a defined level of funding for instruction and

operations.

(7) Base Year--The time period comprising the year of con-
tact hours used for calculating the contact hour funding to public junior
colleges. A base year includes certified contact hours reported in the
Summer 1, Summer 2, and Fall of the prior calendar year and Spring of
the current calendar year relative to September 1st of the current fiscal

year.

(8) Basic Allotment--A dollar value per Weighted FTSE,
as determined by the Legislature, based on appropriations made in that
biennium's General Appropriations Act.

(9) Census Date--The date upon which a college may re-
port a student in attendance for the purposes of formula funding, as
specified in the Coordinating Board Management (CBM) manual for
the year in which the funding is reported.

(10) Credential of Value--A credential earned by a student
that would be expected to provide a positive return on investment. A
positive return on investment is met when a typical student completing
the credential is expected to earn cumulative wages greater than the
cumulative median earnings of an average Texas high school graduate,
plus recouping the net cost of attendance within ten years after earning
the credential. This calculation shall include the student's opportunity

Finance Program authorized by Texas Education Code, Chapters 61,

cost, calculated as the difference between median earnings for a typi-

130, and 130A.

cal Texas high school graduate and typical earnings for students while
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enrolled for four years for baccalaureate degree holders, two years for

the most current fiscal year, that is otherwise eligible for funding, and

associate degree holders, and one year for holders of a Level 1 certifi-

the institution reported and certified to the Coordinating Board:

cate, Level 2 certificate, or Advanced Technical Certificate. The Coor-
dinating Board shall calculate the expected return on investment based
on the data available to the agency for the funding year. The calcula-
tion shall include the most current available data for each program or
a comparable program.

(11) Credentialing examination--A licensure, certification,
or registration exam provided by a state or national agency or by pro-
fessional organization.

(12) Dual Credit or Dual Enrollment Fundable Out-
come--A student who has earned at least 15 SCH or the equivalent of
state-funded dual credit or dual enrollment courses that apply toward

(i) An associate degree;

(ii) A baccalaureate degree;
(iii) A Level 1 or Level 2 Certificate; and
(iv) An Advanced Technical Certificate.

(B) An Occupational Skills Award awarded by an in-
stitution that the institution reported and certified to the Board during

fiscal year 2023; or

(C) An Institutional Credential Leading to Licensure or
Certification (ICLC) not included in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph

an academic or workforce program requirement at the postsecondary

and that the institution reported and certified to the Coordinating Board

level. For the purpose of this subchapter, the term "dual credit or

during fiscal year 2023, that meets one of the following criteria:

dual enrollment fundable outcome" includes the following fundable
courses taken for college credit by a high school student who has not
yet received a high school diploma:

(A) Any course taken for dual credit that is within the
core curriculum of the college that is providing the course;

(B) A course in a Coordinating Board-established field
of study curriculum under Texas Education Code, §61.823, or program
of study curriculum under Texas Education Code, §61.8235;

(C) Career and technical education courses that apply
to a certificate or associate degree offered by the institution providing
the credit;

(D) Foreign language courses;

(E) All courses taken by students enrolled in an ap-
proved Early College High School program, with the exception of
the physical education courses taken by high school students for high

(i) The credential includes no fewer than 144 contact
hours or nine (9) semester credit hours; or

(ii) The credential is awarded in a high demand field,
as defined in Board rule, and includes no fewer than 80 contact hours
or five (5) semester credit hours; or

(iii) A licensure or certification earned by a student
who did not receive a credential if the student:

(1) earned the licensure or certification as the re-
sult of the student's successful passage of a credentialing examination
for a licensure or certification, while or after being enrolled in one of
the institution's Institutional Credentials Leading to Licensure or Certi-
fication (ICLC) programs that would qualify for funding under clauses
(i) or (ii) of this subparagraph; and

(1l) earned the licensure or certification not later
than twelve months after the student's enrollment in the ICLC program

school physical education credit; and

(F) A course taken for college credit only by a student
who is also enrolled in high school but does not yet have a high school

for which the student earned the licensure or certification.

(17) High-Demand Fields--An academic discipline, de-
lineated by the federal Classification of Instructional Program (CIP)

diploma.

(13) Economically Disadvantaged--A designation that ap-
plies to postsecondary students who received the federal Pell Grant un-
der 20 U.S.C. §1070a.

(14) Formula Funding--The funding allocated by the Coor-
dinating Board among all public junior colleges by applying provisions
of the Texas Education Code, agency rule, and the General Appropri-
ations Act to a sector-wide appropriation from the General Appropria-
tions Act.

(15) Full-Time Student Equivalent (FTSE)--A synthetic
measure of enrollment based on the number of instructional hours

code, that the Coordinating Board has approved for inclusion on a
published list of High-Demand Fields, available at https://www.high-
ered.texas.gov/our-work/supporting-our-institutions/community-col-

lege-finance/high-demand-fields/, based on their satisfaction of either:

(A) Inclusion on the list of Critical Fields employed for
the purpose of determining formula funding allocations under the Stu-
dent Success strategy in the 2022-2023 General Appropriations Act; or

(B) Appearing on the list of CIP codes resulting from
the following methodology completed in Fall 2021:

(i) Extracting the top 25 occupations for each higher
education region as ranked by their ten-year projected number of new

delivered by an institution of higher education divided by the number

openings, after having excluded those with an average wage less than

of hours associated with full-time enrollment for the time period in

the statewide median wage and those with a typical entry credential

question.

(16) Fundable Credential--A Fundable Credential counts
toward Weighted Outcome Completions as defined in paragraph (27)
of'this section. For the purpose of funding delivered in fiscal year 2024,
a fundable credential is defined as any of the following, except that, for

other than "Some college, no degree", "Postsecondary non-degree
award", and "Associate degree", from the texaslmi.com website
maintained by the Texas Workforce Commission;

(ii) Placing occupations appearing on at least seven
of the ten resulting regional lists on a statewide list;

credentials under subparagraph (B) or (C) of this paragraph, if more
than one credential that the institution awarded to a student includes
the same contact hours, the institution may only submit one credential
for funding under subparagraph (B) or (C) of this paragraph.

(A) Any of the following credentials awarded by an in-
stitution that meets the criteria of a credential of value as defined in
paragraph (10) of this section using the methodology established for

(iii)  Adding to the statewide list any occupations ap-
pearing among the top five of one or more regional list but not yet on
the statewide list; and

(iv)  Generating a list of CIP codes populated by each
four-digit CIP code associated with an occupation on the statewide
list per the crosswalk promulgated by the National Center for Edu-
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cation Statistics of the U.S. Department of Education, which as of

binding written agreement between a general academic teaching insti-

the effective date of this rule is available at the following address:

tution and a community college. Under such a program, students will

https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/cipcode/post3.aspx?y=56.

(18) Institutional Credentials Leading to Licensure or Cer-
tification (ICLC)--A credential awarded by an institution upon a stu-
dent's completion of a course or series of courses that represent the

be admitted to both institutions and recognized as having matriculated
to both institutions concurrently.

(25) Transfer Fundable Outcome--A student who enrolls in
a general academic teaching institution, as defined in Texas Education

achievement of identifiable skill proficiency and leading to licensure or

Code, §61.003, after earning at least 15 semester credit hours from a

certification. This definition includes a credential that meets the defi-

single public junior college district during the period including the fis-

nition of an Occupational Skills Award in all respects except that the

cal year in which they enroll at the general academic teaching institu-

program did not obtain the required Workforce Development Board ap-

tion and the four fiscal years prior.

proval.
(19) Level 1 Certificate--A certificate designed to provide

(26) Weighted Full-Time Student Equivalent (Weighted
FTSE or WFTSE)--A synthetic measure of enrollment equal to the

the necessary academic skills and the workforce skills, knowledge, and

number of instructional hours delivered by an institution of higher

abilities necessary to attain entry-level employment or progression to-

education divided by the number of hours associated with full-time

ward a Level 2 Certificate or an Applied Associate Degree, with at least

enrollment for the time period in question, where the hours delivered

50% of course credits drawn from a single technical specialty. A Level

to students with certain characteristics carry a value other than one.

1 Certificate must be designed for a student to complete in one calendar
year or less time and consists of at least 15 semester credit hours and
no more than 42 semester credit hours.

(20) Level 2 Certificate--A certificate consisting of at least

(27) Weighted Outcomes Completion--A synthetic count
of completions of designated student success outcomes where out-
comes achieved by students with certain characteristics carry a value
other than one. The synthetic count may also represent a calculation,

30 semester credit hours and no more than 51 semester credit hours.

such as an average or maximizing function, other than a simple sum.

Students enrolled in Level 2 Certificates must demonstrate meeting col-
lege readiness standards set forth in chapter 4, subchapter C, §4.57 of
this title (relating to College Ready Standards) and other eligibility re-
quirements determined by the institution.

(21) Local Share--The amount determined to be the insti-
tution's contribution of local funds to the Instruction and Operations
(1&0) amount for each public junior college. The amount consists of
estimated ad valorem maintenance and operations tax revenue and tu-
ition and fees revenue, as determined by the Board.

(22) Non-Formula Support Item--An amount appropriated
by line item in the General Appropriations Act to a single public junior
college or limited group of colleges for a specific, named purpose.

(23) Occupational Skills Award--A sequence of courses
that meet the minimum standard for program length specified by the
Texas Workforce Commission for the federal Workforce Innovation
and Opportunity Act (WIOA) program (9-14 SCH for credit courses
or 144-359 contact hours for workforce continuing education courses).
An OSA must possess the following characteristics:

(A) The credential is TSI-waived under chapter 4, sub-
chapter C, §4.54 of this title;

(B) The content of the credential must be recommended
by an external workforce advisory committee, or the occupation must
appear on the Local Workforce Development Board's Demand Occu-

pations list;

(C) In most cases, the credential should be composed
of Workforce Education Course Manual (WECM) courses only. How-
ever, non-stratified academic courses may be used occasionally if rec-
ommended by the external committee and if appropriate for the content
of the credential;

(D) The credential complies with the Single Course De-
livery guidelines for WECM courses; and

(E) The credential prepares students for employment in
accordance with guidelines established for WIOA.

(24) Structured Co-Enrollment Fundable Outcome--A stu-
dent who earns at least 15 semester credit hours at the junior college dis-
trict in a Coordinating Board-recognized program structured through a

§13.473.  Base Tier Allotment.

(a) Board staff will calculate Base Tier funding for each pub-
lic junior college district (district) as the greater of the Instruction and
Operations (1&0) amount minus Local Share and zero.

(b) A district's I&0O amount is the sum of the number of
Weighted Full-Time Student Equivalents (Weighted FTSE) enrolled
at the district multiplied by the Basic Allotment amount of $1,275
and the district's total Contact Hour Funding as determined by the
Coordinating Board.

(1) Weighted FTSE for each district is the sum of the dis-
trict's full-time student equivalents weighted for the student character-
istics under §13.473(b)(1)(B) of this section and the scale adjustment
as provided in Texas Education Code, §130A.054.

(A) For purposes of determining annual Weighted
FTSE as a component of Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 formula funding under
this section, a district's full-time student equivalents (FTSE) is equal
to the sum of:

(i) the total semester credit hours in which for-credit
students were enrolled at the district as of the census dates of all aca-
demic semesters or other academic terms that were reported for FY

2022, divided by 30; and

(ii) _the total contact hours in which continuing edu-
cation students were enrolled at the district as of the census dates of all

academic semesters or other academic terms that were reported for FY

2022, divided by 900.

(B) The Coordinating Board shall additively weight the
calculation of Weighted FTSE as follows:

(i) if a student is classified as economically disad-
vantaged during FY 2022, FTSE generated by that student shall have

an additional value of 25%;

(ii) _if a student is classified as academically disad-
vantaged during FY 2022, FTSE generated by that student shall have

an additional value of 25%; and

(iii) if a student is classified as an adult learner dur-
ing FY 2022, FTSE generated by that student shall have an additional

value of 50%.
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(C) The Coordinating Board calculates a district's scale

Base Tier Allotment), as follows to calculate Weighted Outcome

adjustment weight as the greater of the difference between 5,000 and

Completions.

the number of FTSE as defined in §13.473(b)(1)(A) of this section mul-
tiplied by .40, and zero.

(2) For the purpose of calculating FY 2024 formula fund-

(1)  When an outcome is achieved by a student classified
as economically disadvantaged, that outcome shall have an additional
value of 25%.

ing amounts, Coordinating Board staff will calculate Contact Hour
Funding for a public junior college district by first multiplying the num-
ber of reported certified fundable contact hours generated by the district
in each discipline during the 2023 Base Year, consisting of the Summer
Iand IT 2022, Fall 2022, and Spring 2023 academic terms, by the aver-
age cost of delivery per contact hour for each discipline respectively as
described in the Report of Fundable Operating Expenses for FY 2022
in accordance with subchapter R, §13.524(c) of this chapter (relating

(A) For purposes of calculating economically disadvan-
taged for transfer and credential fundable outcomes, the student must
be classified as economically disadvantaged at any point during the fis-
cal year in which the outcome was achieved or the four fiscal years
prior at the institution in which the outcome was achieved.

(B) For purposes of calculating economically disadvan-
taged for Structured Co-Enrollment Fundable Outcome, the student

to Required Reporting) and summing across all disciplines. Contact

must be classified as economically disadvantaged in the initial semester

hours attributable to students enrolled in a junior-level or senior-level

of enrollment in the Structured Co-Enrollment Program at either the

course are weighed in the same manner as a lower division course in a

community college or general academic institution.

corresponding field. That sum will then be multiplied by 21.3%, which
is a rate derived from appropriations made for Base Tier Funding in the
2024-2025 General Appropriations Act, to calculate the district's Con-

tact Hour Funding.
(c) For the purpose of calculating FY 2024 formula funding

amounts, the Local Share for each public junior college district equals
the sum of:

(1) the estimated amount of revenue that would have been

(2)  When an outcome is achieved by a student classified
as academically disadvantaged, that outcome shall have an additional
value of 25%.

(A) For purposes of calculating academically disadvan-
taged for transfer and credential fundable outcomes, the student must
be classified as academically disadvantaged at any point during the fis-
cal year in which the outcome was achieved or the four fiscal years
prior at the institution in which the outcome was achieved.

generated by the district if it had assessed a $0.05 maintenance and
operations ad valorem tax on each $100 of taxable property value in its
taxing district, as reported under subchapter R, §13.524 of this chapter,
which the Coordinating Board will calculate as the district's current tax
collection for FY 2022 multiplied by the ratio of the maintenance and
operations tax rate to the total tax rate, divided by the product of the
maintenance and operations tax rate and 100 and multiplied by five;
and

(2) the amount of tuition and fee revenue calculated as the

sum of:

(A) the district's FY 2022 FTSE as defined in
§13.473(b)(1)(A) of this section, except for semester credit hours
derived from students enrolled in dual credit or dual enrollment
courses, multiplied by $2,828, which is the FY 2021 statewide average

(B) For purposes of calculating academically disadvan-
taged for Structured Co-Enrollment Fundable Outcome, the student
must be classified as academically disadvantaged in the initial semester
of enrollment in the Structured Co-Enrollment Program at the institu-
tion in which the outcome was achieved.

(3) When an outcome is achieved by a student classified as
an Adult Learner, that outcome shall have an additional value of 50%.

(A) For purposes of calculating an Adult Learner for a
transfer fundable outcome, the student must be classified as an Adult
Learner in the year of last enrollment at the community college district
prior to the transfer to a general academic institution.

(B) For purposes of calculating an Adult Learner for a
fundable credential, the student must be classified as an Adult Learner

of tuition and fees assessed to full-time students residing within the

in the fiscal year in which the fundable credential was awarded.

district of the public junior college they attend; and

(B) the total semester credit hours of dual credit or dual

(C) For purposes of calculating an Adult Learner for
Structured Co-Enrollment Fundable Outcome, the student must be

enrollment courses in which students were enrolled as of the census

classified as an Adult Learner in the initial semester of enrollment in

dates of all academic semesters or other academic terms that were re-

the Structured Co-Enrollment Program at the institution in which the

ported in FY 2022, multiplied by $55, which is the dollar amount per

outcome was achieved.

dual credit semester credit hour determined by the Coordinating Board
pursuant to Texas Education Code, §28.0095.

§13.474.  Performance Tier Funding.

(a) Each public junior college district shall receive Perfor-
mance Tier funding under Texas Education Code, Chapter 130A,
Subchapter C. The Coordinating Board shall calculate a district's Per-
formance Tier funding as the sum of Weighted Outcome Completions
multiplied by the respective funded values of the outcomes.

(b) For the purposes of calculating formula funding amounts
for Fiscal Year (FY) 2024, the Coordinating Board shall fund the
Weighted Outcome Completions described below as follows:

Figure: 19 TAC §13.474(b)

(c) For the purposes of calculating formula funding amounts

(d) For the purposes of calculating Weighted Outcome Com-
pletions for formula funding amounts for FY 2024, the Coordinating
Board shall calculate the funded number of Weighted Outcome Com-
pletions as the greater of the average of the district's Weighted Outcome
Completion counts for FY 2020, FY 2021, and FY 2022 and the dis-
trict's count for FY 2022.

§13.475.  Formula Transition Funding.

In FY 2024, for purposes of transitioning to the new formula model, if
the sum of a public junior college district's Base and Performance Tier
funding as calculated in §§13.473(a) and 13.474(a) of this subchapter
(relating to Base Tier Allotment and Performance Tier Funding, respec-
tively) would result in the district receiving less in General Revenue
formula funding than the district received through the sum of appropri-

for FY 2024, the Coordinating Board shall additively weight

ations made in the core operations strategy, student success strategy,

the calculation of outcomes in §§13.473(b)(2), 13.473(b)(3)(D),

contact hour funding strategy, and, if applicable, the need-based sup-

13.473(b)(3)(E), and 13.473(b)(3)(F) of this subchapter (relating to

plement and bachelor of applied technology strategies, as provided for
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FY 2023 in the 2022-23 General Appropriations Act, then the Coordi-
nating Board will add transitional funding in the amount of the differ-

(b) Ifthe Commissioner of Higher Education in his or her sole
discretion determines that an adjustment under §13.477(a) of this sec-

ence to the district's formula funding for FY 2024.

§13.476. Payment Schedule.

(a) Non-Formula Support Items. For the purpose of distribut-
ing state appropriations to a public junior college district in Fiscal Year
(FY) 2024, the Coordinating Board shall distribute the full amounts of
all FY 2024 non-formula support items to the district to which they are
appropriated in accordance with the provisions of the General Appro-
priations Act for 2024-2025 by September 25, 2023. The Coordinat-
ing Board shall recover any overallocation or adjust any installment
required to comply with state law or chapter 13 of this title (relating to
Financial Planning).

(b) Formula Funding Amounts: Fall. For the purpose of dis-
tributing state appropriations to a public junior college district in FY
2024, the Coordinating Board shall distribute to each district by Oc-
tober 15, 2023, one-half of the formula funding amount it determines
the district may be entitled to receive in FY 2024 pursuant to the pro-
visions of the General Appropriations Act for 2024-2025, Texas Edu-
cation Code, and all other pertinent statutes and rules.

(¢) Formula Funding Amounts: Spring. For the purpose of
distributing state appropriations to a public junior college district in
FY 2024, the Coordinating Board shall distribute to each district by
February 15, 2024, one-quarter of the formula funding amount it de-
termines the district may be entitled to receive in FY 2024 pursuant to
the provisions of the General Appropriations Act for 2024-2025, Texas
Education Code, and all other pertinent statutes and rules.

(d) Formula Funding Amounts: Summer. For the purpose of
distributing state appropriations to a public junior college district in FY
2024, the Coordinating Board shall distribute to each district by June
15, 2024, one-quarter of the formula funding amount it determines the
college may be entitled to receive in FY 2024 pursuant to the provi-
sions of the General Appropriations Act for 2024-2025, Texas Educa-
tion Code, and all other pertinent statutes and rules, and in odd-num-
bered years shall distribute the formula funding amount likewise de-
termined as soon as is practicable after June 15 in accordance with the
appropriations process.

(e) The Coordinating Board may modify any installment under
this schedule as necessary to provide an institution with the amounts to
which the institution is entitled under Texas Education Code, Chapters
130 and 130A, the General Appropriations Act, or chapter 13 of this
title.

§13.477.  Close Out.

(a) On October 1 of each year, the Coordinating Board shall
close out the prior fiscal year (FY) by reviewing, reconciling, and ver-
ifying distributions of formula funding to public junior colleges in the
prior fiscal year.

(1) As applicable, the Coordinating Board shall adjust a
public junior college's first payment under §13.477(b) of this section
by an amount necessary to deliver the correct funding owed to the pub-
lic junior college under Texas Education Code, Chapters 130 and 130A,
or this subchapter for the prior fiscal year.

(2) The Coordinating Board will determine the correct
funding for a public junior college based on the final certified data
reported by the institution that serves as the basis of formula funding
for that year, as provided by this chapter.

(3) This close out process may result in additional or re-
duced funding to the college based on the reported data and funding
delivered for the fiscal year that is being closed out.

tion will have a substantial negative impact on the operations of the
institution or the education of students, the Coordinating Board may
correct the institution's funding by recovering payments as an overal-
location pursuant to subchapter R, §13.528(d)(1) or (2) of this chap-
ter (relating to Recovery of Overallocated Funds). For the purpose of
FY24, the Coordinating Board will not adjust formula funding for a
public junior college for a fiscal year subsequent to close out except as
set out in this section and subchapter R of this chapter (relating to State
Public Junior College Finance Program Reporting, Audit, and Overal-

location).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303136

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER Q. FINANCIAL AID FOR
SWIFT TRANSFER (FAST) PROGRAM
19 TAC §§13.500 - 13.506

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts new rules on an emergency basis in Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter Q,
§8§13.500 - 13.506, concerning Financial Aid for Swift Transfer
(FAST) Program.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning Sept. 1, 2023, on
an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, these new sections will outline the authority and pur-
pose, definitions, institutional eligibility requirements, student el-
igibility requirements, tuition rate, funding formula, and the han-
dling of overallocations, which are necessary to administer the
FAST Program.

Rule 13.500 indicates the specific sections of the Texas Educa-
tion Code (TEC) that provide the agency with authority to issue
these rules, as well as the purpose of the FAST Program.

Rule 13.501 provides definitions for words and terms within
FAST rules. The definitions are adopted to provide clarity for
words and terms that are integral to the understanding and ad-
ministration of the FAST rules. This section is adopted based on
TEC. Section 28.0095(j), which directs the Coordinating Board
to adopt rules as necessary to implement the FAST Program.

Rule 13.502 outlines the requirements that institutions must ful-
fill to participate in the FAST Program. The requirements are
adopted to: (a) gather in one place both statutory requirements,
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such as the requirement that an institution must meet the defi-
nition of institution of higher education outlined in TEC, Section
61.003, and rule requirements implementing the FAST Program;
(b) clarify aspects of the statutory requirements, such as the in-
stitution's responsibility to provide dual credit coursework at no
cost to eligible students attending high school in Texas school
districts or charter schools; and (c) provide rules specific to re-
quirements the Coordinating Board is adopting to ensure effec-
tive administration of the FAST Program, such as the require-
ment that each participating institution enter into an agreement
with the Coordinating Board. This section is adopted based on
TEC, Section 28.0095(j), which directs the Board to adopt rules
as necessary to implement the FAST Program.

Rule 13.503 outlines the eligibility requirements that students
must meet to allow an institution to enroll the student in dual
credit coursework at no cost to the student under the FAST Pro-
gram. The requirements are adopted to: (a) gather in one place
the statutory requirements for the FAST Program, including the
requirements related to a student's enroliment and their prior sta-
tus as educationally disadvantaged; (b) clarify aspects of the
statutory requirements, such as the student needing to be en-
rolled in and eligible for Foundation School Program funding at
a high school in a Texas school district or charter school; and (c)
provide rules specific to requirements the Coordinating Board is
adopting to ensure effective administration of the FAST Program,
such as the requirement that school districts and charter schools
will fulfill their reporting requirements for the educationally disad-
vantaged status through notice to the Texas Education Agency.
This section is adopted based on TEC, Section 28.0095(j), which
directs the Coordinating Board to adopt rules as necessary to im-
plement the FAST Program.

Rule 13.504 sets the FAST maximum tuition rate for the 2023-
2024 academic year. The maximum tuition rate is set for the
2023-2024 via emergency rulemaking, based on a review of av-
erage dual credit tuition rates, to allow for the FAST Program to
begin in the fall 2023 semester. Future rulemaking will establish
the tuition rate for the 2024-2025 academic year and beyond.
TEC, Section 28.0095(d), directs the Coordinating Board to pre-
scribe the maximum tuition rate for the FAST Program in rule.

Rule 13.505 establishes the mechanisms by which the Coordi-
nating Board will disburse funding to each participating institution
to support their participation in the FAST Program, as well as the
institutions' participation in the process. The adopted rule pro-
vides the frequency of disbursements to each institution; the way
the disbursement amount will be calculated for each institution;
the data that will be used to complete the calculation; and the
way institutions will have the opportunity to review the calcula-
tion for accuracy. This section is adopted based on TEC, Section
28.0095(j), which directs the Coordinating Board to adopt rules
as necessary to implement the FAST Program.

Rule 13.506 references the overallocation rules for the FAST
Program. The rule acknowledges that the program is one as-
pect of the larger effort to provide funding to support institutions
in their work to successfully educate students and is thus sub-
ject to the overallocation rules outlined in Texas Administrative
Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter R. This section
is adopted based on TEC, Section 28.0095(j), which directs the
Coordinating Board to adopt rules as necessary to implement
the FAST Program.

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-
dent Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each of the

first five years the sections are in effect there may be fiscal im-
plications for state or local governments as a result of enforcing
or administering the rules, as required to implement the FAST
program. However, participation in the program is voluntary for
institutions of higher education. Fiscal implication of the potential
for increased funding to institutions of higher education is funded
as part of the FAST program in statute and the General Appropri-
ations Act. Additional ancillary costs to institutions that choose to
participate are assumed within the fiscal note for the legislation.
The rules do not impose additional costs of compliance beyond
those provided in statute. There are no estimated reductions in
costs to the state and to local governments as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the rule. There are no estimated losses or
increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a
result of enforcing or administering the rule.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-
dent Financial Aid Programs, has also determined that for each
year of the first five years the section is in effect, the public ben-
efit anticipated as a result of administering the section will be the
increase in the number of educationally disadvantaged students
who complete post-secondary coursework during high school,
thus accelerating the attainment of post-secondary credentials
necessary to support the Texas economy. Students and the state
may realize additional benefits as the risk of credits that will not
transfer to an institution of higher education is reduced. There
are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required
to comply with the sections as proposed. Participation in the
FAST program is voluntary. There are no anticipated economic
costs to persons who are required to comply with the sections
as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement

(1) the rules will create a government program required by House
Bill 8;

(2) implementation of the rules will require the creation of em-
ployee positions, as required by House Bill 8;

(3) implementation of the rules may require an increase or de-
crease in future legislative appropriations to the agency, as pro-
vided in House Bill 8;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will change the number of individuals subject to the
rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The new section is adopted on an emergency basis under Texas
Education Code, Section 28.0095, which provides the Coordi-
nating Board with the authority to adopt rules as necessary to
implement the FAST Program.

The new section affects Texas Education Code, Sections
28.0095 and 48.308.

§13.500.  Authority and Purpose.
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(a) Unless otherwise noted in a section, the authority for
these provisions is provided by Texas Education Code, §§28.0095 and

(1) is enrolled in and eligible for Foundation School Pro-
gram funding at a high school in a Texas school district or charter

48.308.

(b) This subchapter establishes rules relating to the administra-
tion of the Financial Aid for Swift Transfer (FAST) Program. The pro-

school under the rules of the Texas Education Agency;

(2) s enrolled in a dual credit course at a participating in-
stitution of higher education; and

gram provides institutions with funding to support their ability to allow
educationally disadvantaged students to enroll in dual credit course-
work at no cost to the student.

$13.501.  Definitions.

In addition to the words and terms defined in Texas Administrative
Code, §13.1 of this chapter (relating to Definitions) the following words
and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following mean-
ings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. In the event of con-
flict, the definitions in this subchapter shall control.

(1) Charter School--a public charter school authorized to
operate under Texas Education Code, Chapter 12.

(2) Dual Credit Course--a course offered for joint high
school and junior college credit under Texas Education Code,
§130.008, or another course offered by an institution of higher ed-
ucation, for which a high school student may earn credit toward
satisfaction of:

(A) arequirement necessary to obtain an industry-rec-

(3) was educationally disadvantaged at any time during the
four school years preceding the student's enrollment in the dual credit
course described by paragraph (2) of this subsection, as certified to the
institution by the eligible student's school district or charter school, or
other means authorized by rule.

(b) A school district's or charter school's notice to the insti-
tution regarding a student's status as educationally disadvantaged shall
occur through the school district's or charter school's notice to the Texas
Education Agency, unless otherwise provided by rule.

$13.504.  FAST Tuition.

The maximum tuition rate prescribed for a dual credit course through
this program is $55 per semester credit hour or equivalent of a semester
credit hour in the 2023-2024 academic year.

§13.505. FAST Funding Formula.

(a) Frequency of Disbursements. The Coordinating Board will
provide each participating institution with a disbursement for each fall,

ognized credential or certificate or an associate degree;

(B) a foreign language requirement at an institution of
higher education;
(C) arequirement in the core curriculum, as that term is

defined by Texas Education Code, §61.821, at an institution of higher
education; or

(D) arequirement in a field of study curriculum devel-

spring, and summer semester upon the certification of the institution's
eligible enrollments. The Coordinating Board will combine enrollment
periods under this subsection when a semester includes more than one
enrollment period (for example, a Summer 1 and a Summer 2 session).

(b) Disbursement Calculation. Each disbursement will equal
the amount outlined in §13.504 of this subchapter (relating to FAST Tu-
ition) for the relevant semester multiplied by the number of semester
credit hours or equivalent in which students who met the eligibility

oped by the coordinating board under Texas Education Code, §61.823.

criteria in §13.503 of this subchapter (relating to Eligible Students)

(3) Educationally disadvantaged--as defined in Texas Ed-
ucation Code, §5.001(4), eligible to participate in the national free or
reduced-price lunch program.

(4) Equivalent of a semester credit hour--16 contact hours.
(5) Program--the Financial Aid for Swift Transfer (FAST)

were enrolled in dual credit courses at the institution for the relevant
semester.

(c) Data Sources. The source of data for the disbursement cal-
culation will be reports collected by Board staff and certified by the
institution for the relevant semester which provide an eligible student's
dual credit enrollment in semester credit hours or their equivalent and

Program.
$13.502.  Eligible Institution.

(a) Any institution of higher education, as defined in Texas
Education Code, §61.003, is eligible to participate in the Program.

(b) A participating institution may not charge students attend-
ing high school in a Texas school district or charter school tuition for
dual credit courses in excess of the tuition rate outlined in §13.504 of
this subchapter (relating to FAST Tuition).

(c) A participating institution must ensure that an eligible stu-
dent incurs no cost for their enrollment in any dual credit course at the
institution. This includes, but is not limited to, tuition, fees, books,
supplies, or other course-related expenses. This subsection does not
prohibit a participating institution from charging a school district for
course-related expenses, other than tuition, for an eligible student.

(d) Agreement. Each eligible institution must enter into an
agreement with the Coordinating Board, the terms of which shall be
prescribed by the Commissioner prior to being approved to participate
in the program.
$13.503.  Eligible Students.

(a) A student is eligible to enroll at no cost to the student in a
dual credit course under the program if the student:

the student's PEIM identifier, combined with data regarding education-
ally disadvantaged students, as reported by Texas Education Agency,
unless otherwise provided by rule.

(d) Verification of Data. Board staff will share each semester's
calculation with the participating institution for comment and verifica-
tion prior to disbursement. The institution will be given ten business
days, beginning the day of the notice's distribution, and excluding State
holidays, to confirm that the calculation accurately reflects the data they
submitted or to advise Board staff of any inaccuracies.

$13.506.  Overallocation.

Funding provided to an institution under this subchapter shall be sub-
ject to subchapter R of this chapter (relating to State Public Junior Col-
lege Finance Program Reporting, Audit, and Overallocation).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.
TRD-202303137
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Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6365
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SUBCHAPTER R. STATE PUBLIC JUNIOR
COLLEGE FINANCE PROGRAM REPORTING,
AUDIT, AND OVERALLOCATION

19 TAC §§13.520 - 13.529

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) adopts new rules on an emergency basis in Texas Ad-
ministrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter R,
§8§13.520 - 13.529, concerning the certification of compliance,
required reporting, correction of errors, audit, and overallocation
for the new State Public Junior College Finance Program.

The Coordinating Board adopts these rules on an emergency
basis in accordance with Section 56, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg.,
R.S. (2023), which permits the Coordinating Board to enact rules
required for the state fiscal year beginning September 1, 2023,
on an emergency basis. H.B. 8 waives the requirement for the
agency to make the finding required by Texas Government Code,
§2001.034(a).

Specifically, these new sections will establish rules that set out
policies and procedures for public junior colleges to submit cer-
tifications of compliance and submit required reporting through
various reporting collection mechanisms established by the Co-
ordinating Board. The rules also describe how the Coordinating
Board will conduct audits, review of required reporting for data
errors, and correct those errors through either a payment of un-
der-allocated funds or the recovery of over-allocated funds.

Rule 13.520 sets out the purpose of the subchapter, which is to
establish definitions, certification of compliance, data reporting,
audit, and correction of error requirements, as well as over-allo-
cation and under-allocation procedures, necessary to implement
the State Public Junior College Finance Program.

Rule 13.521 provides the authority for the chapter, which is
established pursuant to Texas Education Code, §§28.0095,
61.035, 61.065, 130.003, and 130A.006-130A.009.

Rule 13.522 lists definitions used in the subchapter. These def-
initions establish consistent terminology within the subchapter
and mirror commonly used definitions established elsewhere in
the Coordinating Board's rules. The legislation establishing the
State Public Junior College Finance Program permits the Coor-
dinating Board to adopt rules as necessary to implement Texas
Education Code, Chapters 61, 130, and 130A (Section 46, Tex.
H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), to be codified in Texas Education
Code, §130A.005).

Rule 13.523 contains the policy and procedures necessary for
public junior colleges to submit certifications of compliance with
statute and rules. H.B. 8 requires public junior colleges to submit
attestations of compliance, including compliance with all state
laws and Coordinating Board rules, as a condition of receiving
state funds (Sections 24 and 34, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023), to be codified in Texas Education Code, §§61.063 and
130.003(b)). These sections of statute also provide for the Co-

ordinating Board to establish the manner in which public junior
colleges make this attestation. Rule 13.523 therefore contains
deadlines and stipulates the content of the attestation, and pro-
vides for resolution in the event of unresolved audit findings, es-
tablishing clear guidelines for institutions to comply with statute.

Rule 13.524 describes the required financial and academic re-
porting for institutions to submit the data necessary for the Coor-
dinating Board to administer the State Public Junior College Fi-
nance Program. The Coordinating Board collects data through
a variety of established mechanisms: the Community College
Annual Reporting and Analysis Tool, Annual Financial Report
Reporting, the Report of Fundable Operating Expenses, Edu-
cation Data Systems reporting, and through ad hoc reporting as
necessary. The data from these tools provides a cornerstone of
the financial modeling necessary to determine precise funding
amounts for the public junior colleges. This rule describes the
uses of data from required reporting and states the standards
and review processes for these reporting mechanisms. This rule
implements Section 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (to be
codified in Texas Education Code, §130A.006), which states that
the Coordinating Board may establish reporting requirements as
necessary to administer the finance program.

Rule 13.525 establishes the process for the Commissioner of
Higher Education (Commissioner) to review required reporting
for errors and formally establish when a data reporting error re-
sulting in a material impact in formula funding was made. Statute
permits the Coordinating Board to review the accuracy of data
reported to the Coordinating Board for any errors (Section 46,
Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (to be codified in Texas Edu-
cation Code, §130A.007)). This section establishes parameters
and expectations for the methods the Coordinating Board will
use to detect data errors. In addition, this section establishes
the method used by the Commissioner to make a formal deter-
mination of a data reporting error requiring a funding adjustment,
an important preliminary step to start off the processes for recov-
ering overallocated funds or disbursing under-allocated funds.

Rule 13.526 provides for compliance monitoring and auditing
of funds disbursed under the new finance model for public ju-
nior colleges. Texas Education Code, §61.035, provides for the
agency to conduct compliance monitoring of funds allocated to
all institutions of higher education, including public junior college.
This section establishes parameters and expectations of internal
audit offices at institutions for data collection and examination
assistance by the internal audit offices as institutional resources
allow. In addition, this section contains information regarding re-
porting of ongoing or completed audits involving funds adminis-
tered or allocated by or data reported to the Coordinating Board.

Rule 13.527 states that institutions must retain records for a pe-
riod of no less than seven years for purposes of Coordinating
Board review. Coordinating Board staff chose this time period to
mirror the timeline of seven years in the statute, which states that
the Coordinating Board may not review expenditures made by ju-
nior colleges occurring seven or more years in the past (Section
46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (to be codified in Texas
Education Code, §130A.009(e)).

Rule 13.528 lays out the process for the Coordinating Board to
recover overallocated funds in the event a public community col-
lege has received more funding than was due. This section pro-
vides how the Coordinating Board will provide notice to institu-
tions of an error finding and lays out an appeal process for institu-
tions. This rule implements the recovery of overallocated funds
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provision of H.B. 8 (Section 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S.
(2023) (to be codified in Texas Education Code, §130A.009)).

This rule establishes a process for institutions of higher educa-
tion to receive notice and have the opportunity to submit relevant
information to appeal to the Commissioner in the case where
the Coordinating Board may need to make an adverse funding
adjustment. The procedures established for overallocation un-
der §13.528(d) ensure the Coordinating Board is accurately dis-
bursing appropriated funds as intended by the Legislature, while
also providing flexibility for the method used to recoup the funds.
This flexibility includes providing an option to recover a sum in
a lump payment under §13.528(d)(1)(B), or alternatively over a
five-year timespan under §13.528(d)(2), as authorized by H.B.
8. The flexibility is intended to limit extreme adverse financial
impacts to public junior colleges that might detrimentally impact
institutional operations, local communities, and students served
by the institution, while still carrying out the Coordinating Board's
obligation to disburse appropriated funds according to law.

Rule 13.529 likewise establishes how the Coordinating Board
may make a financial adjustment in light of finding that an in-
stitution was allocated less in funding than was due. H.B. 8
provides for the Commissioner to adjust funds for the purpose
of accuracy (Section 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023)
(to be codified in Texas Education Code, §13A.007)) and au-
thorizes adjustment to installment under Texas Education Code,
§130.0031. In addition, the General Appropriations Act provides
that the Coordinating Board may make adjustments in the case
of shortfall for the biennium (General Appropriations Act, Article
IX, Contingency and Other Provisions, Section 18.04, Subsec-
tion 16 (2023)). The Coordinating Board intends to disburse ap-
propriated funds with fidelity to appropriators' intent; this section
allows for the agency to make institutions whole in the event of
a shortfall due to a data reporting error or other error.

Paul Maeyaert, Interim Assistant Commissioner for Internal Au-
dit and Compliance, has determined that for each of the first five
years the sections are in effect there may be minimal fiscal impli-
cations for state or local governments as a result of enforcing or
administering the rules, as required to implement the new com-
munity college finance program established by H.B. 8. The bill
provides for the adjustment of funds relating to data reporting
errors as well as a mechanism to recoup overallocated funds in
Section 46, Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023) (to be codified in
Texas Education Code, §§130A.007 and 130A.009). The rules
do not impose additional costs of compliance beyond those pro-
vided in statute.

There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment.

Paul Maeyaert, Interim Assistant Commissioner for Internal Au-
dit and Compliance, has also determined that for each year of
the first five years the sections are in effect, the public benefit
anticipated as a result of administering the sections will be the
establishment of rules to implement changes to the certification
of compliance, required reporting, correction of errors, audit, and
overallocation for the new community college finance system, as
established in Tex. H.B. 8, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023). This sub-
chapter will establish a framework to ensure appropriated funds
for public junior colleges are correctly spent. There are no an-
ticipated economic costs to persons who are required to comply
with the sections as proposed.

Government Growth Impact Statement

(1) the rules will create a government program, as required by
House Bill 8;

(2) implementation of the rules will require the creation of em-
ployee positions, as required by House Bill 8;

(3) implementation of the rules may require an increase or de-
crease in future legislative appropriations to the agency, as pro-
vided in House Bill 8;

(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid
to the agency;

(5) the rules will create a new rule;
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule;

(7) the rules will change the number of individuals subject to the
rule; and

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy.

The new sections are adopted on an emergency basis under
Texas Education Code, Section 130A.005, which provides the
Coordinating Board with the authority to adopt rules to implement
and administer the Public Junior College State Finance Program.

The new sections affect Texas Education Code §§28.0095,
61.035, 61.065, 130.003, 130A.006-130A.009, and 130.0031.

$13.520.  Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to establish the definitions, certi-
fication of compliance, data reporting, audit, and correction of error
requirements for institutions of higher education, as well as over-al-
location and under-allocation procedures, under the State Public Ju-
nior College Finance Program (the Program). The subchapter further
specifies the process for recovery of overallocated funds as required by
statute. These provisions additionally apply to audit and overallocation
of funds under the Financial Aid for Swift Transfer (FAST) Program.

§13.521.  Authority.

The Coordinating Board adopts this subchapter pursuant to its author-
ity under Texas Education Code, §§28.0095, 61.035, 61.063, 61.065,
130.003, and 130A.006-130A.009.

§13.522.  Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings:

(1) Audit--An engagement to audit the program conducted
by the Coordinating Board's Internal Auditor and internal audit or
compliance monitoring staff pursuant to either Texas Education Code,
§§130A.006(4) or 61.035. This term may include a site visit, desk
review, or examination of the institution's use of funds allocated by the
Coordinating Board and data reported to the Coordinating Board. The
term includes auditing undertaken to obtain evidence to sufficiently
examine or verify data submitted to the Coordinating Board to be used
by the Coordinating Board for funding or policymaking decisions,
including data used for formula funding allocations, to ensure the data
is reported accurately.

(2) Census Date--As defined in subchapter P, §13.472, of
this chapter (relating to Definitions).

(3) Chief Audit Executive--The Internal Auditor hired by
the Coordinating Board to perform internal auditing and compliance
monitoring on behalf of the Coordinating Board pursuant to Texas Ed-
ucation Code, Chapters 61, 130, and 130A.

(4) Compliance Monitoring--A risk-based audit and com-
pliance function conducted by the Coordinating Board pursuant to ei-
ther Texas Education Code, §§130A.006(4) or 61.035, for the purpose
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of reviewing and assessing programmatic, legal, and fiscal compliance.

district shall disclose the finding(s) and provide an explanation of the

This function may include conducting audits, site visits, desk reviews,

finding(s) and proposed resolution.

or other examinations, to ensure that funds allocated or distributed by
the Coordinating Board are allocated, distributed, and used in accor-
dance with applicable law and Coordinating Board rule. The function
includes obtaining evidence to sufficiently examine or verify data sub-
mitted to the Coordinating Board to be used by the Coordinating Board
for funding or policymaking decisions, including data used for formula
funding allocations, to ensure the data is reported accurately.

(5) Data Reporting Error--An error in data or other infor-
mation reported and certified by a public junior college to the Coordi-
nating Board that the Commissioner of Higher Education in his or her

(1) The Commissioner of Higher Education shall deter-
mine whether the junior college district can demonstrate that the
district will be in compliance for the purpose of receiving a scheduled
payment.

(2) Any payment that the Coordinating Board makes to an
institution pursuant to this subchapter is subject to recovery or recoup-
ment if the certifying official does not make the required certification
for the fiscal year for which the certification was required.

§13.524.  Required Reporting.

discretion determines may result in a material impact in the formula
funding a public junior college was entitled to or received.

(6) Desk Review--An administrative review by the Coor-
dinating Board that is based on information reported by an institution
of higher education or a private or independent institution of higher
education, including supplemental information required by the Coor-
dinating Board for purposes of compliance monitoring, except that the
term does not include information or accompanying notes gathered by
the Coordinating Board during a site visit.

(7) Full-Time Student Equivalent (FTSE)--As defined in
subchapter P, §13.472, of this chapter.

(8) Funding Adjustment--Any increase or decrease in
funding by the Coordinating Board to an institution of higher education
based on an over- or under-allocation of funds.

(9) Over-allocation--The over-payment of funds to a public
junior college due to a data reporting error or other error by either the
institution or the Coordinating Board that results in payments beyond
what the institution is due.

(10) Site Visit--An announced or unannounced in-person
visit by a representative of the Coordinating Board or its agent to an
institution of higher education or a private or independent institution
of higher education for the purposes of conducting an audit.

(11) Under-allocation--The under-payment of funds to a
public junior college due to a data reporting error or other error by ei-
ther the institution or the Coordinating Board that results in payments
less than what the institution was owed for the fiscal year.

§13.523.

Certification of Compliance.

(a) A public junior college is not eligible to receive funds un-
der this subchapter unless that public junior college submits a certifi-
cation of compliance with the requirements of Texas Education Code,
§130.003(b,) and as stated herein.

(b) A public junior college must submit an attestation via email
to CTC@highered.texas.gov certifying to compliance with Texas Ed-
ucation Code, §130.003(b), to the Coordinating Board by August 1 of

(a) Required Reporting. A public junior college must submit
data through required reporting mechanisms established by the Coordi-
nating Board. The Coordinating Board may use information obtained
through required reporting for:

(1) calculating funding disbursed under this chapter;

(2) providing timely data and analyses to inform manage-
ment decisions by the governing body of each public junior college
district;

(3) administering or evaluating the effectiveness of pro-
grams; or
(4) auditing the program.

(b) Financial Reporting: The Community College Annual
Reporting and Analysis Tool (CARAT) and Annual Financial Report

(AFR) Reporting.

(1) Standards. Each public junior college district must sub-
mit their Annual Financial Report (AFR) for the preceding fiscal year
by January 1. The public junior college must submit the AFR follow-
ing the requirements provided in the Coordinating Board's Budget Re-
quirements and Annual Financial Reporting Requirements for Texas
Public Community Colleges, also known as the AFR Manual, for that
fiscal year, in accordance with Texas Education Code, §61.065.

(2) Format. Each public junior college must report AFR
data for each completed fiscal year as prescribed in the Community
College Reporting and Analysis Tool (CARAT) by January 31 of the
following fiscal year.

(3) Review Process. The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion will update the AFR Manual, as required by Texas Education Code,
§61.065. The AFR Manual will conform to Governmental Accounting
Standards Board (GASB) statements and guidance.

(c) Financial Reporting: Report of Fundable Operating Ex-
penses (RFOE).

