Election Outlook:  Voter Information  |  More about Identification Requirements for Voting
Elections and Voter Information

Voter Information

Important 2016 Election Dates

March 1, 2016 - Primary Election
A more detailed calendar is available at the Candidate's Guide.

First day to file for a place on the primary ballot for precinct chair candidates.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

First day to file for all other candidates for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Primary ballot.

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Filing deadline for candidates; filing deadline for independent candidates to file intent declaration.

Monday, December 14, 2015 at 6:00 PM

First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(NEW LAW: first day of calendar year for ABBM and FPCA)

Friday, January 1, 2016*

*First day to file does not move because of New Year’s Day holiday.  An “Annual ABBM” or FPCA for a January or February 2016 election may be filed earlier, but not earlier than the 60th day before the date of the January or February election.

Last Day to Register to Vote

Monday, February 1, 2016

First Day of Early Voting

Tuesday, February 16, 2016*

*First business day after Presidents' Day

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)

Friday, February 19, 2016

(NEW LAW: 11th day before election day; ABBM and FPCA)

Last Day of Early Voting

Friday, February 26, 2016

Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail

Tuesday, March 1, 2016 (election day) at 7:00 p.m. (unless overseas deadline applies)

May 24, 2016 - Primary Runoff Election

First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(NEW LAW: first day of calendar year for regular ABBM and FPCA)

Friday, January 1, 2016*

*First day to file does not move because of New Year’s Day holiday.  An “Annual ABBM” or FPCA for a January or February 2016 election may be filed earlier, but not earlier than the 60th day before the date of the January or February election.

Last Day to Register to Vote

Monday, April 25, 2016

First Day of Early Voting

Monday, May 16, 2016

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)

Friday, May 13, 2016

(NEW LAW: 11th day before election day; regular ABBM and FPCA)

Last Day of Early Voting

Friday, May 20, 2016

Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail

Tuesday, May 24, 2016 (election day) at 7:00 p.m. (unless overseas deadline applies)

May 7, 2016 Limited Uniform Election Date*

Authority Conducting Elections

Local Political Subdivisions

(County-ordered elections may not be held on this date. County Election Official may, but is not required to, contract to provide election services to political subdivisions.)

Deadline to Post Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline

Monday, December 21, 2015

First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(NEW LAW: First day of calendar year for ABBM and FPCA.)

Friday, January 1, 2016**

**First day to file does not move because of New Year’s Day holiday.  An “Annual ABBM” or FPCA for a January or February 2016 election may be filed earlier, but not earlier than the 60th day before the date of the January or February election.

First Day to File for Place on a General Election Ballot

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Last Day to Order General Election or Special Measure Election

Friday, February 19, 2016

(NEW LAW: the deadline to order a general election for regular terms of office holders or a special election on a measure for the May uniform election date is now the 78th day before election day.)  

Last Day to File for Place on General Election Ballot

Friday, February 19, 2016

(NEW LAW: the deadline to apply for a place on the ballot for a general election held on the May uniform election date is now the 78th day before election day.)  

Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

(NEW LAW:  the deadline to submit a declaration of write-in candidacy for most local (city, school, other) general elections is now the 74th day before election day.)

Last Day to Register to Vote

Thursday, April 7, 2016

First Day of Early Voting

Monday, April 25, 2016

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

(NEW LAW: 11th day before election day; ABBM and FPCA.)

Last Day of Early Voting

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail

Saturday, May 7, 2016 (election day) at 7:00 p.m. (unless overseas deadline applies)

*NEW LAW:  The uniform election day in May is now the first Saturday in May.


November 8, 2016 – Uniform Election Date

Authority Conducting Elections

County Election Officers and Local Political Subdivisions

Deadline to Post Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline (Local Political Subdivisions Only)

Thursday, June 23, 2016

First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only)

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Last Day to Order a General Election (or Special Election on a Measure)

Monday, August 22, 2016

Last Day to File for Place on General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only)

Monday, August 22, 2016

Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy
(Local Political Subdivisions Only)

Friday, August 26, 2016

(NEW LAW:  the deadline to submit a declaration of write-in candidacy for most local (city, school, other) general elections is now the 74th day before election day.)

Last Day to Register to Vote

Tuesday, October 11, 2016*

*First business day after Columbus Day

First Day of Early Voting

Monday, October 24, 2016

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)

Friday, October 28, 2016

(NEW LAW: 11th day before election day; ABBM and FPCA.)

Last Day of Early Voting

Friday, November 4, 2016

Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail

Tuesday, November 8, 2016 (election day) at 7:00 p.m. (unless overseas deadline applies)