(1) Standards. Each public junior college must report all
instructional expenses from each completed fiscal year for each insti-

each year. The certification must be signed by the public junior col-

tutional discipline and unallocated administrative expenses as defined

lege's president, or Chief Executive Officer, as applicable. The certifi-

in the RFOE by January 31 of the following fiscal year.

cation must certify the following:

(1) Thatthe public junior college is currently in compliance

(2) Coordinating Board staff shall use the data provided on
expenses at public junior colleges to produce a study of costs for each

with each provision of Texas Education Code, §130.003; and

(2) The public junior college has complied with all laws
and Coordinating Board rules for the establishment and operation of a
public junior college.

(c) If a junior college district has an unresolved or ongoing
audit finding that the certifying official determines may preclude the
district's certification under Texas Education Code, §130.003(b), the

instructional discipline each year. This study will review all expenses
made by institutions for instruction and administration from all unre-
stricted sources of funds, including appropriated general revenue, tu-
ition and fees, contract instruction, other educational and general rev-
enue, and local tax revenue.

(d) Academic Reporting: Education Data System reporting.

(1) Standards. Each public junior college must use data
standards established by the Commissioner of Higher Education to sub-
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mit required information relating to the delivery of educational pro-
grams. The Commissioner of Higher Education shall adopt and publish

(2) Upon receiving a notification from the Chief Audit Ex-
ecutive or Coordinating Board staff of a potential data reporting error,

annually data standards in official Coordinating Board publications, in-

the Commissioner of Higher Education may:

cluding through the Coordinating Board Management (CBM) Report-
ing and Procedures Manual for Texas Community, Technical, and State
Colleges. The Coordinating Board will widely disseminate this publi-
cation, which will include:

(A) descriptions of the data collections and submission
requirements;

(B) descriptions of data elements and the codes used to
report them, including data used to calculate Full-Time Student Equiv-
alent enrollments, Texas Success Initiative eligibility of students, stu-
dent transfer, dual credit or dual enrollment, the number and type of
credentials conferred, and other relevant student characteristics;

(C) detailed responsibilities of public junior colleges in
connection to the data submission process, including each deadline for
submission and resubmission; and

(D) descriptions of data submission requirements, in-
cluding submission record layout specifications and data edit specifi-
cations.

(2) A public junior college may report a student in atten-
dance on the approved course census date for the purpose of fund-
ing under this subchapter, in accordance with Texas Education Code,

§130A.008.

(3) Review Process. The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion shall review the CBM Reporting and Procedures Manuals annu-
ally. The Commissioner of Higher Education may approve changes to
the data and reporting standards outside of the annual review process
to expedite implementation of data collections and reporting.

(4) Certification. The reporting official for each public ju-
nior college must certify the accuracy of the report by a certification
statement submitted to the Coordinating Board's Educational Data Cen-
ter in accordance with the template and instructions provided in the
CBM Reporting and Procedures Manual.

(e) Academic Reporting: Ad Hoc Reporting Requests. As
necessary to implement this chapter, the Commissioner of Higher Ed-
ucation may determine the need for additional, limited, supplemental
requests for data and information from public junior colleges. To the
extent Ad Hoc Reporting Requests may determine or influence fund-
ing disbursements under this subchapter, the Coordinating Board shall
require the reporting official or another Coordinating Board designated
official for each public junior college to certify the accuracy of the in-
formation contained in the report.

§13.525.  Commissioner Review of Required Reporting; Data Report-
ing Errors.

(a) The Commissioner of Higher Education at his or her dis-
cretion or upon recommendation of the Chief Audit Executive may di-
rect Coordinating Board staff to review the accuracy of the data re-
ported to the Coordinating Board by public junior colleges under this
subchapter using any of the following methods or combination thereof:

(1) The Chief Audit Executive or Coordinating Board staff
may conduct periodic file reviews, desk-reviews, site visits, or audits
of the accuracy of the data and information submitted for funding pur-
poses, including regular reviews of submitted data carried out through
standard data management, supporting data, audits conducted under
this subchapter, or as a result of any other audit. Upon identifying a
data reporting error that may impact formula funding, Coordinating

(A) direct staffto continue to gather additional informa-

tion;

(B) determine that the discrepancy does not rise to the
level of a data reporting error as defined in this chapter due to the ma-
teriality impact of the error; or

(C) determine that the discrepancy rises to the level of
a data reporting error that requires a funding adjustment due to the
materiality impact of the error or the amount of overallocation or under-
allocation.

(b) The Coordinating Board may review and or require correc-
tion of a data reporting error that occurred not more than seven years
prior to a review conducted by Coordinating Board staff.

(c) Upon the Commissioner of Higher Education's determina-
tion that the discrepancy constitutes a data reporting error requiring a
funding adjustment, staff will notify the public junior college within 30
business days.

(d) The Commissioner of Higher Education may use any
method provided in §§13.528 or 13.529 of this subchapter to make the
necessary funding adjustments to correct an over- or under-allocation.

$§13.526.  Public Junior College Audits.

(a) A public junior college shall report financial and academic
data to the Coordinating Board under §13.524 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Required Reporting).

(b) The Chief Audit Executive may conduct compliance mon-
itoring or audits of public junior colleges' compliance with Texas Edu-
cation Code, Chapter 130A, the General Appropriations Act, and other
related formula funding statutes.

(c) Inconducting an audit or compliance monitoring under this
section, the Coordinating Board may request the assistance of the in-
ternal audit office at an institution of higher education and private or
independent institution of higher education, as institutional resources
allow, to examine the institution's use of funds allocated by, and data
reported to, the Coordinating Board.

(d) To avoid duplication of effort and assist the Coordinating
Board in identifying risk, an internal auditor at an institution shall no-
tify the Coordinating Board of any audits conducted by the institution's
internal or external auditor involving funds allocated or administered
by the Coordinating Board or data reported to the Coordinating Board.

§13.527.  Records Retention.

An institution of higher education shall retain records related to finan-
cial and educational data and information reported to the Coordinating
Board under Chapter 13 for a period of not less than seven years.

§13.528.  Recovery of Overallocated Funds.

(a) If the Coordinating Board determines after closing out a
fiscal year pursuant to subchapter P, §13.477, of this chapter (relating
to Close Out), that a data reporting error or any other error resulted in
an overallocation of funds to the institution, the Coordinating Board
shall use any method authorized under statute or this rule to make a
funding adjustment necessary to correct the over-allocation.

(b) The Coordinating Board shall notify the institution not
later than 30 business days after the Commissioner of Higher Educa-

Board staff shall notify the Commissioner of Higher Education as soon

tion makes a determination of a data reporting error under §13.525

as practicable.

of this subchapter (relating to Commissioner Review of Required

EMERGENCY RULES September 8, 2023 48 TexReg 4935



Reporting; Data Reporting Errors) or otherwise identifies an error

paragraphs (1) or (2) of this subsection was the result of exceptional

requiring a funding adjustment to recover an overallocation. This

circumstances reasonably caused by statutory changes to Texas Educa-

notification must contain the amount of the overallocation and the

tion Code, Chapters 130 or 130A, and related reporting requirements,

basis for the determination.

(c) The institution may submit a written appeal to the Com-
missioner of Higher Education within 30 business days of receiving
notification of an overallocation. The institution may attach any data

the Coordinating Board may recover the overallocation over a period
not to exceed the subsequent five fiscal years.

(e) In addition to the recovery of an over-allocation under this
section, the Commissioner of Higher Education may establish a correc-

or other written documentation that supports its appeal. The Commis-

tive action plan for a public junior college that has received an overal-

sioner of Higher Education shall review the appeal and determine in his

location of funds.

or her sole discretion whether to affirm, deny, or modify the determi-
nation of overallocation within 30 business days of receipt. The Com-
missioner of Higher Education or Chief Audit Executive shall make an
annual report of overallocation determinations to the Board.

(d) If the institution does not appeal or the Commissioner of
Higher Education affirms the determination that an overallocation re-
quiring a funding adjustment has occurred, the Coordinating Board
shall recover an amount equal to the amount overallocated to the public
junior college through one of the following methods:

(1) The Coordinating Board shall:

(A) withhold an amount equivalent to the overalloca-
tion by withholding from subsequent allocations of state funds for the
current fiscal year as part of the close out of the current fiscal year; or

(B) request and obtain a refund from the public junior
college during the current fiscal year an amount equivalent to the
amount of the overallocation; or

(C) If the Commissioner of Higher Education in his or
her sole discretion determines that the recovery of an overallocation in
the current or subsequent fiscal year will have a substantial negative
impact on the operations of the institution or the education of students,
the Commissioner of Higher Education may instead recover the over-
allocation pursuant to subsection (d)(2) of this section.

(2) If the Commissioner of Higher Education in his or
her sole discretion determines that an overallocation pursuant to

(f) _If the public junior college fails to comply with an agree-
ment to submit a refund established under this section, the Coordinating
Board must report to the Comptroller of Public Accounts for recovery
pursuant to Texas Education Code, Section 130A.009.

§13.529.  Payment of Under-allocated Funds.

If the Commissioner of Higher Education determines that a data report-
ing error or any other error resulted in an under-allocation of funds, the
Coordinating Board shall provide the funds to the institution pursuant
to the close-out process in subchapter P, §13.477, of this chapter (relat-
ing to Close Out) or as otherwise authorized by law.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303138

Nichole Bunker-Henderson

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: September 1, 2023

Expiration date: December 29, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6548
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PROPOSED

ULE

Proposed rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing rules.
A state agency shall give at least 30 days' notice of its intention to adopt a rule before it
adopts the rule. A state agency shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing (Government Code, Chapter 2001).

Symbols in proposed rule text. Proposed new language is indicated by underlined text. [Square-brackets-and-strikethrough]
indicate existing rule text that is proposed for deletion. “(No change)” indicates that existing rule text at this level will not be

amended.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 10. DEPARTMENT OF
INFORMATION RESOURCES

CHAPTER 202. INFORMATION SECURITY
STANDARDS

The Texas Department of Information Resources (department)
proposes amendments to 1 Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
Chapter 202, §§202.1, 202.23, 202.27, 202.73, and 202.77, con-
cerning Information Security Standards. The proposed changes
update the Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program
(TX-RAMP) to incorporate necessary programmatic changes to
address cybersecurity and stakeholder needs and expands upon
the requirements for the information security assessment and
report required by Texas Government Code §2054.515(c). The
department also proposes a new section, §202.5, to create a sin-
gular location for all TX-RAMP requirements for the department
and instructions on how vendors may adhere to the requirements
of the program.

The department amends the title of 1 TAC Chapter 202, Sub-
chapter A, to include "and Responsibilities" to reflect the expan-
sion of elements within Subchapter A outside of definitions.

In §202.1, the department corrects certain grammatical errors
within definitions used by 1 TAC Chapter 202. The department
also revises the definition for "security incident" and creates a
new definition for "local government.”

In §202.23, for state agencies, and §202.73, for institutions of
higher education, the department proposes amendments that
establish the minimum requirements for an entity's biennial in-
formation security assessment as well as the method and time
by which an entity must report its information security assess-
ment to all statutorily-identified parties. In addition, the depart-
ment proposes amendments that incorporate statutory admon-
ishments to state agencies, local governments, and institutions
of higher education on notifyng the department of the conclu-
sion of a security incident within 10 days after the eradication,
closure, and recovery from a security incident.

In §202.23, the department incorporates reporting requirements
for local government security incidents as required by Senate
Bill 271 [88th Legislature (Regular)]. The proposed local govern-
ment security incident reporting mimic those requirements cur-
rently existing for state agencies.

In §202.27, for state agencies, and §202.77, for institutions of
higher education, the department proposes amendments to
streamline the sections to include only those items that are spe-
cific to the type of entity to which the subchapter is applicable.

The department proposes the creation of a new section, §202.5,
concerning TX-RAMP. The Texas Legislature passed Senate
Bill 475 (SB 475), which created the state risk and authorization
management program, in the 87th Regular Session. Under
TX-RAMP, the department must provide a standardized ap-
proach for security assessment, authorization, and continuous
monitoring of cloud computing services. This requires the
department to institute a number of regulatory requirements
and procedures, both for itself and vendors who are seeking to
become or are already TX-RAMP certified, that apply regardless
of whether the customer is a state agency or institution of higher
education. The proposed new section consolidates department
and vendor requirements that are identical regardless of cus-
tomer entity.

The proposed rule applies to state agencies, institutions of
higher education, and, in limited scope as required by Senate
Bill 271 [88th Legislative Session (Regular)], local governments,
a term which may include approximately 1,100 rural commu-
nities as defined by Texas Government Code §2006.001(1-a).
It does not apply to small business or micro-businesses. As
a result, there is no economic impact on small businesses or
micro-businesses as a result of enforcing or administering the
amended rule as proposed.

There is no adverse economic impact to rural communities as a
result of the proposed rule. Previously, rural communities who
found themselves the victim of a security incident were required
to address the recovery from the security incident on their own.
With the passage of Senate Bill 271 [88th Legislative Session
(Regular)], local governments, including rural communities as
defined by by Texas Government Code §2006(1-a), are now re-
quired to comply with the same security incident reporting rules
imposed upon state agencies and institutions of higher educa-
tion. The department discussed this matter extensively with lo-
cal governments prior to the passage of Senate Bill 271 [88th
Legislative Session (Regular)] to ensure that there was no ad-
verse impact to local governments, including rural communities.
Rural communities must report their security incidents by either
submitting a form through the department-hosted system or call
to a specified department number to report a security incident.
This allows rural communities to receive efficient and increased
access to department support and resources where before rural
communities may not have known who to contact during a se-
curity incident and not been able to receive department and/or
statewide assistance in a timely fashion. Due to the lack of com-
plexity associated with how rural communities are required to
report security incidents and the benefits associated with report-
ing, there is no adverse economic impact to rural communities.

The department worked extensively with local government rep-
resentatives during the legislative session and following the pas-
sage of Senate Bill 271 [88th Legislative Session (Regular)] to
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ensure that the required rules imposed the least administrative
burden upon local governments, including rural communities. As
proposed, these rules are the least burdensome means of imple-
menting the statutory requirements.

The assessment of the impact of the proposed changes on insti-
tutions of higher education was prepared in consultation with the
Information Technology Council for Higher Education (ITCHE) in
compliance with Texas Government Code §2054.121(c). DIR
submitted the proposed amendments to the Information Tech-
nology Council of Higher Education for their review. DIR deter-
mined that there was no direct impact on institutions of higher
education as a result of the proposed rules.

Nancy Rainosek, Chief Information Security Officer for the State
of Texas, has determined that there will be no fiscal impact upon
state agencies, institutions of higher education, and local gov-
ernment during the first five year period following the adoption
of the proposed amendments. By permitting certain third-party
certifications or attestations to partially satisfy TX-RAMP certifi-
cation requirements at the department's discretion and realign-
ing baseline levels to permit entities to assess required needs
based upon an impact standard, the department has increased
the overall effectiveness of the TX-RAMP rules and addresses
the statutory requirement for the department to administer a ro-
bust and standardized security assessment program for cloud
computing service providers. The department's creation of min-
imum requirements for the information security assessment that
each state agency and institution of higher education must com-
plete allows for a rigorous yet still customizable assessment that
entities must complete at least biennially to determine the en-
tity's overall security; many of the minimum requirements align
with best practice standards already required for information se-
curity and, as such, do not result in a fiscal impact. Furthermore,
local government's reporting of security incidents, in alignment
with Senate Bill 271 [88th Legislative Session (Regular)] and the
proposed rule requirements, allow local governments better ac-
cess to department expertise and support, which not only re-
sults in no fiscal impact but may actually alleviate tension upon
local government resources. There is no fiscal impact as a re-
sult of the proposed changes to state agencies, institutions of
higher education, and local government. Ms. Rainosek has fur-
ther determined that for each year of the first five years following
the adoption of the amended 1 TAC Chapter 202, there are no
anticipated additional economic costs to persons or small busi-
nesses required to comply with the amendments and proposed
new rules.

Pursuant to Texas Government Code §2001.0221, the agency
provides the following Governmental Growth Impact Statement
for the proposed amendments. The agency has determined the
following:

The proposed rules neither create nor eliminate a government
program. The TX-RAMP program and the information security
assessment and report were created by Senate Bill 475 during
the 87th Legislature and the proposed rules merely administer
and implement these required items.

Implementation of the proposed rules does not require the cre-
ation or elimination of employee positions. There are no addi-
tional employees required nor employees eliminated to imple-
ment the rule as amended.

Implementation of the proposed rules does not require an
increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to the
agency. There is no fiscal impact as implementing the rule

does not require an increase or decrease in future legislative
appropriations.

The proposed rules do not require an increase or decrease in
fees paid to the agency.

The proposed rules create a new rule section that consolidates
existing duplicated requirements for the department and cloud
computing services found in Subchapters B and C. A significant
portion of the information contained in the new rule section pre-
viously existed in 1 TAC §§202.27 and 202.77.

The proposed rules do not repeal an existing regulation.

The proposed rules do not increase or decrease the number of
individuals subject to the rule's applicability. 1 TAC §202.23(e)
as proposed now requires local governments to report security
incidents as defined by rule. Senate Bill 271 [88th Legislative
Session (Regular)] requires local governments to comply with
all security incident reporting rules required of state agencies;
the department has simply adapted its rule to incorporate this
statutory requirement. Beyond the change mandated by Senate
Bill 271 [88th Legislative Session (Regular)], the department has
neither expanded nor reduced the overall applicability of these
rules and, as such, the amount of individuals subject to the rule
has not changed.

The proposed rules do not positively or adversely affect the
state's economy. The proposed amendments to the TX-RAMP
program, local government security incident reporting require-
ments, and minimum requirements necessary for an entity's
information security assessment increase the security of gov-
ernmental entities.

Written comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to
Christi Koenig Brisky, Assistant General Counsel, 300 West
15th Street, Suite 1300, Austin, Texas 78701, or to rules.re-
view@dir.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted for 30 days
after publication in the Texas Register.

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS
1 TAC §202.1, §202.5

The amendments are proposed pursuant to Texas Government
Code §2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt
rules as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas
Government Code Chapter 2054; Texas Government Code
§2054.0593(c) , which requires the department to adopt rules
necessary to implement and administer the Texas Risk and
Management Authorization Program; Senate Bill 271 [88th
Legislative Session (Regular)], which orders local government
compliance with all department rules relating to security incident
reporting; and Texas Government Code §2054.515(c), which
requires the department to establish the requirements for the
information security assessment and report in its administrative
rules.

No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.

$202.1. Applicable Terms and Technologies for Information Security
Standards.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Access--The physical or logical capability to view, in-
teract with, or otherwise make use of information resources.
(2) Agency Head--The top-most senior executive with op-

erational accountability for an agency, department, commission, board,
office, council, authority, or other agency in the executive or judicial
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branch of state government, that is created by the constitution or a
statute of the state; or institutions of higher education, as defined in
Texas Education Code §61.003.

(3) Application--As defined in Texas Government Code
§2054.003(1).

(4) Availability--The security objective of ensuring timely
and reliable access to and use of information.

(5) Cloud Computing--Has the same meaning as "Ad-
vanced Internet-Based Computing Service" as defined in Texas
Government Code §2157.007(a).

(6) Cloud Computing Service--The [the] meaning assigned
by Special Publication 800-145 issued by the United States Department
of Commerce National Institute of Standards and Technology([;] as the
definition existed on January 1, 2015.

(7) Confidential Information--Information that must be
protected from unauthorized disclosure or public release based on
state or federal law or other legal agreement.

(8) Confidentiality--The security objective of preserving
authorized restrictions on information access and disclosure, including
means for protecting personal privacy and proprietary information.

(9) Control--A safeguard or countermeasure, including de-
vices, policies, procedures, techniques, or other measures, that are pre-
scribed to meet security requirements of an information system or or-
ganization to preserve. Controls may include security features, man-
agement constraints, personnel security, and security of physical struc-
tures, areas, and devices.

(10) Control Standards Catalog--The document that pro-
vides state agencies and higher education institutions state specific
implementation guidance for alignment with the National Institute of
Standards and Technology (NIST) SP (Special Publication) 800-53
security controls.

(11) Custodian--See information custodian.

(12) Department--The Department of Information Re-
sources.

(13) Destruction--The result of actions taken to ensure that
physical and digital media cannot be reused as originally intended and
that information is technologically infeasible or prohibitively expen-
sive to recover.

(14) Electronic Communication--A process used to convey
a message or exchange information via electronic media. It includes
the use of electronic mail (email), Internet access, Instant Messaging
(IM), Short Message Service (SMS), facsimile transmission, and other
paperless means of communication.

(15) Encryption (encrypt or encipher)--The conversion of
plaintext information into a code or cipher text using a variable called
a "key" and processing those items through a fixed algorithm to create
the encrypted text that conceals the data's original meaning.

(16) FedRAMP--Federal Risk and Authorization Manage-
ment Program.

(17)  Guideline--Recommended, non-mandatory controls
that help support standards or serve as a reference when no applicable
standard is in place.

(18) High Impact Information Resources--Information Re-
sources whose loss of confidentiality, integrity, or availability could be
expected to have a severe or catastrophic adverse effect on organiza-

tional operations, organizational assets, or individuals. Such an event
could:

(A) cause a severe degradation in or loss of mission ca-
pability to an extent and duration that the organization is not able to
perform one or more of its primary functions;

(B) result in major damage to organizational assets;
(C) result in major financial loss; or

(D) result in severe or catastrophic harm to individuals
involving loss of life or serious life-threatening injuries.

(19) Information--Any communication or representation
of knowledge such as facts, data, or opinions in any medium or
form, including textual, numerical, graphic, cartographic, narrative,
electronic, or audiovisual forms.

(20) Information Custodian--A department, agency, or
third-party service provider responsible for implementing the infor-
mation owner-defined controls and access to an information resource.

(21) Information Owner(s)--A person(s) with statutory or
operational authority for specified information and responsibility for
establishing the controls for its generation, collection, processing, dis-
semination, and disposal.

(22) Information Resources--As defined in Texas Govern-
ment Code §2054.003(7).

(23) Information Resources Manager--As defined in Texas
Government Code §2054.071.

(24) Information Security Program--The policies, stan-
dards, procedures, elements, structure, strategies, objectives, plans,
metrics, reports, services, and resources that establish an information
resources security function within an institution of higher education
or state agency.

(25) Information System--A discrete set of information
resources organized for the collection, processing, maintenance, use,
sharing, dissemination, or disposition of information. An Information
System normally includes, but is not limited to, hardware, software,
network infrastructure, information, applications, communications,
and people.

(26) Integrity--The security objective of guarding against
improper information modification or destruction, including ensuring
information non-repudiation and authenticity.

(27) ITCHE--Information Technology Council for Higher
Education.

(28) Local Government - As defined by Texas Government
Code §2054.003(9).

(29) [28)] Low Impact Information Resources--Informa-
tion resources whose loss of confidentiality, integrity, or availability
could be expected to have a limited adverse effect on organizational
operations, organizational assets, or individuals. Such an event could:

(A) cause a degradation in mission capability to an ex-
tent and duration that the organization is able to perform its primary
functions, but the effectiveness of the functions is noticeably reduced;

(B) result in minor damage to organizational assets;
(C) result in minor financial loss; or
(D) result in minor harm to individuals.

(30) [29] Moderate Impact Information Resources--In-
formation Resources whose loss of confidentiality, integrity, or
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availability could be expected to have a serious adverse effect on
organizational operations, organizational assets, or individuals. Such
an event could:

(A) cause a significant degradation in mission capabil-
ity to an extent and duration that the organization is able to perform its
primary functions, but the effectiveness of the functions is significantly
reduced;

(B) result in significant damage to organizational as-
sets;

(C) result in significant financial loss; or

(D) result in significant harm to individuals that does
not involve loss of life or serious life-threatening injuries.

(1) [B9)] Network Security Operations Center (NSOC)-
-As established by Texas Government Code §2059.101.

(32) [BB] Nonconfidential Data--Information that is not
required to be or may not be protected from unauthorized disclosure or
public release based on state or federal law or other legal agreement.

(33) [32)] Personal Identifying Information (PII)--A cate-
gory of personal identity information as defined by Texas Business and
Commerce Code §521.002(a)(1).

(34) [633)] Procedure--Instructions to assist information
security staff, custodians, and users in implementing policies, stan-
dards, and guidelines.

(35) [B4)] Program Manual--Program manual for the
Texas risk and authorization management program.

(36) [35)] Residual Risk--The risk that remains after se-
curity measures have been applied.

(37) [€636)] Risk--The effect on the entity's missions, func-
tions, image, reputation, assets, or constituencies considering the prob-
ability that a threat will exploit a vulnerability, the safeguards already
in place, and the resulting impact. Risk outcomes are a consequence of
Impact levels defined in this section.

(38) [3D] Risk Assessment--The process of identifying,
evaluating, and documenting the probability and level of impact on an
organization's mission, functions, image, reputation, assets, or individ-
uals that may result from the operation of information systems. Risk
Assessment incorporates threat and vulnerability analyses and consid-
ers mitigations provided by planned or in-place security controls.

(39) [38)] Risk Management--The process of aligning in-
formation resources risk exposure with the organization's risk tolerance
by either accepting, transferring, or mitigating risk exposures.

(40) [9)] Security Assessment--The testing or evaluation
of security controls to determine the extent to which the controls are
implemented correctly, operating as intended, and producing the de-
sired outcome with respect to meeting the security requirements for an
information system or organization.

(41) [49)] Security Incident--An incident that meets
one of the requirements enumerated at Texas Government Code
§2054.603(a)(1)(A) - (B). [An event that results in the aceidental
or deliberate unauthorized access; loss; disclosure; modification;
disruption; expesure; or destruction of information or information
resources. |

(42) [€4D)] Sensitive Personal Information--A category of
personal identity information as defined by Texas Business and Com-
merce Code §521.002(a)(2).

(43) [(42)] Standards--Specific mandatory controls that
help enforce and support the information security policy.

(44) [(43)] State-controlled data--Any and all data that is
created, processed, or stored by a state agency.

(45) [€44)] StateRAMP--The risk and authorization man-
agement program, built upon the National Institute of Standards
and Technology Special Publication 800-53 and modeled after the
FedRAMP program, that provides state and local governments a
common method for verification of cloud security.

(46) [(45)] Statewide Technology Centers--As defined in
Texas Government Code §2054.375(2).

(47) [€46)] Threat--Any circumstance or event with the po-
tential to adversely impact organizational operations (including mis-
sion, functions, image, or reputation), organizational assets, or individ-
uals by the unauthorized access, destruction, disclosure, modification
of information, and/or denial of service.

(48) [4D] TX-RAMP--the Texas Risk [risk] and

Authorization [autherization] Management [management] Program
[program].

(49) [(48)] User of Information Resources--An individual,
process, or automated application authorized to access an information
resource in accordance with federal and state law, agency policy, and
the information-owner's procedures and rules.

(50) [(49)] Vulnerability Assessment--A documented eval-
uation containing information described in Texas Government Code
§2054.077(b), which includes the susceptibility of a particular system
to a specific attack.

§202.5. Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program Re-
sponsibilities and Mandatory Standards.

(a) Mandatory Standards for Cloud Computing Services Sub-
ject to the Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program.

(1) The department shall define mandatory standards for
Texas cloud computing services identified by subsection (a) of this sec-
tion in the program manual published on the department's website. Re-
visions to this document will be executed in compliance with subsec-
tion (d) of this section.

(2) The mandatory standards established by the department
shall include at least the below stated baseline standards for:

(A) TX-RAMP Level 1 Baseline - This baseline is re-
quired for cloud computing services that are subject to TX-RAMP cer-
tification and categorized by a state agency as Low Impact Information
Resources; and

(B) TX-RAMP Level 2 Baseline - This baseline is re-
quired for cloud computing services that are subject to TX-RAMP and
categorized by a state agency as Moderate or High Impact Information
Resources.

(3) The department shall establish the categories and char-
acteristics of cloud computing services that are subject to TX-RAMP
requirements in the program manual published on the department's
website pursuant to subsection (a)(1).

(b) Responsibilities of Cloud Computing Service Vendors:

(1) To be certified under TX-RAMP, a cloud computing
service vendor shall:

(A) Provide evidence of compliance with TX-RAMP
requirements for the cloud computing service as detailed by the pro-
gram manual; and
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(B) Demonstrate continuous compliance in accordance
with the program manual.

(2) Primary contracting vendors who provide or sell cloud
computing services subject to TX-RAMP, including resellers who pro-
vide or sell these services, shall present evidence of certification of
the cloud computing service being sold to the state agency or insti-
tution of higher education in accordance with the program manual.
Such certification is required for all cloud computing services subject
to TX-RAMP being provided through the contract or in furtherance
of the contract, including services provided through subcontractors or
third-party providers.

(3) Subcontractors or third-party providers responsible
solely for servicing or supporting a cloud computing service provided
by another vendor shall not be required to provide evidence of certi-
fication.

(c) Responsibilities of the Department:

(1) Prior to publishing new or revised program standards as
required by subsections (a) - (b) of this section, the department shall:

(A) solicit comment through the department's elec-
tronic communications channels for the proposed standards to be
changed from the Information Resources Managers and Information
Security Officers of state agencies and institutions of higher education
and ITCHE; and

(B) after reviewing the comments provided, present the
proposed program manual to the department's Board and obtain ap-
proval from the Board for publication.

(2) The department shall:

(A) perform assessments to certify cloud computing
services provided by cloud computing vendors; and

(B) publish on the department's website the list of cloud
computing products certified under TX-RAMP.

(d) Acceptance of External Assessments.

(1) The department shall accept a vendor's compliance
with FedRAMP and StateRAMP authorizations in satisfaction of the
[above] baselines established by subsection (a) once the department
receives evidence of compliance with these programs.

(2) At the department's discretion, another state's risk and
authorization management program certification may be accepted in
satisfaction of the [above] baselines established by subsection (a) once
certification is demonstrated by the vendor in alignment with program
manual standards.

(3) At the department's discretion, the department may al-
low a third-party security assessment or third-party audit to satisfy cer-
tain mandatory program standards. A vendor may demonstrate satis-
faction of certain mandatory program standards by submitting a third-
party security assessment or third-party audit that the department has
authorized to align with and satisfy these standards.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.
TRD-202303094

Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. INFORMATION SECURITY
STANDARDS FOR STATE AGENCIES
1 TAC §202.23, §202.27

The amendments are proposed pursuant to Texas Government
Code §2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt
rules as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas
Government Code Chapter 2054; Texas Government Code
§2054.0593(c) , which requires the department to adopt rules
necessary to implement and administer the Texas Risk and
Management Authorization Program; Senate Bill 271 [88th
Legislative Session (Regular)], which orders local government
compliance with all department rules relating to security incident
reporting; and Texas Government Code §2054.515(c), which
requires the department to establish the requirements for the
information security assessment and report in its administrative
rules.

No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.

$§202.23.  Security Reporting.

(a) [Ageney Reporting:] Each Information Security Officer
shall directly report to the agency head, at least annually, on the ad-
equacy and effectiveness of information security policies, procedures,
practices, compliance with the requirements of this chapter, and:

(1) effectiveness of current information security program
and status of key initiatives;

(2) residual risks identified by the state agency risk man-
agement process; and

(3) state agency information security requirements and re-
quests.

(b) Each state agency shall submit to the department a Biennial
Information Security Plan in accordance with Texas Government Code

§2054.133.
fb) Repott to the Department}
HH Urgent Ineident Report}

[(A) Each state agency shall assess the significance of a
and the current and potential technical effect of the ineident (e-g; loss of
elosure of confidential information; or propagation to other networks)-
Security incidents shall be promptly reported to immediate supervisors
and the ageney Information Security Officer. Confirmed or suspeected
security incidents shall be reported to the department within 48 hours
of discovery in the form and manner specified by the department where

{i)} propagate to other state systems;
to law enforcement in accordance with state or federal information se-
v of bEi laws:
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as defined in Texas Business and Commerce Code §521.002(a)(2) and
other applicable laws that may require public notification; or
destroys; or alters information systems; applications; or aceess to such
systems or applications in any way-

{B) H the security incident is assessed to involve sus-
33 or Texas Penal Code Chapter 33A; the state agency shall contaet
tigated; reported; and documented in accordance with the legal require-
ments for handling of evidenee}
a%waysbefe&sabletegatheraﬂthemfem&ﬁeﬂpﬁeﬁerepemﬂg{n
such eases; incident response teams shall continue to report information
to the department as it is collected. The department shall instruet state
ageneies as to the manner in which they shall report such information
to the department. Supperting vendors or other third parties that report
security incident information to an agency shall submit such reports to
the ageney in the form and manner specified by the department; unless
aﬂtrepe%ﬂﬂgfequﬁemeﬁsafemeludedmaﬂyeeﬂ&aetwheremadeﬁt
reporting may be neeessary-}

2y Meonthly Incident Repoert.: Summary reports of seecu-
rity-related events shall be sent to the department on a monthly basis
no later than nine (9) calendar days after the end of the month. State
agencies shall submit summary seeurity ineident reperts in the form
and manner specified by the department. Supperting venders or other
third parties that report security incident information to a state ageney
shall submit such reports to the ageney in the form and manner speei-
shall submit to the department a Biennial Information Security Plan in
(c) Atleast every two years, each state agency shall complete

and submit an information security assessment in compliance with the

requirements of Texas Government Code §2054.515 and this subsec-
tion.

(1) The agency's Biennial Information Security Plan may

(d) Each state agency shall assess the significance of a security
incident based on the business impact on the affected resources and
the current and potential technical effect of the incident (e.g., loss of
revenue, productivity, access to services, reputation, unauthorized dis-
closure of confidential information, or propagation to other networks).
Security incidents shall be promptly reported to immediate supervisors
and the agency Information Security Officer.

(1) A state agency shall report security incidents to the de-
partment within 48 hours of discovery in the form and manner specified
by the department where the security incident is assessed to:

(A) propagate to other state systems;

(B) result in criminal violations that shall be reported to
law enforcement in accordance with state or federal information secu-
rity or privacy laws;

(C) involve the unauthorized disclosure or modification
of confidential information, e.g., sensitive personal information as de-
fined in Texas Business and Commerce Code §521.002(a)(2) and other
applicable laws that may require public notification; or

(D) be an unauthorized incident that compromises, de-
stroys, or alters information systems, applications, or access to such
systems or applications in any way.

(2) If'the security incident is assessed to involve suspected
criminal activity (e.g., violations of Texas Penal Code Chapter 33 or
Texas Penal Code Chapter 33A), the state agency shall contact law en-
forcement, as required, and the security incident shall be investigated,
reported, and documented in accordance with the legal requirements
for handling of evidence.

(3) Depending on the nature of the incident, it will not al-
ways be feasible to gather all the information prior to reporting. In such
cases, incident response teams shall continue to report information to
the department as it is collected. The department shall instruct state
agencies as to the manner in which they shall report such information
to the department. Supporting vendors or other third parties that report
security incident information to an agency shall submit such reports to
the agency in the form and manner specified by the department, unless
otherwise directed by the agency. Agencies shall ensure that compli-
ant reporting requirements are included in any contract where incident
reporting may be necessary.

be considered to satisfy the information security assessment require-
ments of Texas Government Code §2054.515(a)(1) if the agency's Bi-
ennial Information Security Plan assesses:

(A) The security of the agency's information resources

(4) Ten days after the date of the eradication, closure, and
recovery from a security incident, a state agency shall notify the depart-
ment and the chief information security officer in the form and manner
prescribed by the department of the security incident details and an

systems, network systems, and digital data storage systems;

(B) The measures in place to establish digital data se-
curity; and
(C) The vulnerabilities of the agency's information re-

sources, including an evaluation determining how well the organiza-
tion's security policies protect its data and information systems.

(2) To comply with Texas Government Code
§2054.515(a)(2), a state agency must complete a data maturity
assessment in alignment with the requirements established at 1 Texas
Administrative Code §218.10.

(3) Upon completion of its information security assess-
ment, a state agency shall report the results of its assessment to the
department in the form and manner identified by the department. A
state agency must comply with a request for the results of its assess-
ment received from the Office of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor,
or speaker of the House of Representatives.

analysis of the security incident cause.

(e) A local government shall report security incidents that are
assessed by the entity to meet the criteria listed in subsection (d)(1) of
this section to the department within 48 hours of discovery.

(1) A local government must submit its report of the secu-
rity incident in the form and manner specified by the department.

(2) A local government is not required to report a security
incident described by subsection (d) of this section where statute ex-
pressly states that compliance with the department reporting require-
ments is excluded for a security incident of that type.

(3) Ten days after the date of the eradication, closure, and
recovery from a security incident, a local government shall notify the
department and the chief information security officer in the form and
manner prescribed by the department of the security incident details
and an analysis of the security incident cause.
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$202.27. Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program for
State Agencies.

{(a) Mandatory Standards. Mandatory standards for Texas
shall be defined by the department in the program manual published
on the department's website: Revisions to such document will be

[(b) Cloud Computing Standards Subject to the Texas Risk and
Autherization Program. The standards required by sub-
section (&) of this section shall inelude the below stated baseline stan-
dards for:]

HH  TX-RAMP Public Controls Baseline (TX-RAMP
Level 1) - This baseline is required for cloud computing services that:]
HA) store; process; or transmit nonconfidential data of

a state ageney; of}
2y TPX-RAMP Confidential Ceontrols Baseline (FX-
RAMP Level 2) - This baseline is required for cloud computing
HA) store; proeess; or transmit confidential data of a

state ageney; and}
HB) hest moederate impaet information resourees or
{(1) To be certified under the TX-RAMP program, a cloud

. . ki
they are storing, processing, or transmitting as detailed by the program
manual; and}

f(B) Demeonstrate contintous compliance in aececor-
danee with the program manaal]
provide or sell eloud computing serviees to state agencies shall present
fefalleleudeemputmgseﬁﬁ}eesbemgp%ed%hm&ghtheeeﬂtﬁaet
or in furtherance of the contract, including services provided through

by anether vender shall net be required to provide evidence of certi-
fication.]
[(d) Responsibilities of the Department.}

H)  {Responsibilities of the Department in Developing Up-
dates to the Program Manual: Prior to publishing new or revised pro-
gram standards as required by subsections (a) - (d) of this section, the
department shall:}

(A) [solicit comment through the department's clec-
Information Resources Managers, ITCHE, and Information Sceurity
Officers of agencies and institutions of higher education at least 30
days prior to publication of proposed program manual; and
%heprepesedpfegrammaﬂualte%hedepaﬂmeﬁ%sl%eafdaﬂéeb%am
approval from the Board for publication-}

(2) [Responsibilities of the Department for Certifying Ven-
(A) [perform reviews to certify cloud computing ser-
fte) Responsibilities of a State Agenecy Contracting for Cloud

Computing Serviees-] A state agency contracting for cloud computing
services that store, process, or transmit data of the state agency shall:

(1) confirm that vendors contracting with the state agency
to provide cloud computing services for the state agency are certified
through TX-RAMP prior to entering or renewing a cloud computing
services contract on or after January 1, 2022; and

(2) require a vendor contracting with the state agency to
provide cloud computing services for the state agency that are sub-
ject to the state risk and authorization management program to main-
tain TX-RAMP compliance and certification throughout the term of the
contract.

fH FedRAMP and StateRAMP certifications shall be ae-
eepted in satisfaction of the abeve baselines once demonstrated by the
vendor.}
autherization management program certification may be aceepted in
by the vendor in alignment with program manual standards-}
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303095

Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. INFORMATION SECURITY
STANDARDS FOR INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER
EDUCATION

1 TAC §202.73, §202.77

The amendments are proposed pursuant to Texas Government
Code §2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt
rules as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas
Government Code Chapter 2054; Texas Government Code
§2054.0593(c) , which requires the department to adopt rules
necessary to implement and administer the Texas Risk and
Management Authorization Program; Senate Bill 271 [88th
Legislative Session (Regular)], which orders local government
compliance with all department rules relating to security incident
reporting; and Texas Government Code §2054.515(c), which
requires the department to establish the requirements for the
information security assessment and report in its administrative
rules.

PROPOSED RULES
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No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.
$202.73.  Security Reporting.

(a) [Institation Reperting:] Each Information Security Officer
shall directly report to the agency head, at least annually, on the ade-
quacy and effectiveness of information security policies, procedures,
practices, compliance with the requirements of this chapter, and:

(1) effectiveness of current information security program
and status of key initiatives;

(2) residual risks identified by the institution of higher ed-
ucation risk management process; and

(3) institution of higher education information security re-
quirements and requests.

(b) Each institution of higher education shall submit to the
department a Biennial Information Security Plan in accordance with
Texas Government Code §2054.133.

fb) Repott to the Department}
{(1) [Urgent Incident Report.]

[(A) Each state institution of higher education shall as-
sess the significance of a security incident based on the business im-
paet on the affected reseurees and the eurrent and potential technieal
effect of the incident (e-g; loss of revenue; productivity; aceess to ser-
viees; reputation; unautherized disclosure of confidential information;
or propagation to other networks). Confirmed or suspected incidents
education Information Security Officer. Confirmed or suspeeted secu-
rity ineidents shall be reported to the department within 48 heurs of
discovery in the form and manner specified by the department where
the seeurity ineident is assessed te:}

/(i) propagate to other state systems:]
reported to law enforcement in accordance with state or federal
information seeurity or privaey laws:}
as defined in Texas Business and Commerce Code §521.002(a)(2) and
other applicable laws that may require public notification; or]
ffiv) be an unauthorized incident that compromises;

destroys; or alters information systems; applications; or aceess to such
systems or applications in any way.]

fB) ¥ the seeurity ineident is assessed to invelve sus-
33 or 33A, the institution of higher education shall contact law enforce-
ported, and documented in accordance with the legal requirements for
handling of evid 1
aLwaysbefeas&bleteg&theraH%hemfeﬂﬂaﬁeﬂpﬂeHefepemngln
such cases, incident response teams shall continue to report information
to the department as it is colleeted: The department shall instruet state
institutions of higher edueation as to the manner in which they shall
report such information to the department. Supporting venders or other
third parties that repert seeurity ineident information to an institution
of higher education shall submit such reports to the institution of higher
eduecation in the form and manner speeified by the department; unless
otherwise directed by the institution of higher education. Institutions of
ineluded in any contraet where incident reporting may be neeessary-}

f2) Moeonthly Incident Report: Summary reports of seeu-
rity-related events shall be sent to the department on a monthly basis no
later than nine (9) calendar days after the end of the month- Institutions
of higher education shall submit summary seeurity ineident reperts in
or other third parties that repert seeurity ineident information to an in-
of higher education in the form and manner speeified by the depart-
tution of higher education shall submit to the department a biennial In-
formation Seeurity plan; in accordance with Texas Government Code

(c) At least every two years, each institution of higher edu-
cation shall complete and submit an information security assessment
in compliance with the requirements of Texas Government Code
§2054.515 and this subsection.

(1) The institution of higher education's Biennial Informa-
tion Security Plan may be considered to satisfy the information security
assessment requirements of Texas Government Code §2054.515(a)(1)
if the institution's Biennial Information Security Plan assesses:

(A) The security of the institution's information re-
sources systems, network systems, and digital data storage systems;

(B) The measures in place to establish digital data se-
curity; and

(C) The vulnerabilities of the institution's information
resources, including an evaluation determining how well the organiza-
tion's security policies protect its data and information systems.

(2) To comply with Texas Government Code
§2054.515(a)(2), an institution of higher education must complete
a data maturity assessment in alignment with the requirements
established at 1 Texas Administrative Code §218.10.

(3) Upon completion of its information security assess-
ment, an institution of higher education shall report the results of its
assessment to the department in the form and manner identified by
the department. An institution of higher education must comply with
a request for the results of its assessment received from the Office
of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, or speaker of the House of

Representatives.

(d) Each state institution of higher education shall assess the
significance of a security incident based on the business impact on the
affected resources and the current and potential technical effect of the
incident (e.g., loss of revenue, productivity, access to services, repu-
tation, unauthorized disclosure of confidential information, or propa-
gation to other networks). Confirmed or suspected incidents shall be
reported to immediate supervisors and the institution of higher educa-
tion Information Security Officer.

(1) An institution of higher education shall report security
incidents to the department within 48 hours of discovery in the form
and manner specified by the department where the security incident is
assessed to:

(A) propagate to other state systems;

(B) result in criminal violations that shall be reported to
law enforcement in accordance with state or federal information secu-
rity or privacy laws;

(C) involve the unauthorized disclosure or modification
of confidential information, e.g., sensitive personal information as de-
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fined in Texas Business and Commerce Code §521.002(a)(2) and other
applicable laws that may require public notification; or

(D) be an unauthorized incident that compromises, de-
stroys, or alters information systems, applications, or access to such
systems or applications in any way.

(2) If'the security incident is assessed to involve suspected
criminal activity (e.g., violations of Texas Penal Code Chapters 33 or
33A, the institution of higher education shall contact law enforcement,
as required, and the security incident shall be investigated, reported,
and documented in accordance with the legal requirements for handling
of evidence.

(3) Depending on the nature of the incident, it will not al-
ways be feasible to gather all the information prior to reporting. In such
cases, incident response teams shall continue to report information to
the department as it is collected. The department shall instruct state
institutions of higher education as to the manner in which they shall re-
port such information to the department. Supporting vendors or other
third parties that report security incident information to an institution
of higher education shall submit such reports to the institution of higher
education in the form and manner specified by the department, unless
otherwise directed by the institution of higher education. Institutions
of higher education shall ensure that compliant reporting requirements
are included in any contract where incident reporting may be necessary.

(4) Ten days after the date of the eradication, closure, and
recovery from a security incident, an institution of higher education
shall notify the department and the chief information security officer
in the form and manner prescribed by the department of the security
incident details and an analysis of the security incident cause.

$§202.77.  Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program for In-
stitutions of Higher Education.

[(a) Mandatory Standards. Mandatory standards for Texas
shall be defined by the department in the program manual published
on the department's website. Revisions to such document will be

by Cloud Computing Standards Subjeet to the Texas Risk and
Autherization Preg&ﬂ%%est&ndardsreqm%dbysub—
dards for:}

HH TX-RAMP Public Centrels Baseline (FX-RAMP
Eevel D - This baseline is required for cloud eomputing serviees that:}
HA) stere; process; or transmit nonconfidential data of
[(2) TX-RAMP Confidential Controls Bascline (TX-
RAMP Level 2) - This baseline is required for cloud computing
HA) stere; proeess; or transmit confidential data of an
stitution of i ion: and]
HB) hest mederate impact information resources or
Mghfmpac—tmfepma&eﬂreseufees&
fH To be certified under the TX-RAMP program; a cloud
they are storing, processing, or transmitting as detailed by the program
manual; and}

Demonstrate continuous compliance in accor-
dance with the program manual.}
pmwdee%seﬂeleudeempuﬂngsemees%emsﬂwﬂeﬂsefhighered-
ucation shall present evidence of certification of the cloud computing
service being sold in accordance with the program manual. Such eer-
tification is required for all cloud computing services being provided
through the contract or in furtherance of the contraet; including services
provided through subecontractors or third-party providers]

3) sul of third i ]
solely for servicing or supporting a cloud computing service provided
by another vendor shall not be required to provide evidence of certi-

d) Responsibilities of the Department in Developing Up-
dates to the Program Manual. Prior to publishing new or revised
program standards as required by subsections (&) - (&) of this section;
the department shall:}

HD solieit comment through the department's eleetronie
communications channels for proposed standards from the Informa-
tion Resoureces Managers; ITCHE; and Information Seeurity Officers
to publication of propesed program manual; and]
ment period described by paragraph (1) of this subsection, present the
propesed program manual to the department's Board and obtain ap-
proval from the Board for publication}

[(¢) Responsibilities of an Institution of Higher Education
Contracting for Cloud Computing Serviees:] An institution of higher
education contracting for cloud computing services that store, process,
or transmit data of the institution of higher education shall:

(1) confirm that vendors contracting with the institution of
higher education to provide cloud computing services for the institution
of higher education are certified through TX-RAMP prior to entering
or renewing a cloud computing services contract on or after January 1,
2022; and

(2) require a vendor contracting with the institution of
higher education to provide cloud computing services for the in-
stitution of higher education that are subject to the state risk and
authorization management program to maintain program compliance
and certification throughout the term of the contract.

[(H) FedRAMP and StateRAMP certifications shall be ac-
eepted in satisfaction of the above baselines once demonstrated by the
vendor.|
autherization management program certification may be aceepted in
by the vendor in alignment with program manual requirements:}

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.
TRD-202303096

PROPOSED RULES
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Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 218. DATA GOVERNANCE AND
MANAGEMENT

The Texas Department of Information Resources (department)
proposes the creation of 1 Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
Chapter 218, Subchapter A, §§218.1 - 218.3, Subchapter B,
§218.10, and Subchapter C, §218.20. This proposed chapter
addresses the requirements for a state agency as defined by
Texas Government Code Chapter 2054 to conduct an informa-
tion security assessment of the agency's data governance pro-
gram.

Within Subchapter A, the department proposes the creation
§§218.1 - 218.3. Section 218.1 introduces any specialized
definitions required by the rule, which includes the terms "data
governance program," "data management officer," and "data
maturity assessement." Section 218.2 defines the term state
agency. Section 218.3 defines the term institution of higher
education.

The department proposes the creation of subchapter B, §218.20,
for state agencies, and subchapter C, §218.30, for institutions
of higher education. These sections establish the minimum re-
quirements that an entity's information security assessment of
its data governance program as required by Texas Government
Code § 2054.515(a)(2) must meet to be considered compliant
with the statutory requirement. In §218.30, the department also
proposes the clarification that the data maturity assessment is
considered a statutory component of the information security as-
sessment, which is information security standard, and, as such,
public junior colleges must comply with this requirement subject
to Texas Government Code § 2054.0075.

There is no economic impact on rural communities or small busi-
nesses as a result of enforcing or administering the new rules as
proposed.

The new rules in this chapter apply only to state agencies and
institutions of higher education.

The assessment of the impact of the proposed changes on insti-
tutions of higher education was prepared in consultation with the
Information Technology Council for Higher Education (ITCHE) in
compliance with Texas Government Code § 2054.121(c). DIR
submitted the proposal to the Information Technology Council of
Higher Education for their review. DIR determined that there was
no direct impact on institutions of higher education as a result of
the proposed rules.

Neil Cooke, the Chief Data Officer, has determined that there will
be no fiscal impact upon state agencies, institutions of higher ed-
ucation, and local governments during the first five year period
following the adoption of the proposed new rules. State agencies
are required by Texas Government Code § 2054.515(a) to com-
plete a biennial information security assessment of, among other
elements, its data governance program; the proposed rules sim-
ply establish the minimum necessary components of this data
maturity assessment. This allows for a rigorous data maturity
assessment that still permits any entity-specific customizability

and scaling to address its unique data governance program. As
such, the proposed chapter does not result in a fiscal impact to
state agencies, institutions of higher education, or local govern-
ments. Mr. Cooke has further determined that for each year
of the first five years following the adoption of the new 1 TAC
Chapter 218, there are no anticipated additional economic costs
to persons or small businesses required to comply with the pro-
posed new rules.

Pursuant to Texas Government Code § 2001.0221, the agency
provides the following Governmental Growth Impact Statement
for the proposed new rules. The agency has determined the
following:

The proposed rules neither create nor eliminate a government
program. Texas Government Code § 2054.515(a)(2) requires
state agencies complete the information security assessment
and report, including the data maturity assessment. The pro-
posed rules merely administer the minimum requirements for this
assessment.

Implementation of the proposed rules does not require the cre-
ation or elimination of employee positions. There are no addi-
tional employees required nor employees eliminated to imple-
ment the rule as proposed.

Implementation of the proposed rules does not require an
increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to the
agency. There is no fiscal impact as implementing the rule
does not require an increase or decrease in future legislative
appropriations.

The proposed rules do not require an increase or decrease in
fees paid to the agency.

The proposed rules create a new rule chapter that clarifies
the minimum requirements for the state agency data ma-
turity assessment mandated by Texas Government Code §
2054.515(a)(2). The department previously addressed items
referential to the data maturity assessment in 1 Texas Admin-
istrative Code Chapter 202; the department proposes this new
chapter in alignment with the rulemaking authority granted by
Texas Government Code § 2054.515 to streamline the infor-
mation security assessment process and alleviate confusion
regarding data maturity assessment requirements.

The proposed rules do not repeal an existing regulation.

The proposed rules do not increase or decrease the number of
individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Texas Government
Code § 2054.515 requires state agencies to complete the in-
formation security assessment, which includes the data matu-
rity assessment; Texas Government Code Chapter 2054 estab-
lishes the parameters of the term "state agency," which identi-
fies the entities that are subject to this chapter's requirements.
Public junior colleges are not excepted from information secu-
rity standards established by the department. Tex. Gov't Code
§ 2054.0075. These information security standards are estab-
lished, among other places, in 1 TAC Chapter 202. To the extent
that the data security maturity assessment is a statutory compo-
nent of the information security assessment and the information
security assessment requirements reside in 1 TAC Chapter 202,
public junior colleges are subject to this requirement.

The proposed rules do not positively or adversely affect the
state's economy. The creation of rules establishing minimum
requirements for an entity's data maturity assessment ensures
that state agencies are scrutinizing their data governance pro-
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gram to ensure rigorous security standards and alignment with
best practices.

Written comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to
Christi Koenig Brisky, Assistant General Counsel, 300 West
15th Street, Suite 1300, Austin, Texas 78701, or to rules.re-
view@dir.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted for 30 days
after publication in the Texas Register.

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS
1 TAC §§218.1 - 218.3

The new rules are proposed pursuant to Texas Government
Code § 2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt
rules as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas
Government Code Chapter 2054, and Texas Government
Code § 2054.515(a)(2), which admonishes the department to
establish the data maturity assessment requirements by rule.

No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.
§218.1.

(a) Data Governance Program - the program established pur-
suant to the requirements of Texas Government Code § 2054.137(b)(2).

Definitions.

(b) Data Management Officer - the full-time employee desig-
nated by the state agency or institution of higher education to fulfill the
statutory duties required by Texas Government Code § 2054.137(b).
A state agency or institution of higher education is only required to
designate such an employee to the extent that it meets the statutory re-

quirement to do so.

(c) Data Maturity Assessment - the assessment of an agency's
data governance program required by Texas Government Code §
2054.137(b)(2) that is conducted by the designated data management
officer.

$218.2.  State Agency.

A department, commission, board, office, council, authority, or other
agency in the executive or judicial branch of state government, other
than an institution of higher education, that is created by the constitu-
tion or a statute of this state.

$218.3.  Institution of Higher Education.

A university system or institution of higher education as defined by
Texas Education Code § 61.003.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303100

Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. DATA GOVERNANCE AND
MANAGEMENT FOR STATE AGENCIES
1 TAC §218.10

The new rule is proposed pursuant to Texas Government Code
§ 2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt rules

as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas Gov-
ernment Code Chapter 2054, and Texas Government Code §
2054.515(a)(2), which admonishes the department to establish
the data maturity assessment requirements by rule.

No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.
§218.10. Data Maturity Assessment.

(a) A state agency shall conduct a data maturity assessment by
November 15 of each even-numbered year, December 1 of the year in
which the agency completes the assessment, or the 60th day after the
agency completes the assessment, whichever comes first.

(b) The data maturity assessment shall include at least the be-
low elements:

(1) Data Architecture;
(2) Data Analytics;

(3) Data Governance and Standardization;

(4) Data Management and Methodology;

(5) Data Program Management and Change Control;

(6) Data Quality;
(7) Data Security and Privacy;

(8) Data Strategy and Roadmap;

(9) Master Data Management; and

(10) Metadata Management.

(c) State agencies may complete their data maturity assess-
ment through a method identified by the department or by using their
own tool that includes the elements required by subsection (b) of this
section.

(d) The data maturity assessment completed pursuant to this
subsection addresses the requirement to review an agency's data gov-
ernance program found in Texas Government Code § 2054.515(a)(2).

(e) To comply with Texas Government Code § 2054.515(a), a
state agency must complete a data maturity assessment that is compli-
ant with this section in addition to addressing all information security
assessment requirements enumerated in 1 Texas Administrative Code

Chapter 202.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303101

Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. DATA GOVERNANCE
AND MANAGEMENT FOR INSTITUTIONS OF
HIGHER EDUCATION

1 TAC §218.20

PROPOSED RULES
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The amendments are proposed pursuant to Texas Government
Code § 2054.052(a), which authorizes the department to adopt
rules as necessary to implement its responsibilities under Texas
Government Code Chapter 2054, and Texas Government Code
§ 2054.515(a)(2), which admonishes the department to establish
the data maturity assessment requirements by rule.

No other code, article, or statute is affected by this proposal.
§218.20. Data Maturity Assessment.

(a) An institution of higher education shall conduct a data ma-
turity assessment by November 15 of each even-numbered year, De-
cember 1 of the year in which the institution of higher education com-
pletes the assessment, or the 60th day after the institution of higher
education completes the assessment, whichever comes first.

(b) An institution of higher education's data maturity assess-
ment shall include at least the below elements:

(1) Data Architecture;
(2) Data Analytics;

(3) Data Governance and Standardization;

(4) Data Management and Methodology;

(5) Data Program Management and Change Control;

(6) Data Quality;
(7) Data Security and Privacy;

(8) Data Strategy and Roadmap;

(9) Master Data Management; and

(10) Metadata Management.

(c) Institutions of higher education may complete their data
maturity assessment through a method identified by the department or
by using their own tool that includes the elements required by subsec-
tion (b) of this section.

(d) The data maturity assessment completed pursuant to this
subsection addresses the requirement to review an institution of higher
education's data governance program found at Texas Government Code

§ 2054.515(a)(2).

(e) To comply with Texas Government Code § 2054.515(a), an
institution of higher education must complete a data maturity assess-
ment that is compliant with this section in addition to addressing all
information security assessment requirements enumerated in 1 Texas
Administrative Code Chapter 202.

(f) To the extent that the data maturity assessment is an ele-
ment of the information security assessment required by Texas Gov-
ernment Code § 2054.515 and codified at 1 Texas Administrative Code
Chapter 202, it is an information security standard to which a pub-
lic junior college is subject pursuant to Texas Government Code §
2054.0075.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.
TRD-202303102

Joshua Godbey

General Counsel

Department of Information Resources

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4552

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 353. MEDICAID MANAGED CARE
SUBCHAPTER E. STANDARDS FOR
MEDICAID MANAGED CARE

1 TAC §353.425, §353.427

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) proposes new §353.425,
concerning MCO Processing of Prior Authorization Requests
Received with Incomplete or Insufficient Documentation; and
§353.427, concerning Accessibility of Information Regarding
Medicaid Prior Authorization Requirements in Title 1, Part 15,
Chapter 353, Subchapter E, Standards for Medicaid Managed
Care.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the proposal is to comply with Texas Gov-
ernment Code §533.00282, §533.00284, §533.002841, and
§531.024163 added by Senate Bill 1207, 86th Legislature,
Regular Session, 2019. These sections of the Government
Code require HHSC to establish a uniform process and timeline
for a prior authorization (PA) request submitted with incomplete
or insufficient information or documentation and require Med-
icaid managed care organizations (MCOs) to improve website
accessibility of information related to PA requirements.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed new §353.425 describes a uniform timeline and
process for an MCO to use when reviewing a PA request
submitted with incomplete or insufficient documentation for a
member who is not hospitalized at the time of the request. The
proposed rule defines "incomplete prior authorization request”
and describes a standard process for MCOs to allow a provider
to submit missing information and documentation necessary
to establish medical necessity as listed in the PA requirements
on the MCO's website. The proposed rule sets forth require-
ments for MCOs to communicate with providers and Medicaid
members regarding incomplete or insufficient information or
documentation, offers an opportunity for a peer-to-peer physi-
cian consultation, and creates a standard timeline for making a
final determination on a PA request.

Proposed new §353.427 requires an MCO to maintain on its
website in an easily searchable and accessible format the items
listed in the proposed rule. Specifically, the items listed in the
rule are applicable timelines for prior authorization requirements,
an accurate and up-to-date catalogue of coverage criteria and
prior authorization requirements, and the process and contact
information for a provider or member to contact the MCO for the
reasons described in the proposed rule. The proposed rule also
defines what "accessible" means when used in the section.

FISCAL NOTE
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Trey Wood, HHSC Chief Financial Officer, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the rules will be in effect,
enforcing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable
implications relating to costs or revenues of state or local gov-
ernments.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the
rules will be in effect:

(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government
program;

(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of HHSC employee positions;

(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations;

(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to HHSC;
(5) the proposed rules will create new rules;

(6) the proposed rules will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing
rule;

(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals
subject to the rule; and

(8) the proposed rules will not affect the state's economy.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS

Trey Wood has also determined that there will be no adverse
economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural
communities because the rules apply to MCOs, and there are
no MCOs that are small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural
communities.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT
The proposed rules will not affect a local economy.
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these
rules because the rules are necessary to implement legislation
that does not specifically state that §2001.0045 applies to the
rules and the rules are necessary to protect the health, safety,
and welfare of the residents of Texas.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Emily Zalkovsky, State Medicaid Director, has determined that
for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the
public benefit will be increased transparency, appropriate utiliza-
tion, and improved health care outcomes for Medicaid members
by reducing unnecessary denials and delays in processing of PA
requests under the Medicaid managed care program.

Trey Wood has also determined that for the first five years the
rules are in effect, there are no anticipated economic costs
to MCOs that are required to comply with the proposed rules
because the MCOs have incorporated the proposed process
into their PA processes and have made that information easily
searchable and accessible on their websites.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rules
Coordination Office, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code 4102, Austin,
Texas 78711-3247, or street address 701 W. 51st Street,
Austin, Texas 78751, or emailed to HHSRulesCoordinationOf-
fice@hhs.texas.gov.

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of
the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on the
last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed before
midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last day
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 20R083" in the subject
line.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021(a) and Texas Government
Code §531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to
administer the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program
in Texas. The new sections are also authorized by Texas
Government Code §533.00282, §533.00284, §533.002841 and
§531.024163.

The new sections affect Texas Government Code Chapters 531
and 533 and Texas Human Resources Code Chapter 32.

§353.425. MCO Processing of Prior Authorization Requests Re-
ceived with Incomplete or Insufficient Documentation.

(a) The rules in this section apply when a prior authorization
(PA) request is submitted with incomplete or insufficient information
or documentation on behalf of a member who is not hospitalized at the

time of the request.

(b) In this section, "incomplete PA request" means a request
for service that is missing information or documentation necessary to
establish medical necessity as listed in the PA requirements on the man-
aged care organization's (MCQO's) website.

(¢) An MCO must comply with Title 42 Code of Federal
Regulations §438.210, Texas Insurance Code Chapter 4201, applica-
ble provisions of Texas Government Code Chapter 533, and the PA
process and timeline requirements included in an MCO's contract with
the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC).

(d) Ifan MCO or an entity reviewing a request on behalf of an
MCO receives a PA request with incomplete or insufficient information
or documentation, the MCO or reviewing entity must comply with the
following HHSC requirements.

(1)  An MCO reviewing the request must notify the request-
ing provider and the member, in writing, of the missing information no
later than three business days after the MCO receives an incomplete
PA request.

(2) If an MCO does not receive the information requested
within three business days after the MCO notifies the requesting
provider and the PA request will result in an adverse benefit deter-
mination, the MCO must refer the PA request to the MCO medical
director for review.
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(3) The MCO must offer to the requesting physician an op-
portunity for a peer-to-peer consultation with a physician no less than
one business day before the MCO issues an adverse benefit determina-
tion.

(4) The MCO must make a final determination as expedi-
tiously as the member's condition requires but no later than three days
after the date the missing information is provided to an MCO.

(e) The HHSC requirements for MCO reconsideration of an
incomplete PA request do not affect any related timeline for:

(1) an MCO's internal appeal process;

(2) a Medicaid state fair hearing;

(3) areview conducted by an external medical reviewer; or

(4) any rights of a member to appeal a determination on a
PA request.
$353.427.  Accessibility of Information Regarding Medicaid Prior
Authorization Requirements.
(a) In this section, "accessible" means publicly available and
capable of being found and read without impediment. Usernames and
passwords cannot be required to view the information.

(b) A managed care organization (MCO) must maintain on its
public-facing website the MCO's criteria and policy for prior autho-
rizations and website links to any prior authorization request forms the

provider uses.

(¢) The MCO must maintain the following items on its website
in an easily searchable and accessible format.

(1) Applicable timelines for prior authorization require-
ments, including:

(A) the timeframe in which the MCO must make a de-
termination on a prior authorization request;

(B) a description of the notice the MCO provides to a
provider or member regarding the documentation required to complete
a prior authorization determination; and

(C) the deadline by which the MCO must submit the
notice described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph.

(2) An accurate and up-to-date catalogue of coverage cri-
teria and prior authorization requirements, including:

(A) the effective date of a prior authorization require-
ment, if the requirement is first imposed on or after September 1, 2019;

(B) alistordescription of any supporting or supplemen-
tal documentation necessary to obtain prior authorization for a specified
service; and

(C) the date and results of each annual review of the
MCQO's prior authorization requirements as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §533.00283(a).

(3) The process and contact information for a provider or
member to contact the MCO to:

(A) clarify prior authorization requirements; and

(B) obtain assistance in submitting a prior authorization

request.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 21, 2023.

TRD-202303081

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4395

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 354. MEDICAID HEALTH
SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER O. ELECTRONIC VISIT
VERIFICATION

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) proposes amendments to
§354.4001, concerning Purpose and Authority; and §354.4003,
concerning Definitions; the repeal of §354.4005, concerning
Applicability; §354.4007, concerning EVV System; §354.4009,
concerning Requirements for Claims Submission and Approval;
§354.4011, concerning Member Rights and Responsibilities;
and §354.4013, concerning Additional Requirements; and new
§354.4005, concerning Personal Care Services that Require
the Use of EVV; §354.4006, concerning Home Health Care
Services that Require the Use of EVV; §354.4007, concerning
EVV System; §354.4009, concerning EVV Visit Transaction
and EVV Claim; §354.4011, concerning Visit Maintenance;
§354.4013, concerning HHSC and MCO Compliance Reviews
and Enforcement Actions; §354.4015, concerning EVV Training
Requirements; §354.4017, concerning Process to Request
Approval of a Proposed EVV Proprietary System and Additional
Requirements for a PSO; §354.4019, concerning Access to
EVV System and EVV Documentation; §354.4021, concerning
Additional Requirements; §354.4023, concerning Sanctions;
and §354.4025, concerning Administrative Hearing.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

In accordance with Section 1903(l) of the Social Security Act
(42 U.S.C. §1396b(l)), HHSC requires that electronic visit ver-
ification (EVV) be used to document the provision of certain per-
sonal care services provided through Medicaid. One purpose of
the proposed rules is to ensure that HHSC complies with the re-
quirement in Section 1903(1) that EVV be used to document the
provision of Medicaid home health care services. Although Sec-
tion 1903(l) requires the use of EVV for Medicaid home health
services to have begun January 1, 2023, the Centers for Medi-
care & Medicaid Services granted HHSC an extension allowing
HHSC to implement this requirement by January 1, 2024.

Another purpose of the proposed rules is to codify in rules cur-
rent policies and procedures related to EVV including training
requirements, visit maintenance requirements, compliance re-
views, and the process for HHSC to recognize a health care
provider's proprietary EVV system as described in Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.024172(g).

The proposed rules repeal several rules and replace them with
new rules.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The proposed amendment to §354.4001, Purpose and Authority,
makes minor editorial changes to terminology, deletes language
for brevity and clarity, and corrects a statutory reference.
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The proposed amendment to §354.4003, Definitions, reformats
some of the defined terms and makes edits to some of the defini-
tions for clarity. In addition, the proposed amendment adds defi-
nitions for the following new terms: EVV claim; EVV portal; EVV
portal user; EVV system user; home health aide; ICF/IID--inter-
mediate care facility for individuals with an intellectual disability
or related conditions; IMD--institution for mental diseases; LVN-
-licensed vocational nurse; nursing facility; occupational thera-
pist; PCS--personal care services; PDN--private duty nursing;
physical therapist; PSO--proprietary system operator; RN--reg-
istered nurse; vendor hold; and visit maintenance.

Proposed new §354.4005, Personal Care Services that Require
the Use of EVV, requires a program provider to ensure that a
service provider uses EVV to document the provision of certain
specified personal care services by the program provider. The
new section also requires a consumer directed services (CDS)
employer to ensure that a service provider uses EVV to docu-
ment the provision of certain specified personal care services
through the CDS option. One of the specified services in this
section is in-home individualized skills and socialization, which
replaces day habilitation provided in a member's residence.

The proposed repeal of §354.4005, Applicability, deletes the rule
because it is no longer necessary, and replaces it with proposed
new §354.4005, Personal Care Services that Require the Use of
EVV.

Proposed new §354.4006, Home Health Care Services that Re-
quire the Use of EVV, requires a program provider to ensure that
a service provider uses EVV to document the provision of certain
specified home health care services by the program provider on
or after January 1, 2024. The new section also requires a CDS
employer to ensure that a service provider uses EVV to docu-
ment the provision of certain specified home health care services
using the CDS option on or after January 1, 2024.

Proposed new §354.4007, EVV System, provides that a program
provider or a financial management services agency (FMSA)
must use either an EVV vendor system or EVV proprietary sys-
tem to document the provision of a service and requires a CDS
employer to use the EVV system selected by their FMSA. The
proposed new rule requires that, except as provided in subsec-
tion (d), a program provider, an FMSA, and a CDS employer
ensure that a service provider uses an EVV system to electroni-
cally document the provision of a service described in proposed
new §354.4005 or §354.4006. The proposed new rule describes
the action a program provider, FMSA or a CDS employer must
take if a service provider fails to use an EVV system to document
the provision of a service described in proposed new §354.4005
or §354.4006 or if a service provider cannot use an EVV sys-
tem because the EVV system is unavailable. The proposed new
rule provides that HHSC may take certain actions if a program
provider or an FMSA does not comply with subsections (a), (c),
or (d) of this section. The proposed new rule also provides that
HHSC or managed care organization (MCO) may take certain
actions if a CDS employer does not comply with subsections (b),
(c), or (d) of this section.

The proposed repeal of §354.4007, EVV System deletes the rule
because it is no longer necessary, and replaces it with proposed
new §354.4007, EVV System.

Proposed new §354.4009, EVV Visit Transaction and EVV
Claim, requires a program provider and an FMSA to ensure
that an EVV visit transaction contains certain specified data el-
ements required by the EVV system and that the data elements

are accurate. The proposed new rule also includes a similar
requirement for a CDS employer who elects to complete visit
maintenance on the HHSC Employer's Selection for Electronic
Visit Verification Responsibilities form. The proposed new rule
requires a program provider and an FMSA to make certain
assurances before submitting an EVV claim including that the
EVV visit transaction is transmitted to and accepted by the EVV
Portal, and to submit the EVV claim in accordance with HHSC
or MCO billing requirements and the EVV Policy Handbook.
Further, the proposed new rule provides that HHSC or an
MCO denies an EVV claim or recoups a payment made to a
program provider or an FMSA if the EVV claim does not meet
requirements described in the EVV Policy Handbook.

The proposed repeal of §354.4009, Requirements for Claims
Submission and Approval deletes the rule because it is no longer
necessary, and replaces it with proposed new §354.4009, EVV
Visit Transaction and EVV Claim.

Proposed new §354.4011, Visit Maintenance, requires a pro-
gram provider and an FMSA to complete visit maintenance in
accordance with the EVV Policy Handbook. The proposed new
rule also includes a similar requirement for a CDS employer who
elects to complete visit maintenance on the HHSC Employer's
Selection for Electronic Visit Verification Responsibilities form.
In addition, the proposed new rule allows the program provider,
FMSA, and CDS employer to complete visit maintenance after
the visit maintenance time frame has expired only if the program
provider, FMSA, or CDS employer submits a Visit Maintenance
Unlock Request in accordance with the EVV Policy Handbook
and HHSC or an MCO approves the Visit Maintenance Unlock
Request.

The proposed repeal §354.4011, Member Rights and Respon-
sibilities deletes the rule because it is no longer necessary, and
replaces it with proposed new §354.4011, Visit Maintenance.

Proposed new §354.4013, HHSC and MCO Compliance Re-
views and Enforcement Actions, describes the types of compli-
ance reviews conducted by HHSC and an MCO of a program
provider, FMSA, and CDS employer and the circumstances un-
der which certain action may be taken based on a review, in-
cluding recoupment of payment, imposition of a vendor hold, or
termination of a member's participation in the CDS option.

The proposed repeal §354.4013, Additional Requirements
deletes the rule because it is no longer necessary, and replaces
it with proposed new §354.4013, HHSC and MCO Compliance
Reviews and Enforcement Actions.

Proposed new §354.4015, EVV Training Requirements, de-
scribes the requirements for a program provider, an FMSA, and
a proprietary system operator (PSO) regarding EVV System
Training, EVV Policy Training, and EVV Portal Training; the re-
quirements for a CDS employer regarding EVV System Training
and EVV Policy Training; and the requirements for a program
provider and CDS employer on training a service provider on
the clock in and clock out portion of the EVV System Training.
In addition, the proposed new rule describes the documenta-
tion requirements to demonstrate compliance with the training
requirements and the actions that may be taken by HHSC, an
MCO, or an FMSA if a program provider, FMSA, PSO, or CDS
employer does not comply with the training requirements.

Proposed new §354.4017, Process to Request Approval of a
Proposed EVV Proprietary System and Additional Requirements
for a PSO, describes the process by which a program provider
or FMSA seeks HHSC's approval of a proposed proprietary sys-
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tem and the basis on which HHSC approves a proposed propri-
etary system. In addition, the proposed new rule describes the
requirements of a PSO, allows HHSC to conduct an audit of a
proprietary system, and describes the actions HHSC may take
if a PSO is not in compliance with the requirements in the pro-
posed rule.

Proposed new §354.4019, Access to EVV System and EVV Doc-
umentation, requires a program provider and an FMSA to allow
HHSC and the MCO with which the program provider or FMSA
has a contract access to the EVV system the program provider
or FMSA uses and to allow HHSC and the MCO to review EVV
system documentation or obtain a copy of that documentation at
no charge to HHSC or the MCO.

Proposed new §354.4021, Additional Requirements, requires a
program provider, FMSA, CDS employer, service provider, mem-
ber, and MCO to comply with applicable state and federal laws,
rules, regulations, and the EVV Policy Handbook.

Proposed new §354.4023, Sanctions, provides that HHSC or
an MCO may propose to recoup funds, impose a vendor hold,
or propose to terminate the contract of a program provider or
FMSA as described in proposed §354.4007, §354.4009, and
§354.4013.

Proposed new §354.4025, Administrative Hearing, provides
that a program provider or FMSA may request an administrative
hearing in accordance with 26 TAC §357.484, Request for a
Hearing, to appeal a proposed contract termination or recoup-
ment or imposition of a vendor hold by HHSC and may appeal
a proposed contract termination or recoupment or imposition of
a vendor hold by an MCO in accordance with the MCO's policy.

FISCAL NOTE

Trey Wood, HHSC Chief Financial Officer, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the rules will be in effect,
there will be an estimated additional cost to state government
as a result of enforcing and administering the rules as proposed.
Enforcing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable
implications relating to costs or revenues of local government.

The effect on state government for each year of the first five
years the proposed rule(s) are in effect is an estimated cost of
$475,938 in Federal Funds (FF) ($544,438 All Funds (AF)) in
fiscal year (FY) 2022, $836,286 in FF ($951,598 AF) in FY 2023,
$1,136,250 in FF ($1,515,000 AF) in FY 2024, $1,136,250 in FF
($1,515,000 AF) in FY 2025, and $1,136,250 in FF ($1,515,000
AF) in FY 2026.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the
rule(s) will be in effect:

(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government
program;

(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of HHSC employee positions;

(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations;

(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to HHSC;
(5) the proposed rules will create a new rule;
(6) the proposed rules will expand and repeal existing rules;

(7) the proposed rules will increase the number of individuals
subject to the rules; and

(8) the proposed rules will not affect the state's economy.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS

Trey Wood has also determined that there will be an adverse
economic effect on small businesses or micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities.

HHSC is unable to estimate the number of small businesses and
micro-businesses subject to the proposed rules; no rural commu-
nities are EVV providers. The entities subject to the proposed
rules are program providers; CDS employers; FMSAs; service
providers; Medicaid recipients; and MCOs. The projected eco-
nomic impact for a small or micro business is the cost to comply
with the proposed rules.

The proposed rules implement the requirements of federal
statute and failure to comply will result in reduced federal Medic-
aid funding, therefore no alternative methods were considered.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT
The proposed rules will not affect a local economy.
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these
rules because the rules are necessary to receive a source of
federal funds or comply with federal law.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Emily Zalkovsky, State Medicaid Director, has determined that
for each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the
public benefit is that the provision of Medicaid home health care
services will be documented by EVV in compliance with Section
1903(1) of the Social Security Act. Another public benefit is the
clear identification of programs and services for which the use of
EVV is required.

Trey Wood has also determined that for the first five years the
rules are in effect, MCOs, program providers, FMSAs, and CDS
employers who are required to comply with the proposed rules
may incur economic costs. However, HHSC is unable to esti-
mate the cost for individuals required to comply with the pro-
posed rules.

An MCO may have additional costs: to ensure new MCO pro-
gram providers subject to these proposed rules are in compli-
ance with the EVV requirements; to provide notice to new mem-
bers of the requirement for the member and service provider to
use EVV; and to educate any new members about EVV.

A program provider not using EVV prior to the effective date of
the proposed rules may have additional costs: to implement the
use of the EVV system; to purchase and manage EVV equip-
ment such as alternative devices; to purchase mobile devices
for service providers; to use the mobile application on a mobile
device; to train service providers on the use of the EVV system;
to monitor and verify the service provider's service delivery us-
ing EVV; and to ensure all data elements required by HHSC are
uploaded or entered completely and accurately into the EVV sys-
tem before billing for the delivered services.

An FMSA not using EVV prior to the effective date of the pro-
posed rules may have additional costs: to train CDS employers
on using EVV; to train the CDS employers and service providers
on their responsibilities for using EVV; to assist CDS employers
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with the purchase and management of EVV equipment such as
alternative devices or mobile devices for service providers to use
while employed; to provide on-going assistance and support to
the CDS employer regarding EVV; to monitor and verify the ser-
vice provider's service delivery using EVV; and to ensure all data
elements required by HHSC are uploaded or entered completely
and accurately into the EVV system before billing for the deliv-
ered services.

A CDS employer not using EVV prior to the effective date of
the proposed rules may have additional costs: for travel costs
to attend optional in-person training events; to purchase equip-
ment to enable a service provider to clock in and out of the EVV
system, such as a landline telephone or mobile device; and to
purchase equipment to enable the CDS employer to access the
EVV system, such as a mobile device, computer, tablet, mobile
service, or internet service.

A CDS employer's costs may be reduced or offset depending
on the CDS employer's individual situation. Examples include:
attending online training instead of traveling to receive training;
using the CDS employer's support services budget to purchase
equipment, services or pay for travel costs; delegating EVV
system responsibilities to the FMSA, thus minimizing the need
to purchase equipment or services; and using existing or free
equipment, such as the CDS employer's existing landline or mo-
bile device, a mobile device obtained through federal assistance
programs, or an alternative device provided by the EVV vendor.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Sarah
Hambrick, EVV Operations Policy Specialist, P.O. Box 13247,
Mail Code W-465, Austin, Texas 78711-3247, street address
701 W 51st St, Austin, Texas, 78751-2312; or e-mailed to
EVV@hhs.texas.gov.

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day
of the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on
the last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed be-
fore midnight on the last day of the comment period. If last day
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 21R152" in the subject
line.

1 TAC §§354.4001, 354.4003, 354.4005 - 354.4007, 354.4009,
354.4011, 354.4013, 354.4015, 354.4017, 354.4019, 354.4021,
354.4023, 354.4025

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new sections are authorized by Texas
Government Code, §531.0055, which provides that the Exec-
utive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the opera-
tion and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies; Human Resources Code, §32.021, which provides
that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the proper and effi-
cient operation of the Medicaid program; and Texas Government

Code, §531.024172, which provides that the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC may adopt rules to implement an electronic visit
verification system to electronically verify that personal care ser-
vices or other services identified by HHSC are provided to Med-
icaid recipients.

The amendments and new sections affect Texas Government
Code, §531.0055 and §531.024172 and Human Resources
Code, §32.021.

§354.4001.

[(@] The purpose of this subchapter is to describe [implement]
requirements related to [for the Texas] electronic visit verification

authorized by: [(EVV) system to electronically verify that services

identified in this subehapter; or any other serviees identified by HHSG;
are provided to a member in accordance with a prior authorization or
plan of eare as applicable to the appropriate program:|

(1) Title XIX, Section 1903(]) of the Social Security Act
(42 U.S.C. §1396b(1));

(2) Texas Government Code §531.024172; and
(3) Texas Human Resources Code §161.086.
fb) The provisions of this subchapter are issued in accordanee
(1) Title XIX, Section 1903(1) of the Social Security Act
[2) Texas Government Code §531.024172; and]
{3) Texas Human Resource Code §161.086-1
§$354.4003.  Definitions.

Purpose and Authority.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) CDS employer--Consumer directed services employer.
A member or the member's legally authorized representative who par-
ticipates in the CDS option and whose financial management services
agency (FMSA) uses an electronic visit verification (EVV) vendor sys-
tem or an EVV proprietary system. A CDS employer is responsible for
hiring and retaining a service provider who delivers a service described
in §354.4005 of this subchapter (relating to Personal Care Services that
Require the Use of EVV) or §354.4006 of this subchapter (relating to
Home Health Care Services that Require the Use of EVV).

(2) CDS option--Consumer directed services option. A
service delivery option in which a CDS employer employs and retains
a service provider and directs the delivery of a service described in
§354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchapter.

(3) CFC--Community First Choice. A Medicaid state plan
option governed by Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, Part 441,
Subpart K, Home and Community-Based Attendant Services and Sup-
ports State Plan Option (Community First Choice). CFC services in-
clude the following.

(A) CFC HAB--CFC habilitation. A Medicaid state
plan service that provides habilitation through CFC as described in
§354.1361 of this chapter (relating to Definitions).

(B) CFC PAS--CFC personal assistance services. A
Medicaid state plan service that provides personal assistance services
through CFC as described in §354.1361 of this chapter.

(C) CFC PAS/HAB--CFC personal assistance ser-
vices/habilitation. A Medicaid state plan service provided through
CFC that provides both personal assistance services and habilitation.
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(4) CLASS Program--Community Living Assistance and
Support Services Program. A Medicaid waiver program approved by
the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services under Title XIX, Section
1915(c) of the Social Security Act, as described in 26 TAC Chapter
259 (relating to Community Living Assistance and Support Services
(CLASS) Program and Community First Choice (CFC) Services).

(5) [(H] CMS--Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
[€EMS)—] The federal agency within the United States Department of
Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare and Medic-
aid programs.

K2 Claims administrater—The eﬂ&fy HHSC has des-
ignated to perform functions such as processing certain Medicaid
program provider elaims; managing the EVV aggregater; and per-
forming EV'V vendor management funetions-}

(6) [63)] Community Attendant Services Program--A Med-
icaid state plan program operating under Title XIX of the Social Secu-
rity Act, as described in 40 TAC Chapter 47 (relating to Primary Home
Care, Community Attendant Services, and Family Care Programs).
plan oeptien governed by Code of Federal Regulations; Title 42; Part
441, Subpart K, Home and Community-Based Attendant Services and
Supperts State Plan Option (Community First Choiee): This inclades
Medicaid service model also referred to as fee-for-service. CFC
HAB), a Medicaid state plan serviee that provides habilitation through
CEC;

viees (CEC PAS); a Medicaid state plan service that provides personal
assistanee services through CEC:; and}

HE) Community First Choice Personal Assistance Ser-
viees/Habilitation (CEC PAS/HAB); a Medieaid state plan serviee pro-
vided through CEC that provides both personal assistance services and
habilitation combined into one service.]

{5 Community Living Assistance and Suppert Services
seribed in 40 TAC Chapter 45 (relating to Community Living Assis-
vices).]

6) Consumer Directed Services (€DS) employer—A
member or legally authorized representative (LAR) whe cheoses
to participate in the CDS option: A €DS employer; the member or
LEAR; is responsible for hiring and retaining a service provider whe
delivers a service deseribed in §354.4005 of this subchapter (relating
to Applicability).}
service delivery option in which a member or LAR employs and retains
a service provider and direets the delivery of a serviee deseribed in
$354.4005 of this subchapter.}

(7) [€®] DBMD Program--Deaf Blind with Multiple

Disabilities. [(DBMD) Pregram--] The Medicaid waiver program
approved by CMS under Title XIX, Section 1915(c) of the Social Se-

curity Act, as described in 26 TAC Chapter 260 [40 FAC Chapter 42]
(relating to Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) Program
and Community First Choice (CFC) Services).

(8) [] EVV--Electronic visit verification. [(EVV)--]The
documentation and verification of service delivery through an EVV
system.

(9) [E9)] EVV aggregator--A centralized database that
collects, validates, and stores statewide EVV visit data transmitted by
an EVV system.

(10) EVYV claim--A request for payment of a service de-
scribed in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchapter submitted to
HHSC, HHSC's designated contractor, or a managed care organization
(MCO) in accordance with the EVV Policy Handbook.

(11) EVV Policy Handbook--A handbook promulgated by
HHSC that contains policies and requirements related to EVV [flihe
HHSC handbeok that provides EVV standards and peliey require-
ments].

(12) EVV portal--An online system established by HHSC
that allows users to perform searches, view reports and view EVV
claim match results associated with data in the EVV aggregator.

(13) EVV portal user--A person who is employed by or
contracts with a program provider or FMSA and has access to the EVV

portal.

(14) [E2] EVV proprietary system--An HHSC EVV sys-
tem purchased or developed by a program provider or FMSA approved

by HHSC in accordance with §354.4013 of this subchapter (relating
to HHSC and MCO Compliance Reviews and Enforcement Actions)
[HHSC-appreved EVV system] that a program provider or FMSA uses
[financial management serviees agency (EMSA) may opt to use] in-
stead of an EVV vendor system. [that:]

[(A) is purchased or developed by a program provider
or an FMSA;]

HB) is used to exchange EVV information with HHSC
or a managed eare organization (MCO); and]}
ment Code §531.024172 or its suecessors-}

(15) [E3)] EVV system--An EVV vendor system or an

EVV proprietary system used to electronically document and verify
the data elements described in §354.4009(a) of this subchapter (re-
lating to EVV Visit Transaction and EVV Claim) [§354.4007 of this

{relating to EVV. System)] for a visit conducted to provide
a service described in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchapter.

(16) EVV system user--A person who has access to the
EVV system, including a person employed by or contracting with a
program provider, FMSA, or CDS employer.

(17) [E4] EVV vendor system--An EVV system
developed and operated by a vendor that contracts with HHSC or
HHSC's designated contractor [previded by an EVV vender selected
by the claims administrator; on behalf of HHSC] that a program
provider or FMSA uses [may opt to use] instead of an EVV proprietary
system.

(18) [EH5)] EVV visit transaction--A [data] record gener-
ated by an EVV system that contains the data elements described in
§354.4009(a) [§354-4007] of this subchapter for a visit conducted to
provide a service described in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchap-
ter.

(19) [&6)] FC Program--Family Care [(E€)] Program.
[-]A program funded under Title XX, Subtitle A of the Social Security

Act, as described in 40 TAC Chapter 47.
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(20) [(#H] FMSA--Financial management services
agency. [(EMSA)—-]A program provider [An entity| that contracts
with HHSC or an MCO to provide financial management services to
a CDS employer as described in 40[;] TAC Chapter 41 (relating to
Consumer Directed Services Option).

(21) HCBS-AMH Program--Home and Community-Based

Services Adult Mental Health Program. A Medicaid state plan option

approved by CMS under Title XIX, Section 1915(i) of the Social Secu-

rity Act, as described in 26 TAC Chapter 307, Subchapter B (relating

to Home and Community-Based Services--Adult Mental Health Pro-
ram).

(22) HCS Program--Home and Community-based Ser-
vices Program. A Medicaid waiver program approved by CMS under
Title XIX, Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, as described
in 26 TAC Chapter 263 (relating to Home and Community-based
Services (HCS) Program and Community First Choice (CFC)).

(23) [(48)] HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services
Commission.

by EMS under Title XIX; Section 1915() of the Secial Seecurity Aet;
as described in 26 TAC Chapter 307, Subchapter B (relating to Home
[(20) Home and Community-based Services (HCS) Pro-
Section 1915(¢) of the Social Security Act, as described in 40 TAC
Chapter 9; Subechapter D (relating to Home and Community-based Ser-
(24) Home health aide--Has the meaning set forth in 26
TAC §558.2 (relating to Definitions).

(25) ICF/IID--Intermediate care facility for individuals
with an intellectual disability or related conditions. An ICF/IID is
a facility that is licensed in accordance with THSC Chapter 252 or

(A) traditional Medicaid service delivery model also re-
ferred to as fee-for-service;

(B) the CLASS Program;

(C) the Community Attendant Services Program;
(D) the DBMD Program;

(E) the FC Program;

(F) the HCBS-AMH Program;

(G) the HCS Program;

(H) the Primary Home Care Program;
() the STAR Program;

(J) the STAR Health Program;

(K) the STAR Kids Program;

(L) the STAR+PLUS Program;

(M) the STAR+PLUS Home and Community-Based
Services Program;
(N) the STAR+PLUS Medicare-Medicaid Program;

(O) the Texas Home Living Program;

(P) Texas Health Steps Comprehensive Care Program

(CCP); or

(Q) the Youth Empowerment Services Program.

(33) Nursing facility--A facility licensed in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 242.

(34) Occupational therapist--A person licensed as an occu-
pational therapist in accordance with Texas Occupations Code Chapter
454.

(35) PCS--Personal Care Services. Support services pro-
vided to a member enrolled in Texas Health Steps CCP who requires

certified by HHSC.

(26) IMD--Institution for mental diseases. Has the mean-
ing set forth in 25 TAC §419.373 (relating to Definitions).

(27) LVN--Licensed vocational nurse. A person licensed
to practice as a vocational nurse as described in Texas Occupations

Code Chapter 301.

(28) [@2BH] MCO--Managed care organization. [(MCO)--]
Has the meaning set forth in Texas Government Code §536.001.

(29) [€22)] MDCP--Medically Dependent Children Pro-
gram. [(MBEPRP)—-] A Medicaid waiver program approved by CMS
under Title XIX, Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, as
described in Chapter 353, Subchapter M of this title (relating to Home
and Community Based Services in Managed Care).

(30) [23)] MDCP STAR Health covered service--Med-
ically Dependent Children Program STAR Health [(MDCP STAR
Health)] covered service. []A service provided to a member eligible
to receive MDCP benefits under the STAR Health Program.

(31) [24]MDCP STAR Kids covered service--Medically
Dependent Children Program STAR Kids [(MDPER STAR Kids}] cov-
ered service. [--]A service provided to a member eligible to receive
MDCP benefits under the STAR Kids Program.

(32) [€25)] Member--A person enrolled in one of the fol-
lowing: [eligible te receive a serviee deseribed it §354-4005 of this
subehapter]

assistance with activities of daily living or instrumental activities of
daily living as described in §363.602 of this title (relating to Defini-

tions).

(36) PDN--Private duty nursing. Has the same meaning as
the term "Private duty nursing (PDN) Services" in 1 TAC Chapter 363,
Subchapter C, §363.303 (relating to Definitions).

(37) [€6)] Primary Home Care Program--A Medicaid state
plan program operating under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as
described in 40 TAC Chapter 47.

(38) Physical therapist--A person licensed as a physical
therapist in accordance with Texas Occupations Code Chapter 453.

(39) [2D] Program provider--An entity that contracts with
HHSC or an MCO to provide a service described in §354.4005 or
§354.4006 of this subchapter and that uses an EVV vendor system
or an EVV proprietary system. A service provider described in para-
graph (43)(B) of this section is both a program provider and a service
provider.

(40) PSO--Proprietary system operator.
provider or FMSA that uses an EVV proprietary system.

(41) [€8)] Reason code--A standardized HHSC-approved
code entered in [inte] an EVV system to explain the [speeifie] reason
for completing visit maintenance [a change was made to an EV'V visit
transaction].

A program

PROPOSED RULES

September 8, 2023 48 TexReg 4955



(42) RN--Registered nurse. A person licensed to practice
as a registered nurse as described in Texas Occupations Code Chapter
301.

(43) [29)] Service provider--A person who provides a ser-
vice described in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchapter and who

[is employed or contracted by]:

(A) is employed by or contracting with:

(i) aprogram provider; or

(ii) a CDS employer; or

(B) who is contracting with:
(i) _an MCO; or
(i) HHSC.
HA)  a program provider;}
tB)  a €BS employer; o}
HE) & member whe has selected the service respensi-
(44) [B9)] SRO--Service responsibility option. [(SRO)—]
A service delivery option described in 40 TAC Chapter 43 (relating
to Service Responsibility Option) in which a member or legally au-
thorized representative [EAR] selects, trains, and provides daily man-

agement of a service provider, while the fiscal, personnel, and service
back-up plan responsibilities remain with the program provider.

(45) [BBH] STAR--State of Texas Access Reform.

provides services through a managed eare delivery medel to a member
enrolled in STAR as deseribed in Chapter 353; Subehapter 1 of this title
Gelating to STAR)]

(46) [33)] STAR Health Program--A [The] Medicaid pro-
gram operating under Title XIX, Section 1915(a) of the Social Security
Act and Texas Family Code, Chapter 266. The program provides ser-
vices through a managed care delivery model to a member enrolled in
STAR Health as described in Chapter 353, Subchapter H of this title
(relating to STAR Health).

(47) [B4)] STAR Kids Program--A [Fhe] Medicaid pro-
gram operating under Title XIX, Section 1115 of the Social Security
Act and Texas Government Code Chapter 533. The program provides
services through a managed care delivery model to a member enrolled
in STAR Kids as described in Chapter 353, Subchapter N of this title
(relating to STAR Kids).

(48) STAR Program--A Medicaid program operating un-
der Title XIX, Section 1115 of the Social Security Act. The program
provides services through a managed care delivery model to a member
enrolled in STAR as described in Chapter 353, Subchapter I of this title

(relating to STAR).

(49) [65)] STAR+PLUS HCBS Program--STAR+PLUS
Home and Community-Based Services Program. [(STAR+PLUS
HCEBS Program)—] A Medicaid program operating through a federal
waiver under Title XIX, Section 1115 of the Social Security Act. The
program provides services to a member eligible to receive HCBS
benefits under the STAR+PLUS Program, as described in Chapter
353, Subchapter M of this title (relating to Home and Community
Based Services in Managed Care).

(50) [36)] STAR+PLUS MMP--STAR+PLUS Medicare-
Medicaid Plan. [(STAR+PEUS MMP)--] A managed care program

operating under Title XIX, Section 1115A of the Social Security Act
that provides the authority to test and evaluate a fully integrated care
model for clients who are dual eligible. The STAR+PLUS MMPs
contract [are eentracted] with CMS and HHSC to participate in the
Dual Demonstration Program described in Chapter 353, Subchapter L
of this title (relating to Texas Dual Eligibles Integrated Care Demon-
stration Project).

(51) [68D] STAR+PLUS Program--A Medicaid program
operating under Title XIX, Section 1115 of the Social Security Act,
and Texas Government Code Chapter 533. The program provides ser-
vices through a managed care delivery model to a member enrolled in
STAR+PLUS as described in Chapter 353, Subchapter G of this title
(relating to STAR+PLUS).

(52) [38)] TAC--Texas Administrative Code.

(53) [39)] Texas Health Steps CCP--Texas Health Steps
Comprehensive Care Program. [--] A Medicaid comprehensive pro-
gram approved by CMS under Title XIX, Section 1905 of the Social Se-
curity Act, as described in Chapter 363 [; Subehapter E] of this title (re-
lating to Texas Health Steps Comprehensive Care Program [Persenal
Care Serviees]). [This includes STAR members who receive these ser-
viees through the traditional Medicaid service model also referred to
as fee-for-service. |

(54) [49)] TxHmL--Texas Home Living [(FxHmL)] Pro-
gram. [--]A Medicaid waiver program approved by CMS under Title
XIX, Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, as described in 26

TAC Chapter 262 [40 TAC Chapter 9; Subchapter N| (relating to Texas
Home Living (TxHmL) Program and Community First Choice (CFC)).

(55) Vendor hold--A temporary suspension of payments
for claims that are due to a program provider or FMSA.

(56) Visit maintenance--As described in the EVV Policy
Handbook, a process to:

(A) manually enter data elements described in

§354.4009(a) of this subchapter in an EVV system;

(B) correct the data elements described in §354.4009(a)
of this subchapter that are inaccurate in an EVV visit transaction; or

(C) include the data elements described in §354.4009(a)
of this subchapter that are missing in an EVV visit transaction.

(57) [€4D)] YES Program--Youth Empowerment Services
Program. [--]A Medicaid waiver approved by CMS under Title XIX,
Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act as described in 26 TAC
Chapter 307, Subchapter A (relating to Youth Empowerment Services
(YEN)).

§354.4005.  Personal Care Services that Require the Use of EVV.
(a) A program provider must ensure a service provider uses

EVYV to document the provision of the following personal care services
by the program provider:

(1) in the traditional Medicaid service model also referred
to as fee-for-service, including for members enrolled in STAR who
receive PCS through fee-for-service:

(A) CFC PAS;

(B) CFC HAB;
(C) PCS provided under Texas Health Steps CCP, in-
cluding SRO; and

(D) PCS-Behavioral Health provided under Texas
Health Steps CCP, including SRO;

(2) in the CLASS Program:
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(A) CFC PAS/HAB; and

(B) in-home respite;

(3) personal attendant services provided through the Com-
munity Attendant Services Program, including SRO;

(4) _in the DBMD Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB; and

(B) in-home respite;

(5) personal attendant services provided through the FC
Program, including SRO;

(6) in the HCBS-AMH Program:

(A) supported home living; and

(B) in-home respite;
(7) in the HCS Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB;

(B) in-home respite; and

(C) in-home individualized skills and socialization pro-
vided to members with the residential type of "own/family home";

(8) personal attendant services provided through the Pri-
mary Home Care Program, including SRO;

(9) in the STAR Health Program:
(A) CFC PAS, including SRO;
(B) CFC HAB, including SRO; and
(C) for a member in STAR Health MDCP:
(i) _in-home respite, with and without RN delegation,

including SRO; and
(i) flexible family support, with and without RN

delegation, including SRO;
(10) in the STAR Kids Program:
(A) CFC PAS, including SRO;
(B) CFC HAB, including SRO; and
(C) for a member in STAR Kids MDCP:

(i) _in-home respite, with and without RN delegation,

including SRO; and
(ii) flexible family support, with and without RN

delegation, including SRO;
(11) in the STAR+PLUS Program:

(A) personal assistance services, including SRO;
(B) CFC PAS, including SRO; and
(C) CFC HAB, including SRO;
(12) in the STAR+PLUS HCBS Program:
(A) in-home respite care, including SRO;

(B) protective supervision, including SRO;

(C) personal assistance services, including SRO;
(D) CFC PAS, including SRO; and
(E) CFC HAB, including SRO;

(13) in the STAR+PLUS MMP:

(A) in-home respite care, including SRO;

(B) protective supervision, including SRO;

(C) personal assistance services, including SRO;
(D) CFEC PAS, including SRO; and
(E) CFC HAB, including SRO;
(14) in the TxHmL Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB;

(B) in-home respite; and

(C) in-home individualized skills and socialization;

(15) in-home respite provided in the YES Program; and

(16) any other service required by federal or state man-

dates.

(b) A CDS employer must ensure a service provider uses
EVYV to document the provision of the following personal care services
through the CDS option:

(1) in the traditional Medicaid service model also referred
to as fee-for-service:

(A) CFC PAS;

(B) CFC HAB;
(C) PCS provided under Texas Health Steps CCP; and

(D) PCS-Behavioral Health provided under Texas
Health Steps CCP;

(2) in the CLASS Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB; and

(B) in-home respite;

(3) personal attendant services provided through the Com-
munity Attendant Services Program;

(4) in the DBMD Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB; and

(B) in-home respite;

(5) personal attendant services provided through the FC
Program;

(6) in the HCS Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB; and

(B) in-home respite;

(7) personal attendant services provided through the Pri-
mary Home Care Program;

(8) in the STAR Health Program:
(A) CFCPAS;
(B) CFC HAB; and
(C) for a member in STAR Health MDCP:

(i) _in-home respite, with and without RN delegation;

and

(ii) flexible family support, with and without RN

delegation;
(9) in the STAR Kids Program:
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(A) CFC PAS;
(B) CFC HAB; and

(C) for a member in STAR Kids MDCP:

(i) _in-home respite, with and without RN delegation;

and

(ii) flexible family support, with and without RN

delegation;
(10) in the STAR+PLUS Program:

(A) personal assistance services;
(B) CFC PAS; and

(C) CFC HAB;
(11) in the STAR+PLUS HCBS Program:

(A) in-home respite care;

(B) protective supervision;

(C) personal assistance services;
(D) CFC PAS; and
(E) CFC HAB;

(12) in the STAR+PLUS MMP:

(A) in-home respite care;

(B) protective supervision;

(C) personal assistance services;
(D) CFC PAS; and
(E) CFC HAB; and
(13) in the TxHmL Program:
(A) CFC PAS/HAB;

(B) in-home respite; and

(C) in-home individualized skills and socialization.

$354.4006. Home Health Care Services that Require the Use of EVV.

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(4) in the HCS Program, for a member whose residential
type is "own/family home," the following services when provided in
the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(5) in the HCBS-AMH Program, for a member who does
not receive host home/companion care, supervised living services, or
assisted living services, the following services when provided in the
residence of the member:

(A) nursing - RN; and
(B) nursing - LVN;

(6) inthe STAR Program, the following services when pro-
vided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical

therapist;

(7) in the STAR Health Program, the following services
when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing, other than PDN;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical
therapist;

(a) A program provider must ensure a service provider uses
EVYV to document the provision of the following home health care ser-
vices by the program provider on or after January 1, 2024:

(1) in the traditional Medicaid service model also referred
to as fee-for-service, for a member who does not reside in a nursing
facility, an ICF/IID, or an IMD, the following services when provided
in the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service, other than PDN;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(2) in the CLASS Program, for a member who does not
receive support family services or continued family services, the fol-
lowing services when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(3) in the DBMD Program, for a member who does not
receive licensed assisted living or licensed home health assisted living,
the following services when provided in the residence of the member:

(E) nursing delegation and supervision of PCS and CFC

tasks; and

(F) for amember in STAR Health MDCP, the following
services when provided in the residence of the member:

(i) RN delegation and supervision of personal care
services and CFC tasks, other than PDN;

(ii) flexible family supports services performed by
RN or an LVN; and

(iii) in-home respite performed by RN or an LVN;

(8) in the STAR Kids Program, the following services
when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing, other than PDN;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy;

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical

therapist;
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(E) nursing delegation and supervision of PCS and CFC

tasks; and

(F) for a member in STAR Kids MDCP, the following
services when provided in the residence of the member:

(i) RN delegation and supervision of personal care
services and CFC tasks, other than PDN;

(i) flexible family supports services performed by
an RN or LVN; and

(iii) _in-home respite performed by an RN or LVN;

(9) in the STAR+PLUS Program, the following services
when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical

therapist;
(10) in the STAR+PLUS HCBS Program, for members not

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(2) in the HCS Program, for a member whose residential
type is "own/family home," the following services when provided in
the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy;

(3) in the STAR Health Program for a member in STAR
Health MDCP, the following services when provided in the residence
of the member:

(A) flexible family supports services performed by any
RN or any LVN; and

(B) in-home respite performed by any RN or any LVN;

(4) inthe STAR Kids Program for a member in STAR Kids
MDCP, the following services when provided in the residence of the
member:

receiving adult foster care, assisted living services - single occupancy,
assisted living services - double occupancy, or assisted living services -
non-apartment, the following services when provided in the residence
of the member:

(A) home health nursing, including SRO;

(B) occupational therapy, including SRO;

(C) physical therapy, including SRO; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical
therapist, including SRO;

(11) in the STAR+PLUS MMP, for members not receiving

(A) flexible family supports services performed by any
RN or any LVN; and

(B) in-home respite performed by any RN or any LVN;

(5) in the STAR+PLUS Program, the following services
when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical

adult foster care, assisted living services - single occupancy, assisted

therapist;

living services - double occupancy, or assisted living services - non-
apartment, the following services when provided in the residence of
the member:

(A) home health nursing, including SRO;

(B) occupational therapy, including SRO;

(C) physical therapy, including SRO; and

(D) personal care services provided by a home health
aide under the supervision of an RN, occupational therapist, or physical
therapist, including SRO;

(12) in the TxHmL Program, the following services when
provided in the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy; and

(13) any other service required by federal or state man-

dates.

(b) A CDS employer must ensure a service provider uses EVV
to document the provision of the following home health care services
using the CDS option on or after January 1, 2024:

(1) in the CLASS Program, the following services when
provided in the residence of the member:

(6) inthe STAR+PLUS HCBS Program, the following ser-
vices when provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) home health aide services as an extension of phys-
ical therapy, occupational therapy, or nursing services;

(7) _inthe STAR+PLUS MMP, the following services when
provided in the residence of the member:

(A) home health nursing;

(B) occupational therapy;

(C) physical therapy; and

(D) home health aide services as an extension of phys-
ical therapy, occupational therapy, or nursing services; and

(8) in the TxHmL Program, the following services when
provided in the residence of the member:

(A) any nursing service;

(B) occupational therapy; and

(C) physical therapy.
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$354.4007.  EVV System.
(a) A program provider or FMSA must use one of the follow-

(G) other information HHSC determines necessary to
ensure the accurate payment of a claim for services, as described in the

ing EVV systems to electronically document the provision of a service
described in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this subchapter (relating to
Personal Care Services that Require the Use of EVV and Home Health
Care Services that Require the use of EVV):

(1) an EVV vendor system; or

(2) an EVV proprietary system.

(b) A CDS employer must use the EVV system selected by
their FMSA.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, a pro-
gram provider, an FMSA, and a CDS employer must ensure that a ser-
vice provider uses an EVV system to electronically document the pro-
vision of a service described in §354.4005 or §354.4006 of this sub-
chapter as described in the EVV Policy Handbook.

(d) If a service provider fails to use an EVV system to docu-
ment the provision of a service described in §354.4005 or §354.4006
of this subchapter or if a service provider cannot use an EVV system

EVV Policy Handbook; and

(2) ensure the data elements required by paragraph (1) of
this subsection are accurate.

(b) A CDS employer who elects to complete visit maintenance
on the HHSC Employer's Selection for Electronic Visit Verification Re-
sponsibilities form must:

(1) ensure that an EVV visit transaction contains the data
elements required by the EVV system, including those listed in sub-
section (a)(1) of this section; and

(2) ensure the data elements required by paragraph (1) of
this subsection are accurate.

(c) A program provider and an FMSA must:

(1) before submitting an EVV claim:

(A) ensure that the EVV visit transaction is transmitted
to and accepted by the EVV Portal; and

because the EVV system is unavailable, a program provider, FMSA or
a CDS employer must:

(1) ensure the data elements required by §354.4009(a)(1)
of this subchapter (relating to EVV Visit Transaction and EVV Claim)
are accurate; and

(2) complete visit maintenance.

(e) If a program provider or an FMSA does not comply with

(B) ensure that the data elements on the EVV claim
match the data elements in the accepted EVV visit transaction; and

(2) submit the EVV claim in accordance with HHSC or
MCO billing requirements and the EVV Policy Handbook.

(d) HHSC or an MCO denies an EVV claim or recoups a pay-
ment made to a program provider or an FMSA if the EVV claim does
not meet requirements described in the EVV Policy Handbook, includ-

subsections (a), (c), or (d) of this section, HHSC or an MCO may do
one or more of the following:

(1) deny payment for a service;

(2) take enforcement action including:

(A) requiring a program provider or FMSA to complete
a corrective action plan; or

(B) propose to terminate the contract of the program
provider or FMSA.

(f) If a CDS employer does not comply with subsections (b),
(c), or (d) of this section, HHSC or an MCO may:

(1) require the CDS employer to complete a corrective ac-
tion plan; or

(2) propose to terminate the member's participation in the
CDS option.

$354.4009. EVV Visit Transaction and EVV Claim.
(a) A program provider and an FMSA must:

(1) ensure that an EVV visit transaction contains the data
clements required by the EVV system, including:

(A) the first and last name of the member who received

the service;

(B) the type of service provided,

(C) the date the service was provided;

(D) the time the service began and the time the service
ended;

(E) the first and last name of the service provider who
provided the service;

(F) the location, including the address or geolocation,
where the service was provided; and

ing if:
(1) the EVV claim does not match the accepted EVV visit
transaction; or

(2) there is no accepted EV'V visit transaction that supports
the EVV claim.

§354.4011.

Visit Maintenance.

(a) A program provider and an FMSA must complete
visit maintenance, including the visit maintenance described in
§354.4007(d) of this subchapter (relating to EVV System):

(1) in accordance with the EVV Policy Handbook; and

(2) within the visit maintenance time frame after the date a
service was provided as described in the EVV Policy Handbook.

(b) If a CDS employer elects to complete visit maintenance
on the HHSC Employer's Selection for Electronic Visit Verification
Responsibilities form, the CDS employer must complete visit main-
tenance in accordance with subsection (a)(1) and (2) of this section.

(c) After the visit maintenance time frame has expired, the pro-
gram provider, FMSA, and CDS employer may complete visit mainte-

nance only if:

(1) the program provider, FMSA, or CDS employer sub-
mits a Visit Maintenance Unlock Request in accordance with the EVV
Policy Handbook; and

(2) HHSC or an MCO approves the Visit Maintenance Un-
lock Request.

$§354.4013. HHSC and MCO Compliance Reviews and Enforcement
Actions.

(a) HHSC and an MCO conduct the following compliance re-
views in accordance with the EVV Policy Handbook:

(1) an EVV Usage Review;
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(2) an EVV Landline Phone Verification Review; and
(3) an EVV Required Free Text Review.

(b) If HHSC or an MCO determines from an EVV Usage Re-
view that a program provider's or FMSA's EVV Usage score is less
than 80% and such score is:

(1) the first occurrence within a 24-month period, HHSC

provider or FMSA until the program provider or FMSA provides the
documentation.

(h) If HHSC or an MCO determines from an EVV Required
Free Text Review that a program provider, an FMSA, or a CDS
employer who elects to complete visit maintenance on the HHSC
Employer's Selection for Electronic Visit Verification Responsibilities
form did not enter free text in the EVV system on an EVV visit

or an MCO may require the program provider or FMSA to complete

transaction when using a reason code as required by the EVV Policy

EVYV policy, system, and portal trainings within a specific time frame;

Handbook, HHSC or the MCO may recoup payment made to the

(2) the second occurrence within a 24-month period,
HHSC or an MCO may require the program provider or FMSA to
complete a corrective action plan within 10 business days after the

program provider or the FMSA for the EVV claim associated with the
EVV visit transaction.

$354.4015.  EVV Training Requirements.

date the program provider or FMSA is notified that the EVV Usage
score is less than 80%; or

(3) the third occurrence within a 24-month period, HHSC
or an MCO may propose to terminate the contract of the program

provider or FMSA.
(¢) If HHSC or an MCO determines from an EVV Usage Re-

view that a CDS Employer's EVV Usage score is less than 80% and
such score is:

(1) the first occurrence within a 24-month period, HHSC
or an MCO may require the CDS employer to complete EVV policy

(a) A program provider that uses an EVV vendor system, an
FMSA that uses a vendor system, and a CDS employer whose FMSA
uses an EVV vendor system must ensure that an EVV system user com-
pletes EVV System Training described in the EVV Policy Handbook
and provided by the EVV vendor:

(1) before the EVV system user begins using the EVV sys-
tem; and

(2) yearly thereafter.

(b) A PSO or a CDS employer whose FMSA is a PSO must
ensure that an EVV system user completes EVV System Training de-

and system trainings within a specific time frame;

(2) the second occurrence within a 24-month period,
HHSC or an MCO may require the CDS employer to complete a
corrective action plan within 10 business days after the date the CDS

scribed in the EVV Policy Handbook and provided by the PSO or an
entity on behalf of the PSO:

(1) before the EVV system user begins using the EVV sys-
tem; and

employer is notified that the EVV Usage score is less than 80%; or

(3) the third occurrence within a 24-month period, HHSC
or an MCO may propose to terminate the member's participation in the

CDS option.
(d) If a program provider or FMSA does not complete EVV

(2) yearly thereafter.

(c) A program provider, an FMSA, and a CDS employer must
ensure that an EVV system user completes EVV Policy Training de-
scribed in the EVV Policy Handbook and provided by HHSC or the
MCO with which the program provider or FMSA contracts:

trainings or a corrective action plan as required by subsection (b)(1) and
(2) of this section, HHSC or the MCO may impose a vendor hold on
the program provider or FMSA until the EVV trainings or a corrective
action plan is completed.

(e) If a CDS employer does not complete EVV trainings re-
quired by subsection (c)(1) of this section, HHSC or the MCO may

(1) Dbefore the EVV system user begins using the EVV sys-
tem; and

(2) yearly thereafter.

(d) A program provider and FMSA must ensure that an EVV
portal user:

require the CDS employer to complete a corrective action plan within
10 business days after the date the CDS employer is notified that EVV
trainings were not completed.

(f) If a CDS employer does not complete a corrective action
plan as required by subsections (c)(2) or (e) of this section, HHSC or
the MCO may propose to terminate the member's participation in the

CDS option.
(g) If HHSC or an MCO determines from an EVV Landline

(1) completes EVV Portal Training described in the EVV
Policy Handbook and provided by HHSC or its designated contractor:

(A) before the EVV portal user begins using the EVV
portal; and
(B) yearly thereafter; and

(2) completes EVV Policy Training described in the EVV
Policy Handbook provided by HHSC or the MCO with which the pro-

Phone Verification Review that a service provider has used an unal-

gram provider or FMSA contracts:

lowable phone type as described in the EVV Policy Handbook to clock
in and clock out of the EVV system:

(1) HHSC or an MCO provides written notification of such
determination to the program provider or FMSA;

(2) within 20 business days after receipt of the written no-
tification, the program provider or FMSA must provide the documen-
tation described in the written notification to HHSC or the MCO; and

(3) if'the program provider or FMSA does not provide the
documentation described in the written notification to HHSC or the
MCO, HHSC or the MCO may impose a vendor hold on the program

(A) before the EVV portal user begins using the EVV
portal; and

(B) yearly thereafter.

(e) A program provider and a CDS employer must train a ser-
vice provider on the clock in and clock out portion of the EVV System
Training described in subsections (a) and (b) of this section:

(1) before the service provider begins using the EVV sys-
tem; and

(2) yearly thereafter.
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(f) A program provider that is not an FMSA and uses an EVV

§354.4017.  Process to Request Approval of a Proposed EVV Propri-

vendor system must document the following to demonstrate compli-

etary System and Additional Requirements for a PSO.

ance with subsections (a) and (c) - (e) of this section:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

(g) A PSO that is not an FMSA must document the following
to demonstrate compliance with subsections (b) - (e) of this section:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

(h) An FMSA that is not a PSO must document the following
to demonstrate compliance with subsections (a), (¢) and (d) of this sec-
tion:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

(1) An FMSA that is a PSO must document the following to
demonstrate compliance with subsections (b) - (d) of this section:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

(j) A CDS employer whose FMSA is not a PSO must docu-
ment the following to demonstrate compliance with subsections (a),
(c) and (e) of this section:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

(k) A CDS employer whose FMSA is a PSO must document
the following to demonstrate compliance with subsections (b), (¢) and

(e) of this section:

(1) the name of the training;

(2) the name of the person who completed the training; and

(3) the date of the training.

() If a program provider or an FMSA does not comply with
subsections (a), (¢), or (d) of this section, HHSC or an MCO may re-
quire the program provider or FMSA to complete a corrective action
plan.

(m) IfaPSO does not comply with subsection (b) of this sec-
tion, HHSC or an MCO may require the PSO to complete a corrective

action plan.

(n) Ifaprogram provider that is not an FMSA does not comply
with subsection (e) of this section, HHSC or an MCO may require the
program provider to complete a corrective action plan.

(o) Ifa CDS employer whose FMSA is not a PSO does not
comply with subsections (a), (c), and (e), an FMSA may require the
CDS employer to complete a corrective action plan.

(p) Ifa CDS employer whose FMSA is a PSO does not com-
ply with subsections (b), (c) and (e), an FMSA may require the CDS
employer to complete a corrective action plan.

(a) This section applies to a program provider or FMSA seek-
ing HHSC's approval of a proposed EVV proprietary system. To re-
quest HHSC's approval of a proposed EVV proprietary system, a pro-
gram provider or FMSA must comply with the onboarding process de-
scribed in the EVV Policy Handbook, which includes:

(1) completing and submitting the EVV Proprietary Sys-
tem Request Form; and

(2) participating in an operational readiness review session.

(b) HHSC approves a proposed EVV proprietary system if a
program provider or FMSA:

(1) demonstrates that the proposed EVV proprietary sys-
tem complies with:
(A) the EVV Policy Handbook

(B) the EVV Business Rules for Proprietary Systems;

and

(C) state and federal laws governing EVV; and

(2) successfully completes the operational readiness
review by receiving a score of 100% in the following methods, as
described in the EVV Policy Handbook:

(A) certification;

(B) documentation;

(C) demonstration; and

(D) trading partner testing.
() A PSO must:

(1) ensure the EVV proprietary system complies with the
HHSC EVYV Policy Handbook, the EVV Business Rules for Proprietary
Systems, and state and federal laws governing EVV;

(2) assume responsibility for the design, development, op-
eration, and performance of the EVV proprietary system;

(3) cover all costs to develop, implement, operate, and
maintain the EVV proprietary system;

(4) ensure the accuracy of EVV data collected, stored, and
reported by the EVV proprietary system;

(5) assume all liability and risk for the use of the EVV pro-
prietary system;

(6) maintain all data generated by the EVV proprietary sys-
tem to demonstrate compliance with this subchapter and for general
business purposes;

(7) develop training materials on the proprietary system
and train HHSC staff and MCO staff;

(8) provide access to all HHSC-approved clock in and
clock out methods offered by the PSO to a service provider at no cost
to a member, HHSC, an MCO, or HHSC's designated contractor;

(9) ensure the functionality and accuracy of all clock in and
clock out methods provided to a service provider;

(10) comply with the process in the HHSC EVV Policy
Handbook if transferring EVV proprietary systems; and

(11) notify HHSC, in writing, if:
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(A) the EVV proprietary system is not in compliance
with the HHSC EVV Policy Handbook, the EVV Business Rules for

(2) §354.4013(h) of this subchapter (relating to HHSC and
MCO Compliance Reviews and Enforcement Actions.

Proprietary Systems, and state and federal laws governing EVV; or

(B) if the PSO plans to make significant changes to the

(b) HHSC or an MCO may impose a vendor hold against a
program provider or FMSA as described in §354.4013(d) and (g)(3) of

EVV system.

(d) HHSC may, at its discretion, audit an EVV proprietary sys-
tem. Such audit may be conducted by a contractor of HHSC.

(e) If HHSC determines that a PSO is not in compliance with
subsection (c) of this section, HHSC may, in accordance with the

this subchapter.

(c) HHSC or an MCO may propose to terminate the contract
of program provider or FMSA as described in:

(1) §354.4007(e)(2)(B) of this subchapter (relating to EVV
System); and

HHSC EVYV Policy Handbook:

(1) require the PSO to correct the non-compliance within a
time frame specified by HHSC;

(2) reject EVV visit transactions from the proprietary sys-
tem until HHSC determines the non-compliance is corrected;

(3) cancel the use of the EVV proprietary system if:

(A) the PSO fails to correct the non-compliance within
the time frame specified by HHSC; or

(B) the PSO does not respond to a written communi-
cation from HHSC about the non-compliance within the time frame
specified by HHSC; and

(4) cancel the use of an EVV proprietary system without
giving the PSO the opportunity to correct the non-compliance:

(A) if the non-compliance is egregious, as determined
by HHSC; or

(B) Dbecause of a substantiated allegation of fraud,
waste, or abuse by the Office of Inspector General.

$354.4019.  Access to EVV System and EVV Documentation.

A program provider and an FMSA must:

(1) allow HHSC and the MCO with which the program
provider or FMSA has a contract immediate, direct, and on-site access
to the EVV system the program provider or FMSA uses;

(2) atHHSC's request, allow HHSC to review EVV system
documentation or obtain a copy of that documentation at no charge to
HHSC; and

(3) at the request of an MCO with which an EVV claim is
filed, allow the MCO to review EVV system documentation related to
the EVV claim or obtain a copy of that documentation at no charge to
the MCO.

§354.4021.

Additional Requirements.

A program provider, an FMSA, a CDS employer, a service provider, a
member, and an MCO must comply with:

(1) applicable state and federal laws, rules, regulations, in-
cluding the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act of 1966 at
42 U.S.C. §1320d, et. seq., and regulations adopted under that act at
45 CFR Parts 160 and 164; and

(2) the EVV Policy Handbook.
$354.4023. Sanctions.

(2)  §354.4013(b)(3) of this subchapter.

$354.4025.  Administrative Hearing.

(a) If, as described in this subchapter, HHSC proposes to ter-
minate the contract of a program provider or FMSA, proposes to recoup
funds paid to a program provider or FMSA, or imposes a vendor hold
on a program provider or FMSA, the program provider or FMSA may
request an administrative hearing in accordance with §357.484 of this
title (relating to Request for a Hearing).

(b) If, as described in this subchapter, an MCO proposes to
terminate the contract of a program provider or FMSA, proposes to
recoup funds paid to a program provider or FMSA, or imposes a vendor
hold on a program provider or FMSA, the program provider or FMSA
may appeal the proposed action in accordance with the MCO's policy.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303168

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5241

¢ ¢ ¢
1 TAC §§354.4005, 354.4007, 354.4009, 354.4011, 354.4013
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are authorized by Texas Government Code,
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies; Hu-
man Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC
shall adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient oper-
ation of the Medicaid program; and Texas Government Code,
§531.024172, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC may adopt rules to implement an electronic visit verifi-
cation system to electronically verify that personal care services
or other services identified by HHSC are provided to Medicaid
recipients.

The repeals affect Texas Government Code, §531.0055 and
§531.024172 and Human Resources Code, §32.021.

(a) HHSC or an MCO may propose to recoup funds paid to a §354.4005.  Applicability.
program provider or FMSA as described in: $354.4007. EVV System.
(1) §354.4009(d) of this subchapter (relating to EVV Visit §$354.4009.  Requirements for Claims Submission and Approval.
Transaction and EVV Claim); and §$354.4011. Member Rights and Responsibilities.
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$354.4013. Additional Requirements.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303169

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5241

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSING AND REGULATION

CHAPTER 121. BEHAVIOR ANALYST

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment) proposes amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 121, Subchapter A, §121.1
and §121.10; Subchapter B, §§121.20 - 121.22, 121.27, and
121.30; Subchapter C, §121.65; Subchapter D, §121.71 and
§121.75; and Subchapter G, §121.90 and §121.95; new rules
at Subchapter B, §121.26; Subchapter D, §§121.70, 121.72 -
121.74; Subchapter E, §§121.76 - 121.81; and Subchapter F,
§121.85; and the repeal of existing rules at §§121.23, 121.24,
121.26, 121.50, 121.70, and 121.80 regarding the Behavior
Analyst program; and the addition of subchapter titles to the
existing chapter. These proposed changes are referred to as
"proposed rules."

EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 121, implement Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.

The Department is proposing amendments to Chapter 121 in re-
sponse to its required four-year rule review and to reorganize its
guidelines for the use of telehealth by behavior analysts. The
amendments also update rule provisions to reflect current De-
partment procedures, restructure the existing rules for better or-
ganization, and replace outdated rule language.

The Department published a Notice of Intent to Review its be-
havior analyst rules as part of the four-year rule review required
under Government Code §2001.039 in the April 29, 2022, is-
sue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 2575). The Department
reviewed these rules and determined that the rules were still es-
sential in implementing the statutory provisions of Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapter 506, Behavior Analysts. The Commis-
sion re-adopted the rules in their existing form in the November
11, 2022, issue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 7567).

The Department received public comments from the Texas Asso-
ciation for Behavior Analysis, Public Policy Group (TxABA PPG)
in response to its Notice of Intent to Review. The re-adoption
notice stated that the Department would address those public
comments along with the suggested changes resulting from the
Department's own review in a future proposed rulemaking. The
Department initiated that rulemaking following the readoption of
the rules at the conclusion of the Rule Review process.

Advisory Board Recommendations

The proposed rules were presented to and discussed by the Be-
havior Analyst Advisory Board at its meeting on December 1,
2022. The Advisory Board did not make any changes to the pro-
posed rules and voted to recommend that the proposed rules be
published in the Texas Register for public comment. The pro-
posed rules were published in the January 6, 2023 issue of the
Texas Register (48 TexReg 9). The Department received pub-
lic comments from the Texas Medical Association (TMA) in re-
sponse to that publication of the proposed rules. After the public
comment period concluded, the department withdrew the pro-
posed rules to make further amendments and updates, including
amendments related to the public comments received, and now
re-proposes the rules. The Department's responses to the public
comments submitted are specifically addressed in this proposal.

The proposed rules were presented to and discussed by the Be-
havior Analyst Advisory Board at its meeting on August 15, 2023.
The Advisory Board agreed to remove §121.77(b) as unneces-
sary and made no other changes to the proposed rules. The Ad-
visory Board voted and recommended that the proposed rules
with the deletion of §121.77(b) be published in the Texas Regis-
ter for public comment.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The proposed rules create new Subchapter A, General Provi-
sions.

The proposed rules amend §121.1, Authority, to include Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 111.

The proposed rules amend §121.10, Definitions, to move defi-
nitions related to telehealth to Subchapter E, Telehealth. A def-
inition for "applied behavior analysis" is added in response to a
comment from TxABA PPG recommending this change. Other
amendments clarify terms and remove definitions that are not
used throughout the chapter.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter B, Licensing Re-
quirements.

The proposed rules amend outdated language in §121.20, Ap-
plications, and relocate provisions to §121.20 from §121.23, Ex-
aminations, which was repealed.

The proposed rules amend outdated language in §121.21, Be-
havior Analyst Licensing Requirements, and relocate provisions
to this section from §121.24, Educational Requirements, which
was repealed.

The proposed rules amend outdated rule language in §121.22,
Assistant Behavior Analyst Licensing Requirements, and move
provisions to this section from repealed §121.24, Educational
Requirements.

The TxABA PPG in its public comments during the rule review
process noted that certification by the Behavior Analyst Certifi-
cation Board (BACB), or its equivalent, is required to obtain and
maintain licensure as a Licensed Behavior Analyst or Licensed
Assistant Behavior Analyst. TXABA PPG requested that the de-
partment clarify the meaning of equivalent and spell out educa-
tion and experience requirements of an equivalent certification
(proposed §§ 121.20-121.22).

The Department's response is that the Act defines a certifying
entity as "the nationally accredited Behavior Analyst Certification
Board or another entity that is accredited by the National Com-
mission for Certifying Agencies or the American National Stan-
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dards Institute to issue credentials in the professional practice
of applied behavior analysis and approved by the department.”
Further, a behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst must
be certified as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst, a Board Cer-
tified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral, or a Board Certified Assistant
Behavior Analyst, or have an equivalent certification issued by
the certifying entity and meet the requirements specified in §§
506.252 and 506.253 or 506.254 of the Act, as applicable, and
Subchapter B of the rules. Those requirements include a BACB
certification or an equivalent certification by an accredited, ap-
proved certifying entity, which requires compliance with the certi-
fying entity's educational, examination, professional, ethical, and
disciplinary standards.

One need only examine the BACB certification requirements to
determine what an equivalent standard should include. Equiv-
alent does not mean identical so evaluation of the certification
is necessary. The department has been given the discretion to
compare the accreditation and standards of a certifying entity to
those of the BACB to approve or disapprove the certification it
issues. Individuals who meet the requirements of the approved
certifying entity and are issued a credential that has been ap-
proved as utilizing standards equivalent to those of the BACB
may apply for licensure. The department does not evaluate in-
dividuals' qualifications other than to verify that they satisfy the
requirements to obtain the license that are provided in the Act
and the rules.

Once a certification that has been issued by an approved en-
tity is deemed equivalent, then those who have obtained that
certification may apply without having their certification re-ex-
amined. A certification issued by an approved certifying entity
may be reevaluated at any time to ascertain that the standards
for its issuance continue to be equivalent to those of the BACB,
which may change over time. The discretion provided to the De-
partment to evaluate certifying entities and the certifications they
issue provides flexibility to evaluate the credential as a whole,
given that each particular standard or requirement is unlikely
to be identical to those of the BACB. The Department reserves
the opportunity to elaborate more specifically regarding potential
certifying entities and the standards for the certifications they is-
sue as evaluation of additional certifying entities occurs, but has
not specified equivalent requirements at this time.

The proposed rules repeal §121.23, Examinations. The text is
relocated to the proposed §121.20.

The proposed rules repeal §121.24, Educational Requirements.
The text is relocated to the proposed §§121.21-121.22.

The proposed rules repeal §121.26, Renewal, and replace it with
new proposed §121.26, Renewal, due to extensive changes.
The proposed section clarifies the requirements for renewal, in-
cluding term of license, amends outdated rule language, and re-
moves a provision preventing renewal of the license of a person
who is in violation of rules or law at the time of renewal.

The proposed rules amend §121.27, Inactive Status by updating
language and adding that there is no fee to move from an active
to inactive license status.

The proposed rules amend §121.30, Exemptions, to align the
rule with statutory provisions.

The proposed rules repeal §121.50, Reporting Requirements.
Text is updated and relocated to the proposed new §121.74, Re-
porting Requirements.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter C, Behavior Analyst
Advisory Board.

The proposed rules amend §121.65, Membership, to update lan-
guage.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter D, Responsibilities
of License Holders.

The proposed rules repeal §121.70, Administrative Practice Re-
sponsibilities of License Holders, and replace it with new pro-
posed §121.70, Administrative Practice Responsibilities of Li-
cense Holders, due to extensive changes. The proposed rules
remove duplicative provisions from the section that are included
in §121.95; move license display requirements to new §121.72;
move recordkeeping requirements to §121.73; and relocate tele-
health requirements to Subchapter E, Telehealth.

The proposed rules amend §121.71, Professional Services
Practice Responsibilities of License Holders, to update lan-
guage and to move telehealth requirements to Subchapter E,
Telehealth.

The proposed rules add new §121.72, Display of License,
which relocates license display provisions and limitations from
§121.70.

The proposed rules add new §121.73, Recordkeeping Require-
ments, which relocates requirements from §121.70 and clarifies
who owns and is responsible for maintaining patient records.
In its public comments the TMA recommended that the refer-
ence to "providers" in §121.73(a)(2) be replaced with "license
holder." The department has made this change because the term
"provider" is used only in Subchapter E, Telehealth, to refer to li-
cense holders who provide telehealth services. In the balance
of the rules, as in §121.73(a)(2), the term "license holder" is ap-
propriate.

The proposed rules add new §121.74, Reporting Requirements,
which relocates the rules from repealed §121.50 with updates.

The proposed rules amend outdated language in §121.75, Code
of Ethics.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter E, Telehealth.

The proposed rules add new §121.76, Definitions Relating to
Telehealth, which relocates telehealth definitions from §121.10
and aligns them with other department health professions pro-
grams. The TMA in its public comments in response to the ear-
lier proposal of these rules requested that the proposed defini-
tion of "telehealth" in §121.76 be amended to incorporate the
limitations contained in the underlying definition in Chapter 111,
Occupations Code. Specifically, the TMA recommended the fol-
lowing definition:

Telehealth--The use of telecommunications and telecommunica-
tions technologies for the exchange of information from one site
to another for the provision of behavior analysis services to a
client from a provider, including for assessments, interventions,
or consultations, to the extent permitted by the definition of "tele-
health service" in Occupations Code Chapter 111.001(3) (citation
corrected).

The department agrees that behavior analysis license holders,
like all health professionals providing telehealth services in
Texas, are subject to Occupations Code, Chapter 111, including
the definition of "telehealth service." The Act does not define the
term but Chapter 51 directly refers to the definition in Chapter
111. The definition in the rule has been amended to more
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closely align with the Chapter 111 definition while remaining
tailored to the practice of telehealth by behavior analysis license
holders. In addition, Chapter 111 has been added to the citation
of statutory authority under which the behavior analyst rules are
promulgated.

The proposed rules add new §121.77, Service Delivery Meth-
ods, which relocates delivery methods defined in §121.10 and
§121.70 and aligns them with other department health profes-
sions programs.

The proposed rules add new §121.78, Technology and Equip-
ment Requirements, which relocates telecommunications
requirements related to equipment and competencies from
§8§121.70-121.71.

The proposed rules add new §121.79, License Holder Re-
sponsibilities for Providing Telehealth Services and Using
Telehealth, which relocates responsibilities for providers from
§8§121.70-121.71 and aligns them with other department health
professions programs.

The proposed rules add new §121.80, Use of Facilitators with
Telehealth, which moves facilitator requirements for telehealth
from §121.71.

The proposed rules add new §121.81, Client Contacts and Com-
munications, and relocates requirements regarding notifications
to clients and complaint information from §121.70.

The proposed rules repeal §121.80, Fees, which has been
moved to new Subchapter F.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter F, Fees.

The proposed rules add new §121.85, Fees, relocating the text
from §121.80 without substantive changes.

The proposed rules create new Subchapter G, Enforcement.

The proposed rules amend §121.90, Basis for Disciplinary Ac-
tion, to include a reference to the Chapter 100 rules and to pro-
vide more concise language for disciplinary actions that can be
taken against a person.

The proposed rules amend §121.95, Complaints, adding a re-
quirement to include an authorized representative in the com-
plaint process and updating rule language.

FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Tony Couvillon, Policy Research and Budget Analyst, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed rules
are in effect, there are no estimated additional costs, reductions
in costs, or foreseeable implications relating to costs to the state
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering
the proposed rules.

Tony Couvillon, Policy Research and Budget Analyst, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed rules
are in effect, there is no estimated increase or loss in revenue
to the state or local governments, or foreseeable implications re-
lating to revenues, as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed rules.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT

Mr. Couvillon has determined that the proposed rules will not
affect a local economy, so the agency is not required to prepare
a local employment impact statement under Government Code
§2001.022.

PUBLIC BENEFITS

Mr. Couvillon also has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the proposed rules are in effect, the public bene-
fit will be more clear and understandable rules, and more effec-
tive and efficient regulation of behavior analysts and assistant
behavior analysts, which enhances the health, safety, and wel-
fare of the public.

PROBABLE ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS REQUIRED
TO COMPLY WITH PROPOSAL

Mr. Couvillon has determined that for each year of the first five-
year period the proposed rules are in effect, there are no antic-
ipated economic costs to persons who are required to comply
with the proposed rules.

FISCAL IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES

There will be no adverse economic effect on small businesses,
micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of the
proposed rules. Because the agency has determined that
the proposed rule will have no adverse economic effect on
small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities,
preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and a Regulatory
Flexibility Analysis, as detailed under Texas Government Code
§2006.002, are not required.

ONE-FOR-ONE REQUIREMENT FOR RULES WITH A FISCAL
IMPACT

The proposed rules do not have a fiscal note that imposes a
cost on regulated persons, including another state agency, a
special district, or a local government. Therefore, the agency is
not required to take any further action under Government Code
§2001.0045.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

Pursuant to Government Code §2001.0221, the agency provides
the following Government Growth Impact Statement for the pro-
posed rules. For each year of the first five years the proposed
rules will be in effect, the agency has determined the following:

1. The proposed rules do not create or eliminate a government
program.

2. Implementation of the proposed rules does not require the
creation of new employee positions or the elimination of existing
employee positions.

3. Implementation of the proposed rules does not require an
increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to the
agency.

4. The proposed rules do not require an increase or decrease in
fees paid to the agency.

5. The proposed rules do not create a new regulation.

6. The proposed rules expand, limit, or repeal an existing regu-
lation. The proposed rules expand the definitions for telehealth
and telecommunications.

7. The proposed rules do not increase or decrease the number
of individuals subject to the rules' applicability.

8. The proposed rules do not positively or adversely affect this
state's economy.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The Department has determined that no private real property in-
terests are affected by the proposed rules and the proposed rules
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do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the
absence of government action. As a result, the proposed rules
do not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment
under Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Comments on the proposed rules may be submit-
ted electronically on the Department's website at
https.//ga.tdir.texas.gov:1443/form/gcerules; by facsimile to
(512) 475-3032; or by mail to Monica Nufiez, Legal Assistant,
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box
12157, Austin, Texas 78711. The deadline for comments is 30
days after publication in the Texas Register.

16 TAC §§121.23, 121.24, 121.26, 121.50, 121.70, 121.80
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed repeals are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's gov-
erning body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.23.  Examination.

§121.24. Educational Requirements.

$121.26.  Renewal.

§121.50. Reporting Requirements.

$121.70.  Administrative Practice Responsibilities of License Hold-
ers.

$121.80. Fees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303166

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
16 TAC §121.1, §121.10
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.1.  Authority.

This chapter is promulgated under the authority of Texas Occupations

Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.

§121.10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
(1) (No change.)

(2) Advertising--The offer to perform behavior analysis
services by an individual or [selicitation for] business, including
utilizing the titles "licensed behavior analyst" or "licensed assistant
behavior analyst."

(3)-(4) (No change.)

(5) Applied behavior analysis - the practice of applied be-
havior analysis is defined and described in the Act, §506.003.

15) Asynchronous telehealth— Stere-and-forward tele-
health practice including the transmission of images or data when the
data transfer does not occur in real-time}.

(6) Authorized representative--A person or entity that is

legally authorized to represent the interests of a client and [te] perform
functions including making decisions about behavior analysis services.

(7) Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB)--a certi-
fying entity for persons practicing behavior analysis.

(8) Client--A person who is:

(A) an individual receiving behavior analysis services
from a license holder;

(B) an authorized representative of the individual re-
ceiving behavior analysis services; or

(C) an individual, institution, school, school district,
educational institution, agency, firm, corporation, organization, gov-
ernment or governmental subdivision, business trust, estate, trust,
partnership, association, or any other legal entity not receiving behav-
ior analysis services for its own treatment purposes.
serviees from a license holder for the persen's ewn treatment purpeses;
or & person or entity whe is not receiving behavior analysis services
from a license holder for their own treatment purpeses ineluding:}
person's own treatment purposes; or|
ernment or governmental subdivision; business trust; estate; trust; part-
nership; assoeiation; or any other legal entity]

H9) Client site—-The physical location of a elient at the time
behavior analysis services are practiced through synchronous or asyn-

(9) [(9)] Commission--The Texas Commission of Licens-
ing and Regulation.

(10) [(D)] Department--The Texas Department of Licens-
ing and Regulation.
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(11) [(+2)] Direct observation--A method of data collection
that consists of observing the object of study in a particular situation or
environment.

f3) Direet supervision—Supervision of a person whe is
performing behavior analysis services with a elient]

(12) [E4)] Executive director--The executive director of
the department.

[(15) Facili individual shysicall with a
direction of a behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst}

(13) [E6)] Indirect supervision--Supervision of a person
who performs behavior analysis services but which does not occur
when services are being provided to a client. This may include behav-
ioral skills training and delivery of performance feedback; modeling
technical, professional, and ethical behavior; guiding behavioral case
conceptualization, problem-solving, and decision-making repertoires;
review of written materials such as behavior programs, data sheets, or
reports; oversight and evaluation of the effects of behavioral service
delivery; and ongoing evaluation of the effects of supervision.

(14) [ED] License--A license issued under the Act autho-
rizing a person to use the title "licensed behavior analyst" or "licensed
assistant behavior analyst" or to practice behavior analysis.

(15) [E8)] License holder--A person who has been issued
a license in accordance with the Act to use the title "licensed behavior
analyst" or "licensed assistant behavior analyst" or to practice behavior
analysis.

(16) [E9] Multiple relationship--A personal, professional,
business, or other type of interaction by a license holder with a client or
with a person or entity involved with the provision of behavior analysis
services to a client that is not related to, or part of, the behavior analysis
services.

[(20)  Provider--An individual who holds a current, renew-
able; behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst license under this
chapter; or wheo is authorized to provide behavior analysis services-}

2D Previder site—-The physical location of a provider at
or asynchronous telehealth: Also termed the distance site-}

(17) [€22)] Service agreement--A signed written contract
for behavior analysis services. A service agreement includes responsi-
bilities and obligations of all parties and the scope of behavior analysis
services to be provided. A service agreement may be identified by other

terms including treatment agreement, Memorandum of Understanding
(MOU), or Individualized Education Program (IEP).

(18) [€23)] Supervision--Supervision of a person who per-
forms behavior analysis services, and may include both direct and in-
direct supervision. A license holder may engage in direct supervision
or indirect supervision in-person and on-site, through telehealth, or in
another manner approved by the license holder's certifying entity.

H24) Synehronous telehealth-—telehealth serviees that re-
quire transmission of images, video, or data through a communication
link for real-time interaction to take place]
two-way transmission using telecommunications technology, inelud-
ing; but not limited to sound; visual images; or computer data-}

126) Telecommunications technology-—-Computers and
equipment used or eapable of use for purpeses of telecommunieations;

other than aﬂa}eg Eelepheﬂe’ eﬂlﬁﬂ, or faesimile tee‘hﬂel’eg‘y and eqﬂip—
data ission;
by way of still-image eapture; storage and forward; and}
telehealth services.]

127 Telehealth service—The meaning of “telehealth ser-
viee" is the same as defined in Oceupations Code Chapter H1-}

(19) Telehealth--See definitions in Subchapter E. Tele-

health.

(20) [28®)] Treatment plan--A written behavior change pro-
gram for an individual client. A treatment plan includes consent, ob-
jectives, procedures, documentation, regular review, and exit criteria.
A treatment plan may be identified by other terms including Behavior
Intervention Plan, Behavior Support Plan, Positive Behavior Support
Plan, or Protocol.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303159

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. LICENSING REQUIRE-
MENTS

16 TAC §§121.20 - 121.22, 121.26, 121.27, 121.30
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.20. Applications.

(a) Unless otherwise indicated, an applicant [applicants] for a
license must submit all required information [en department-approved

forms of| in a manner specified by the department.
(b) An applicant [Applieants] must submit the following:
(1) (No change.)
(2) the applicant's certification number by a behavior ana-
lyst certifying entity or other documentation of current certification by

a behavior analyst certifying entity [; as] approved by the department;
and
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(3) the fee required under §121.85 [§121.80].

(¢) Upon request, the [Fhe] department may require an appli-
cant to submit additional information or documentation for evaluation
of an applicant's qualifications, including the following:

(1)-(7) (No change.)

(8) documentation demonstrating passage of the Board
Certified Behavior Analyst examination or the Board Certified Assis-
tant Behavior Analyst examination, as applicable, or an equivalent
examination in applied behavior analysis offered by the certifying

entity [sueecessful completion of applicable examination requirements;
including a passiail report];
(9)-(11) (No change.)
(d)-(g) (No change.)
§121.21.
(a) To qualify for licensure as a behavior analyst, a person

Behavior Analyst Licensing Requirements.

must:

(1) hold current certification as a Board Certified Behavior
Analyst or a Board Certified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral or equivalent,
issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board or other certifying
entity [its equivalent as] approved by the department; [and]

(2) be in compliance with all professional, ethical, and dis-
ciplinary standards established by the certifying entity; and [:]

(3) meet the educational requirements of the certifying en-
tity for the Board Certified Behavior Analyst, the Board Certified Be-
havior Analyst-Doctoral, or an equivalent standard of the certifying
entity approved by the department.

(b) A person [Persens] who is [are] subject to or has [have]
received a disciplinary action by the certifying entity may be ineligible
for a license.

(c) A person [Persens] who holds a [keld] current certification
by the certifying entity but who does [de] not hold a current license
may not:

(1) - (2) (No change.)

(d) A person [Persens] who holds [held] a current Texas li-
cense may use the title "licensed behavior analyst" or a reasonable ab-
breviation of the title that is accurate and not misleading, including
"LBA," "L.B.A.,)" "TXLBA," or "TX. L.B.A."

(e) (No change.)
§121.22.  Assistant Behavior Analyst Licensing Requirements.

(a) To qualify for licensure as an assistant behavior analyst, a
person must:

(1) hold current certification as a Board Certified Assistant
Behavior Analyst or equivalent, issued by the Behavior Analyst Certi-
fication Board or other certifying entity [its equivalent as] approved by
the department;

(2) be in compliance with all professional, ethical, and dis-
ciplinary standards established by the certifying entity; [and]

(3) be in compliance with the applicable supervision re-
quirements of the certifying entity at all times when practicing behavior
analysis; and[<]

(4) meet the educational requirements of the certifying en-
tity for the Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analyst or an equivalent
standard of the certifying entity approved by the department.

(b) A person [Persens] who is [are] subject to or has [have]
received a disciplinary action by the certifying entity may be ineligible
for a license.

(c) A person [Persens] who holds a [held] current certification
by the certifying entity but who does [de] not hold a current license
may not:

(1)-(2) (No change.)

(d) A person [Rersens] who holds [held] a current Texas li-
cense may use the title "licensed assistant behavior analyst" or a rea-
sonable abbreviation of the title that is accurate and not misleading,
including "LaBA," "L.a.B.A.," "TXLaBA," or "TX. L.a.B.A." The let-
ter "a" representing the word "assistant" may not be capitalized unless
the abbreviation clearly represents the word "assistant," including "Lic.
Asst. BA," "TX L. Assist. B.A." or similar.

() (No change.)
$§121.26. Renewal.

(a) A behavior analyst and assistant behavior analyst license
is valid for two years from the date of issuance and may be renewed

biennially.
(b) A license holder is responsible for submitting all required

documentation and information and paying the renewal application fee
before the expiration date of the license.

(c) To renew a license, a license holder must:

(1) submit a completed renewal application in a manner
prescribed by the department;

(2) provide a current certification number from the BACB
or evidence of certification by a certifying entity approved by the de-

partment;

(3) successfully pass a criminal history background check;

and
(4) submit the fee required under §121.85.

(d) The license holder must complete the human trafficking
prevention training required under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter
116, and provide proof of completion as prescribed by the department.

(e) A person whose license has expired may not provide or
offer to provide behavior analysis services or use the title or represent
or imply that the person has the title of "licensed behavior analyst" or
"licensed assistant behavior analyst" and may not use any variation of
those titles.

(f) A person whose certification is on inactive status with the
certifying entity may renew a license that is on inactive status with the
department if the person is in compliance with the requirements for
inactive status with the certifying entity.

(g) A person whose certification is on inactive status with the
certifying entity may not renew a license that is on active status with

the department.
$121.27. Inactive Status.

(a) To change a license to inactive status, an applicant must
submit a complete application in a manner prescribed by the depart-

ment [en a department-approved form]. No fee is required to change

from active status to inactive status.

(b) A person whose license is on inactive status may not:

(1) - (2) (No change.)
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(3) participate in a supervision relationship with another li-
cense holder or unlicensed person [unless an active license is not re-
quired for the license helder's activity]; or

(4) (No change.)

(c) - (d) (No change.)

(e) To change from an inactive license status to an active li-
cense status, a person must:

(1) submit a complete application in a manner prescribed
by the department [en a department-approved form];

(2) pay the fee required under §121.85 [§121-80(b)(6)];

and

(3) (No change.)
$§121.30. Exemptions.
(a) (No change.)

(b) A person who is no longer eligible for an exemption under
§§506.051 - 506.059 of the Act must [Persons whe are providing ser-
viees for which a license is required under the Aet or this chapter but
whe are not eertified by a eertifying entity may be required to] become
certified by a certifying entity approved by the department and obtain
a license under this chapter [in erder] to continue to provide services.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303160

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. BEHAVIOR ANALYST
ADVISORY BOARD
16 TAC §§121.65 - 121.69
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

$121.65. [Behavier Analyst Advisory Board:] Membership

(a) The Behavior Analyst Advisory Board shall be appointed
under and governed by the Act and this subchapter [seetion]. The ad-
visory board is established under the authority of Occupations Code,
§506.101.

(b) - (d) (No change.)

§121.66. [Advisory Beard:] Duties.

(No change.)

$121.67. [Advisory Board:] Terms; Vacancies.
(a) - (¢) (No change.)

§121.68. [Advisory Beard:] Officers.
(a) - (b) (No change.)
$121.69. [Advisory Board:] Meetings.
(a) - (b) (No change.)
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303161

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. RESPONSIBILITIES OF
LICENSE HOLDER

16 TAC §§121.70 - 121.75

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

$121.70.  Administrative Practice Responsibilities of License Hold-
ers.

(a) Licenses issued by the department remain the property of
the department and shall be surrendered to the department on demand.

(b) A license holder shall:

(1) inform the department of any violations of this chapter
or the Act;

(2) promptly provide upon request any documents or infor-
mation that satisfactorily demonstrates to the department the license
holder's qualifications for certification by the certifying entity or for li-
censure by the department;

(3) report, in accordance with §121.74, to the department
any fact that may affect a license holder's qualifications to hold a cer-
tification or license;

(4) truthfully respond in a manner that fully discloses all
information in an honest, materially responsive and timely manner to
a complaint filed with or by the department;

(5) not interfere with a department investigation or disci-
plinary proceeding in any way, including by misrepresentation or omis-
sion of facts to the department or using threats or harassment against
any person;
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(6) comply with any order issued by the commission or the
executive director that relates to the license holder;

(7) promptly provide upon request documents, including
treatment plans or service agreements, to demonstrate compliance with
the Act, this chapter, or an order of the commission;

(8) comply with applicable professional and ethical stan-
dards and requirements including those of the license holder's certify-
ing entity when creating a written agreement for services;

(9) upon revision or amendment of a written agreement for
services, obtain the signatures of all parties;

(10) not delegate any services, functions, or responsibili-
ties requiring professional competence to a person not competent or
not properly credentialed. A license holder in private practice is re-
sponsible for the services provided by unlicensed persons employed or
contracted by the license holder; and

(11) use electronic methods to create, amend, or sign doc-
uments, and accept signatures of clients on documents related to the
provision of behavior analysis services, only in accordance with appli-
cable law.

§121.71.
Holders.

(a) A license holder shall:

Professional Services Practice Responsibilities of License

(1) enter into a service agreement with a client, as defined
in §121.10, when behavior analysis services are to be provided;

(A) (No change.)

(B) A behavior analyst shall create a written treatment
plan when the service agreement provides for delivering treatment to
an individual.

(C) (No change.)
(2) - (3) (No change.)

(4) comply with all applicable requirements of the license
holder's certifying entity, including the BACB Ethics Code for Behav-
ior Analysts [Professional and Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior
Analysts], when entering into service agreements and providing behav-
ior analysis services.

(b) - (¢) (No change.)
health-}

HH Exeept to the extent it impeses additional or mere
of any other requirement er provisien of law to which a persen is
subject under the Aet; this chapter, or other law; or by the persen's
eertifying entity; when the persen is funetioning as a provider of
telehealth services-}

H2) The requirements of this seetion apply to the use of
under this ehapter]

f3) A leense holder shall previde the same quality of ser-
health provider shall maintain a foeus on evidence-based practice and
identify appropriate meaningful outcomes for a elient: When an es-
tablished telehealth procedure is not available; a license holder shall

f  cliont or multi-diseinhi Cas iate. that the £k
tiveness of the procedure has not yet been established for the method;
manner; or mode of treatment.}

[(4) A telchealth provider shall notity a client or multi-dis-
including; but not limited to; the right to refuse telehealth serviees; op-
plaints}

[(A) A telehealth provider shall obtain client consent

HB) A previder shall consider relevant factors inelad-
ing the client's behavioral; physical; and eognitive abilities in determin-
ing the appropriateness of providing serviees via telehealth-}

HE) ¥ a client previously consented to in-persen ser-
vices, a telehealth provider shall obtain updated consent to include tele-
respendenece only, e-g; mail; email; or faxes; although these may be
used as adjunets to telehealth-]

H6) Theinitial contact between a license holder and a elient
may be at the same physieal location or through telehealth; as deemed

17 Telehealth providers shall comply with all laws; rules;
and eertifying entity requirements governing the maintenance of client
records; including client confidentiality requirements; regardless of the
state where the records of any client within this state are maintained]

18) A telehealth provider shall be sensitive to eultural and
ment; and management of a elient when providing serviees through
telehealth.]

[(9)  Supervision undertaken through telehealth must meet

110) Subjeet to the requirements and limitations of this
seetion; a telehealth provider may utilize a facilitater at a elient site
to assist the provider in rendering telehealth services.}

(1D A telehealth provider, before allowing a facilitator to
assist a provider in rendering telehealth serviees; shall aseertain a fa-
cilitator's qualifications, training, and competence, as appropriate and
reasonable, for cach task a provider directs a facilitator to perform. and
in the methedelogy and equipment a faeilitater is to use]

112) A facilitator may perform at a elient site only the fol-

HA) a task for whiech a faeilitator holds and aets in ae-
cordance with any relevant license; permit; or authorization required
or exemption available under the Texas Oeeupations Cede to perform
the task; and}
which a telehealth provider determines a facilitator is competent to per-
form in connection with the rendering of behavior analysis servieces for
which no license; permit; or authorization under the Texas Ocecupations
Ceode is required or to which an exemption applies]

[(13) A telehealth provider shall be able to see and hear a
client and a facilitator; if used; via telecommunications technology in
synchroneus; real-time interactions; even when reeeiving or sending

[(14) A telchealth provider shall not render telchealth ser-
vices to a client if the presence of a facilitator is required for safe and
effective service to a client and no qualified facilitator is available]

PROPOSED RULES
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[(15) A telchcalth provider shall document the provider's
telehealth services to the same standard as in-person services.]
§121.72.  Display of License.

(a) A license holder shall display the current original license
certificate issued by the department in the primary location of practice,
if any, or in the license holder's business office.

(b) Inthe absence of a primary location of practice or business
office, or when the license holder is employed in multiple locations, the
license holder shall carry a current license identification card issued by

the department.
(c) A license holder shall not:

(1) display a photocopy or other reproduction of a license
certificate or identification card; or

(2) alter a license certificate or identification card.

§121.73.  Recordkeeping Requirements.

(a) Alicense holder shall maintain legible and accurate records
of behavior analysis services rendered.

(1) Records are the responsibility and property of the entity
or individual who owns the practice or the practice setting.

(2) A license holder shall comply with all laws, rules, and
certifying entity requirements governing the maintenance of client
records, including client confidentiality requirements, regardless of the
state where the records of any client within this state are maintained.

(3) Records created as a result of treatment in a school
setting shall be maintained as part of the student's permanent school
record.

(b) A license holder practicing in an educational setting,
school, learning center, or clinic shall comply with the recordkeeping
requirements of the service setting or with the retention requirements
of the certifying entity, if the latter are more stringent.

(c) Records shall be maintained for a minimum of the longer

of:

(1) seven years following the termination of behavior anal-
ysis services;

(2) seven years following the date on which a minor client
reaches the age of 22; or

(3) the retention period required by the certifying entity.

$121.74.  Reporting Requirements.

(a) A license holder shall report the following in a manner pre-
scribed by the department within ten days:

(1) Surrender, voluntary termination, or expiration of the
license holder's certification;

(2) Commencement of inactive status of the license
holder's certification;

(3) Limitation on or termination of the license holder's cer-
tification;

(4) Suspension, probation, reprimand, or any other disci-
pline or revocation of the license holder's certification;

(5) A violation by the license holder of the certifying en-
tity's requirements, the Act, this chapter, or an order of the commission;

(7) _The settlement of or judgment rendered in a civil law-
suit filed against the license holder relating to the license holder's pro-
fessional behavior analysis practice; or

(8) An action against the license holder by a governmental
agency or by a licensing or certification body.

(b) A license holder shall report a change in name or contact
information to the department within thirty days after the change in a
manner prescribed by the department.

§121.75.  Code of Ethics.

(a) Individuals certified by the BACB are required to comply
with the BACB Ethics Code for Behavior Analysts [Professional and
Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts].

(1) The department may consult the requirements of the
certifying entity or the BACB Ethics Code for Behavior Analysts
[Professional and Ethieal Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts] in
the application and enforcement of the ethical standards included in
this section.

(2) (No change.)

(b) A license holder [Lieense holders] shall comply with the
following ethical standards when providing behavior analysis services.
A license holder [AH license hoelders] shall:

(1) - (23) (No change.)

(¢) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303162

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. TELEHEALTH

16 TAC §§121.76 - 121.81
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.76. Definitions Relating to Telehealth.

Unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following words and

(6) The license holder's placement on deferred adjudica-
tion or criminal conviction, other than a Class C misdemeanor traffic
offense;

terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings.

(1) Client site--The physical location of the client at the
time that telehealth services are being provided.
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(2) Facilitator--An_individual physically present with a
client who assists with the delivery of behavior analysis services

(b) A provider shall not provide services by correspondence
only, e.g., mail, email, or facsimile, although these may be used as

through telehealth at the direction of a behavior analyst or assistant

adjuncts to telehealth.

behavior analyst.

(3) Provider--An individual who provides telehealth ser-
vices and holds a current:

(A) behavior analyst license under Texas Occupations
Code §506.253 and §506.255; or

(B) assistant behavior analyst license under Texas Oc-
cupations Code §§506.254 - §506.255.

(4) Provider site--The physical location of the provider at
the time the telehealth services are provided that is distant or remote
from the client site.

(5) Telecommunications--Interactive communication of
information at a distance by concurrent two-way transmission using
telecommunications technology, including, without limitation, sound,
visual images, and/or computer data, between the client site and the
provider site, and required to occur without a change in the form or
content of the information, as sent and received, other than through
encoding or encryption of the transmission itself for purposes of and
to protect the transmission.

(6) Telecommunications technology--Computers, smart
phones, and equipment, other than analog telephone, email, or fac-
simile technology and equipment, used or capable of use for purposes
of telecommunications. For purposes of this subchapter, the term
includes, without limitation:

(A) compressed digital interactive video, audio, or data
transmission;

(B) clinical data transmission using computer imaging
by way of still-image capture, storage and forward,

(C) smart phones, or any audio-visual, real-time, or
two-way interactive communication system; and

(D) other technology that facilitates the delivery of tele-
health services.

(7) Telehealth--The use of telecommunications or telecom-
munications technology for the exchange of information from one site
to another for the provision of behavior analysis services to a client
from a provider.

(8) Telehealth services--The application of telecommuni-
cations technology to deliver behavior analysis services to a client who
is physically located at a site other than the site where the provider is
located.

$§121.77.  Service Delivery Models.

(a) Telehealth services may be delivered in a variety of ways,

§121.78.  Technology and Equipment Requirements.

(a) A provider shall use only telecommunications technology,
as defined in this subchapter, to provide telehealth services. Modes of
communication that do not utilize such telecommunications technol-
ogy, including analog telephone, mail, email, or facsimile may be used

only as adjuncts.

(b) A provider shall utilize telecommunications technology
and other equipment only if:

(1) the provider is competent to use the equipment as part
of the provider's telehealth services;

(2) the telecommunications technology and equipment lo-
cated at the client site and at the provider site are:

(A) appropriate to the telehealth services to be provided
and in good working order; and

(B) are of sufficient quality to allow the provider to de-
liver equivalent service and quality to the client as if those services
were provided in person at the same physical location.

(3) the provider is able to see and hear the client and the
facilitator, if used, via telecommunications technology in synchronous,
real-time interactions, even when receiving or sending data and other
telecommunication transmissions, when providing telehealth services;
and

(4) the quality of electronic transmissions shall be adequate
for the provision of an individualized client's telehealth service.

(c) A provider shall ensure that communications occur without
a change in the form or content of the information, as sent and received,
other than through encoding or encryption of a transmission itself for
purposes of and to protect the transmission.

§121.79. License Holder Responsibilities for Providing Telehealth
Services and Using Telehealth.

(a) Applicability.

(1) Except where noted, this subchapter applies to behav-
ior analysts and assistant behavior analysts, as authorized under this

subchapter.

(2) Except to the extent it imposes additional or more strin-
gent requirements, this subchapter does not affect the applicability of
any other requirement or provision of law to which an individual is oth-
erwise subject under this chapter or other law.

(b) Licensure and Scope of Practice.

(1) An individual shall not provide telehealth services to
a client in the State of Texas, unless the individual is licensed by the

including, but not limited to:

(1) the store-and-forward model/electronic transmission
which is an asynchronous electronic transmission of stored clinical
data from one location to another;

(2) the clinician interactive model which is a synchronous,
real-time interaction between the provider and client that may occur
via telecommunication links; and

(3) the self-monitoring/testing model which occurs when
the client receiving the services provides data to the provider without
a facilitator present at the site of the client.

department and qualifies as a provider, as that term is defined in this
subchapter, or is otherwise legally authorized to do so.

(2) A provider may provide only those telehealth services
that are within the course and scope of the provider's license and com-
petence and delivered in accordance with the requirements of that li-
cense and pursuant to the terms and conditions set forth in this chapter.

(3) A provider may engage in direct observation, direct su-
pervision, or indirect supervision in-person and on-site, through tele-
health, or in another manner approved by the provider's certifying en-
tity. Supervision provided through telehealth must meet the standards
of the certifying entity.

(¢) Competence and Standard of Practice; Code of Ethics.
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(1) A provider shall be competent in both the type of ser-
vices provided and the methodology and equipment used to provide the

(a) A provider shall notify a client, a client's authorized repre-
sentative, or multi-disciplinary team, as appropriate, of the conditions

service.

(2) A provider shall comply with the code of ethics and
scope of practice requirements in this chapter when providing tele-
health services.

(3) The scope, nature, and quality of the services provided
via telehealth shall be the same as the services provided during in-per-
son sessions.

(4) A provider shall determine whether a particular service
or procedure is appropriate to be provided via telehealth. A provider
shall maintain a focus on evidence-based practice and identify appro-
priate meaningful outcomes for a client. When an established tele-
health procedure is not available, the provider shall notify the client
or multi-disciplinary team, as appropriate, that the effectiveness of the
procedure has not yet been established for the method, manner, or mode
of treatment.

(5) Documentation of telehealth services shall include doc-
umentation of the date and nature of services performed by the provider
through telehealth and the assistive tasks of the facilitator, if used.

(6) A provider shall:

(A) consider relevant factors including the client's be-
havioral, physical, and cognitive abilities in determining the appropri-
ateness of providing services via telehealth;

(B) Dbe aware of the client's level of comfort with the
technology being used as part of the telehealth services; and

(C) Dbe sensitive to cultural and linguistic variables that
affect the identification, assessment, treatment, or management of a
client when providing services through telehealth.

$121.80.  Use of Facilitators with Telehealth.

(a) Subject to the requirements and limitations of this subchap-
ter, a provider may utilize a facilitator at the client site to assist the
provider in rendering telehealth services.

(b) A provider shall document whether a facilitator is used in
providing telehealth services. If a facilitator is used, the provider shall
document the tasks in which the facilitator provided assistance.

(c) Before allowing a facilitator to assist the provider in pro-
viding telehealth services, the provider shall ascertain and document
the facilitator's qualifications, training, and competence, as appropriate
and reasonable, in:

(1) each task the provider directs the facilitator to perform
at the client site; and

(2) the methodology and equipment the facilitator is to use
at the client site.

(d) A facilitator may only perform the following tasks at a

of telehealth services, including, but not limited to, the right to refuse
or discontinue telehealth services, options for service delivery, differ-
ences between in-person and remote service delivery methods, and in-
structions for filing and resolving complaints.

(b) A provider shall obtain client consent before services may
be provided through telehealth. If a client previously consented to
in-person services, a provider shall obtain updated consent to include
telehealth services.

(c) The initial contact between a provider and client may be at
the same physical location or through telehealth, as determined appro-
priate by the provider.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303164

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879
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SUBCHAPTER F. FEES
16 TAC §121.85
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.85. Fees.
(a) All fees paid to the department are nonrefundable.

(b) Licensing fees are as follows:

(1) application and initial license, behavior analyst--$165

(2) application and initial license, assistant behavior ana-
lyst--$110

client site:

(1) a task for which a facilitator holds and acts in accor-
dance with any relevant license, permit, or authorization required or
exemption available under the Texas Occupations Code to perform the
task; and

(2) those physical, administrative, and other tasks that a
provider determines a facilitator is competent to perform in connection
with the rendering of behavior analysis services for which no license,
permit, or authorization under the Texas Occupations Code is required
or to which an exemption applies.

§121.81.

Client Contacts and Communications.

(3) renewal, behavior analyst--$165

(4) renewal, assistant behavior analyst--$110

(5) change, active status to inactive status--$0

(6) change, inactive status to active status--$25

(7) renewal of license on inactive status--renewal fees as
stated in paragraphs (3) and (4)

(8) license duplicate or replacement--$25

(c) Late renewal fees for licenses issued under this chapter are
prescribed under §60.83.
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(d) The fee for a dishonored/returned check or payment is the

and §51.501. Behavior analysis license holders are subject to the Ch.

fee prescribed under §60.82.

(e) The fee for a criminal history evaluation letter is the fee
prescribed under §60.42.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303165

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879
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SUBCHAPTER G. ENFORCEMENT

16 TAC §121.90, §121.95
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The proposed rules are proposed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506, which authorize the Texas
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposed rules are those
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 111, and 506.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
rules.

§121.90. Basis for Disciplinary Action.

(a) This section is authorized under Texas Occupations Code,
Chapters 51 and 506.

(1) Ifaperson violates any provision of Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 51, 111, 506, or any other applicable provision, this
chapter, or a rule or order of the executive director or commission, pro-
ceedings may be instituted to impose administrative penalties, adminis-
trative sanctions, or both in accordance with the provisions of the Texas
Occupations Code and the associated rules.

(2) The enforcement authority granted under Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapters 51 and 506, and any associated rules may be
used to enforce the Texas Occupations Code and this chapter.

(b) The department may consult the requirements of the
certifying entity[;] and the BACB Ethics Code for Behavior Analysts
[Professional and Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts;]

in the application and enforcement of this chapter.

(c) The department will apply the requirements of this section
consistent with the requirements, guidance, and interpretations of the
certifying entity unless an alternate interpretation is reasonably neces-

sary.

(d) The department may refer or report information to a cer-
tifying entity [infermatien], including complaints, investigations, and
violations of Texas law, rules, or orders that are or may be relevant to
the qualifications of any person to obtain or maintain a certification.

100 rules, which include provisions related to telehealth.

(f) [€e)] The commission or the executive director may deny a
license, place sanctions on [; reveke; suspend; probate; reprimand; or
otherwise diseipline] a license, or impose an administrative penalty[;]
when a person through fraud, misrepresentation, concealment of a ma-
terial fact, or in violation of the certifying entity's requirements, the
Act, or this chapter:

(1)-(2) (No change.)
§121.95. Complaints.
(a) (No change.)

(b) A license holder shall notify each client or a minor client's
authorized representative of the name, mailing address, email address,
telephone number, and website of the department for the purpose of
directing complaints to the department. A license holder shall display
this notification:

(1)-(2) (No change.)
fe) A license holder shall not make any alteration on official
documents issued by the department]
(c) [€)] The commission has adopted rules in Chapter 100 [of

this title] related to handling complaints regarding standard of care pur-
suant to Texas Occupations Code §51.2031.

(d) [€e)] A qualified person may assist the department in the
review and investigation of complaints and is immune from liability
related to these activities pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §51.252.

(e) [€B] Provisions regarding the confidentiality of complaint
and disciplinary information under this chapter are located in Texas
Occupations Code §51.254.

(f) [€&)] The department may disclose a complaint or investi-
gation and all information and materials compiled by the department in
connection with the complaint or investigation to a person's certifying
entity in accordance with Texas Occupations Code §51.254.

(g) [] For purposes of this chapter, a health profession is
a profession for which the enabling statute is located in Title 3, Texas
Occupations Code, or that is determined to be a health profession under
other law.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303163

Doug Jennings

General Counsel

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY
CHAPTER 153. SCHOOL DISTRICT

(e) The commission has adopted rules for health-related pro- PERSONNEL
grams in Chapter 100 pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §51.2031
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SUBCHAPTER BB. COMMISSIONER'S
RULES CONCERNING PROFESSIONAL
DEVELOPMENT

19 TAC §153.1011

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment
to §153.1011, concerning the mentor program allotment. The
proposed amendment would modify the rule to further define
the mentor program allotment as governed by Texas Education
Code (TEC), Chapter 21.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND JUSTIFICATION: Section
153.1011 describes the requirements for the Mentor Program
Allotment, an optional, grant funded program to support men-
torship as governed by TEC, §21.458, and detailed in TEC,
§48.114. This allotment is for eligible districts that implement a
mentorship program in accordance with TEC, §21.458.

The definition of beginning teacher would be modified in sub-
section (a)(1) so that uncertified beginning teachers may also
be assigned mentors.

The proposed amendment to subsection (a)(3) would extend the
definition of a mentor teacher to include individuals who have
served as classroom teachers as defined by TEC, §5.001. This
change would address the mentor teacher shortage concerns
reported by districts.

The proposed amendment to subsection (b)(1) would update
the mentor selection requirements for districts. New subsection
(b)(1)(A) would require districts to prioritize the selection of cur-
rent classroom teachers and retain documentation of selection
processes in order to ensure that districts are prioritizing the se-
lection of qualified mentors who have the most recent classroom
experience.

New subsection (b)(1)(B) would introduce requirements that
mentor teachers have instructional expertise in the area the
beginning teacher is assigned and have classroom experience
in the past three years. These changes would ensure that
beginning teachers are matched with mentor teachers with
recent instructional experience in their content areas.

To alleviate the workload of mentor teachers who currently serve
as teachers of record, the proposed amendment to subsection
(b)(2)(A) and (B) would reduce the average number of hours a
mentor must serve as a teacher of record to be assigned a cer-
tain number of beginning teachers.

New subsection (b)(2)(C) would be added to allow mentors who
are not currently classroom teachers to be assigned no more
than six beginning teachers. Mentor teachers who are not cur-
rently classroom teachers would have more time and flexibility
to be able to support more beginning teachers.

Subsection (b)(5)(A) would be amended to allow a beginning
teacher to observe a highly effective teacher other than their
mentor teacher. This change would allow beginning teachers
opportunities for observation even if their mentor is not a current
classroom teacher.

Subsection (b)(5)(B)(i)(IV) would be amended to add lesson in-
ternalization to the topics a mentor teacher may address with
a beginning teacher. This addition would support mentor and
beginning teachers in districts that have adopted high quality in-
structional materials.

Subsection (c) would be amended to remove the requirement
for the commissioner of education to adopt a funding formula to
determine the amount to which approved districts are entitled.
Since this requirement is included in TEC, §48.114, this amend-
ment would eliminate redundancy.

The proposed amendment to subsection (d)(1)(B) would in-
crease the number of surveys administered from one to no
more than two yearly. This would provide the agency, mentor
training providers, and districts more data points throughout the
year to continuously improve the implementation of mentoring
programs.

FISCAL IMPACT: Emily Garcia, associate commissioner for edu-
cator preparation, certification and enforcement, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposal is in effect, there are
no additional costs to state or local government, including school
districts and open-enroliment charter schools, required to com-
ply with the proposal.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT: The proposal has no effect on
local economy; therefore, no local employment impact statement
is required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICROBUSINESS, AND RURAL COMMU-
NITY IMPACT: The proposal has no direct adverse economic
impact for small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural commu-
nities; therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in
Texas Government Code, §2006.002, is required.

COST INCREASE TO REGULATED PERSONS: The proposal
does not impose a cost on regulated persons, another state
agency, a special district, or a local government and, therefore,
is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0045.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT: The proposal does not im-
pose a burden on private real property and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code, §2007.043.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT: TEA staff prepared a Gov-
ernment Growth Impact Statement assessment for this proposed
rulemaking. During the first five years the proposed rulemak-
ing would be in effect, it would expand an existing regulation by
broadening the definition of mentor teacher to include an indi-
vidual who serves or has served as a classroom teacher and
has at least three years of recent classroom teaching experi-
ence; adding mentor selection criteria for districts; and adding
to the topics a mentor teacher may address with a beginning
teacher. The proposed rulemaking would also limit an existing
regulation by removing the requirement that the commissioner
annually adopt a funding formula for mentor program allotment
funding.

The proposed rulemaking would not create or eliminate a gov-
ernment program; would not require the creation of new em-
ployee positions or elimination of existing employee positions;
would not require an increase or decrease in future legislative
appropriations to the agency; would not require an increase or
decrease in fees paid to the agency; would not create a new
regulation; would not repeal an existing regulation; would not
increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to its ap-
plicability; and would not positively or adversely affect the state's
economy.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST TO PERSONS: Ms. Garcia has
determined that for each year of the first five years the proposal is
in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the
proposal would be to provide school districts with greater flexi-
bility on the assignment of mentor teachers to support beginning
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teachers within their district. There is no anticipated economic
cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposal.

DATA AND REPORTING IMPACT: The proposal would have no
data and reporting impact.

PRINCIPAL AND CLASSROOM TEACHER PAPERWORK RE-
QUIREMENTS: TEA has determined that the proposal would re-
quire an additional written report or other paperwork to be com-
pleted by a principal or classroom teacher. However, the rule im-
poses the least burdensome requirement possible to achieve the
objective of the rule. Subsection (d)(1)(B) currently requires be-
ginning teachers and mentor teachers for whom funds were used
under TEC, §48.114, to complete an annual survey as part of the
verification of compliance. The proposed amendment would in-
crease the number of surveys from one to no more than two an-
nually in order to provide the agency, mentor training providers,
and districts more data points throughout the year to continu-
ously improve the implementation of mentoring programs.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: The public comment period on the
proposal begins September 8, 2023, and ends October 9,
2023. A request for a public hearing on the proposal submit-
ted under the Administrative Procedure Act must be received
by the commissioner of education not more than 14 calen-
dar days after notice of the proposal has been published in
the Texas Register on September 8, 2023.A form for sub-
mitting public comments is available on the TEA website
at https://tea.texas.gov/About_TEA/Laws_and_Rules/Com-
missioner_Rules_(TAC)/Proposed_Commissioner_of Educa-
tion_Rules/.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under
Texas Education Code (TEC), §21.458, which allows districts
to assign mentor teachers to work with new teachers, provides
requirements around mentor program design and delivery, and
requires the commissioner to adopt rules necessary to admin-
ister this statute; and TEC, §48.114, which provides a mentor
program allotment to be used for funding eligible district mentor
training programs; outlines permissible uses of mentor program
allotment funds, which include mentor teacher stipends, sched-
uled release time for mentoring activities, and mentor support
through providers of mentor training; and requires the commis-
sioner to adopt a formula to determine the amount to which eli-
gible school districts are entitled.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments Texas Education Code, §21.458 and §48.114.

$§153.1011. Mentor Program Allotment.

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Beginning teacher--A [elassroom] teacher of record in

(B) For an open-enrollment charter school, a classroom
teacher is not required to be certified but must meet the qualifications of
the employing charter school and the specifications regarding instruc-
tional duties defined in this paragraph.

(3) Mentor teacher--An individual who serves or has
served as a [A] classroom teacher in Texas who provides effective
support to help beginning teachers successfully transition into the
teaching assignment. The term does not include an appraiser as
defined by Texas Education Code (TEC), §21.351.

(4) School district--For the purposes of this section, the
definition of school district includes open-enrollment charter schools.

(5) Teacher of record--An educator who is employed by a
school or district and who teaches in an academic instructional setting
or a career and technical instructional setting and is responsible for
evaluating student achievement and assigning grades.

(b) Program requirements. In order for a district mentor pro-
gram to receive funds through the mentor program allotment, as de-
scribed in Texas Education Code (TEC), §48.114, the program must
be approved by the commissioner of education using the application
and approval process described in subsection (c) of this section. To be
approved by the commissioner, district mentor programs must comply
with TEC, §21.458, and commit to meet the following requirements.

(1) Mentor selection. A district [To qualify as a mentor
teacher; a elassroom teacher] must:

(A) prioritize the selection of current classroom teach-
ers as mentor teachers using clear selection criteria, protocols, and hir-
ing processes that align with requirements of this paragraph and TEC,
§21.458, and retain documentation of such processes locally; and

(B) select mentor teachers who:

(i) [€A)] complete a research-based mentor and in-
duction training program approved by the commissioner;

(ii) [B)] complete a mentor training program pro-
vided by the district;

iii) [€©)] have at least three complete years of
teaching experience with a superior record of assisting students, as a
whole, in achieving improvement in student performance. Districts
may use the master, exemplary, or recognized designations under
TEC, §21.3521, to fulfill this requirement; [an€]

(iv) [>)] demonstrate interpersonal skills, instruc-
tional effectiveness, and leadership skills ; [-]

(v) have expertise, to the extent practicable, in effec-
tive instructional practices specifically for the grade levels and subjects
to which the beginning teacher is assigned; and

(vi) have experience as a classroom teacher in the
past three years.

Texas who has less than two years of teaching experience in the subject
or grade level to which the teacher is assigned.

(2) Classroom teacher--An educator who is employed by a
school district in Texas and who, not less than an average of four hours
each day, teaches in an academic instructional setting or a career and
technical instructional setting. The term does not include a teacher's
aide or a full-time administrator.

(A) Foraschool district, a classroom teacher, as defined
in this paragraph, must hold an appropriate certificate issued by the
State Board for Educator Certification and must meet the specifications
regarding instructional duties defined in this paragraph.

(2) Mentor assignment. School districts must agree to as-
sign no more than:

(A) two beginning teachers to a mentor who serves as a
teacher of record for, on average, four or more [six] hours per instruc-
tional day; [ef]

(B) four beginning teachers to a mentor who serves as a
teacher of record for, on average, less than four [six] hours per instruc-
tional day ; or [5]

(C) six beginning teachers to an individual who serves
as a full-time mentor.
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(3) District mentor training program. A school district
must:

(A) provide training to mentor teachers and any appro-
priate district and campus employees, including [sueh as] principals,
assistant principals, and instructional coaches, who work with a begin-
ning teacher or supervise a beginning teacher;

(B) ensure that mentor teachers and any appropriate dis-
trict and campus employees are trained before the beginning of the
school year;

(C) provide supplemental training that includes best
mentorship practices to mentor teachers and any appropriate district
and campus employees throughout the school year, minimally once
per semester; and

(D) provide training for a mentor assigned to a begin-
ning teacher who is hired after the beginning of the school year by the
45th day of employment of the beginning teacher.

(4) District roles and responsibilities. A school district
must designate a specific time during the regularly contracted school
day for meetings between mentor teachers and the beginning teachers
they mentor, which must abide by the mentor and beginning teachers'
entitled planning and preparation requirements in TEC, §21.404, and
the provisions of paragraph (5)(A) of this subsection.

(5) Meetings between mentors and beginning teachers. A
mentor teacher must:

(A) meet with each beginning teacher assigned to the
mentor not less than 12 hours each semester, with observations of the
mentor teacher or other highly effective teachers by the beginning
teacher being mentored or observations of the beginning teacher being
mentored by the mentor teacher counting toward the 12 hours each
semester; and

(B) address the following topics in mentoring sessions
with the beginning teacher being mentored:

(i) orientation to the context, policies, and practices
of the school district, including:

(I) campus-wide student culture routines;

(1) district and campus teacher evaluation sys-
tems;

(II) campus curriculum and curricular re-
sources, including formative and summative assessments; and

(IV)  campus policies and practices related to les-
son planning or lesson internalization ;

(ii) data-driven instructional practices;

(iii)  specific instructional coaching cycles, includ-
ing coaching regarding conferences between parents and the beginning
teacher;

(iv) professional development; and
(v) professional expectations.

(c) Application approval process. The Texas Education
Agency (TEA) will provide an application and approval process
for school districts to apply for mentor program allotment funding.
Funding will be limited based on availability of funds [; and; annually;
the commissioner shall adopt a formula to determine the amount te
which distriets are entitled] . The application shall address
the requirements of TEC, §21.458, and include:

(1) the timeline for application and approval;

(2) approval criteria, including the minimum requirements
necessary for an application to be eligible for approval; and

(3) criteria used to determine which districts would be eli-
gible for funding.

(d) Ongoing verification of compliance with program require-
ments.

(1) Eachyear, participating districts will be required to sub-
mit or participate in a verification of compliance with program require-
ments through a process to be described in the application form. The
verification of compliance will include:

(A) an annual compliance report, submitted by the dis-
trict, attesting to compliance with authorizing statute and commissioner
rule. The report is to include the number of beginning teachers for
whom the district used funds received under TEC, §48.114; and

(B) surveys administered not more than twice yearly
that may include the district's beginning teachers, mentor teachers, and
any appropriate district and campus employees who work with begin-
ning teachers [an annual survey of the distriet's beginning teachers and
mentor teachers| for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114. The
surveys [suarvey] will be used to gather data on program implementa-
tion and teacher perceptions.

(2) Failure to comply with TEC, §21.458, and this section
after receiving an allotment may result in TEA rescinding eligibility of
a district's current or future mentor program allotment funding.

(e) Allowable expenditures. Mentor program allotment funds
may only be used for the following:

(1) mentor teacher stipends;

(2) release time for mentor teachers and beginning teachers
limited to activities in accordance with this section; and

(3) mentoring support through providers of mentor train-
ing.

(f) District mentor program review. School districts awarded
mentor program allotment funds must agree to submit all information
requested by TEA through periodic activity/progress reports, which
will occur at least once per year. Reports will be due no later than 45
calendar days after receipt of the information request and must contain
all requested information in the format prescribed by the commissioner.

(g) Final decisions. Commissioner decisions regarding eligi-
bility for mentor program allotment funds are final and appeals to the
commissioner regarding such decisions will not be considered.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.
TRD-202303176

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497
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SUBCHAPTER CC. HEARINGS OF APPEALS
ARISING UNDER FEDERAL LAW AND
REGULATIONS

19 TAC §157.1082

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment to
§157.1082, concerning a grantee's or subgrantee's opportunity
for a hearing in an enforcement arising under federal law and
regulations. The proposed amendment would update the citation
to the federal regulation applicable to the rule.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND JUSTIFICATION: Section
157.1082 describes actions TEA may take if a grantee or sub-
grantee of a federal grant materially fails to comply with any term
of an award. The proposed amendment to §157.1082 would up-
date the federal citation that allows the actions specified in the
rule. No substantive changes would be made.

FISCAL IMPACT: Von Byer, general counsel, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposal is in effect, there
are no additional costs to state or local government, including
school districts and open-enroliment charter schools, required
to comply with the proposal.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT: The proposal has no effect on
local economy; therefore, no local employment impact statement
is required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICROBUSINESS, AND RURAL COMMU-
NITY IMPACT: The proposal has no direct adverse economic
impact for small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural commu-
nities; therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in
Texas Government Code, §2006.002, is required.

COST INCREASE TO REGULATED PERSONS: The proposal
does not impose a cost on regulated persons, another state
agency, a special district, or a local government and, therefore,
is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0045.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT: The proposal does not im-
pose a burden on private real property and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code, §2007.043.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT: TEA staff prepared a Gov-
ernment Growth Impact Statement assessment for this proposed
rulemaking. During the first five years the proposed rulemaking
would be in effect, it would not create or eliminate a government
program; would not require the creation of new employee po-
sitions or elimination of existing employee positions; would not
require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; would not require an increase or decrease
in fees paid to the agency; would not create a new regulation;
would not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; would
not increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to
its applicability; and would not positively or adversely affect the
state's economy.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST TO PERSONS: The proposal
would ensure that rule language is based on current law. There
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to
comply with the proposal.

DATA AND REPORTING IMPACT: The proposal would have no
data and reporting impact.

PRINCIPAL AND CLASSROOM TEACHER PAPERWORK RE-
QUIREMENTS: TEA has determined that the proposal would not

require a written report or other paperwork to be completed by a
principal or classroom teacher.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: The public comment period on the
proposal begins September 8, 2023, and ends October 9,
2023. A request for a public hearing on the proposal submit-
ted under the Administrative Procedure Act must be received
by the commissioner of education not more than 14 calen-
dar days after notice of the proposal has been published
in the Texas Register on September 1, 2023. A form for
submitting public comments is available on the TEA website
at https://tea.texas.gov/About_TEA/Laws_and_Rules/Com-
missioner_Rules_(TAC)/Proposed_Commissioner_of Educa-
tion_Rules/.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under
2 Code of Federal Regulations, §200.339, which addresses fed-
erally required appeal processes associated with enforcement
of federal grants.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments 2 Code of Federal Regulations, §200.339.

$157.1082.  Grantee's or Subgrantee's Opportunity for a Hearing in
an Enforcement Action.

(a) The Texas Education Agency (TEA) may take one or more
of the following actions specified in 2 [34] Code of Federal Regula-

tions, §200.339 [§86-43(a)], as appropriate in the circumstances, if a
grantee or subgrantee materially fails to comply with any term of an

award, whether stated in a federal statute or regulation as an assurance,
in a state plan or application, in a notice of award, or elsewhere:

(1) temporarily withhold cash payments pending correc-
tion of the deficiency by the grantee or subgrantee or more severe en-
forcement action by the awarding agency;

(2) disallow (that is, deny both use of funds and matching
credit for) all or part of the cost of the activity or action not in compli-
ance;

(3) wholly or partly suspend or terminate the current award
for the grantee's or subgrantee's program;

(4) withhold further awards for the program; or
(5) take other remedies that may be legally available.

(b) In taking enforcement action, TEA shall provide the
grantee or subgrantee an opportunity for any hearing, appeal, or other
administrative proceeding to which the grantee or subgrantee is enti-
tled under any statute or regulation applicable to the action involved.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303174

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS
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PART 16. TEXAS BOARD OF
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

CHAPTER 329. LICENSING PROCEDURE
22 TAC §329.1

The Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners proposes
amending 22 TAC §329.1. General Licensure Requirements
and Procedures to clarify changes in contact information that
need to be reported to the board and requests for name
changes.

The amendment eliminates reference to an address of record,
changes the wording from residential to home address, and adds
phone numbers and email addresses to the change of informa-
tion that a licensee is required to report to the board. Additionally,
the amendment clarifies that name changes must be submitted
on a form prescribed by the board with the appropriate fee and
a copy of legal documentation enacting the name change, and
eliminates the requirement of making a name change with the
renewal application.

Fiscal Note

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council of
Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy Examiners, has de-
termined that for the first five-year period the amendment is in
effect there would be no loss of revenue, and there would be no
fiscal implication to units of local government as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rules.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Harper has also determined that for the first five-year period
the amendment is in effect the public benefit will be to ensure that
the board has updated information on all licensees. There will
be no economic cost to licensees who update their contact infor-
mation, and no increase in cost for name changes on licenses.

Local Employment Economic Impact Statement

The amendment is not anticipated to impact a local economy, so
a local employment economic impact statement is not required.

Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Communities Impact

Mr. Harper has determined that there will be no costs or adverse
economic effects to small or micro-businesses or rural communi-
ties; therefore, an economic impact statement or regulatory flex-
ibility analysis is not required.

Government Growth Impact Statement

During the first five-year period this amendment is in effect, the
impact on government growth is as follows:

(1) The proposed rule amendment will neither create nor elimi-
nate a government program.

(2) The proposed rule amendment will neither create new em-
ployee positions nor eliminate existing employee positions.

(3) The proposed rule amendment will neither increase nor de-
crease future legislative appropriations to the agency.

(4) The proposed rule amendment will neither require an in-
crease nor a decrease in fees paid to the agency.

(5) The proposed amendment will revise an existing rule by clar-
ifying changes in contact information that need to be reported to
the board and the process for requesting for name changes on
licenses.

(6) The proposed rule amendment will neither repeal nor limit an
existing regulation.

(7) The proposed rule amendment will neither increase nor de-
crease the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicabil-
ity.

(8) The proposed rule amendment will neither positively nor ad-
versely affect this state's economy.

Takings Impact Assessment The proposed rule amendment will
not impact private real property as defined by Tex. Gov't Code
§2007.003, so a takings impact assessment under Tex. Gov't
Code §2001.043 is not required.

Requirement for Rule Increasing Costs to Regulated Persons

Tex. Gov't Code §2001.0045, Requirement for Rule Increasing
Costs to Regulated Persons, does not apply to this proposed rule
because the amendments will not increase costs to regulated
persons.

Public Comment

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to
Karen Gordon, PT Coordinator, Texas Board of Physical Ther-
apy Examiners, 1801 Congress Ave, Suite 10.900, Austin, Texas
78701; email: karen@ptot.texas.gov. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than 30 days from the date this proposed amend-
ment is published in the Texas Register.

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under Texas Occupation Code
§453.102, which authorizes the board to adopt rules necessary
to implement chapter 453.

Cross-reference to Statute

The proposed amendment implements provisions in Sec.
453.151, Occupations Code that pertains to information main-
tained by the board.

§329.1.  General Licensure Requirements and Procedures
(a) - (f) (No change.)
(g) Changes to licensee information.

(1) Applicants and licensees must notify the board in writ-
ing of changes in home, [address of record; and residential;] mailing,
or business addresses and phone numbers and email addresses within
30 days of the change. [Fer a name change at time of renewal; the k-
censee must submit a copy of the legal document enacting the name
change with the renewal application:|

(2) A request for name change must be submitted on a form

prescribed by the board with the appropriate fee and a copy of legal
documentation enacting the name change.

(h) - (i) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 24, 2023.

TRD-202303140

Ralph Harper

Executive Director

Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900
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22 TAC §329.6, §329.7

The Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners proposes
amending 22 TAC §329.6. Licensure by Endorsement and
§329.7. Exemptions from Licensure pertaining to military ser-
vice member exemption pursuant to SB 422 amendment of Sec.
55.0041. RECOGNITION OF OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE OF
MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS AND MILITARY SPOUSES,
of Chapter 55, Occupations Code during the 88th Legislative
Session.

The amendment is proposed in order to authorize a military ser-
vice member to engage in the practice of physical therapy with-
out obtaining a license as a physical therapist or physical thera-
pist assistant if the military service member is currently licensed
in good standing by another jurisdiction that has licensing re-
quirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements
for the licensure in this state and the military service member is
stationed at a military installation in this state.

Fiscal Note

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council of
Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy Examiners, has de-
termined that for the first five-year period the amendment is in
effect there would be no loss of revenue, and there would be no
fiscal implication to units of local government as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rules.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Harper has also determined that for the first five-year period
the amendment is in effect the public benefit will be increasing
consumer access to physical therapy services by reducing reg-
ulatory barriers to interstate mobility of qualified military service
members. There will be no economic cost to a military service
member who qualifies for the exemption from obtaining licensure
as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.

Local Employment Economic Impact Statement

The amendment is not anticipated to impact a local economy, so
a local employment economic impact statement is not required.

Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Communities Impact

Mr. Harper has determined that there will be no costs or adverse
economic effects to small or micro-businesses or rural communi-
ties; therefore, an economic impact statement or regulatory flex-
ibility analysis is not required.

Government Growth Impact Statement

During the first five-year period this amendment is in effect, the
impact on government growth is as follows:

The proposed rule amendment will neither create nor eliminate
a government program.

(2) The proposed rule amendment will neither create new em-
ployee positions nor eliminate existing employee positions.

(3) The proposed rule amendment will neither increase nor de-
crease future legislative appropriations to the agency.

(4) The proposed rule amendment will neither require an in-
crease nor a decrease in fees paid to the agency.

(5) The proposed amendment will revise an existing rule by in-
cluding military service members as qualifying for an exemption
from licensure.

(6) The proposed rule amendment will neither repeal nor limit an
existing regulation.

(7) The proposed rule amendment will neither increase nor de-
crease the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicabil-
ity.

(8) The proposed rule amendment will neither positively nor ad-
versely affect this state's economy.

Takings Impact Assessment The proposed rule amendment will
not impact private real property as defined by Tex. Gov't Code
§2007.003, so a takings impact assessment under Tex. Gov't
Code §2001.043 is not required.

Requirement for Rule Increasing Costs to Regulated Persons

Tex. Gov't Code §2001.0045, Requirement for Rule Increasing
Costs to Regulated Persons, does not apply to this proposed
rule because the amendments will not increase costs to regu-
lated persons and are necessary to implement legislation that
amended Sec. 55.0041. RECOGNITION OF OUT-OF-STATE
LICENSE OF MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS AND MILITARY
SPOUSES of Chapter 55, Occupations Code during the 88th
Legislative Session.

Public Comment

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to
Karen Gordon, PT Coordinator, Texas Board of Physical Ther-
apy Examiners, 1801 Congress Ave, Suite 10.900, Austin, Texas
78701; email: karen@ptot.texas.gov. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than 30 days from the date this proposed amend-
ment is published in the Texas Register.

Statutory Authority

Rulemaking authority is expressly granted to a state agency in
SECTION 5. of SB 422, 88th Legislative Session.

Cross-reference to Statute

The proposed amendment implements changes made to Sec.
55.0041. RECOGNITION OF OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE OF
MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS AND MILITARY SPOUSES of
Chapter 55, Occupations Code during the 88th Legislative Ses-
sion.

$§329.6. Licensure by Endorsement.
(a) - (b) (No change.)

(c) Licensure of a Military Service Member, Military Veteran,
or Military Spouse. The board will waive the application fee and will
expedite the issuance of a license by endorsement to a military service
member, military veteran, or spouse of a military service member. The
applicant must provide official documentation of active duty status or
veteran status or the active duty status of the spouse.

(1) A military service member or military spouse may
qualify to practice in this state under the exemption described in
§329.7(b)(5) Exemptions from Licensure if the military service mem-
ber or military service member to whom a military spouse is married
is stationed at a military installation in this state.

(2) A military service member, military spouse or veteran
may qualify to practice in this state under a Compact privilege as
described in CHAPTER 348. PHYSICAL THERAPY LICENSURE
COMPACT.

(d) (No change.)
$329.7.  Exemptions from Licensure.
(a) (No change.)
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(b) The following categories of individuals practicing physical
therapy in the state are exempt from licensure by the board and must
notify the board of their intent to practice in the state.

(1)-(4) (No change.)

(5) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant li-
censed in good standing in another jurisdiction of the U.S. who is a
military service member or military spouse for the period during which
the military service member to whom the military spouse is married is
stationed at a military installation in Texas.

(A) The military service member or military spouse
must submit written notification including the following:

(i) proof of the military service member or military
spouse's residency in this state including a copy of the permanent
change of station order for the military service member to whom the
spouse is married,

(ii) acopy of the military service member or military
spouse's military identification card; and

(iii)  a list of the jurisdictions in which the military
service member or military spouse has held or currently holds a license.

(B) The board will issue a written confirmation stating
that:

(i) licensure in other jurisdictions has been verified;

(ii)  the military service member or military spouse
is authorized to practice physical therapy in the state; and

(iii) authorization does not exceed three years from
the date the confirmation is received.

(c) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 24, 2023.

TRD-202303141

Ralph Harper

Executive Director

Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900
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PART 17. TEXAS STATE BOARD OF
PLUMBING EXAMINERS

CHAPTER 361. ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
22 TAC §361.1

The Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (Board or TS-
BPE) proposes an amendment to the existing rule at 22 Texas
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 361, §361.1(18) which con-
cerns definitions and general provisions. The proposed amend-
ment is referred to as the "proposed rule amendment.”

EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULE

The Board, under its general rule-making authority in Section
1301.251(2) of Texas Occupations Code and part of its four-

year rule review of the existing rules at 22 Texas Administrative
Code (TAC) Chapter 361, initiated a rule simplification initiative
to make the rules easier to understand and enforce by eliminat-
ing unnecessary language, adding clarifying language, and re-
structuring regulations to reduce regulatory barriers and make
the rules more efficient.

During that rule review, the Board recognized that technology
with the capability to visually stream or project the job site in real-
time such as Facetime, Zoom, etc. may be successfully utilized
to perform on-the-job oversight and direct supervision of appren-
tices and licensees in the field. It is believed that given the pan-
demic and related, necessary social-distancing practices, virtual
supervision was utilized in the plumbing industry since 2020 as
a matter of necessity.

The proposed rule amendment creates the option for a Respon-
sible Master Plumber (RMP) to choose to use virtual, visual,
real-time supervision in certain conditions to directly supervise
work done under their authority and responsibility. Section
361.1(18) defines Direct Supervision. On-the-job oversight and
supervision is amended to show that direct supervision may
include virtual visual, real-time communication for registrants
and licensees with 2000 hours of work documented by a RMP
on non-commercial jobs, not involving gas appliances.

The proposed rule amendment does not create any affirmative
duty on or regulation of registrants or licensees. The proposed
rule amendment does not alleviate the responsibility of the RMP
from adequate supervision or from ensuring that work is per-
formed to the standards of the applicable code. Itis in the RMP's
discretion to utilize optional technology as they deem it appropri-
ate given their job sites, staff, technological capacities. Should
inspection or investigation be done on the job site, any present
licensee or registrant must demonstrate that real-time, visual
communication is successful and effective.

SECTION BY SECTION SUMMARY

Section 361.1(18) Direct Supervision. On-the-job oversight and
supervision is amended to show that direct supervision may
include virtual visual, real-time communication for registrants
and licensees that hold at least 2000 hours of experience docu-
mented by a Responsible Master Plumber (RMP). The virtually
supervised registrant or licensee may perform non-commercial
work not involving gas appliances.

FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Lisa G. Hill, Executive Director for the Board (Executive Direc-
tor), has determined that for the first five-year period the pro-
posed rule amendment is in effect, there are no foreseeable in-
creases or reductions in costs to the state or local governments
as a result of enforcing or administering the rule. The Executive
Director has further determined that for the first five-year period
the proposed rule amendment is in effect, there will be no fore-
seeable losses or increases in revenue for the state or local gov-
ernments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.

PUBLIC BENEFITS

The Executive Director has determined that for each of the first
five years the proposed rule amendment is in effect, the public
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed rule amendment will be to have fewer regulatory bar-
riers.

PROBABLE ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS REQUIRED
TO COMPLY WITH THE RULE
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The Executive Director has determined that for the first five years
the proposed rule amendment is in effect, there are no substan-
tial economic costs anticipated to persons required to comply
with the proposed rule amendment.

ONE-FOR-ONE REQUIREMENT FOR RULES WITH A FISCAL
IMPACT

Given that the proposed rule amendment does not have a fis-
cal note which imposes a cost on regulated persons, including
another state agency, a special district, or local government, pro-
posal and adoption of the proposed rule amendment is not sub-
ject to the requirements of Government Code §2001.0045.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

For each of the first five years the proposed rule amendment is in
effect, the Board has determined the following: (1) the proposed
rule amendment does not create or eliminate a government pro-
gram; (2) implementation of the proposed rule amendment does
not require the creation of new employee positions or the elimi-
nation of existing employee positions; (3) implementation of the
proposed rule amendment does not require an increase or de-
crease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; (4) the
proposed rule amendment does not require an increase or de-
crease in fees paid to the agency; (5) the proposed rule amend-
ment does not create a new regulation; (6) the proposed rule
amendment does not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regu-
lation; (7) the proposed rule amendment does not increase or
decrease the number of individuals subject to the rule's applica-
bility; and (8) the proposed rule amendment does not positively
or adversely affect this state's economy.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT

No local economies are substantially affected by the proposed
rule amendment. As a result, preparation of a local employment
impact statement pursuant to Government Code §2001.022 is
not required.

FISCAL IMPACT ON SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS, AND
RURAL COMMUNITIES

The proposed rule amendment will not have an adverse effect on
small or micro-businesses, or rural communities because there
are no substantial economic costs anticipated to persons re-
quired to comply with the proposed rule amendment. As a result,
preparation of an economic impact statement and a regulatory
flexibility analysis, as provided by Government Code §2006.002,
are not required.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

There are no private real property interests affected by the pro-
posed rule amendment. As a result, preparation of a takings im-
pact assessment, as provided by Government Code §2007.043,
is not required.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Written comments regarding the proposed rule amendment
may be submitted by mail to Patricia Latombe at 929 East 41st
Street, Austin, Texas 78765, or by email to rule.comment@ts-
bpe.texas.gov with the subject line "Rule Amendment." All
comments must be received within 30 days of publication of this
proposal.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

This proposal is made under the authority of §1301.251(2) of the
Texas Occupations Code authorizes the Texas State Board of

Plumbing Examiners to adopt rules as necessary to implement
the Chapter. No other statutes or rules are affected by the pro-
posal.

§$361.1.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this part, have the fol-
lowing meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) APA--The Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter
2001 of the Texas Government Code.

(2) Adopted Plumbing Code--A plumbing code, including
a fuel gas code adopted by the Board or a political subdivision, in com-
pliance with §1301.255 and §1301.551 of the Plumbing License Law.

(3) Advisory Committee--A committee appointed by the
presiding officer of the board created to assist the board in exercising
its powers and duties.

(4) Appliance Connection--An appliance connection pro-
cedure using only a code-approved appliance connector that does not
require cutting into or altering the existing plumbing system.

(5) Applicant--An individual seeking to obtain a license,
registration or endorsement issued by the Board.

(6) Board--The Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners.

(7) Board Member--An individual appointed by the gover-
nor and confirmed by the senate to serve on the Board.

(8) Building Sewer--The part of the sanitary drainage sys-
tem outside of the building, which extends from the end of the building
drain to a public sewer, private sewer, private sewage disposal system,
or other point of sewage disposal.

(9) Certificate of Insurance--A form submitted to the Board
certifying that the Responsible Master Plumber carries insurance cov-
erage as specified in the Plumbing License Law and Board Rules.

(10) Chief Examiner--An employee of the Board who, un-
der the direction of the Executive Director, coordinates and supervises
the activities of the Board examinations and registrations.

(11) Cleanout--A fitting, other than a p-trap, approved by
the adopted plumbing code and designed to be installed in a sanitary
drainage system to allow easy access for cleaning the sanitary drainage
system.

(12) Code-Approved Appliance Connector--A semi-rigid
or flexible assembly of tube and fittings approved by the adopted
plumbing code and designed for connecting an appliance to the
existing plumbing system without cutting into or altering the existing
plumbing system.

(13) Code-Approved Existing Opening--For the purposes
of drain cleaning activities described in §1301.002(3) of the Plumb-
ing License Law, a code-approved existing opening is any existing
cleanout fitting, inlet of any p-trap or fixture, or vent terminating into
the atmosphere that has been approved and installed in accordance with
the adopted plumbing code.

(14) Complaint--A written complaint filed with the Board
against a person whose activities are subject to the jurisdiction of the
Board.

(15) Contested Case--A proceeding in which the legal
rights, duties, or privileges of a party are to be determined by the
Board after an opportunity for adjudicative hearing.

(16) Continuing Professional Education or CPE--Ap-
proved courses/programs required for a licensee or registrant.
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(17) Director of Enforcement--An employee of the Board
who meets the definition of "Field Representative" and, under the direc-
tion of the Executive Director, coordinates and supervises the activities
of the Field Representatives.

(18) Direct Supervision--

(A) The on-the-job oversight and direction of a regis-
tered Plumber's Apprentice or licensee performing plumbing work by
alicensed plumber who is fulfilling his or her responsibility to the client
and employer by ensuring the following:

(i) that the plumbing materials for the job are prop-
erly prepared prior to assembly according to the material manufacturers
recommendations and the requirements of the adopted plumbing code;
and

(ii) that the plumbing work for the job is properly
installed to protect health and safety by meeting the requirements of
the adopted plumbing code and all requirements of local and state or-
dinances, regulations and laws.

(iii)  This oversight may include virtual visual, real-
time communication, on non-commercial jobs not involving gas appli-
ances, for registrants and license holders with 2,000 hours of experi-
ence documented by a responsible master plumber.

(B) The on-the-job oversight and direction by a licensed
Plumbing Inspector of an individual training to qualify for the Plumb-
ing Inspector Examination.

(C) For plumbing work performed only in the construc-
tion of a new one-family or two-family dwelling in an unincorporated
area of the state, a Responsible Master Plumber is not required to pro-
vide for the continuous or uninterrupted on-the-job oversight of a Reg-
istered Plumber's Apprentice's work by a licensed plumber, however,
the Responsible Master Plumber must:

(i) provide for the training and management of the
Registered Plumber's Apprentice by a licensed plumber;

(it)  provide for the review and inspection of the Reg-
istered Plumber's Apprentice's work by a licensed plumber to ensure
compliance with subparagraph (A)(i) and (ii) of this paragraph; and

(iii) upon request by the Board, provide the name
and plumber's license number of the licensed plumber who is providing
on-the-job training and management of the Registered Plumber's Ap-
prentice and who is reviewing and inspecting the Registered Plumber's
Apprentice's work on the job, or the name and plumber's license num-
ber of the licensed plumber who trained and managed the Registered
Plumber's Apprentice and who reviewed and inspected the Registered
Plumber's Apprentice's work on a job.

(19) Endorsement--A certification issued by the Board as
an addition to a Master Plumber, Plumbing Inspector, or Journeyman
Plumber License or a Plumber's Apprentice Registration, including a
Drain Cleaner Registration, a Drain Cleaner-Restricted Registration,
and a Residential Utilities Installer Registration.

(20) Executive Director--The executive director of the
Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners who is employed by the
Board as the executive head of the agency.

(21) Field Representative--An employee of the Board who

(A) knowledgeable of the Plumbing License Law and
of municipal ordinances related to plumbing;

(B) qualified by experience and training in good plumb-
ing practice and compliance with the Plumbing License Law;

(C) designated by the Board to assist in the enforcement
of the Plumbing License Law and Board rules;

(D) licensed by the Board as a plumber; and
(E) hired to:

(i) make on-site license and registration checks to
determine compliance with the Plumbing License Law;

(it) investigate complaints; and

(iii)  assist municipal plumbing inspectors in cooper-
ative enforcement of the Plumbing License Law.

(22) Journeyman Plumber--An individual licensed under
the Plumbing License Law who has met the qualifications for reg-
istration as a Plumber's Apprentice or for licensure as a Tradesman
Plumber-Limited, who has completed at least 8,000 hours working un-
der the supervision of a Responsible Master Plumber, who supervises,
engages in, or works at the actual installation, alteration, repair, service
and renovating of plumbing, and who has successfully fulfilled the ex-
aminations and requirements of the Board.

(23) License--A license, registration, certification, or en-
dorsement issued by the Board.

(24) Licensing and Registering--The process of granting,
denying, renewing, reinstating, revoking, or suspending a license, reg-
istration or endorsement.

(25) Maintenance Man or Maintenance Engineer--An indi-
vidual who:

(A) is an employee, and not an independent contractor
or subcontractor;

(B) performs plumbing maintenance work incidental to
and in connection with other employment-related duties; and

(C) does not engage in plumbing work for the general
public.

(D) For the purposes of paragraph 25(B), "incidental to
and in connection with" includes the repair, maintenance and replace-
ment of existing potable water piping, existing sanitary waste and vent
piping, existing plumbing fixtures and existing water heaters. It does
not include cutting into fuel gas plumbing systems and the installation
of gas fueled water heaters.

(E) Anindividual who erects, builds, or installs plumb-
ing not already in existence may not be classified as a maintenance man
or maintenance engineer. Plumbing work performed by a maintenance
man or maintenance engineer is not exempt from state law and munic-
ipal rules and ordinances regarding plumbing codes, plumbing permits
and plumbing inspections.

(26) Master Plumber--An individual licensed under the
Plumbing License Law who is skilled in the design, planning, superin-
tending, and the practical installation, repair, and service of plumbing,
who is knowledgeable about the codes, ordinances, or rules and regu-
lations governing those matters, who alone, or through an individual
or individuals under his supervision, performs plumbing work, and
who has successfully fulfilled the examinations and requirements of
the Board.

(27) Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement--

(A) A certification entitling the holder of a Master or
Journeyman Plumber License to install piping that is used solely to
transport gases used for medical purposes including, but not limited to,
oxygen, nitrous oxide, medical air, nitrogen, or medical vacuum.
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(B) A certification entitling the holder of a Plumbing
Inspector License to inspect medical gas and vacuum system installa-
tions.

(28) Multipurpose Residential Fire Protection Sprinkler
Specialist Endorsement--

(A) A certification entitling the holder of a Master or
Journeyman Plumber License to install a multipurpose residential fire
protection sprinkler system in a one or two family dwelling.

(B) A certification entitling the holder of a Plumbing
Inspector License to inspect a multipurpose residential fire protection
sprinkler system.

(29) Military service member--A person who is currently
serving in the armed forces of the United States, in a reserve component
of the armed forces of the United States, including the National Guard,
or in the state military service of any state.

(30) Military spouse--A person who is married to a military
service member who is currently on active duty.

(31) Military veteran--A person who has served in the
army, navy, air force, marine corps, or coast guard of the United States,
or in an auxiliary service of one of those branches of the armed forces.

(32) One-Family Dwelling--A detached structure designed
for the residence of a single family that does not have the characteris-
tics of a multiple family dwelling, and is not primarily designed for
transient guests or for providing services for rehabilitative, medical, or
assisted living in connection with the occupancy of the structure.

(33) Party--A person or state agency named or admitted as
a party to a contested case.

(34) Paid Directly--As related to §1301.255(e) of the
Plumbing License Law, "paid" and "directly" have the common
meanings and "paid directly" means that compensation for plumbing
inspections must be paid by the political subdivision to the individual
Licensed Plumbing Inspector who performed the plumbing inspec-
tions or the plumbing inspection business which utilized the plumbing
inspector to perform the inspections.

(35) Person--An individual, partnership, corporation, lim-
ited liability company, association, governmental subdivision or public
or private organization of any character other than an agency.

(36) Petitioner--A person requesting the Board to adopt,
amend or repeal a rule pursuant to §2001.021 of the Texas Govern-
ment Code and the Board Rules.

(37) Plumbing--

(A) All piping, fixtures, appurtenances, and appliances,
including disposal systems, drain or waste pipes, multipurpose residen-
tial fire protection sprinkler systems or any combination of these that:
supply, distribute, circulate, recirculate, drain, or eliminate water, gas,
medical gasses and vacuum, liquids, and sewage for all personal or do-
mestic purposes in and about buildings where persons live, work, or
assemble; connect the building on its outside with the source of water,
gas, or other liquid supply, or combinations of these, on the premises,
or the water main on public property; and carry waste water or sewage
from or within a building to the sewer service lateral on public property
or the disposal or septic terminal that holds private or domestic sewage.

(B) The installation, repair, service, maintenance, alter-
ation, or renovation of all piping, fixtures, appurtenances, and appli-
ances on premises where persons live, work, or assemble that supply
gas, medical gasses and vacuum, water, liquids, or any combination
of these, or dispose of waste water or sewage. Plumbing includes the

treatment of rainwater to supply a plumbing fixture or appliance. The
term "service" includes, but is not limited to, cleaning a drain or sewer
line using a cable or pressurized fluid.

(38) Plumbing Company--A person who engages in the
plumbing business.

(39) Plumbing Inspection--Any of the inspections required
in the Plumbing License Law, including any check of multipurpose res-
idential fire protection sprinkler systems, pipes, faucets, tanks, valves,
water heaters, plumbing fixtures and appliances by and through which
a supply of water, gas, medical gasses or vacuum, or sewage is used or
carried that is performed on behalf of any political subdivision, public
water supply, municipal utility district, town, city or municipality to
ensure compliance with the adopted plumbing and gas codes and ordi-
nances regulating plumbing.

(40) Plumbing Inspector--Any individual who is employed
by a political subdivision or state agency, or who contracts as an inde-
pendent contractor with a political subdivision or state agency, for the
purpose of inspecting plumbing work and installations in connection
with health and safety laws, ordinances, and plumbing and gas codes,
who has no financial or advisory interests in any plumbing company,
and who has successfully fulfilled the examinations and requirements
of the Board.

(41) Plumbing License Law or PLL--Chapter 1301 of the
Texas Occupations Code.

(42) Pocket Card--A card issued by the Board which:

(A) certifies that the holder has a Responsible Master
Plumber License, Master Plumber License, Journeyman Plumber Li-
cense, Tradesman Plumber-Limited License, Plumbing Inspector Li-
cense, or a Plumber's Apprentice Registration; and

(B) lists any Endorsements obtained by the holder.

(43) Political Subdivision--A political subdivision of the
State of Texas that includes a:

(A) city;

(B) county;

(C) school district;

(D) junior college district;

(E) municipal utility district;

(F) levee improvement district;

(G) drainage district;

(H) irrigation district;

(I) water improvement district;

(J) water control improvement district;
(K) water control preservation district;
(L) freshwater supply district;

(M) navigation district;

(N) conservation and reclamation district;
(O) soil conservation district;

(P) communication district;

(Q) public health district;

(R) river authority; and

(S) any other governmental entity that:
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(i) embraces a geographical area with a defined
boundary;

(ii) exists for the purpose of discharging functions
of government; and

(iii)  possesses authority for subordinate self-govern-
ment through officers selected by it.

(44) P-Trap--A fitting connected to the sanitary drainage
system for the purpose of preventing the escape of sewer gasses from
the sanitary drainage system and designed to be removed to allow for
cleaning of the sanitary drainage system. For the purposes of drain
cleaning activities described in §1301.002(2) of the Plumbing License
Law, a p-trap includes any integral trap of a water closet, bidet, or
urinal.

(45) Public Water System--A system for the provision to
the public of water for human consumption through pipes or other con-
structed conveyances. Such a system must have at least 15 service con-
nections or serve at least 25 individuals at least 60 days out of the year.
Two or more systems with each having a potential to serve less than 15
connections or less than 25 individuals, but owned by the same person,
firm, or corporation and located on adjacent land will be considered a
public water system when the total potential service connections in the
combined systems are 15 or greater or if the total number of individu-
als served by the combined systems total 25 or greater, at least 60 days
out of the year. Without excluding other meanings of the terms "indi-
vidual" or "served," an individual shall be deemed to be served by a
water system if the individual lives in, uses as the individual's place of
employment, or works in a place to which drinking water is supplied
from the water system.

(46) Respondent--A person charged in a complaint filed
with the Board.

(47) Responsible Master Plumber or RMP--A licensed
Master Plumber who:

(A) allows the person's Master Plumber License to be
used by only one plumbing company for the purpose of offering and
performing plumbing work;

(B) is authorized to obtain permits for plumbing work;

(C) assumes responsibility for plumbing work per-
formed under the person's license;

(D) has submitted a certificate of insurance as required
by the Plumbing License Law and Board Rules; and

(E) When used in Board forms, applications or other
communications by the Board, the abbreviation "RMP" shall mean Re-
sponsible Master Plumber.

(48) Registration--A document issued by the Board to cer-
tify that the named individual fulfilled the requirements of the PLL and
Board Rules to register as a Plumber's Apprentice.

(49) Rule--An agency statement of general applicability
that implements, interprets, or prescribes law or policy, or describes
the procedure or practice requirements of the agency. The term
includes the amendment or repeal of a prior rule but does not include
statements concerning only the internal management or organization
of the agency and not affecting private rights or procedures.

(50) Supervision--The general oversight, direction and
management of plumbing work and individuals performing plumbing
work by a Responsible Master Plumber, or licensed plumber desig-
nated by the RMP.

(51) System--An interconnection between one or more
public or private end users of water, gas, sewer, or disposal systems
that could endanger public health if improperly installed.

(52) Tradesman Plumber-Limited Licensee--An individual
who has completed at least 4,000 hours working under the direct super-
vision of a Journeyman or Master Plumber as a registered Plumber's
Apprentice, who has passed the required examination and fulfilled the
other requirements of the Board, or successfully completed a career
and technology education program, who constructs, installs, changes,
repairs, services, or renovates plumbing for one-family or two-family
dwellings under the supervision of a Responsible Master Plumber, and
who has not met or attempted to meet the qualifications for a Journey-
man Plumber License.

(53) Two-Family Dwelling--A detached structure with
separate means of egress designed for the residence of two families
("duplex") that does not have the characteristics of a multiple family
dwelling and is not primarily designed for transient guests or for
providing services for rehabilitative, medical, or assisted living in
connection with the occupancy of the structure.

(54) Water Supply Protection Specialist--A Master or Jour-
neyman Plumber who holds the Water Supply Protection Specialist En-
dorsement issued by the Board to engage in customer service inspec-
tions, as defined by rule of the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality, and the installation, service, and repair of plumbing associ-
ated with the treatment, use, and distribution of rainwater to supply a
plumbing fixture or appliance.

(55) Water Treatment--A business conducted under con-
tract that requires experience in the analysis of water, including the
ability to determine how to treat influent and effluent water, to alter or
purify water, and to add or remove a mineral, chemical, or bacterial
content or substance. The term also includes the installation and ser-
vice of potable water treatment equipment in public or private water
systems and making connections necessary to complete installation of
a water treatment system. The term does not include treatment of rain-
water or the repair of systems for rainwater harvesting.

(56) Yard Water Service Piping--The building supply pip-
ing carrying potable water from the water meter or other source of water
supply to the point of connection to the water distribution system at the
building.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303175

Lynn Latombe

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 936-5216

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 228. RETAIL FOOD ESTABLISH-
MENTS
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SUBCHAPTER B. MANAGEMENT AND
PERSONNEL

25 TAC §228.33

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Department of
State Health Services (DSHS), proposes new §228.33, concern-
ing Food Allergen Awareness Poster Required.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the proposal is to comply with Senate Bill (S.B.)
812, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023. S.B. 812 amends
the Texas Health and Safety Code to add §437.027, requiring re-
tail food establishments to display a poster relating to food aller-
gen awareness in an area of the establishment regularly acces-
sible to the establishment's food service employees. S.B. 812
prescribes the content of the poster at Texas Health and Safety
Code §437.027(b).

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed new §228.33 requires retail food establishments to
place a food allergen awareness poster in an area accessible
to employees and outlines the content of the poster.

FISCAL NOTE

Donna Sheppard, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the rule will be in effect,
enforcing or administering the rule does not have foreseeable
implications relating to costs or revenues of state or local gov-
ernments.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

DSHS has determined that during the first five years that the rule
will be in effect:

(1) the proposed rule will not create or eliminate a government
program;

(2) implementation of the proposed rule will not affect the number
of DSHS employee positions;

(3) implementation of the proposed rule will result in no assumed
change in future legislative appropriations;

(4) the proposed rule will not affect fees paid to DSHS;
(5) the proposed rule will create a new rule;

(6) the proposed rule will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing
rule;

(7) the proposed rule will not change the number of individuals
subject to the rule; and

(8) the proposed rule will not affect the state's economy.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS

Donna Sheppard has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities. The cost of a food allergen awareness
poster is negligible to the food establishments that must com-
ply with the rule and is considered in balance with the positive
effect on consumer safety. There are approximately 12,000 re-
tail food establishments requiring the food allergen awareness
poster under DSHS jurisdiction. DSHS is unable to estimate the
number of food establishments under local jurisdiction that must
also comply with the rule.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT
The proposed rule will not affect a local economy.
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to this rule
because the rule is necessary to protect the health, safety, and
welfare of the residents of Texas and to implement legislation
that does not specifically state that §2001.0045 applies to the
rule.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Dr. Timothy Stevenson, Associate Commissioner, Consumer
Protection Division, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit will be increased
employee awareness of the presence of food allergens in retail
food establishments and the danger that those allergens present
to consumers with food allergies. Employee awareness, in turn,
will enhance both prevention of and response to allergenic inci-
dents.

Donna Sheppard has also determined that for the first five years
the rule is in effect, persons required to comply with the pro-
posed rule may incur a one-time, negligible cost of not more than
$50.00 to obtain a food allergen awareness poster.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

DSHS has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code §2001.0225.
"Major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the specific
intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risk to
human health from environmental exposure and that may ad-
versely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

DSHS has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to DSHS
Consumer Protection Division, Food and Drug Section, Retail
Food Safety Operations, Mail Code 1987, Texas Department of
State Health Services, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-
9347, hand-delivered to 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas
78756, or by email to foodestablishments@dshs.texas.gov.

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day
of the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on
the last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed be-
fore midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last
day to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be
postmarked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the follow-
ing business day to be accepted. When faxing or emailing com-
ments, please indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 23R052"
in the subject line.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY
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The new rule is authorized by Texas Health and Safety Code
§437.027(c), which directs the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC to adopt rules to implement legislation; and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code
§1001.075, which authorize the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC to adopt rules and policies necessary for the operation
and provision of health and human services by DSHS, and for
the administration of Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter
1001.

The proposed new rule implements Texas Government Code
Chapter 531 and Texas Health and Safety Code Chapters 437
and 1001.

$228.33.  Food Allergen Awareness Poster Required.

(a) A food establishment shall display a poster relating to food
allergen awareness in an area of the establishment regularly accessible
to the establishment's food service employees.

(b) The food allergen awareness poster shall be identical or
substantially similar to the sample poster displayed on the department
website. If not identical, the poster shall, at a minimum, display the
following information in a clear and straightforward manner:

(1) the risk of an allergic reaction to a food allergen;

(2) symptoms of an allergic reaction;

(3) the major food allergens, as determined by federal law
and regulations of the United States Food and Drug Administration;

(4) the procedures for preventing an allergic reaction; and

(5) appropriate responses for assisting an individual who is
having an allergic reaction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303167

Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 834-6753

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 555. NURSING FACILITY
ADMINISTRATORS

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) proposes in Title 26,
Part 1, Chapter 555, Nursing Facility Administrators, amend-
ments to §555.2, concerning Definitions, §555.11, concerning
Application Requirements, §555.12, concerning Licensure
Requirements, §555.13, concerning Internship Requirements,
§555.18, concerning Examinations and Requirements to Take
the Examinations, §555.32, concerning Provisional License,
and §555.35, concerning Continuing Education Requirements
for License Renewal.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the proposal is to clarify requirements and pro-
vide additional options to qualify for nursing facility administra-
tor (NFA) licensure. The proposal updates definitions and as-
sociated references for consistency with changes made by the
National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards
(NAB), regarding both educational domains for testing and the
company conducting the NAB examination. The proposal also
adds an additional option for persons to qualify for licensure,
and a greater degree of flexibility for the administrator-in-training
(AIT) internship. Other non-substantive changes are for clarifi-
cation.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The proposed amendment to §555.2 revises definitions for NFA
rules. Paragraph (8) updates the names and number of educa-
tional domains used by the NAB. Paragraph (12) clarifies that
HHSC is responsible for NFA licensure in Texas. Paragraph
(23) clarifies that NAB is the national authority on NFA licensure,
credentialing, and regulation. Paragraph (28) removes extrane-
ous language from the definition of the NFA advisory committee.
Paragraph (30) removes the "professional examination services
(PES)" name of the company that administers the NAB licensure
exam and renumbers the paragraphs accordingly. Paragraph
(35) revises the Texas Administrative Code citation for substan-
dard quality of care.

The proposed amendment to §555.11 revises the requirements
for an NFA licensure application. Subsection (a)(5) reduces the
number of academic credits required for NFA candidates who
hold a transcript with coursework in the updated NAB domains
that is not reflected by the baccalaureate degree. Subsections
(b) and (c) have non-substantive edits to update rule citations.

The proposed amendment to §555.12 provides additional op-
tions for licensure requirements. Subsection (a)(1)(A) reduces
the number of academic credits in long-term care administra-
tion required for candidates who hold a baccalaureate degree
that includes coursework in the updated NAB domains. Subsec-
tion (a)(2) updates the NAB domains referenced for applicants
holding a baccalaureate degree in health administration, health
services administration, health care administration, or nursing.
Subsection (a)(3) provides an additional option for persons to
qualify for NFA licensure: holding a baccalaureate degree with
coursework in the NAB domains and one year of experience as
assistant administration of record or administrator of record at a
facility in another state. Subsection (a)(4) and (5) have non-sub-
stantive renumbering edits. Subsection (a)(6) describes an op-
tion for application for candidates with a license issued by an-
other state.

The proposed amendment to §555.13 provides more flexibility
for the AIT internship. Subsection (a)(2) removes the require-
ment for the internship to be completed in a facility with a min-
imum of 60 beds and instead allows the internship to be com-
pleted in a facility of any size. Subsection (a)(6) and (7) have
non-substantive renumbering edits. Subsection (a)(8) requires
the internship to be completed at the same facility at which the
AlT's preceptor serves as NFA. Subsection (b)(2) updates the
referenced rule.

The proposed amendment to §555.18 makes a minor editorial
change, replacing the word "on-line" with "online" and removes
a reference to the name of the company that administers the
NAB examination.
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The proposed amendment to §555.32 clarifies requirements for
provisional NFA licenses. Subsection (a)(4)(A) removes equiv-
ocal language around "substantially similar" licensing require-
ments in other states. Subsection (e) stipulates that if internship
hours in another state do not meet requirements in §555.13, the
provisional licensee must complete the required internship hours
under the supervision of an HHSC-licensed preceptor.

The proposed amendment to §555.35 makes non-substantive
edits to clarify requirements for continuing education for license
renewal. Subsection (a)(2) revises the number of NAB domains
from five to four, which aligns with NAB consolidation of the do-
mains. Subsection (a)(4) makes non-substantive edits to clar-
ify that at least six hours of continuing education in ethics is
required. Subsection (c) replaces "three-semester hour" with
"three-semester-hour" in reference to a course requirement.

FISCAL NOTE

Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each
year of the first five years that the rules will be in effect, enforc-
ing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable implica-
tions relating to costs or revenues of state or local governments.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the
rules will be in effect:

(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government
program;

(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of HHSC employee positions;

(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations;

(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to HHSC;
(5) the proposed rules will not create a new rule;

(6) the proposed rules will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing
rule;

(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals
subject to the rule; and

(8) the proposed rules will not affect the state's economy.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS

Trey Wood has also determined that there will be no adverse
economic effect on small businesses or micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities.

A nursing facility is not a small business or micro-business
but may be located in a rural community. The proposed rules
are not expected to have an adverse economic effect on small
businesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities because
there are no requirements to alter current business practices,
and there are no new fees or costs imposed on those required
to comply.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT
The proposed rules will not affect a local economy.
COST TO REGULATED PERSONS

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these
rules because the rules are necessary to protect the health,

safety, and welfare of the residents of Texas, and do not impose
a cost on regulated persons.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Stephen Pahl, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Regulatory
Services, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the rules are in effect, the public will benefit from having current
information from and regarding the national authority on NFAs,
clarified requirements regarding NFA licensure, and a greater
degree of flexibility should a person choose to enter the profes-
sion.

Trey Wood has also determined that for the first five years the
rules are in effect, there are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the proposed rules be-
cause any costs incurred by current or prospective NFAs under
the proposed rules will be costs that would otherwise be incurred
through the current NFA licensure process.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to
Caroline Sunshine, Policy Specialist, by email to HHSCLTCR-
Rules@hhs.texas.gov.

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be emailed before midnight on the last day of the
comment period. If the last day to submit comments falls on
a holiday, comments must be postmarked, shipped, or emailed
before midnight on the following business day to be accepted.
When emailing comments, please indicate "Comments on Pro-
posed Rule 22R103" in the subject line.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL INFORMATION
26 TAC §555.2
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.021, which provides HHSC with the
authority to administer federal funds and plan and direct the
Medicaid program in each agency that operates a portion of the
Medicaid program; Texas Human Resources Code §32.021,
which provides that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the
proper and efficient operation of the Medicaid program; and
Texas Health and Safety Code §242.302, which grants HHSC
the general authority to establish rules consistent with that
subchapter, and directs HHSC to establish qualifications of
applicants for licenses and renewal of licenses issued under
that subchapter, as well as reasonable and necessary admin-
istration and implementation fees, and continuing education
hours required to renew a license under that subchapter.

The amendment gives effect to Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and §531.021; Texas Human Resources Code
§32.021; and Texas Health and Safety Code §242.302.

§$555.2.  Definitions.
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The words and terms in this chapter have the following meanings, un-
less the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Abuse--Negligent or willful infliction of injury, unrea-
sonable confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting phys-
ical or emotional harm or pain to a resident; or sexual abuse, including
involuntary or nonconsensual sexual conduct that would constitute an
oftense under Texas Penal Code §21.08 (relating to Indecent Exposure)
or Texas Penal Code Chapter 22 (relating to Assaultive Offenses), sex-
ual harassment, sexual coercion, or sexual assault.

(2) Active duty--Current full-time military service in the
armed forces of the United States or as a member of the Texas military
forces, as defined in Texas Government Code §437.001, or similar mil-
itary service of another state.

(3) Administrator-in-training (AIT)--[]A person undergo-
ing an internship under a HHSC-approved certified preceptor.

(4) Administrator of Record--The individual who is listed
as the facility's licensed nursing facility administrator with the HHSC
Licensing and Credentialing Section.

(5) Applicant--A person applying for a Texas nursing fa-
cility administrator (NFA) license.

(6) Armed forces of the United States--The Army, Navy,
Air Force, Coast Guard, Space Force, or Marine Corps of the United
States, including reserve units of those military branches.

(7) Complaint--An allegation that an NFA violated one or
more of the licensure rules or statutory requirements.

(8) Domains of the National Association of Long Term
Care Administrator Boards (NAB)--The four [five] categories for edu-
cation and continuing education of the NAB, which are care, services,
and supports; operations; environment and quality; and leadership
and strategy. [resident care and quality of life: human resources:
management: |

(9) Formal hearing--A hearing held by the State Office
of Administrative Hearings to adjudicate a sanction taken by HHSC
against an NFA.

(10) Good standing--In Texas an NFA is in good standing
if the NFA is in compliance with the rules in this chapter and, if appli-
cable, the terms of any sanction imposed by HHSC. An NFA licensed
or registered in another state is in good standing if the NFA is in com-
pliance with the NFA licensing or registration rules in the other state
and, if applicable, the terms of any sanction imposed by the other state.

(11) Health services executive (HSE)--An individual who
has entry-level competencies in [ef] a nursing facility, assisted living
community, or home and community-based service provider in this

state [jurisdietion] or another state [jurisdietion]. The HSE has met

NAB's minimum standards for qualification as an HSE.

(12) HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission. HHSC is responsible for NFA licensure in Texas.

(13) Internship--The training period in a nursing facility for
an AIT. When HHSC accepts internship hours completed in another
state, the hours must be completed in a facility that qualifies as a nursing
facility or nursing home under the laws of the other state.

(14) License--An NFA license or provisional license.
(15) Licensee--A person licensed by HHSC as an NFA.

(16) Long-term Care Regulation--The department of
HHSC responsible for long-term care regulation, including deter-

mining nursing facility compliance with licensure and certification
requirements and the regulation of NFAs.

(17) Management experience--Full-time employment as a
department head, assistant nursing facility administrator, or licensed
professional supervising two or more employees in a nursing facility,
including a nursing facility outside of Texas, or skilled nursing hospital
unit.

(18) Military service member--A person who is on active
duty.

(19) Military spouse--A person who is married to a military
service member.

(20) Military veteran--A person who has served on active
duty and who was discharged or released from active duty.

(21) Misappropriation of resident property--Taking, secre-
tion, misapplication, deprivation, transfer, or attempted transfer to any
person not entitled to receive any property, real or personal, or anything
of value belonging to or under the legal control of a resident without
the effective consent of the resident or other appropriate legal author-
ity, or the taking of any action contrary to any duty imposed by federal
or state law prescribing conduct relating to the custody or disposition
of property of a resident.

(22) NAB examination--The national examination devel-
oped by NAB that applicants must pass in combination with the state
licensure examination to be issued a license to practice nursing facility
administration in Texas. The NAB examination consists of two mod-
ules: Core of Knowledge and Line of Service.

(23) National Association of Long Term Care Administra-
tor Boards (NAB)--The national authority on licensing, credentialing,
and regulating administration of organizations along the continuum of
long-term care. NAB sets the national standards and evaluation re-
quirements for NFAs. [State beards or ageneies responsible for the
lieensure of NEAs:]

(24) National Continuing Education Review Service
(NCERS)--The part of NAB that approves and monitors continuing
education activities for NFAs.

(25) Neglect--Failure to provide goods or services, includ-
ing medical services, that are necessary to avoid physical or emotional
harm, pain, or mental illness.

(26) Nursing facility--A facility licensed in accordance
with THSC Chapter 242.

(27) Nursing Facility Administrator (NFA)--An individual
licensed by HHSC to engage in the practice of nursing facility adminis-
tration, regardless of whether the individual has an ownership interest
in the facility.

(28) Nursing Facility Administrators Advisory Committee
(NFAAC)--The advisory committee established by THSC §242.303
[¢the text of Subehapter 1 is effective until federal determination of fail-
ure to comply with federal regulations)].

(29) Preceptor--An NFA certified by HHSC to provide su-
pervision to an AIT.
ing ageney that administers the NADB and state examinations to apph-

(30) [BB)] Referral--A recommendation made by Long-

term Care Regulation staff to investigate an NFA's compliance with li-
censure requirements when deficiencies or substandard quality of care
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deficiencies are found in a nursing facility, as required by Title 42 Code
of Federal Regulations §488.325.

(31) [B2)] Sanctions--An adverse licensure action against
an NFA. In Texas, a sanction is one of the actions listed in §555.57 of
this chapter (relating to Schedule of Sanctions).

(32) [683)] Self-study course--A NAB-approved education
course that an individual pursues independently to meet continuing ed-
ucation requirements for license renewal.

(33) [B4)] State examination--The state licensure exami-
nation that applicants must pass, in combination with the NAB exami-
nation, to be issued a license to practice nursing facility administration
in Texas.

(34) [635)] Substandard quality of care--For a Medicare-
or Medicaid-certified facility, this term has the meaning given in Ti-
tle 42 Code of Federal Regulations §488.301. For a licensed-only fa-
cility, this term has the meaning given in §554.101 of this title (re-
lating to Definitions). [Texas Administrative Code; Title 26; Part 1;
§554104395]

(35) [6)] THSC--Texas Health and Safety Code.

(36) [BD)] Traditional business hours--Monday through
Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303170

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3161

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. REQUIREMENTS FOR
LICENSURE

26 TAC §§555.11 - 555.13, 555.18

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies; Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.021, which provides HHSC with the author-
ity to administer federal funds and plan and direct the Medicaid
program in each agency that operates a portion of the Medicaid
program; Texas Human Resources Code §32.021, which pro-
vides that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the proper and
efficient operation of the Medicaid program; and Texas Health
and Safety Code §242.302, which grants HHSC the general au-
thority to establish rules consistent with that subchapter, and di-
rects HHSC to establish qualifications of applicants for licenses
and renewal of licenses issued under that subchapter, as well
as reasonable and necessary administration and implementa-
tion fees, and continuing education hours required to renew a
license under that subchapter.

The amendments give effect to Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and §531.021; Texas Human Resources Code
§32.021; and Texas Health and Safety Code §242.302.

$555.11.  Application Requirements.

(a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this sec-
tion, an applicant seeking licensure must submit to the Texas Health
and Human Services Commission (HHSC):

(1) a complete Nursing Facility Administrator's Applica-
tion for Licensure form;

(2) the application fee;

(3) fingerprints for a Texas Department of Public Safety
criminal background check;

(4) an official transcript reflecting a baccalaureate degree
from a college or university accredited by an agency recognized by the
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board;

(5) if not a part of the transcript reflecting a baccalaureate
degree, another transcript reflecting 12 [+5] semester credit hours in
long-term care administration, or its equivalent, that include the four
[five] domains of the National Association of Long Term Care Admin-
istrator Boards; and

(6) proof of completing the minimum applicable internship
that meets the internship requirements in §555.13 of this subchapter
(relating to Internship Requirements).

(b) If an applicant has a health services executive (HSE)
qualification and is applying for a license under §555.12(a)(5)
[§55542(a)4)] of this subchapter (relating to Licensure Require-
ments), the applicant must submit:

(1) a complete Nursing Facility Administrator's Applica-
tion for Licensure form;

(2) the application fee;
(3) proof of the HSE qualification;

(4) fingerprints for a Texas Department of Public Safety
criminal background check; and

(5) certification [preef] that the applicant has not had a li-
cense revoked in any state.

(c) Ifan applicant has an NFA license issued by another state

and is applying for a license under §555.12(a)(6) [§55512(&)5)] of

this subchapter, the applicant must submit:
(1) acomplete Reciprocity Licensure Questionnaire;
(2) the application fee;

(3) fingerprints for a Texas Department of Public Safety
criminal background check; and

(4) proof of a license in good standing in another state.

(d) An application is valid for one year from the date the ap-
plication fee is received.

(e) Anapplicant who does not meet the requirements for licen-
sure within one year after HHSC receives the application must reapply
for licensure as provided in this section.

(f) HHSC is not responsible for applications, forms, notices,
and correspondence unless they are received by HHSC.

(g) HHSC is not responsible for mail it sends to a licensee or
applicant if the licensee's or applicant's current address was not reported
in writing to HHSC.
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§3555.12.  Licensure Requirements.

(a) An applicant must meet one of the following groups of re-
quirements to obtain a license as a nursing facility administrator (NFA).

(1) An applicant has a baccalaureate degree in any subject
from a college or university accredited by an agency recognized by the
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; and

(A) aminimum of 12 [45] semester credit hours in long-
term care administration, or its equivalent, that includes courses in the
four [five] domains of the National Association of Long Term Care
Administrator Boards (NAB);

(B) completed a 1,000-hour internship that meets the
requirements in §555.13 of this subchapter (relating to Internship Re-
quirements); and

(C) passed the state and NAB examinations described
in §555.18 of this subchapter (relating to Examinations and Require-
ments to Take the Examinations).

(2) An applicant has a baccalaureate degree in health ad-
ministration, health services administration, health care administration,
or nursing that includes coursework encompassing the four [five] do-
mains of the NAB; and

(A) three years of management experience;

(B) completed a 500-hour internship that meets the re-
quirements in §555.13 of this subchapter; and

(C) passed the state and NAB examinations described
in §555.18 of this subchapter.

(3) An applicant has a baccalaureate degree with course-
work in the four domains of NAB and one year of experience as assis-
tant administrator of record or administrator of record in another state;
and

(A) completed a 500-hour internship that meets the re-
quirements in §555.13 of this subchapter; and

(B) passed the state and NAB examinations described
in §555.18 of this subchapter.

(4) [63)] An applicant has a master's degree in health ad-
ministration, health services administration, health care administration,
or nursing that includes coursework encompassing the four [five] do-
mains of the NAB; and

(A) one year of management experience;

(B) completed a 500-hour internship that meets the re-
quirements in §555.13; and

(C) passed the state and NAB examinations described
in §555.18 of this subchapter.

(5) [¢4] An applicant has a health services executive qual-
ification; and

(A) has not had a license revoked in any state; and

(B) passed the state examination described in §555.18
of this subchapter.

(6) [€5] An applicant has a license issued by a state other
than Texas and meets the requirements for licensure in paragraphs (1),

(2), (3), or (4) [(B); 2); er 3)] of this subsection.

(b) HHSC accepts foreign university degrees and coursework
that is counted as transfer credit by accredited universities recognized
by the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions
officers.

§555.13.  Internship Requirements.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) or (c) of this section,
an applicant must complete an internship that meets the following re-
quirements.

(1) Before an applicant starts the internship, the applicant
and the applicant's preceptor must complete a Texas Health and Human
Services (HHSC) internship application.

(2) The internship must be in a nursing facility [that has a
minimum of 60 beds; unless HHSC grants an exception to the minimum
bed requirement. HHSC may consider an exception to the 60-bed re-
quirement on a ease-by-case basis: To be considered; the faeility with
fewer than 60 beds must be located in a rural area and more than 50
miles away from a 60-bed facility: An applicant must submit te HHSC
a written request to complete an internship in a facility with fewer than
60 beds: HHSC will netify the applicant of the status of the applicant's
request].

(3) A minimum of half of the internship hours must be dur-
ing traditional business hours.

(4) The administrator-in-training (AIT) can train no more
than 40 hours a week.

(5) Ifthe internship is completed with a nursing facility ad-
ministrator (NFA) not associated with a university as the preceptor, the
AIT must complete a preceptor performance report. Additionally, the
preceptor must complete an AIT final report.

(6) An AIT must complete an HHSC course in Infection
Control and Personal Protective Equipment.

(7) [€6)] If the internship is completed with an NFA associ-
ated with a university accredited by an agency recognized by the Texas
Higher Education Coordinating Board as the preceptor, the AIT must
submit an official transcript to HHSC.

(8) The internship must be completed at the same facility
at which the AIT's preceptor serves as NFA.

(b) HHSC may accept an internship completed in another state
if:
(1) the internship is part of a National Association of Long
Term Care Administrator Boards-accredited program; or

(2) the internship is approved by the other state and a min-
imum of 1,000 hours or a minimum of 500 hours if the requirements
listed in §555.12(a)(2), (3), or (4) [§55512(a)}2) er 3)] of this sub-
chapter (relating to Licensure Requirements) are met. An applicant
who has completed fewer than 1,000 hours of internship in another
state that does not qualify for a 500-hour internship must [may] com-
plete the remaining hours under a preceptor.

(c) As a substitute to meeting the internship requirements de-
scribed in subsection (a) or (b) of this section, an applicant may submit
to HHSC proof of a health services executive (HSE) qualification and
certify that the applicant has not had a license or HSE qualification re-
voked in any state.

(d) The AIT must submit proof of completion of the internship
or completion of HSE. HHSC will review the proof of completion and
notify the applicant of the status of the applicant's request.

$§555.18.  Examinations and Requirements to Take the Examinations.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, an ap-
plicant seeking a license as a nursing facility administrator (NFA) from
the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) must pass
the following examinations:
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(1) the state examination on nursing facility requirements
in Texas; and

(2) the NAB examinations.

(b) An applicant who meets the academic and internship re-
quirements by presenting evidence of a health services executive (HSE)
qualification must pass the state examination.

(c) An applicant registers for examination at the designated
NAB website by:

(1) submitting an application for approval to take the ex-
amination; and

(2) paying the applicable state examination and NAB ex-
amination fees online [en-line].

(d) HHSC sends an e-mail notifying an applicant of the appli-
cant's eligibility to take the examinations.

(e) Anapplicant must not take any examination without HHSC
approval.

(f) An applicant with a disability, including an applicant with
dyslexia as defined in Texas Education Code §51.970 (relating to In-
structional Material for Blind and Visually Impaired Students and Stu-
dents with Dyslexia), may request a reasonable accommodation for the
examination under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

(g) Anapplicant completes the online [en-line] state and NAB
examinations [at prefessional examination serviees].

(h) HHSC notifies an applicant of examination scores after re-
ceiving examination results.

(i) An applicant who fails an examination and wants to re-
take it must pay the appropriate state or NAB examination fee for each
exam.

(j) An applicant who fails the state or NAB examination three
consecutive times must complete an additional 1,000-hour administra-
tor-in-training internship before retaking the examination.

(k) An applicant previously licensed as an NFA and whose li-
cense expired 365 or more days before the applicant reapplies for a
license or who voluntarily surrendered the license must retake the state
examination to obtain a new license.

()  An applicant previously licensed as an NFA and whose li-
cense expired 365 or more days before the applicant reapplies for a li-
cense, or who voluntarily surrendered the license, must retake the NAB
examination to obtain a new license if more than five years have passed
since the applicant passed the NAB examination.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303171

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3161

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. LICENSES
26 TAC §555.32, §555.35

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies; Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.021, which provides HHSC with the author-
ity to administer federal funds and plan and direct the Medicaid
program in each agency that operates a portion of the Medicaid
program; Texas Human Resources Code §32.021, which pro-
vides that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the proper and
efficient operation of the Medicaid program; and Texas Health
and Safety Code §242.302, which grants HHSC the general au-
thority to establish rules consistent with that subchapter, and di-
rects HHSC to establish qualifications of applicants for licenses
and renewal of licenses issued under that subchapter, as well
as reasonable and necessary administration and implementa-
tion fees, and continuing education hours required to renew a
license under that subchapter.

The amendments give effect to Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and §531.021; Texas Human Resources Code
§32.021; and Texas Health and Safety Code §242.302.

$555.32.  Provisional License.

(a) The Texas Health and Human Services Commission
(HHSC) issues a provisional license to an applicant currently licensed
or registered as a nursing facility administrator (NFA) in another state
who submits the following to HHSC:

(1) complete and notarized Provisional Licensure Ques-
tionnaire and Nursing Facility Administrator License Application
forms;

(2) the application fee;
(3) the provisional license fee; and
(4) proof of the following:

(A) alicense and good standing status in another state
[with i . . | ol valent o the T 1
censure requirements|;

(B) employment for at least one year as an administrator
of record of a nursing facility in applicant's state;

(C) apassing score on the National Association of Long
Term Care Administrator Boards examination and the state examina-
tion; and

(D) sponsorship by an NFA licensed by HHSC and
who is in good standing, unless HHSC waives sponsorship based on a
demonstrated hardship.

(b) A provisional license expires 180 days from the date of
issue.

(c) HHSC issues an initial license certificate to a provisional
license holder who satisfies the requirements for a license in §555.12 of
this chapter (relating to Licensure Requirements) and §555.31 of this
subchapter (relating to Initial license).

(d) HHSC may determine that a criminal conviction or sanc-
tion taken in another state is a basis for pending or denying a provisional
license.

(e) If the internship hours completed in another state do not
meet the requirements in §555.13 of this chapter (relating to Internship
Requirements), then a provisional licensee must complete the required
internship hours under the supervision of an HHSC-certified preceptor
as described in §555.12 of this chapter.

PROPOSED RULES
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$555.35.  Continuing Education Requirements for License Renewal.
(a) The 40 hours of continuing education required for license
renewal must:
(1) be completed during the previous two-year licensure
period;
(2) include one or more of the four [five] domains of the
National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB);

(3) include a Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion (HHSC) course in Infection Control and personal protective equip-
ment;

(4) include at least six hours of continuing education in
ethics; and

(5) be:

(A) approved by the National Continuing Education
Review Service;

(B) a HHSC-sponsored event; or

(C) an upper-division semester credit course taken or
taught at a post-secondary institution of higher education accredited
by an agency recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating
Board.

(b) HHSC accepts NAB-approved self-study courses toward
the required 40 hours of continuing education.

(c) HHSC waives, at a maximum, 20 of the 40 hours of
continuing education required of a licensee who completes one
three-semester-hour [three-semester hour] upper-division course taken
at a post-secondary institution of higher education.

(d) HHSC approves continuing education credit hours for the
same course, seminar, workshop, or program only once per license re-
newal period.

(¢) HHSC may perform an audit of continuing education
courses, seminars, or workshops that the licensee has reported by
requesting certificates of attendance.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303172

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3161

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 749. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CHILD-PLACING AGENCIES

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) proposes repeal of §749.2472,
amendment to §749.2533; and new §§749.4401, 749.4411,
749.4413,749.4415, 749.4417, 749.4419, 749.4421, 749.4423,
749.4425,749.4427, 749.4429, 739.4431, 749.4433, 749.4451,
749.4453, 749.4455 in Title 26, Texas Administrative Code,
Chapter 749, Minimum Standards for Child-Placing Agencies.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The rule changes implement Senate Bill 1896, 87th Legislature,
Regular Session, 2021, as it relates to SECTION 21 of the bill.

SECTION 21 amended Texas Human Resources Code (HRC)
to add §42.0538, which requires HHSC Child Care Regulation
(CCR) to establish standards to allow a Child-Placing Agency
(CPA) to issue a provisional foster home verification to a kinship
provider who meets basic health and safety requirements iden-
tified in CCR rules. This statute cross-references Texas Fam-
ily Code §264.851 for the definition of "kinship provider." This
statute also requires CCR to establish the timeframe by which
a foster home with a provisional kinship verification must meet
all the requirements for a non-expiring verification. Accordingly,
CCR is proposing rules that specify the requirements associated
with the provisional verification of a kinship foster home.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The proposed repeal of §749.2472 deletes the rule as no longer
necessary because the content of the rule has been modified
and moved to proposed new §749.4455.

The proposed amendment to §749.2533(1) updates the rule ti-
tle and content to clarify that there are two scenarios in which
a CPA may issue a provisional verification; (2) formats the rule
into an introduction with two subdivisions; and (3) puts the new
requirements for a kinship provider in subdivision (2). The re-
quirements for a kinship provider (A) establish that a CPA may
issue a provisional verification to a kinship provider in specific
circumstances, and (B) clarify that rules for provisional kinship
foster home verifications are located in proposed new Subchap-
ter W, Division 2, Provisional Kinship Foster Home Verification,
of this chapter.

Proposed new Subchapter W, Kinship Foster Homes, adds a
new subchapter in Chapter 749 for rules related to kinship foster
homes.

Proposed new Division 1, Definitions, in proposed new Subchap-
ter W, contains definitions for words and terms used in Subchap-
ter W.

Proposed new §749.4401 provides terms and definitions that are
used throughout the subchapter. The rule (1) includes the terms
"affinity" and "consanguinity," which are identical to the defini-
tions found in Chapter 745, Licensing, Subchapter A §745.21;
and (2) adds definitions for "kinship foster child," "kinship fos-
ter home," "kinship foster parent," and "provisional kinship foster
home verification".

Proposed new Division 2, Provisional Kinship Foster Home Ver-
ification, in proposed new Subchapter W, contains rules relating
the requirements for a provisional kinship foster home verifica-
tion.

Proposed new §749.4411 establishes that a CPA must com-
ply with rules in new proposed Subchapter W, Kinship Foster
Homes, Division 2, Provisional Kinship Foster Home Verification
(1) before issuing a provisional kinship foster home verification;
and (2) while a provisional kinship foster home verification is in
effect.

Proposed new §749.4413 requires a CPA to comply with all
other rules in Chapter 749, Minimum Standards for Child-Placing
Agencies, unless (1) the CPA waives a requirement as provided
by a rule in proposed new Division 2, Provisional Kinship Foster
Home Verification; or (2) a rule in Division 2, Provisional Kinship
Foster Home Verification, replaces another rule in Chapter 749.
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Proposed new §749.4415 establishes which orientation training
requirements a CPA may waive for a provisional kinship foster
home while a provisional kinship foster home verification is in
effect. The rule allows a CPA to waive the orientation topic in
§749.831(a)(3), which requires a prospective foster parent to re-
ceive training on the needs and characteristics of children in the
home.

Proposed new §749.4417 establishes when a prospective kin-
ship foster parent is exempt from pre-service experience require-
ments. The rule (1) exempts a prospective kinship foster parent
from completing pre-service experience in §749.861(b) of Chap-
ter 749 if the kinship foster child was living in the home when
the prospective kinship foster home applied with the CPA; and
(2) if a prospective foster parent does not meet the pre-service
exemption criteria in proposed new §749.4417(a) and must com-
plete pre-service experience, allows a CPA to limit the prescribed
regime of child-care experience in §749.861(b) to observations
and interactions with the kinship foster child in the prospective
kinship foster parent's home or the child's current placement.

Proposed new §749.4419 establishes the timeframes within
which a caregiver in a provisional kinship foster home must
complete the pre-service training requirements required by
§749.863. The rule requires a caregiver to complete (1) gen-
eral pre-service training required in (a)(1) in Figure: 26 TAC
§749.863(a) before the CPA issues a non-expiring foster home
verification unless the CPA waives the requirement according
to §749.868, which is a waiver option available to all foster
homes; (2) normalcy training required in (a)(2) in Figure: 26
TAC §749.863(a) before the CPA issues a non-expiring foster
home verification unless the agency waives the requirement
according to §749.868, which is a waiver option available to all
foster homes; (3) emergency behavior intervention (EBI) train-
ing required under (a)(3) in Figure: 26 TAC §749.863(a) before
the CPA issues a non-expiring foster home verification if the
CPA does not allow for the use of EBI unless (A) the caregiver
is exempt because the caregiver cares exclusively for children
receiving treatment services for primary medical needs, or (B)
the CPA waives the training requirement according to §749.868;
(4) EBI training according to the timeframes in (a)(4)(C) in
Figure: 26 TAC §749.863(a) if the CPA allows for use of EBI
unless (A) the caregiver is exempt because the caregiver cares
exclusively for children receiving primary medical needs, or (B)
the CPA waives the requirement according to §749.868, which
is a waiver option available to all foster homes; (5) safe sleeping
training required in (a)(5) in Figure: 26 TAC §749.863(a) accord-
ing to timeframes in (a)(5)(C) in Figure: 26 TAC §749.863(a) if
the kinship foster home will care for children younger than two
years of age, which is consistent with the requirement for all
foster homes; and (6) administration of psychotropic medication
training required in (a)(3) in Figure: 26 TAC §749.863(a) before
the caregiver administers psychotropic medication, which is
consistent with the requirements for all foster homes.

Proposed new §749.4421 outlines the foster home screening re-
quirements a CPA must complete before issuing a provisional
kinship foster home verification. The rule requires a CPA to (1)
meet the home screening requirements in Subchapter M, Fos-
ter Home: Screenings and Verifications, Division 2, Foster Home
Screenings if the kinship foster child was not living in the home of
the prospective kinship foster home on the date the kinship foster
parent applied with the CPA; or (2) request a copy of the kinship
home assessment completed by the Texas Department of Fam-
ily and Protective Services (DFPS) or Single Source Continuum
Contractor (SSCC) within 30 days after the date the home ap-

plied with the agency if the kinship foster child was living in the
kinship foster home on the date the prospective kinship foster
home applied with the CPA. The rule provides specific actions
a CPA must complete before issuing a provisional foster home
verification, depending on whether DFPS or SSCC provides the
CPA with a kinship home assessment. The rule also provides
that CPA management staff must review and approve the home
screening or home screening addendum.

Proposed new §749.4423 outlines the information a CPA must
obtain and document from a DFPS kinship development worker
or SSCC equivalent for a foster home screening or an addendum
to the kinship home assessment for a provisional kinship foster
home verification. The rule requires the CPA to (1) gather and
document, if a kinship development worker or SSCC equivalent
is assigned to the home, if applicable, (A) any identified concerns
impacting the health or safety of children and the steps taken to
mitigate the concerns, (B) kinship home assessment evaluations
completed for caregivers in the home, and (C) kinship develop-
ment plans (KDP) put in place, the reason for the plan, and the
outcome of the plan; and (2) create and document the CPA's
plan to address and mitigate any concerns identified in the KDP.
If the CPA is unable to obtain this information, the rule requires
the CPA to (1) document diligent efforts to contact the DFPS kin-
ship development worker or SSCC equivalent if the attempts to
contact the DFPS kinship development worker or SSCC equiv-
alent are unsuccessful; or (2) document if there is not a DFPS
kinship development worker or SSCC equivalent assigned to the
home.

Proposed new §749.4425 outlines the foster home verification
requirements a CPA must meet before issuing a provisional kin-
ship foster home verification. The rule (1) only allows a CPA to
issue a provisional kinship foster home verification to a kinship
foster home that provides, or will provide, care to kinship fos-
ter children in the conservatorship of DFPS; (2) allows a CPA
to issue the provisional kinship foster home verification after the
CPA (A) completes requirements in §749.2470(a)(3) - (6) and
proposed new §749.4421, (B) complies with requirements in pro-
posed new §749.4423, (C) documents and addresses with the
kinship foster family any indicators of potential risk to children
based on (i) the background information the CPA receives from
the DFPS kinship development worker or SSCC equivalent and
(i) any screening and evaluation information the CPA has con-
ducted; (D) the CPA's child placement management staff reviews
and approves the provisional kinship foster home verification by
dating and signing it; and (E) issues a verification certificate that
includes the (i) total capacity of the kinship foster home, includ-
ing any adopted children of the caregivers who live in the kinship
foster home and any children for whom the family provides day
care, (ii) kinship foster home's foster care capacity, (iii) names
and ages of the kinship foster children for which the kinship fos-
ter home is verified to provide foster care, (iv) types of services
the kinship home will provide, (v) CPA's main office or branch of-
fice issuing the provisional kinship foster home verification, and
(vi) expiration date of the provisional kinship foster home veri-
fication. The rule also clarifies that a CPA may issue a provi-
sional kinship foster home verification before kinship foster par-
ents complete pre-service training in accordance with proposed
new §749.4419.

Proposed new §749.4427 establishes the length of time for
which a CPA may issue a provisional kinship foster home verifi-
cation as a maximum six months from the date it is issued. The
rule also (1) states that a provisional kinship foster home verifi-
cation may not be renewed; and (2) clarifies that a provisional
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kinship foster home verification expires when a CPA issues a
non-expiring foster home verification or closes the home.

Proposed new §749.4429 outlines the requirements a CPA must
follow if a provisional kinship foster home will not meet the re-
quirements for a non-expiring foster home verification before the
provisional kinship foster home verification expires. The rule re-
quires the CPA to (1) notify the parent as soon as the agency
becomes aware that the home will not meet the requirements
for a non-expiring verification; (2) close the kinship foster home
by the date the provisional kinship foster home verification ex-
pires; and (3) complete a home closure summary as required by
§749.2497.

Proposed new §739.4431 outlines the types of placements a
CPA can make in a kinship foster home with a provisional kin-
ship foster home verification. The rule (1) limits placements to
kinship children; and (2) requires that if a CPA places additional
kinship foster children in the kinship foster home while a provi-
sional kinship foster home verification is in effect, the CPA must,
by the date the agency places additional kinship children in the
home, (A) determine and document in the home's record that the
home is capable of providing care for the additional kinship foster
children in accordance with rules in Chapter 749, (B) update the
kinship foster home's provisional verification certificate to comply
with requirements in §749.4425(b)(6), and (C) notify CCR of the
change in verification as required by §749.2489. The rule also
requires a CPA to, within 30 days after placing a kinship foster
child in the home, (1) review and update with an addendum, if
necessary, the foster home screening or the addendum to the
kinship foster home assessment that was completed in accor-
dance with §749.4421; and (2) ensure the kinship foster home
meets all applicable requirements in Chapter 749. The rule fur-
ther clarifies that placement of an additional kinship foster child
in a kinship foster home with a provisional kinship foster home
verification does not change the expiration date of the provisional
verification.

Proposed new §749.4433 prohibits a CPA from using a kinship
foster home with a provisional kinship foster home verification
for respite care.

Proposed new Division 3, Non-Expiring Kinship Foster Home
Verification, in proposed new Subchapter W, contains rules re-
lating to requirements for issuing a non-expiring foster home ver-
ification to a kinship foster home.

Proposed new §749.4451 clarifies that a CPA may issue a kin-
ship foster home a non-expiring foster home verification without
having first issued a provisional kinship foster home verification.

Proposed new §749.4453 outlines the steps a CPA must take
before issuing a non-expiring foster home verification to a kin-
ship foster home with a provisional foster home verification. The
rule requires a CPA to (1) ensure each caregiver is in compli-
ance with all orientation, pre-service experience, and pre-service
training requirements in Subchapter F; (2) meet all foster home
verification requirements in §749.2470; and (3) notify CCR of the
change in verification, as required in §749.2489.

Proposed new §749.4455 incorporates the content of proposed
repealed §749.2472, relating to the requirement for a CPA to
obtain a copy of the kinship home assessment completed by
DFPS or SSCC, with updates to wording to clarify the rule applies
if the CPA did not first issue a provisional kinship foster home
verification.

FISCAL NOTE

Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each
year of the first five years that the rules will be in effect, enforc-
ing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable implica-
tions relating to costs or revenues of state or local governments.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the
rules will be in effect:

(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government
program;

(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of HHSC employee positions;

(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations;

(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to HHSC;
(5) the proposed rules will create new rules;
(6) the proposed rules will repeal and expand existing rules;

(7) the proposed rules will increase the number of individuals
subject to the rules; and

(8) the proposed rules will not affect the state's economy.

SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS

Trey Wood has also determined that there will be no adverse
economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities because the rules do not impose any additional
costs on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural commu-
nities that are required to comply with the rules.

LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT
The proposed rules will not affect a local economy.
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these
rules because the rules (1) are necessary to protect the health,
safety, and welfare of the residents of Texas; (2) do notimpose a
cost on regulated persons; and (3) are necessary to implement
legislation that does not specifically state that §2001.0045 ap-
plies to the rules.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Rachel Ashworth-Mazerolle, Associate Commissioner for Child
Care Regulation, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rules are in effect the public benefit will be (1)
greater flexibility for a CPA to verify a kinship foster home so
that the CPA can provide the kinship foster home and children
with additional support as the home works towards becoming
fully verified; and (2) rules that comply with state law.

Trey Wood has also determined that for the first five years the
rules are in effect, there are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the proposed rules be-
cause there is no cost to comply with the proposed rules.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT
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Questions about the content of this proposal may be directed to
Aimee Belden by email at Aimee.Belden@hhs.texas.gov.

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Aimee
Belden, Rules Writer, Child Care Regulation, Texas Health and
Human Services Commission, E-550, P.O. Box 149030, Austin,
Texas 78714-9030; or by email to CCRRules@hhs.texas.gov.

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of
the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on the
last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed before
midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last day
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 22R116" in the subject
line.

SUBCHAPTER M. FOSTER HOMES:
SCREENINGS AND VERIFICATIONS
DIVISION 3. VERIFICATION OF FOSTER
HOME

26 TAC §749.2472

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is authorized by Texas Government Code §531.0055,
which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, and Texas Government
Code §531.02011, which transferred the regulatory functions
of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services to
HHSC. In addition, Texas Human Resources Code §42.042(a)
requires HHSC to adopt rules to carry out the requirements of
Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42.

The repeal affects Texas Government Code §531.0055 and
Texas Human Resources Code §42.042.

§$749.2472.  Are there any additional requirements to verify a foster
home that is currently acting as a kinship home with the Child Protec-
tive Services (CPS) Division of the Department?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303087

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3269

¢ L4 ¢
DIVISION 4. TEMPORARY, TIME-LIMITED,
AND PROVISIONAL VERIFICATIONS

26 TAC §749.2533
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.02011, which transferred the regulatory
functions of the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services to HHSC. In addition, Texas Human Resources Code
§42.042(a) requires HHSC to adopt rules to carry out the
requirements of Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42.

The amendment affects Texas Government Code §531.0055
and Texas Human Resources Code §42.042.

§749.2533.
verification?

When may 1 issue [What is the purpose of] a provisional

You may issue a provisional verification to:

(1) Allow [The purpese of a provisional verification is to
permit] continued care of foster children in a foster home that is trans-
ferring from one child-placing agency to another, whether in the current
residence or a new residence; or[-]

(2) Allow a kinship provider to care for a kinship foster
child in a kinship foster home when the kinship provider meets basic
health and safety needs identified in Subchapter W, Division 2 of this
chapter (relating to Provisional Kinship Foster Home Verification).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303088

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3269

L4 L4 L4
SUBCHAPTER W. KINSHIP FOSTER HOMES
DIVISION 1. DEFINITIONS
26 TAC §749.4401
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rule is authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.02011, which transferred the regulatory
functions of the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services to HHSC. In addition, Texas Human Resources Code
§42.042(a) requires HHSC to adopt rules to carry out the
requirements of Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42.

The new rule affects Texas Government Code §531.0055 and
Texas Human Resources Code §42.042.

$749.4401.
These terms have the following meanings in this subchapter:

What do certain words mean in this subchapter?

(1) Affinity--Related by marriage, as set forth in Texas
Government Code §573.024 (relating to Determination of Affinity).

(2) Consanguinity--Two individuals are related to each
other by consanguinity if one is a descendant of the other, or they share
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a common ancestor. An adopted child is related by consanguinity for

You must comply with the rules in this division before issuing a provi-

this purpose. Consanguinity is defined in Texas Government Code

sional kinship foster home verification and while a provisional kinship

§573.022 (relating to Determination of Consanguinity).
(3) Kinship foster child--A child in the care of a kinship

foster home verification is in effect.

$749.4413. In addition to rules in this division, what other rules in

foster home who:

(A) Is related to the kinship foster parents by consan-
guinity or affinity; or

(B) Has alongstanding and significant relationship with
the kinship foster parent before living in the kinship foster home.

(4) Kinship foster home--A foster family home that has a
kinship foster parent or parents.

(5) Kinship foster parent--A foster parent who:

(A) Isrelated to a foster child by consanguinity or affin-

ity;
(B) Has alongstanding and significant relationship with
the foster child before the child is placed in the kinship foster home; or

(C) Isthe spouse of a foster parent who has a longstand-
ing and significant relationship with the foster child before the child is
placed in the kinship foster home.

(6) Provisional kinship foster home verification--A tempo-
rary foster home verification for a kinship foster home. A kinship foster
home must meet certain requirements for a non-expiring foster home
verification, as provided in this subchapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303089

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3269

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. PROVISIONAL KINSHIP
FOSTER HOME VERIFICATION

26 TAC §§749.4411, 749.4413, 749.4415, 749.4417,
749.4419, 749.4421, 749.4423, 749.4425, 749.4427, 749.4429,
749.4431, 749.4433

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.02011, which transferred the regulatory
functions of the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services to HHSC. In addition, Texas Human Resources Code
§42.042(a) requires HHSC to adopt rules to carry out the
requirements of Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42.

The new rules affect Texas Government Code §531.0055 and
Texas Human Resources Code §42.042.

$749.4411.  When must I comply with the rules in this division?

this chapter must I comply with while a provisional kinship foster home
verification is in effect?

You must comply with all other rules in this chapter while a provisional
kinship foster home verification is in effect, unless:

(1) You waive a requirement, as provided by in this divi-

sion; or

(2) Arulein this division replaces another rule in this chap-
ter.
$749.4415.  Which orientation requirements may I waive for a kinship

foster parent while a provisional kinship foster home verification is in
effect?

You may waive the orientation requirement in §749.831(a)(3) of this
chapter (relating to What is the orientation requirement for caregivers

and employees?).

§749.4417.  When is a prospective kinship foster parent exempt from
pre-service experience requirements?

(a) A prospective kinship foster parent caring for a child who
will receive treatment services is not required to meet the pre-service
requirements in §749.861(b) of this chapter (relating to What are the
pre-service experience requirements for caregivers?) if the kinship fos-
ter child was living in the home on the date the prospective kinship fos-
ter home applied to your agency.

(b) If the prospective kinship foster parent does not meet the
exemption criteria in subsection (a) of this section, you may limit the
regimen of specific child-care experience you prescribe in accordance
with §749.861(b) to observations and interactions with the kinship
foster child in the prospective kinship foster parent's residence or the
child's current placement.

§749.4419.  When must a caregiver in a provisional kinship foster
home complete pre-service training?

If you issue a provisional kinship foster home verification, a caregiver
must complete pre-service training required by §749.863 of this chapter
(relating to What are the pre-service training requirements for a care-
giver?) as provided in this chart:

Figure: 26 TAC §749.4419

§749.4421. What are the foster home screening requirements for a
provisional kinship foster home verification?

(a) If a kinship foster child was not living in the prospective
kinship foster home on the date the prospective kinship foster parent
applied with your agency, you must meet the home screening require-
ments in Subchapter M, Division 2 of this chapter (relating to Foster

Home Screenings).

(b) If a kinship foster child was living in the prospective kin-
ship foster home at the time the home applied with your agency, you
must:

(1) Request a copy of the kinship home assessment from
the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) or
Single Source Continuum Contractor (SSCC) within 30 days after the
date the home applied with your agency; and

(2) Meet the requirements in the following chart:
Figure: 26 TAC §749.4421(b)(2)

(¢) Your child placement management staff must review and
approve the home screening or home screening addendum completed
in accordance with this section.
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§749.4423.  What information must I obtain from a Texas Department
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) kinship development worker

(5) Your child placement management staff reviews and
approves the provisional kinship verification by signing and dating it;

or Single Source Continuum Contractor (SSCC) equivalent and docu-
ment in a foster home screening for a provisional kinship foster home
verification?

(a) Ifa DFPS kinship development worker or SSCC equivalent
has been assigned to the home, you must contact the worker to obtain
and document the following information as part of the home screening
or addendum to the kinship home assessment required by §749.4421 of
this division (relating to What are the foster home screening require-
ments for a provisional kinship foster home verification?):

(1) Any identified concerns impacting the health or safety
of children and steps taken to mitigate the concerns;

(2) Kinship home assessment evaluations completed for
caregivers in the home, if applicable; and

(3) Kinship developmental plans (KDP) put in place, the
reason for the plan, and the outcome of the plan, if applicable.

(b) If the DFPS kinship development worker or SSCC equiv-
alent indicates the kinship foster home is subject to a KDP, you must
create a plan outlining steps you will take to address and mitigate any
concerns identified in the KDP. You must document the plan in the
home screening or addendum to the kinship home assessment.

(c) If your attempts to contact the DFPS kinship development
worker or SSCC equivalent are unsuccessful, you must document your
diligent efforts to make contact as part of home screening or addendum
to the kinship home assessment, including the dates and methods by
which you attempted contact.

(d) If'there is no kinship development worker or SSCC equiv-
alent assigned to the home, you must document this information in the
foster home screening or foster home addendum.

§749.4425.  What requirements must I meet before I issue a provi-
sional kinship foster home verification?

(a) You may only issue a provisional kinship foster home ver-
ification to a kinship foster home that provides, or will provide, care to
kinship foster children in the conservatorship of the Texas Department
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS).

(b) You may only issue a provisional kinship foster home ver-
ification after:

(1) You complete the requirements in §749.2470(a)(3) - (6)
of this chapter (relating to What must I do to verify a foster family

home?);

(2) You complete the requirements for §749.4421 of this
division (relating to What are the foster home screening requirements
for a provisional kinship foster home verification?);

(3) You comply with requirements in §749.4423 of this di-
vision (relating to What information must I obtain from a Texas Depart-
ment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) kinship development
worker or Single Source Continuum Contractor (SSCC) equivalent be-
fore I issue a provisional kinship foster home verification?);

(4) You document and address with the kinship foster fam-
ily any indicators of potential risk to children based on:

(A) The background information you receive from the
DFPS kinship development worker or SSCC equivalent as required by
§749.4421 of'this division and §749.4423 of'this division, if applicable;
and

(B) Any current screening and evaluation of informa-
tion you have conducted;

and

(6) Youissue a provisional kinship foster home verification
certificate that includes:

(A) The total capacity of the kinship foster home, in-
cluding the biological and adopted children of the caregivers who live
in the kinship foster home, and any children for whom the family pro-
vides day care;

(B) The kinship foster home's foster care capacity, a
subset of the total capacity, which includes only kinship foster chil-
dren placed for foster care;

(C) The names and ages of kinship foster children for
which the kinship foster home is verified to provide foster care;

(D) Types of services the kinship foster home will pro-

vide;

(E) Theagency's main office or branch office that issued
the verification; and

(F) The expiration date of the provisional kinship foster
home verification.

(c) You can issue a provisional kinship foster home verifica-
tion before the kinship foster parents complete pre-service training in
accordance with §749.4419 of this division (relating to When must a
caregiver in a provisional kinship foster home complete pre-service

training?).

$749.4427.  For what length of time may I issue a provisional kinship
foster home verification?

(a) You may issue a provisional kinship foster home verifica-
tion for six months from the date it is issued.

(b) You may not renew a provisional kinship foster home ver-
ification.

(c) A provisional kinship foster home verification is no longer
valid when you issue a non-expiring foster home verification or close
the home.

§749.4429.  What must I do if a kinship foster home does not meet
the requirements for a non-expiring verification before the provisional
kinship foster home verification expires?

If a kinship foster home does not meet the requirements for a non-expir-
ing foster home verification before the provisional kinship verification

ends, you must:
(1) Notify the parent as soon as you become aware that the

kinship foster home is not eligible for a non-expiring foster home veri-
fication and document the notification in the kinship foster home's file;

(2) Close the kinship foster home by the date the provi-
sional kinship verification ends; and

(3) Complete a home closure summary that meets the re-
quirements in §749.2497 of this chapter (relating to What requirements
are there for a transfer or closing summary?).

§749.4431.  What children may I place in a kinship foster home that
has a provisional kinship foster home verification?

(a)  You may only place kinship children in a kinship foster
home that has a provisional kinship foster home verification.

(b) Ifyou place additional kinship children in a home after you
issue a provisional kinship foster home verification, you must:
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(1) Do the following by the date you place the additional
kinship foster children in the home:

(A) Determine the home is capable of providing care

The new rules affect Texas Government Code §531.0055 and
Texas Human Resources Code §42.042.

§749.4451.  Must I issue a provisional kinship foster home verifica-

for the additional kinship foster child in accordance with the rules in

tion before issuing a non-expiring foster home verification?

this chapter and document your determination in the home's record;

You are not required to issue a provisional kinship foster home veri-

(B) Update the kinship foster home's provisional ver-
ification certificate to be in compliance with §749.4425(b)(6) of this
division (relating to What requirements must I meet before I issue a

fication if the home meets the requirements for a non-expiring foster
home verification.

$749.4453.  What must I do to issue a non-expiring foster home ver-

provisional kinship foster home verification?); and

(C) Notify Child Care Regulation of the change in ver-
ification, as required in §749.2489 of this chapter (relating to What in-
formation must I submit to Licensing about a foster home's verification

status?); and

(2) Do the following within 30 days after the date you place
the additional kinship foster child in the home:

(A) Review and update with an addendum, if necessary,

ification to a kinship foster home with a provisional foster home veri-
fication?

Before you may issue a non-expiring foster home verification to a kin-
ship foster home with a provisional kinship foster home verification,
you must:

(1) Ensure each caregiver is in compliance with all orien-
tation, pre-service experience, and pre-service training requirements in
Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Training and Professional De-
velopment);

the foster home screening or the addendum to the kinship home as-
sessment you completed in accordance with §749.4421 of this division
(relating to What are the foster home screening requirements for a pro-
visional kinship foster home verification?); and

(B) Ensure the kinship foster home meets all applicable
requirements in this chapter.

(c) The placement of additional kinship foster children in the

(2) Meet all foster home verification requirements in
§749.2470 of this chapter (relating to What must I do to verify a foster
family home?); and

(3) Notify Child Care Regulation of the change in verifica-
tion, as required in §749.2489 of this chapter (relating to What infor-
mation must I submit to Licensing about a foster home's verification
status?).

home does not change the expiration date of the provisional verifica-
tion.

§749.4433.  May I use a home with a provisional kinship foster home

$749.4455. If I did not issue a provisional kinship foster home ver-
ification, what additional requirements must I meet before issuing a
non-expiring verification to a kinship foster home?

verification for respite care?

You may not use a home with a provisional kinship foster home veri-
fication for respite care.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303090

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3269

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. NON-EXPIRING KINSHIP
FOSTER HOME VERIFICATION

26 TAC §§749.4451, 749.4453, 749.4455
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are authorized by Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Government Code §531.02011, which transferred the regulatory
functions of the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services to HHSC. In addition, Texas Human Resources Code
§42.042(a) requires HHSC to adopt rules to carry out the
requirements of Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42.

Before you may issue a non-expiring foster home verification to a kin-
ship foster home for which you did not issue a provisional kinship fos-
ter home verification, you must obtain and review the kinship home
assessment that the Texas Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices or the Single Source Continuum Contractor completed.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2023.

TRD-202303091

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3269

¢ 14 ¢

TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
PUBLIC SAFETY

CHAPTER 23. VEHICLE INSPECTION
SUBCHAPTER C. VEHICLE INSPECTION
STATION OPERATION

37 TAC §23.25

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses an amendment to §23.25, concerning Vehicle Inspection
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Fees. The proposed amendment implements Senate Bill 2102,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023), by adopting the initial three-year fee for
inspection of rental passenger cars or light trucks meeting the
requirements of §548.1025, Transportation Code.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first five-
year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated as a
result of this rule will be the publication of the initial three-year fee
for inspection of certain rental vehicles meeting the requirements
of Texas Transportation Code, §548.1025.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; Texas Transportation Code, §548.002, which au-
thorizes the department to adopt rules to enforce Chapter 548;
and Texas Transportation Code, §548.5035, which requires the

department to establish the fee by rule as proposed, S.B. 2102,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023).

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3); Texas Transportation
Code, §548.002 and §548.5035, are affected by this proposal.

$§23.25.  Vehicle Inspection Fees.

(a) The vehicle inspection fee is a charge for performing the
vehicle inspection only[;] and may not exceed the amount set by Texas
Transportation Code, Chapter 548 or this chapter.

(b) The vehicle inspection station may collect the station por-
tion of the inspection fee at the time of the original inspection whether
the vehicle is passed or rejected.

(c) Charges for additional services related to the repair, re-
placement, or adjustment of the required items of inspection must be
expressly authorized, or approved by the customer, and must be sepa-
rately listed on the bill from the statutorily mandated inspection fee.

(d) A vehicle inspection station or vehicle inspector may not
advertise, charge, or attempt to charge a fee in a manner that could rea-
sonably be expected to cause confusion or misunderstanding on the part
of an owner or operator presenting a vehicle regarding the relationship
between the statutorily mandated inspection fee and a fee for any other
service or product offered by the vehicle inspection station.

(e) The initial three-year fee for inspection of certain rental
vehicles meeting the requirements of Texas Transportation Code,
§548.1025 shall be $22.08.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303144

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 35. PRIVATE SECURITY
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
37 TAC §§35.5, 35.9, 35.13

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses amendments to §§35.5, 35.9, and 35.13, concerning Gen-
eral Provisions. The changes to §35.5, concerning Standards of
Conduct, clarify that the company license holder may not use the
department's name in advertisements and specify its responsi-
bilities relating to the conduct of its employees. The changes
to §35.9, concerning Advertisements, exempt publishing the li-
censee's address in its advertisements when that address is a
residence and clarify that business cards constitute advertise-
ments. The changes to §35.13, concerning Drug-Free Work-
place Policy, clarify that a sole proprietor must have a drug-free
workplace policy.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that
for each year of the first five-year period these rules are in effect
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government
or local economies.

PROPOSED RULES
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Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with these sections as
proposed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals
who are required to comply with these rules as proposed. There
is no anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first five-
year period these rules are in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of these rules will be greater clarity and consistency
in the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does expand, limit, or repeal an existing
regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a), are affected by this proposal.

$§35.5. Standards of Conduct.

(a) The State Seal of Texas, a department seal or insignia, or
the department's name or the name of a division within the department,
may not be displayed as part of a uniform or identification card, as [er]
markings on a motor vehicle, or in an advertisement or on a website,
other than on such items prepared or issued by the department. The

department's name may be used for the limited purpose of indicating
the person or company is regulated by the department.

(b) All licensees, [and] company representatives, and em-
ployees shall cooperate fully with any investigation conducted by the
department, including but not limited to the provision of employee
records upon request by the department and compliance with any
subpoena issued by the department. Commissioned security officers
and personal protection officers shall cooperate fully with any request
of the Medical Advisory Board made pursuant to Health and Safety
Code, §12.095 relating to its determination of the officer's ability to
exercise sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of
a handgun. Violation of this subsection may result in the suspension
of the license or commission for the duration of the noncompliance.

(¢) Anindividual licensee issued a pocket card shall carry the
pocket card on or about their person while on duty and shall present
same to a peace officer or to a representative of the department upon
request.

(d) A company license holder may not require a customer pro-
vide any documentation certifying that the customer has received a
COVID-19 vaccination, or is in post-transmission recovery, to gain en-
try to the licensee's premises or to receive regulated services from the
license holder.

(e) Company license holders are responsible for ensuring that
employees or independent contractors who interact with customers or
the general public provide personal identification, a company busi-
ness card or other identification reflecting the company license holder's
name, address, phone number, and license number, and DPS contact in-
formation.

(f) Company license holders are responsible for the conduct
of their employees, regardless of whether the employee is licensed or
unlicensed, is an independent contractor, or is performing a service for
which no license is required. In particular, company license holders
will be held responsible for fraud, misrepresentations or deceptive trade
practices of their employees relating to sales or other customer interac-
tions conducted on behalf of the company license holder.

$35.9.  Advertisements.
(a) A licensee's advertisements must include:

(1) The company name and address as it appears in the
records of the department unless the address is the license holder's res-
idential address; and

(2) The company's license number.

(b) No licensee shall use the Texas state seal, [ex] the name or
insignia of the department, or the name or insignia of a division within
the department to advertise or publicize a commercial undertaking, or
otherwise violate Texas Business & Commerce Code, §17.08 or Texas
Government Code, §411.017. The department's name may be used for
the limited purpose of indicating the person or company is regulated
by the department.

(c) The use of the department's name is prohibited when it may
give a reasonable person the impression that the department issued the
statement or that the individual is acting on behalf of the department.

(d) For purposes of this section, an advertisement includes any
media created or used for the purpose of promoting the regulated busi-
ness of the licensee, including business cards.

$35.13.  Drug-Free Workplace Policy.

(a) In the interest of creating a safe and drug-free work envi-
ronment for clients and employees, all licensed businesses [eempanies]
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shall establish and implement a drug-free workplace policy consistent
with the Texas Workforce Commission's "Drug-Free Workplace Pol-
icy."

(b) A copy of the business' [eempany's] drug-free workplace
policy shall be signed by each employee and kept in each employee's
file.

(c) For purposes of subsection (b) of this section, a sole pro-
prietor who performs regulated services on behalf of the business is
considered an employee of the business.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303145

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS
37 TAC §35.52

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses an amendment to §35.52, concerning Administrative
Penalties. The proposed amendment updates the administra-
tive penalty schedule in §35.52(a) by adding penalties for a
violation of proposed changes to §35.5, titled Standards of Con-
duct, concerning the company license holder's responsibilities
relating to the conduct of its employees.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity and consistency in
the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,

the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a), are affected by this proposal.

§35.52.  Administrative Penalties.

(a) The administrative penalties in this section are guidelines
to be used in enforcement proceedings under the Act. The fines are to
be construed as maximum penalties only, and are subject to application
of the factors provided in Texas Government Code, §411.524.

Figure: 37 TAC §35.52(a)

[Eigure: 37 TAC §35.52(a)]

(b) The failure to pay an administrative penalty that has be-
come final, whether by the passage of the deadline to appeal or by final
court disposition, whichever is later, will result in suspension of the
license with no further notice or right to appeal. The suspension will
take effect upon the passage of the deadline to appeal and will remain
in effect until the penalty is paid in full.

(c) A license holder whose license is revoked for an adminis-
trative violation may reapply as a new applicant after the second an-
niversary of the date of the revocation. An application submitted prior
to the second anniversary of the date of the revocation will be denied.

(d) A violation of this Chapter or the Act by a company repre-
sentative as defined in §35.1 of this title (relating to Definitions) acting
on behalf of a licensed company will be construed as a violation by the
company.

(e) The violation of operating with an expired license applies
to operation within the one year grace period to renew. The violation
of operating without a license will apply to those operating after the
one year grace period
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303146

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER F. COMMISSIONED
SECURITY OFFICERS

37 TAC §35.81

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses an amendment to §35.81, concerning Application for a
Security Officer Commission. The proposed amendment imple-
ments House Bill 3424, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), which requires
applicants for a commissioned security officer license to undergo
a psychological test to be eligible for the license.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity and consistency in
the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The

proposed rulemaking does expand, limit, or repeal an existing
regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.163, which
authorizes the commission to adopt a rule requiring an appli-
cant for a security officer commission to complete a psychologi-
cal test, H.B. 3424, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023).

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a) and §1702.163, are affected by this pro-
posal.

§35.81.  Application for a Security Officer Commission.

(a) A complete security officer commission application must
be submitted on the most current version of the form provided by the
department. The application must include:

(1) The required application fee;

(2) Fingerprints in form and manner approved by the de-
partment;

(3) The required criminal history check fee;

(4) A copy of the applicant's Level II certificate of comple-
tion;

(5) A copy of the applicant's Level III certificate of com-
pletion;

(6) Non Texas residents must provide a copy of an identi-
fication card issued by the state of the applicant's residence, or other
government issued identification card; [and]

(7) Non United States citizens must submit a copy of their
current alien registration card. Non-resident aliens must also submit
documents establishing the right to possess firearms under federal law;
and[:]

(8) Proof of completion of the Minnesota Multiphasic Per-
sonality Inventory on the department-prescribed form. The form must
be signed by the administering psychologist or psychiatrist and must
reflect the psychologist's or psychiatrist's interpretation of the results
and the determination that the applicant is not disqualified from the li-
cense by reason of a mental health condition.

(b) Incomplete applications will not be processed and will be
returned for clarification or missing information.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303147

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. PERSONAL PROTECTION
OFFICERS
37 TAC §35.91

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses an amendment to §35.91, concerning Requirements for
Personal Protection License. The proposed amendment en-
sures consistency with the change proposed to §35.81, concern-
ing Application for a Security Officer Commission, which imple-
ments House Bill 3424, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023).

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity and consistency in
the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed

rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a), are affected by this proposal.

§35.91.
(a) An applicant for a personal protection license shall:

Requirements for Personal Protection License.

(1) Submit a written application for a personal protection
license on a form prescribed by the department;

(2) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;

(3) Either possess a valid security officer commission is-
sued prior to applying for a personal protection license, or submit an
application for security officer commission in conjunction with the ap-
plication for a personal protection license;

(4) Submit proof that the applicant has successfully com-
pleted the personal protection officer course taught by an approved per-
sonal protection officer instructor; and

(5) Submit proof of completion of the Minnesota Multipha-
sic Personality Inventory [test or equivalent (proef of completion of
the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory test shall be] on the
department-prescribed [preseribed] form [Deelaration of Psyechologi-
cal and Emotional Health and shall be signed by a licensed psycholo-
gist)]. The form must be signed by the administering psychologist or
psychiatrist and must reflect the psychologist's or psychiatrist's inter-
pretation of the results and the determination that the applicant is not
disqualified from the license by reason of a mental health condition.

(b) A personal protection officer may transfer their license to
another employer if the personal protection officer:

(1) Has transferred their security officer commission to the
new employer; and

(2) Submits the appropriate form and transfer fee to the de-
partment within fourteen (14) days of the transfer of employment to the
new employer.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303148

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848
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¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER J. SPECIAL COMPANY
LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS
37 TAC §35.124

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses new §35.124, concerning Alarm Company and Alarm
Training School Licenses. The new rule specifies the expe-
rience required for alarm company and alarm training school
license applicants.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity and consistency in
the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule’s applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state’s econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment’s work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a), are affected by this proposal.

§35.124.  Alarm Company and Alarm Training School Licenses.
Pursuant to the Act, the department has determined an applicant for li-
censure as an alarm company, alarm training school, or the prospective
company representative of the applicant company must have two (2)
consecutive years of alarm related experience, including installation,
monitoring, sales, or related supervision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303149

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER L. TRAINING
37 TAC §35.143

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses amendments to §35.143, concerning Training Instructor
Approval. The proposed amendments provide an additional
method to qualify as a firearm training instructor and removes
the minimum number of training hours required, which is out-
dated and inconsistent with the certifications otherwise required.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity and consistency in
the regulation of the private security industry.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
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proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(a), which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to guide
the department in its administration of Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1702.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1702.061(a), are affected by this proposal.

§35.143.  Training Instructor Approval.

(a) An application for approval as a training instructor shall
contain evidence of qualification as required by the department. In-
structors may be approved for classroom or firearm training, or both.
An individual may apply for approval for one or both of these cate-
gories. To qualify for classroom or firearm instructor approval, the
applicant must submit acceptable certificates of training for each cate-
gory. [The elassroom instructor and firearm eertificates shall represent
a combined minimum of forty (40) hours of department approved in-
struetion:]

(b) The items detailed in this subsection may constitute proof
of qualification as a classroom instructor for security officers:

(1) An instructor's certificate issued by Texas Commission
on Law Enforcement (TCOLE);

(2) An instructor's certificate issued by federal, state, or
political subdivision law enforcement agency approved by the depart-
ment;

(3) Aninstructor's certificate issued by the Texas Education
Agency (TEA);

(4) An instructor's certificate relating to law enforcement,
private security, or industrial security issued by a junior college, col-
lege, or university; or

(5) A license to carry handgun instructor certificate issued
by the department.

(c) The items listed in this subsection may constitute proof of
qualification as a firearm training instructor, if reflecting training com-
pleted within two (2) years of the date of the application:

(1) A handgun instructor's certificate issued by the National
Rifle Association;

(2) A firearm instructor's certificate issued by TCOLE; [ex]

(3) A firearm instructor's certificate issued by a federal,
state, or political subdivision law enforcement agency approved by
the department; orf[:]

(4) Documentation establishing that the applicant regularly
instructs others in the use of handguns and has graduated from a hand-
gun instructor school that uses a nationally accepted course designed
to train persons as handgun instructors.

(d) Proof of qualification as an alarm systems training instruc-
tor shall include proof of completion of an approved training course on
alarm installation.

(e) Proof of qualification as a personal protection officer in-
structor shall include, but not be limited to:

(1) A firearm instructor's certificate issued by TCOLE
along with proof that the individual has instructed nonlethal self-de-
fense or nonlethal defense of a third party for three (3) or more years.
Evidence of instruction experience must include a one page detailed
description of the training provided and the schedule or specific date
of classes taught.

(2) Aninstructor's certificate issued by federal, state, or po-
litical subdivision law enforcement academy along with proof that the
individual has instructed nonlethal self-defense or nonlethal defense of
a third party for three (3) or more years. Evidence of instruction ex-
perience must include a one page detailed description of the training
provided and the schedule or specific dates of classes taught.

(3) An instructor's certificate issued by TEA along with
proof that the individual has instructed nonlethal self-defense or non-
lethal defense of a third party for three (3) or more years. Evidence
of instruction experience must include a one page detailed description
of the training provided and the schedule or specific dates of classes
taught.

(4) An instructor's certificate relating to law enforcement,
private security or industrial security issued by a junior college, col-
lege or university along with proof that the individual has instructed
nonlethal self-defense or nonlethal defense of a third party for three (3)
or more years. Evidence of instruction experience must include a one
page detailed description of the training provided and the schedule or
specific dates of classes taught.

(5) Evidence of successful completion of a department ap-
proved training course for personal protection officer instructors.

(f) Notice shall be given in writing to the department within
fourteen (14) days after a change in address of the approved instructor.

(g) In addition to summary actions under the Act, based on
criminal history disqualifiers, the department may revoke or suspend
an instructor's approval or deny the application or renewal thereof upon
evidence that:

(1) The instructor or applicant has violated any provisions
of the Act or this chapter;
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(2) The qualifying instructor's certificate has been revoked
or suspended by the issuing agency;

(3) A material false statement was made in the application;
or

(4) The instructor does not meet the qualifications set forth
in the provisions of the Act and this chapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303150

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 36. METALS RECYCLING
ENTITIES

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
37 TAC §36.1

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses an amendment to §36.1, concerning Definitions. The pro-
posed amendment removes the definition of "fixed location" re-
lating to the regulation of metal recycling entities because the
definition conflicts with the statutory definition adopted in Senate
Bill 224, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), amending the Metals Recycling
Entities Act (Occupations Code, Chapter 1956).

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity in regulation of the
metal recycling industry and compliance with legislation.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,

the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does expand, limit, or repeal an existing
regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to ad-
minister Chapter 1956.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), and Texas Occupations
Code, §1956.013, are affected by this proposal.

§36.1.

The terms in this section have the following meanings when used in
this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Act--Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1956.

Definitions.

(2) Advisory letter--An informational notification of an al-
leged minor violation of statute or administrative rule for which no
disciplinary action is proposed.

(3) Applicant--A person who has applied for registration
under the Act.

(4) Business owner--A sole proprietor, partner, member, or
other individual with a financial interest in the entity.

(5) Commission--The Public Safety Commission.

(6) Controlling interest--More than 50% ownership inter-
est in the entity.

(7) Department--The Texas Department of Public Safety.

8) Fixedlocation—A building or structure for which a eer-

(8) [)] Immediate family member--A parent, child, sib-
ling, or spouse.

(9) [E9)] Military service member, military veteran, and
military spouse--Have the meanings provided in Texas Occupations
Code, §55.001.

(10) [(HH)] On-site representative--An individual responsi-
ble for the day-to-day operation of the location.
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(11) [E2)] Person--A corporation, organization, agency,
business trust, estate, trust, partnership, association, holder of a
certificate of registration, an individual, or any other legal entity.

(12) [(43)] Personal identification document--Has the
meanings provided by Texas Occupations Code, §1956.001(8) of the
Act.

(13) [E4)] Program--Texas Metals Program.

(14) [E5)] Registrant--A person who holds a certificate of
registration under the Act.

(15) [€&46)] Revocation--The withdrawal of authority to act
as a metal recycling entity under the Act.

(16) [(4P)] Statutory agent--The natural person to whom
any legal notice may be delivered for each location.

(17) [E8)] Suspension--A temporary cessation of the au-
thority to act as a metal recycling entity under the Act.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303151

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

3 ¢ 3
37 TAC §36.5

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses the repeal of §36.5, concerning Sellers of Catalytic Con-
verters in the Ordinary Course of Business. The proposed repeal
removes the department's clarification of the statutory exemption
for businesses engaged in the sale of used catalytic converters
in the ordinary course of business because the exempted enti-
ties are now expressly listed in statute pursuant to Senate Bill
224, 88th Leg., R.S. (2023), amending the Metals Recycling En-
tities Act (Occupations Code, Chapter 1956).

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity in regulation of the
metal recycling industry and compliance with legislation.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks

to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does expand, limit, or repeal an existing
regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which
authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to ad-
minister Chapter 1956.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), and Texas Occupations
Code, §1956.013, are affected by this proposal.

§36.5.  Sellers of Catalytic Converters in the Ordinary Course of
Business.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303152

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. CERTIFICATE OF
REGISTRATION
37 TAC §36.11

PROPOSED RULES
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The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses amendments to §36.11, concerning Application for Cer-
tificate of Registration. The proposed amendments are required
to conform with statutory changes enacted in Senate Bill 224,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023), amending the Metals Recycling Entities
Act (Occupations Code, Chapter 1956). S.B. 224 requires an ap-
plicant for a certificate of registration to provide the physical ad-
dress of the fixed location at which it will conduct all or most of its
regulated activity; it requires an applicant to submit a declaration
describing the extent to which the applicant intends to engage in
transactions involving catalytic converters removed from motor
vehicles during the applicant's business activity; and it requires
the updating of the declaration to reflect relevant changes to the
licensee's activities. The proposed amendment also removes an
unnecessary application requirement.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity in regulation of the
metal recycling industry and compliance with legislation.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.

Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission
to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the de-
partment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013,
which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules
to administer Chapter 1956 and §1956.022, which authorizes
the commission to adopt rules to establish qualifications for a
metals recycling entity certificate of registration.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), and Texas Occupations
Code, §1956.013 and §1956.022, are affected by this proposal.

§36.11.

(a) A certificate of registration may only be obtained through
the department's online application process.

Application for Certificate of Registration.

(b) The application for certificate of registration must include,
but is not limited to:

(1) Criminal history disclosure of all convictions for the
owner with a controlling interest in the business, or if no owner has
a controlling interest in the business, for the entity's on-site represen-
tative;

(2) Proofofownership and current status as required by the
department, including but not limited to, a current Certificate of Exis-
tence or Certificate of Authority from the Texas Office of the Secretary
of State and a Certificate of Good Standing from the Texas Comptroller
of Public Accounts;

(3) All fees required pursuant to §36.17 of this title (relat-
ing to Fees);

{(4) A copy of any license or permit required by a county,
municipality, or political subdivision of this state in order to act as a
metal reeyeling entity in that county or munieipality; issued to the ap-

(4) [€65)] Proof of training pursuant to §36.34 of this title
(relating to Texas Metals Program Recycler Training); [and]

(5) [€6)] A statutory agent disclosure pursuant to §36.12 of
this title (relating to Statutory Agent Disclosure);[<]

(6) The physical address of the fixed location at which the
applicant will conduct regulated metal recycling activities; and

(7) If the applicant's business activity involves catalytic
converters removed from motor vehicles, a declaration on the ap-
proved department form stating:

(A) whether the applicant will engage in a business ac-
tivity that involves the conversion of catalytic converters removed from
motor vehicles into raw material products by a method that in part re-
quires the use of powered tools and equipment or the use of such raw
material products in the manufacture of producer or consumer goods;

(B) whether the applicant will purchase or otherwise ac-
quire catalytic converters removed from motor vehicles for the eventual
use of the metal for purposes of the aforementioned business activities
but will not actually engage in those activities; or

(C) that the applicant will deal only incidentally with
catalytic converters removed from motor vehicles.

(c) Applicants proposing to conduct business at more than one
(1) location must complete an application for each location and obtain
a certificate of registration for each location. An applicant proposing
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to conduct business at more than one (1) location is only required to
comply with the requirement of subsection (b)(4) [subseetion (b)(5)]
of this section for the initial location at which the applicant is seeking
to conduct business.

(d) A new certificate of registration for a metals recycling en-
tity may not be issued if the applicant's immediate family member's
registration as a metals recycling entity, at that same location, is cur-
rently suspended or revoked, or is subject to a pending administrative
action, unless the applicant submits an affidavit stating the family mem-
ber who is the subject of the suspension, revocation or pending action,
has no, nor will have any, direct involvement or influence in the busi-
ness of the metals recycling entity.

(e) A new certificate of registration may be issued at the same
location where a previous owner's registration as a metals recycling
entity is currently suspended, is subject to a pending administrative ac-
tion, or was previously revoked, if the applicant submits an affidavit
stating the previous owner who is the subject of the suspension, re-
vocation, or other pending administrative action, will have no direct
involvement or influence in the business of the metals recycling entity.
The affidavit must contain the statement that the affiant understands
and agrees that in the event the department discovers the previous reg-
istration holder is involved in the business of metals recycling entity at
that location, the certificate of registration will be revoked pursuant to
§36.53 of this title (relating to Revocation of a Certificate of Registra-
tion). In addition to the affidavit, when the change of ownership of the
metals recycling entity is by lease of the location, the applicant seeking
a certificate of registration must provide a copy of the lease agreement
included with the application for certificate of registration.

(f) The failure of an applicant to meet any of the conditions
of subsections (a) - (e) of this section will result in rejection of the
application as incomplete.

(g) An applicant for a certificate of registration is not autho-
rized to engage in any activity for which a certificate of registration is
required prior to being issued a certificate of registration by the depart-
ment.

(h) A metal recycling entity whose business activity substan-
tially changes in the extent to which the entity engages in transactions
involving catalytic converters removed from motor vehicles must up-
date the entity's declaration at the time of or prior to the change.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 25,
2023.

TRD-202303153

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. DISCIPLINARY
PROCEDURES AND ADMINISTRATIVE
PROCEDURES

37 TAC §36.60

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses amendments to §36.60, concerning Administrative Penal-
ties. The proposed amendments remove obsolete language and
modify the penalty schedule to reflect violations of the proposed
amendments to rules §36.11 and §36.36, and Senate Bill 224,
88th Leg., R.S. (2023), amending the Metals Recycling Entities
Act (Occupations Code, Chapter 1956).

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for
each year of the first five-year period this rule is in effect there
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government or local
economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses,
or rural communities required to comply with the section as pro-
posed. There is no anticipated economic cost to individuals who
are required to comply with the rule as proposed. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Ms. Whittenton has determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule is in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of this rule will be greater clarity in regulation of the
metal recycling industry and compliance with legislation.

The department has determined this proposal is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" means a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks
to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

The department prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program;
will not require the creation of new employee positions nor elim-
inate current employee positions; will not require an increase or
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; nor
will it require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency.
The proposed rulemaking does not create a new regulation. The
proposed rulemaking does not expand, limit, or repeal an exist-
ing regulation. The proposed rule does not increase or decrease
the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. Dur-
ing the first five years the proposed rule is in effect the proposed
rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's econ-
omy.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Steve
Moninger, Regulatory Services Division, Texas Department of
Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, MSC 0240, Austin, Texas 78773-
0240, or by email to RSD.Rule.Comments@dps.texas.gov.
Email submission only is preferred. Comments must be re-
ceived no later than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of this proposal.

This proposal is made pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work; and Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which
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authorizes the Public Safety Commission to adopt rules to ad-
minister Chapter 1956.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Occupations
Code, §1956.013, are affected by this proposal.

$36.60. Administrative Penallties.
Ha) In additien to or in lieu of discipline impesed pursuant to
§36-52 of this title (relating to Advisery Letters; Reprimands and Sus-

an administrative penalty on a person wheo vielates this Chapter or Sub-
chapter A-2 or Subechapter A-3 of the Aet; or who engages in conduet
that would constitute an offense under §1956.040(c-2) or (c-4) of the
Act]

(a) [(B)] The figure in this section reflects the department's
penalty schedule applicable to administrative penalties imposed under
this section. For any violation not expressly addressed in the penalty
schedule, the department may impose a penalty not to exceed $500 for
the first (1st) violation. For the second (2nd) violation within the pre-
ceding one (1) year period, the penalty may not exceed $1,000.
Figure: 37 TAC §36.60(a)

[Figure: 37 TAC §36.60¢b)]

(b) [€e)] Upon receipt of a notice of administrative penalty un-
der this section, a person may request a hearing before the department
pursuant to §36.56 of this title (relating to Informal Hearing; Settle-
ment Conference).

(c) [€d)] The failure to pay an administrative penalty that has
become final, whether by the passage of the deadline to appeal or by
final court disposition, whichever is later, shall result in suspension of
the license with no further notice or right to appeal. The suspension
takes effect when the appeal deadline has passed and remains in effect
until the penalty is paid in full.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2023.

TRD-202303154

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 6. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
CRIMINAL JUSTICE

CHAPTER 151.
37 TAC §151.54

The Texas Board of Criminal Justice (board) proposes new rule
§151.54, Employee Training and Education - Tuition Reimburse-
ment. The purpose of the new rule is to authorize reimbursement
of training and education expenses consistent with Subchapters
C and D, Chapter 656, Texas Government Code. The proposed
rule has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within
the board's authority to adopt.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Ron Steffa, Chief Financial Officer for the Texas Department of
Criminal Justice, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rule will be in effect, enforcing or ad-

ministering the proposed rule will not have foreseeable implica-
tions related to costs or revenues for state or local government
because the proposed rule will be administered using existing
staffing and processes.

Mr. Steffa has also determined that for each year of the first
five-year period, there will not be an economic impact on per-
sons required to comply with the rules because the proposed
rule does not require compliance by any persons. There will not
be an adverse economic impact on small or micro businesses or
on rural communities. Therefore, no regulatory flexibility analy-
sis is required.

The anticipated public benefit, as a result of enforcing the pro-
posed rule, will be to provide TDCJ employees an opportunity to
qualify for reimbursement of training and education expenses.
No cost will be imposed on regulated persons.

The proposed rule will have no impact on government growth;
no impact on local employment; no creation or elimination of
employee positions; no increase or decrease in future legisla-
tive appropriations to the TDCJ; no increase or decrease in fees
paid to the TDCJ; no new regulation and no effect on an existing
regulation; no increase or decrease in the number of individuals
subject to the rule; and no effect upon the economy. The pro-
posed rule will create a create a tuition reimbursement program
consistent with Subchapters C and D, Chapter 656, Texas Gov-
ernment Code. The proposed rule will not constitute a taking.

Comments should be directed to the Office of the General
Counsel, Texas Department of Criminal Justice, P.O. Box 4004,
Huntsville, Texas 77342, ogccomments@tdcj.texas.gov. Written
comments from the general public must be received within 30
days of the publication of this rule in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Government Code
§492.013, which authorizes the board to adopt rules; and Sub-
chapters C and D, Chapter 656, Texas Government Code, which
authorize the board to adopt rules for the training and education
of TDCJ administrators and employees.

Cross Reference to Statutes: None.

$151.54. Employee Training and Education - Tuition Reimburse-
ment.

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this rule is to authorize reimburse-
ment of training and education expenses consistent with Subchapters
C and D, Chapter 656, Texas Government Code.

(b) The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) shall
adopt policies related to training and education for agency administra-
tors and employees consistent with this rule and Subchapters C and D,
Chapter 656, Texas Government Code.

(c) The policies may establish additional eligibility criteria for
administrator and employee participation in training and education sup-
ported by the TDCJ as well as an explanation of the administrators' and
employees' responsibilities and potential liabilities as participants.

(d) A TDCIJ administrator or employee must be employed on
a full-time basis and approved by their respective division director to
be eligible for training and education supported by the TDCIJ.

(e) A TDCIJ administrator or employee must follow all appli-
cable TDCJ policies adopted pursuant to this rule.

() Only the TDCJ executive director may authorize the tuition
reimbursement payment of a TDCJ administrator or employee for a
training or education program offered by an institution of higher edu-
cation or private or independent institution of higher education as de-

48 TexReg 5012 September 8, 2023 Texas Register


mailto:ogccomments@tdcj.texas.gov

fined by Section 61.003, Education Code. The TDCJ may only reim-
burse the tuition expenses for a program course successfully completed
by the administrator or employee at an institution of higher education
accredited by a recognized accrediting agency as defined by Section
61.003, Education Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303178

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (936) 437-6700

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 152. CORRECTIONAL
INSTITUTIONS DIVISION
SUBCHAPTER A. MISSION AND
ADMISSIONS

37 TAC §152.3

The Texas Board of Criminal Justice (board) proposes amend-
ments to §152.3, concerning Admissions. The amendments are
proposed in conjunction with a proposed rule review of §152.3
as published in another section of the Texas Register. The pro-
posed amendments conform the rule to legislation from the 88th
legislative session, HB 2620, relating to the confinement in a
county jail of a person pending transfer to the Texas Department
of Criminal Justice and to compensation to a county for certain
costs of confinement. The proposed amendments have been
reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within the board's au-
thority to adopt.

Ron Steffa, Chief Financial Officer for the Texas Department of
Criminal Justice, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed amendments will be in effect, enforcing
or administering the proposed amendments will not have fore-
seeable implications related to costs or revenues for state or lo-
cal government because the proposed amendments clarify that
TDCJ shall accept inmates sentenced to prison within 45 days
of the date commitment papers are certified, instead of sent,
throughout the rule and establish procedures for that certifica-
tion.

Mr. Steffa has also determined that for each year of the first
five-year period, there will not be an economic impact on persons
required to comply with the rules because the proposed amend-
ments merely clarify that TDCCJ shall accept inmates sentenced
to prison within 45 days of the date commitment papers are cer-
tified, instead of sent, throughout the rule and establish proce-
dures for that certification. There will not be an adverse eco-
nomic impact on small or micro businesses or on rural commu-
nities. Therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis is required.

The anticipated public benefit, as a result of enforcing the pro-
posed amendments, will be to provide clarity for when TDCJ will
accept inmates sentenced to prison. No cost will be imposed on
regulated persons.

The proposed amendments will have no impact on government
growth; no impact on local employment; no creation or elimi-
nation of a government program; no creation or elimination of
employee positions; no increase or decrease in future legisla-
tive appropriations to the TDCJ; no increase or decrease in fees
paid to the TDCJ; no new regulation and no effect on an existing
regulation; no increase or decrease in the number of individuals
subject to the rule; and no effect upon the economy. The pro-
posed amendments will not constitute a taking.

Comments should be directed to the Office of the General
Counsel, Texas Department of Criminal Justice, P.O. Box 4004,
Huntsville, Texas 77342, ogccomments@tdcj.texas.gov. Written
comments from the general public must be received within 30
days of the publication of this rule in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Government Code
§492.013, which authorizes the board to adopt rules; § 499.071,
which requires the board to adopt a scheduled admissions pol-
icy, and § 507.024, which requires the board to adopt rules to
provide for the safe transfer of defendants from counties to state
jail felony facilities.

Cross Reference to Statutes: None.

$§152.3.  Admissions.

(a) Counties will send commitment papers on inmates
[effenders] sentenced to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
(TDCJ) to the TDCJ Classification and Records Office (CRO) im-
mediately following completion of the commitment papers. Those
counties equipped to do so may send paperwork electronically.

(b) The TDCJ shall accept inmates [effenders] sentenced to
prison within 45 days of the date the commitment papers are certified

by the CRO [sent]. [If sent by mail; the 45 days shall begin on the
postmarked date:|

(c) Not later than the fifth business day after the date the CRO
receives commitment papers from the county, the CRO shall:

(1) review and certify the commitment papers if the CRO
determines there are no errors or deficiencies requiring corrective ac-
tion by the county; or

(2) notify the county that the CRO has determined the com-
mitment papers require corrective action by the county.

(d) [€e)]Inmates [Offenders] shall be scheduled for admission
based on:

(1) their length of confinement in relation to the 45 days
from the date the commitment papers are certified [sent]; and

(2) transportation routes.

(e) [€] Counties will inform the TDCJ State Ready Office
when inmates [effenders] for whom commitment papers have been sent
are transferred to another facility by bench warrants.

(f) [€e)] The TDCIJ shall notify counties via electronic trans-
mission, such as facsimile or email when applicable, of inmates
[effenders] scheduled for intake, the date of intake, the respective
reception unit, and transportation arrangements. Inmates [Offenders]
shall be sorted by name and State Identification (SID) number, as
identified by the court judgment.

(g) [€5] Counties will notify the TDCJ admissions coordinator
of any inmates [effenders] who are not available for transfer and the
reason they are not available for transfer.

(h) [€2)] Counties may identify inmates [effenders] with med-
ical or security issues that may be scheduled for intake out of sequence
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on a case-by-case basis by contacting the TDCJ admissions coordina-
tor.

(1) [()] After the receipt of an order by a judge for admission
of an inmate [effender] to a state jail, the placement determination shall
be made by the TDCJ Admissions Office. Placement shall be made
in the state jail designated as serving the county in which the inmate
[offender] resides unless:

(1) the inmate [offender] has no residence or was a resident
of another state at the time of committing an offense;

(2) alternative placement would protect the life or safety of
any person;

(3) alternative placement would increase the likelihood of
the inmate's [effender's] successful completion of confinement or su-
pervision;

(4) alternative placement is necessary to efficiently use
available state jail capacity, including alternative placement because
of gender; or

(5) alternative placement is necessary to provide medical
or psychiatric care to the inmate [effender].

() [@®)] If the inmate [offender] is described by subsection
()(1) [D)] of this rule, placement shall be made in the state jail
designated as serving the county in which the offense was committed,
unless a circumstance in subsection (i)(2) - (5) [(WE2) - )] of this
rule applies.

(k) [6)] The TDCJ Admissions Office shall attempt to have
placement determinations made at a regional level that may include
one or more regions as designated in 37 Texas Administrative Code
§152.5 (relating to Designation of State Jail Regions).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 28, 2023.

TRD-202303177

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (936) 437-6700

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 13. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
FIRE PROTECTION

CHAPTER 403. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS
AND ELIGIBILITY FOR CERTIFICATION
37 TAC §§403.3, 403.5, 403.15

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (commission) pro-
poses amendments to 37 Texas Administrative Code Chapter
403, Criminal Convictions and Eligibility for Certifications,
§403.3, Scope, §403.5, Access to Criminal History Record In-
formation, and §403.15, Report of Convictions by an Individual
or a Department.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the proposed amendments to the rule is to reflect
grammatical corrections and change "fire department” to a "reg-
ulated entity" which better reflects the Commission’s regulatory
authority.

FISCAL NOTE IMPACT ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERN-
MENT

Michael Wisko, Agency Chief, has determined that for each year
of the first five-year period, the proposed amendments are in
effect, there will be no significant fiscal impact to state govern-
ment or local governments because of enforcing or administering
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government Code
§2001.024(a)(4).

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE

Mr. Wisko has also determined under Texas Government Code
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each year of the first five years the
amendments are in effect the public benefit will be accurate,
clear, and concise rules.

LOCAL ECONOMY IMPACT STATEMENT

There is no anticipated effect on the local economy for the first
five years that the proposed amendments are in effect; therefore,
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas
Government Code §2001.022 and 2001.024(a)(6).

ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES

Mr. Wisko has determined there will be no impact on rural com-
munities, small businesses, or micro-businesses because of im-
plementing these amendments. Therefore, no economic impact
statement or regulatory flexibility analysis, as provided by Texas
Government Code §2006.002, is required.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

The agency has determined under Texas Government Code
§2006.0221 that during the first five years the amendments are
in effect:

(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) the rules will not create or eliminate any existing employee
positions;

(3) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in future
legislative appropriation;

(4) the rules will not result in a decrease in fees paid to the
agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new regulation;
(6) the rules will not expand a regulation;

(7) the rules will not increase the number of individuals subject
to the rule; and

(8) the rules are not anticipated to have an adverse impact on
the state's economy.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The commission has determined that no private real property
interests are affected by this proposal and this proposal does
not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the
absence of government action. As a result, this proposal does
not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment
under Texas Government Code §2007.043.
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COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

The proposed amendments do not impose a cost on regulated
persons, including another state agency, a special district, or a
local government, and, therefore, are not subject to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.0045.

ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT

The commission has determined that the proposed amend-
ments do not require an environmental impact analysis because
the amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas
Government Code §2001.0225.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Comments regarding the proposed amendments may be sub-
mitted, in writing, within 30 days following the publication of this
notice in the Texas Register, to Michael Wisko, Executive Direc-
tor, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, P.O. Box 2286, Austin,
Texas 78768, or e-mailed to amanda.khan@tcfp.texas.gov.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended rules are proposed under Texas Government
Code §419.008, which authorizes the commission to adopt or
amend rules to perform the duties assigned to the commission.
The rules are also proposed under Texas Government Code
§419.032, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules
establishing the requirements for certification; and §419.036,
which authorizes the commission to adopt rules establishing the
requirements for certification.

CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
amendments.

$§403.3.  Scope.

(a) The policy and procedures established in this chapter ap-
ply to a person who holds or applies for any certificate issued under
the commission's regulatory authority contained in Government Code,
Chapter 419.

(b) When a person is convicted of a crime of a sexual nature,
the conviction of which would require the individual to be registered
as a sex offender under Chapter 62 of the Code of Criminal Procedure;
or

(c) When a person is convicted of a crime that is an offense
under Title 7 of the Texas Penal Code, or a similar offense under the
laws of the United States of America, another state, or another [other]
jurisdiction, the person's conduct directly relates to the competency and
reliability of the person to assume and discharge the responsibilities of
fire protection personnel. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to,
intentional or knowing conduct, without a legal privilege, which [that]
causes or is intended to cause a fire or explosion with the intent to injure
or kill any person or animal or to destroy or damage any property. The
commission may:

(1) deny a person the opportunity to be examined for a cer-
tificate;

(2) deny the application for a certificate;

(3) grant the application for a new certificate with the con-
dition that a probated suspension be placed on the newly granted cer-
tificate;

(4) refuse to renew a certificate;

(5) suspend, revoke, or probate the suspension or revoca-
tion of an existing certificate; or

(6) limit the terms or practice of a certificate holder to areas
prescribed by the commission.

(d) When a person's criminal conviction of a felony or misde-
meanor directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of the holder
of a certificate issued by the commission, the commission may:

(1) deny a person the opportunity to be examined for a cer-
tificate;

(2) deny the application for a certificate;

(3) grant the application for a new certificate with the con-
dition that a probated suspension be placed on the newly granted cer-
tificate;

(4) refuse to renew a certificate;

(5) suspend, revoke, or probate the suspension or revoca-
tion of an existing certificate; or

(6) limit the terms or practice of a certificate holder to areas
prescribed by the commission.

§403.5.  Access to Criminal History Record Information.

(a) Criminal history record. The commission is entitled to ob-
tain criminal history record information maintained by the Department
of Public Safety, or another law enforcement agency to investigate the
eligibility of a person applying to the commission for or holding a cer-
tificate.

(b) Confidentiality of information. All information received
under this section is confidential and may not be released to any person
outside the agency except in the following instances:

(1) a court order;
(2) with written consent of the person being investigated;
(3) in a criminal proceeding; or

(4) in a hearing conducted under the authority of the com-
mission.

(c) Early review. A regulated entity [fire department] that em-
ploys a person regulated by the commission, a person seeking to apply

for a beginning position with a regulated entity, a volunteer fire de-
partment, or an individual participating in the commission certification
program may seek the early review under this chapter of the person's
present fitness to be certified. Prior to completing the requirements for
certification, the individual may request such a review in writing by
following the required procedure. A decision by the commission based
on an early review does not bind the commission if there is a change in
circumstances. The following pertains to early reviews:

(1) The commission will complete its review and notify
the requestor in writing concerning potential eligibility or ineligibility
within 90 days following receipt of all required and necessary informa-
tion for the review.

(2) A notification by the commission regarding the results
of an early review is not a guarantee of certification, admission to any
training program, or employment with a local government.

(3) A fee assessed by the commission for conducting an
early review will be in an amount sufficient to cover the cost of con-
ducting [te eonduet] the review process, as provided in §437.19 of this
title (relating to Early Review Fees).

(4) An early review request will be considered incomplete
until the requestor submits all required and necessary information.
Early review requests that remain incomplete for 90 days following

PROPOSED RULES
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receipt of the initial request will expire. If the request expires and an
early review is still desired, a new request and fee must be submitted.

$§403.15.  Report of Convictions by an Individual or a Department.

(a) A certificate holder must report to the commission, any
conviction, other than a minor traffic offense (Class C misdemeanor)
under the laws of'this state, another state, the United States, or a foreign
country, within 14 days of the conviction date.

(b) A regulated entity [fire department] or local government
entity shall report to the commission, any conviction of a certificate

holder other than a minor traffic offense (class C misdemeanor) under
the laws of this state, another state, the United States, or foreign coun-
try, that it has knowledge of, within 14 days of the conviction date.

(c) A certificate holder is subject to suspension, revocation, or
denial of any or all certifications for violation of the requirements of
subsection (a) of this section. Each day may be considered a separate
offense.

(d) A regulated entity [fire department] or government entity
regulated by the commission violating subsection (b) of this section
may be subject to administrative penalties of up to $500. Each day
may be considered a separate offense.

(e) Notification may be made by mail, e-mail, or in-person [in
persen] to the Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) Austin
office. TCFP Form #014 shall be used.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 24, 2023.
TRD-202303142

Mike Wisko

Agency Chief

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3841

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 439. EXAMINATOINS FOR
CERTIFICATION

SUBCHAPTER A. EXAMINATIONS FOR
ON-SITE DELIVERY TRAINING

37 TAC §439.19

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (commission) pro-
poses amendments to 37 Texas Administrative Code Chapter
439, Examinations for Certifications, §439.19, Number of Test
Questions.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the proposed amendments to the rule is to re-
flect changes to the number of test questions, number of pilot
questions, and allotted time for testing for each of the certifica-
tion testing sections.

FISCAL NOTE IMPACT ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERN-
MENT

Michael Wisko, Agency Chief, has determined that for each year
of the first five-year period, the proposed amendments are in
effect, there will be no significant fiscal impact to state govern-

ment or local governments because of enforcing or administering
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government Code
§2001.024(a)(4).

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE

Mr. Wisko has also determined under Texas Government Code
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each year of the first five years the
amendments are in effect the public benefit will be accurate,
clear, and concise rules.

LOCAL ECONOMY IMPACT STATEMENT

There is no anticipated effect on the local economy for the first
five years that the proposed amendments are in effect; therefore,
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas
Government Code §2001.022 and 2001.024(a)(6).

ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES

Mr. Wisko has determined there will be no impact on rural com-
munities, small businesses, or micro-businesses because of im-
plementing these amendments. Therefore, no economic impact
statement or regulatory flexibility analysis, as provided by Texas
Government Code §2006.002, is required.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT

The agency has determined under Texas Government Code
§2006.0221 that during the first five years the amendments are
in effect:

(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program;

(2) the rules will not create or eliminate any existing employee
positions;

(3) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in future
legislative appropriation;

(4) the rules will not result in a decrease in fees paid to the
agency;

(5) the rules will not create a new regulation;
(6) the rules will not expand a regulation;

(7) the rules will not increase the number of individuals subject
to the rule; and

(8) the rules are not anticipated to have an adverse impact on
the state's economy.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The commission has determined that no private real property
interests are affected by this proposal and this proposal does
not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the
absence of government action. As a result, this proposal does
not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment
under Texas Government Code §2007.043.

COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS

The proposed amendments do not impose a cost on regulated
persons, including another state agency, a special district, or a
local government, and, therefore, are not subject to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.0045.

ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT

The commission has determined that the proposed amend-
ments do not require an environmental impact analysis because
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the amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas
Government Code §2001.0225.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Comments regarding the proposed amendments may be sub-
mitted, in writing, within 30 days following the publication of this
notice in the Texas Register, to Michael Wisko, Executive Direc-
tor, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, P.O. Box 2286, Austin,
Texas 78768, or e-mailed to amanda.khan@tcfp.texas.gov.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended rule is proposed under Texas Government Code
§419.008, which authorizes the commission to adopt or amend
rules to perform the duties assigned to the commission. The
rule is also proposed under Texas Government Code §419.032,
which authorizes the commission to adopt rules establishing the
requirements for certification; and §419.036, which authorizes
the commission to adopt rules establishing the requirements for
certification.

CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
amendments.

$439.19.  Number of Test Questions.

(a) Each examination may have two types of questions: pilot
and active. Pilot questions are new questions placed on the examination
for statistical purposes only. These questions do not count against an
examinee if answered incorrectly. The maximum possible number of
pilot questions will be 10% of the number of exam questions, rounded
up.

(b) The number of questions on an examination, sectional ex-
amination, or retest will be based upon the specific examination, or
number of recommended hours for a particular curriculum or section
as shown in the table below. Any pilot questions added to an examina-
tion, sectional examination, or retest will be in addition to the number
of exam questions.

Figure: 37 TAC §439.19(b)
[Figure: 37 TAC §439-19(b) |
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 23, 2023.

TRD-202303124

Mike Wisko

Agency Chief

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Earliest possible date of adoption: October 8, 2023
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3841

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION

PART 3. MOTOR VEHICLE CRIME
PREVENTION AUTHORITY

CHAPTER 57. MOTOR VEHICLE CRIME
PREVENTION AUTHORITY
43 TAC §57.48

INTRODUCTION. The Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Author-
ity (MVCPA) proposes amendments to 43 Texas Administrative
Code (TAC) §57.48 concerning motor vehicle years of insurance
calculations. These amendments are necessary to implement
Senate Bill (SB) 224 enacted during the 88th Legislature, Regu-
lar Session (2023). SB 224 provides that the (a)(1) single statu-
tory fee payable on each motor vehicle for which the insurer pro-
vides insurance coverage during the calendar year regardless of
the number of policy renewals is increased from $4 to $5; and
(a)(4) all motor vehicle or automobile insurance policies as de-
fined by Insurance Code §5.01(e), covering a motor vehicle shall
be assessed the $5 fee except mechanical breakdown policies,
garage liability policies, non-resident policies, and policies pro-
viding only non-ownership or hired auto coverages.

EXPLANATION.

Amendments to §57.48(a)(1) and (a)(4) implement SB 224
enacted by the 88th Legislature, 2023. Transportation Code
§1006.153, Fee Imposed on Insurers, provides "motor vehicle
years of insurance" means the total number of years or portions
of years during which a motor vehicle is covered by insurance.
Insurers are required to pay to the Authority a fee equal to
$5 multiplied by the total number of motor vehicle years of
insurance policies delivered, issued for delivery, or renewed
by the insurer. Transportation Code §1006.153(b). Insurers
are required to pay the fee not later than: (1) March 1 of each
year for a policy delivered, issued, or renewed from July 1 to
December 31 of the previous calendar year; and (2) August 1
of each year for a policy delivered, issued, or renewed from
January 1 through June 30 of that year.

Out of each fee collected under §1006.153(b), $1 shall be de-
posited to the credit of the general revenue fund to be used
only for coordinated regulatory and law enforcement activities
intended to detect and prevent catalytic converter theft in this
state. The money deposited to the credit of the general revenue
fund for coordinated regulatory and law enforcement activities
intended to detect and prevent catalytic converter theft in this
state as described by Transportation Code §1006.153(e), may
be appropriated to the authority for coordinated regulatory and
law enforcement activities.

FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Glenna Bowman, Chief Financial Officer, Texas Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles has determined that for each year of the
first five years the new section will be in effect, there will be no
significant fiscal impact to state or local governments as a re-
sult of the enforcement or administration of the proposal. Joe
Canady, Director of the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Author-
ity (MVCPA) Division, has determined that there will be no mea-
surable effect on local employment or the local economy as a
result of the proposal.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. Mr. Canady has also de-
termined that, for each year of the first five years new section
is in effect, the public benefits anticipated as a result of the pro-
posal include the increased grant funding for MVCPA taskforces
to increase their enforcement activities, including the prevention
of catalytic converter theft.

Anticipated Costs To Comply With The Proposal. Mr. Canady
anticipates that there will be costs to comply with these rules.
The cost to persons required to comply with the proposal is the
increased fee assessed by insurers on all motor vehicle and au-
tomobile insurance policies.

PROPOSED RULES
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ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS. As required by the Government Code,
§2006.002, the department has determined that the proposed
amendments will not have an adverse economic effect on small
businesses, micro-businesses, and rural communities because
the new section does not require small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses, or rural communities to comply. Therefore, the MVCPA
is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis under
Government Code, §2006.002.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. The MVCPA has determined
that no private real property interests are affected by this pro-
posal and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's
right to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of gov-
ernment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code,
§2007.043.

GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. The MVCPA
has determined that each year of the first five years the pro-
posed new section is in effect, no government program would be
created or eliminated. Implementation of the proposed amend-
ments would require the creation of four new employee positions.
Implementation would not require an increase in legislative ap-
propriations to the MVCPA. The proposed amendments do not
create a new regulation, or expand, limit, or repeal an existing
regulation. Lastly, the proposed new section does not affect the
number of individuals subject to the rule's applicability and will
not affect this state's economy.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT.

If you want to comment on the proposal, submit your written com-
ments by 5:00 p.m. CST on October 8, 2023. A request for a
public hearing must be sent separately from your written com-
ments. Send written comments or hearing requests by email to
rules@txdmyv.gov or by mail to Office of General Counsel, Texas
Department of Motor Vehicles, 4000 Jackson Avenue, Austin,
Texas 78731. If a hearing is held, the department will consider
written comments and public testimony presented at the hearing.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The MVCPA proposes amendment
to 43 TAC §57.48 under Transportation Code §1006.101.

Transportation Code §1006.101 authorizes the MVCPA to adopt
rules that are necessary appropriate to implement the powers
and the duties of the authority.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Art. 4413(37) §6.

§57.48.  Motor Vehicle Years of Insurance Calculations.
(a) Each insurer, in calculating the fees established by Trans-
portation Code §1006.153, shall comply with the following guidelines:

(1) The single statutory fee of $5 [$4] is payable on each
motor vehicle for which the insurer provides insurance coverage during
the calendar year regardless of the number of policy renewals; and

(2) When more than one insurer provides coverage for a
motor vehicle during the calendar year, each insurer shall pay the statu-
tory fee for that vehicle.

(3) "Motor vehicle insurance" as referred to in Transporta-
tion Code, Chapter 1006, means motor vehicle insurance as defined by
the Insurance Code, Article 5.01(e). This definition shall be used when
calculating the fees under this section.

(4) All motor vehicle or automobile insurance policies as
defined by Insurance Code, Article 5.01(e), covering a motor vehicle
shall be assessed the $5 [$4] fee except mechanical breakdown policies,

garage liability policies, non-resident policies and policies providing
only non-ownership or hired auto coverages.

(b) The Insurance Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority
Fee Report form and Instructions for the Computation of the Motor
Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority Fee of the Comptroller of Pub-
lic Accounts are adopted by reference. The form and instructions are
available from the Comptroller of Public Accounts, Tax Administra-
tion, P.O. Box 149356, A